Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2

Zondervan A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2

There's more to the quaint northern Indiana town of Shipshewana than handcrafted quilts, Amish-made furniture, immaculate farms and close-knit families. When a dead girl is found floating in a local pond, murder is also afoot. And Reuben, brother of Deborah's best friend's fianci, is in jail as the suspect! Reuben refuses to divulge any information, even to clear himself of a crime Deborah is certain he didn't commit. So, with her English friend, Callie-fellow sleuth and owner of Daisy's Quilt Shop-Deborah sets out to uncover the truth. But the mystery deepens when an elderly man seeks Callie's help in finding his long-lost daughter, missing since the days of the 1965 Palm Sunday Tornadoes. An old man who has lost his past. A young man who may lose his future. Once again Deborah and Callie find themselves trying to piece together a crazy quilt of lives and events-one that can bring unexpected touches of God's grace and resolve the tragedy that has shaken this quiet Amish community.
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 32100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Review 1 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easily as entertaining as the first!

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finished the first book, Falling to Pieces, quickly and I couldn’t wait to begin the sequel, A Perfect Square.
I have learned how impulsive Callie is and how she doesn’t exactly “tread softly”… she usually stumbles into messes easily!
This second book is easily as entertaining and fun as the first one was. Don’t miss out on this series.
Vannetta Chapman has a special way of drawing you in and making it difficult, if not impossible, to put down the book until you read the last page! I lost a lot of sleep, but it was definitely worth every minute!
Now on to the third book of the series… Material Witness…
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Christian reading.

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Chelsea, VT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book! I enjoy reading, and can count on CBD always having enjoyable fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God's plan is perfect in good times and bad times!

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronna L
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In book two of the Shipshewana Amish mysteries, A PERFECT SQUARE is not only quilted by the Amish women in this community, but it becomes the guidance for God's perfect leading in one's life, even in the painful and difficult times for God's people.
When a young girl is found dead in a local pond, all the evidence points to one man, but the ladies of Callie's quilt shop are sure that the wrong man has been arrested. The biggest problem in proving his innocence, is his determination to say nothing in his defense. At the same time, an elderly Amish man shows up in Callie's garden, wanting Callie to find his daughter, but his dementia makes his request seem a bit unbelievable, as the man's grown son says that he doesn't have a sister.
Once again the "Englisher", Callie, and her new Amish friends, are drawn into both of these mysteries. Through many situations of family life, romantic strife, thrilling situations, and the love of God and his people, everything fantastically, comes into perfect alignment for everyone's lives in the long run. Though everything does not necessarily turn out as the characters would have hoped for, they all see God's leading in their lives.
Lovely story of friendships and belief in God, once again produces a winning book in this fun and beautiful series. There is just enough tension to keep the reader thoroughly interested in what will happen next. And just enough comic relief to keep the story from becoming maudlin. Looking forward to reading the next book in this very enjoyable series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vanetta Chapman is a gem!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book of Chapman's that I have had the pleasure of reading. I received this book as a gift, not realizing it was the second in a series. (I prefer to read series books from the beginning to the end!) But let me say that I was only 3 chapters into the book when I stopped reading and went online to purchase the remaining two books of the series!
Vanetta Chapman writes in an Amish setting, yet portrays her characters as individuals first and Amish second. She winds characters together in real friendships, Amish and non-Amish, in a natural way that makes you understand that she has experienced life in this way. There is nothing about her books that is not believable. The characters are real, possess flaws and quirks just like any of us, and deal with "real" life.
One could read this book as a "single" and not purchase the others, as I did. But I think that once you have met Callie, Deborah, Esther, Faith and all the others, you will, like me, want more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great Cozy Mystery!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman has done it again, folks! She manages to bring us another cozy mystery in this sequel where the Amish community must figure out another death. This time Esther (Deborah, Melinda, and Callie’s best friend) discovers the body and it’s a young girl floating face down in a pond on her fiance’s property.
Callie has a much smaller role in this book than before and most of the narration is from Deborah or Esther’s perspective. However, she does get to solve one mystery and she spends more of her time learning how to quilt in this story. I was disappointed she didn’t throw a drink on anyone’s head in this sequel, but she does manage to sew cloth to her blouse at one point while speaking in frustration over something. That’s sooo Callie! She’s the character I relate to the most being an Englischer; she’s the big kid of this group and the little sister to the three Amish friends. Her and Max are very precious to the story, but since their role was smaller I didn’t feel the same connection to the story as I did in Falling to Pieces.
The themes of friendship, family, faith, and forgiveness are very powerful in this enjoyable mystery so that the reader isn’t just witnessing on the side, but experiencing with the characters as they go. Vannetta Chapman skillfully writes about realistic people that you are both rooting for and eagerly waiting for the end so that all answers are discovered and new friends are made along the way. I highly recommend this book for fans of the Amish genre as well as those who love a good mystery! Please visit Vannetta’s facebook page to receive updates, giveaways, prayers, and other information that she likes to post: http://www.facebook.com/#!/VannettaChapmanBooks?fref=ts
I want to thank Zondervan for sending me a review paperback copy. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wasn't disappointed!

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lake View Church
Location:Camden, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dove right into this book after reading the first one of this series. I was not disappointed at all. Now I can't wait until I get the next one. Loved discovering all the characters and their personalities. Great read ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A charming, delightful second book in this series. We get to enjoy Callie, Deborah, Melinda and Esther's growing friendship as yet another dead body shows up in the town of Shipshewana.
We begin to see Callie opening up to a possible new romance, and I like the fact the author has not one or two guys but three guys desiring Callie's attention and affection. I'm dying to see who it will be.
I read this in a day, I just couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish mystery!

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merce
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read "A Perfect Square" as I normally eat a piece of delicious chocolate cake: slowly but steadily, savoring each sentence, each paragraph, enjoying author Vannetta Chapman’s use of words, descriptions, emotions and sensations. The way Mrs. Chapman tells a story is similar to how a fine quilter stitches patterns together: every detail fitting in perfectly so that in the end, what looked like a scarf at first, turns out to be a beautiful, intricate and lovely quilt. Here, what looked like nice, enjoyable mystery turned out to be a beautiful, intricate and lovely story of love, loyalty, friendship, honesty, mercy and grace.
Good friends Callie and Deborah are once again deeply involved in what appears to be a murder investigation, with their friend Reuben as the only suspect. The mystery, or more accurate, mysteries are so engaging and interesting that I found myself sneaking extra coffee breaks at work just to be able to keep reading. I couldn’t stop. I didn’t want to stop reading.
This novel is a great example of how details can make or break a novel. Here, every detail, every description serves a purpose either to add a piece for the mystery puzzle or to help the reader get to know the characters better, go deeper into their personalities, what they’re thinking, how they feel. I loved the fact that we got to see more of Deborah, we got to know her and her family better. I also loved to see more of Esther, but missed Melinda. I’m guessing book 3, Material Witness, will have a whole lot more of her.
Seeing how Callie interacts with her three Amish friends, how their relationship grows and how she starts letting go of her past is a wonderful added plus to this remarkable story. I really liked how Mrs. Chapman is, slowly but surely, resolving one of the most intriguing mysteries this series has (at least for me): Which of the three guys —Trent, Shane or Andrew— will Callie choose in the end? Now, I’m not saying that I like where it seems to be headed (let it be Andrew, pleeeeeease), but I love to see Callie figure it out, figure herself out and make the decision.
Great story. Wonderful read. I cannot wait to start reading Material Witness, the last of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little Amish Mystery

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Perfect Square by Vanetta Chapman is another novel in the Shipshewana Series and like the rest is a mystery.
A young Amish woman is found floating face down in the pond owned by Tobias and his cousin, Reuben. It is clear from the dress that this woman is not from the same Amish community as theirs but the local Amish had no idea that the local police department would blame Reuben for the crime. Surprising to the local Englishers was that Reuben would not speak to the officer in his own defense even though the Amish community professed that they knew he would not have done it. Esther, who is engaged to Tobias, and Deborah Yoder and Callie, an Englisher who owned the local quilt shop try out their sleuthing skills to solve this mystery—sometimes working with the police and sometimes alone.
I love this series and so I really liked this story. Ms Chapman moves the story along nicely and adds interesting tidbits along the way to introduce Amish life without making them sound backwoodsy or too perfect. It is a nice little mystery and a quick read. Even if the reader has not read the rest of the series this story stands alone and can easily be read without having advance knowledge of the individual characters. That being said I think that once you have read one of the series you will want to read them all.
This book was provided for me from Sondervan for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book I Have Read in a Long Time

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Perfect Square
Vannetta Chapman
Book Summary: There's more to the quaint northern Indiana town of Shipshewana than handcrafted quilts, Amish-made furniture, immaculate farms, and close-knit families. When a dead girl is found floating in a local pond, murder is also afoot. And Reuben Fisher is in jail as the suspect! Reuben refuses to divulge any information, even to clear himself of a crime Deborah is certain he didn't commit. So, with her English friend Callie-fellow sleuth and owner of Daisy's Quilt Shop-Deborah sets out to uncover the truth. But the mystery deepens when an elderly man seeks Callie's help in finding his long-lost daughter, missing since the days of the 1965 Palm Sunday Tornadoes. An old man who has lost his past. A young man who may lose his future. Once again Deborah and Callie find themselves trying to piece together a crazy quilt of lives and events-one that can bring unexpected touches of God's grace and resolve to the tragedy that has shaken this quiet Amish community.
Review: This was a great book. I enjoyed this story tremendously and thought that the characters were great every last one and the story line was engrossing all the way around. I never wanted it to end. I have not read the first story and was thankful that there were no spoilers as to who did it. I am looking forward to the next book. I found the story to be seamless and the characters to be so well written that I felt like this was the 5th or 6th story in this series. They words flowed and pages flew by. I can honestly say that it has been a while since I read a book this good. I enjoyed the 2 main characters and found that they were friends and yet still getting to know each other. The one character is new to the area and this made learning this town and the people fun like through the eyes of the other newcomer. The peripheral characters were enjoyable. I had a tear in my eye at the end, I was sad for the outcome and yet the ending was so realistic.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another action packed suspense novel!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipshewana, Indiana is about to be involved once more in a mystery that will rock the entire town and change people's lives forever. When Deborah and Esther along with their younger children, stop just outside of the Fisher farm to pick some flowers, they find a body of a young girl floating face down in the pond. Not knowing who she is, Deborah runs to call for help. As they wait for the police to show up, Reuben Fisher and Deborah wonder just who the girl is. It seems as though she isn't from around here based on the details in her Amish attire.
When the county sheriff, Shane Black arrives on scene, Deborah and Esther cringe based on their previous encounters with the sheriff involving other murders involving them both. Seems like murder just follows them around. However when the sheriff begins to question Reuben, he maintains his silence and refuses to answer. Is it possible he knows more than he's willing to say and that leads Shane Black to believe that Reuben might be the murderer. When a search reveals blood inside the Fisher's family home, Shane has no other choice but to arrest Reuben.
Esther Zook believed that God finally was blessing her life with a new future until her fiance's cousin, Reuben is arrested. Just two weeks from her wedding she now feels that Tobias will put it on hold while he attempts to figure out what happened at the farm and why Reuben refuses to talk. Unless he does, he will be sentenced for murder and spend the rest of his life in jail.
Deborah believes that there is more to this story that just what the evidence is pointing to, so she begins to investigate alongside the local reporter from the Gazette, Trent McCallister to show the town that Reuben is innocent and for her best friend, Esther to finally have the happiness she truly deserves after the death of her husband, two years earlier.
I received A Perfect Square by Vannetta Chapman compliments of Zondervan Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review. This is a different take on your standard Amish novels and deals with both the English and Amish working together to figure out just who murdered the girl in the pond and who she is. It appeals to lovers of both Amish Fiction and Crime/Mystery genres and involves a couple of different plots buried withing the pages of this book. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and it does have a great moral lesson to be gleaned by the end. This is the sequel to Falling to Pieces but can be read as a stand alone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"A Perfect Square"

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading and enjoying the first book in this series, "Falling to Pieces", I was looking forward to returning to Shipshewana for another Amish mystery. Fortunately, I was not disappointed. I actually think I liked this one and its conclusion better than the first one. The pieces of the puzzle were put together throughout the novel rather than dumped on the reader all at the end. This made the pacing of the story much better, in my opinion.
The author jumps right into the mystery in this story, which I really like. While it wouldn’t be absolutely necessary to read these books in order, I think you would be able to follow the characters better if you did. The characters are established in the first book and only revisited a little bit here and there in this one before it focuses completely on the story.
It feels wrong somehow to say a murder mystery is light, but that’s what this book is – a light murder mystery. I guess this is just in comparison to the gruesome stories that are out there that go into the actual aspects of the murder and the crazy serial killers. I loved that in this novel it was brought up by one of the characters that she couldn’t believe how often there were mysteries to solve in the last year in this small Amish town. I liked the nod to the fact that this would probably never happen – two murders in less than a year in Shipshewana, Indiana!
Another thing I really liked about this novel was how the reader was also able to follow along with the ‘other side of the mystery’ – the victim kind of had a voice. While we got to be with the characters who were currently trying to solve the mystery, we were also allowed to go back in time and get a glimpse of the events leading up to what happened to the victim. I thought that was a really neat aspect to this story.
The only issue I had with this novel was that it was sometimes hard to follow who was speaking. This might be because I had an unbound advanced copy for review, but in my copy, the speaker was not always clearly identified.
In A Perfect Square, I loved the setting, I liked the Amish-mystery aspect, and I absolutely adored the relationships among the characters. I thoroughly enjoyed this second offering in the Shipshewana Amish mystery series, and I can’t wait for the next one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder, memory, mistake?

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie and her three Amish friends, whom we grew to love in Falling to Pieces, are thrust into the midst of an apparent murder when a young Amish woman is found dead in a pond. The Amishman on whose property the body was discovered becomes the prime suspect, and the women feel compelled to help prove his innocence.
Callie, a widow, also has some romantic possibilities in this story, but is she ready to consider a serious relationship, especially with a policeman or the newspaper editor with whom she sometimes competes? She does become involved with an older man, but it’s to help find the daughter he claims has been missing for decades.
The various threads of the stories in A Perfect Square entwine to draw the pieces together as the complete picture emerges at the end. Loyalty, honesty, and accepting God’s will are major themes in the novel. I recommend this compelling story of creative characters and their unlikely exploits, which seem like they really could happen. Vannetta Chapman has done it again—another intriguing Shipshewana Amish mystery.
“Their lives weren’t perfect, … but the way they fit together, the way they cared for one another and supported one another, the way they had all come into each other’s lives at the exact time when they needed each other …” (p. 334).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD BOOK

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GOOD MIX OF AMISH & MYSTERY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO PEOPLE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed the book

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
EvelynMiller
Location:Dickinson, ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading the book Sipshewana Amish Mystery, I couldn't put it down &couldn't wait when I got to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books I have read lately.

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shelia Wade
Location:Columbus, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have also read Series#1 by this Author. This was a book you did not want to put down, you just wanted to keep on reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love these amish books--well written

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a friend who works in a hospital who passes these books on in their lending library & others love these amish books too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Amish Mystery

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Perfect Square brings us back to Shipshewana, to Callie and her Amish friends, and to what looks like another murder, when the Amish women find a teenage girl drowned in Reuben’s pond. Their discovery is observed by a hidden stranger, who escapes unseen and narrates his portion of the story through a series of flashbacks.
As the story unfolds, we find out that the victim is newly-wed Katie, and the reader is left to uncover the mystery that links her with the mysterious stranger, Reuben and the four women. In the middle of this, Callie receives a visit from an old man who wants her to find his daughter. The problem is that Ira Bontrager has dementia, and his son says he was an only child. This is potentially another mystery: is there a missing daughter, and how does this relate to the murdered girl?
There are aspects of Amish culture that I find strange, such as the way they answer direct questions but will not volunteer additional information even when it might be relevant. Reuben is particularly reticent. This has the potential to be misleading and could be seen as an obstruction of justice. And this time, withholding information is going to get Reuben into trouble. The rules of the mystery genre dictate that the culprit is a character we know. This gets a bit awkward, as we get to know the cast and don't want it to be any of them, not even Reuben, who is definitely hiding something.
One of the things I like most about these books is that the characters seem very real. Callie is reluctant to date either Andrew or Trent because she just feels herself pulling back. It seemed like the natural reluctance of a young widow, and I liked it. The characters are by no means perfect. Even the Amish have tempers and meltdowns and question God just like the rest of us (I say ‘even’ because so much Amish fiction romanticises the Amish to the point that they all appear to be ‘perfect Christians’). And I really liked the ending. It was beautiful, full of understanding, grace and forgiveness. But you’ll have to read it yourself to find out why.
Thanks to Zondervan and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Perfect Square

Date:April 16, 2012
An young Amish woman was found dead on the property of cousins Tobias and Reuben Fisher. After an investigation of the area, Reuben became the prime suspect in her murder. Reuben refused to talk to anyone about anything, which didn’t help the case against him. Deborah Yoder, a friend of Reuben, was convinced he was innocent. She set out to prove this, putting together clues that lead to the truth of the young woman’s death. Her friend, Englisher, Callie Harper also got involved.
Callie had her own mystery to solve. One day Ira Bontrager, a confused, elderly man showed up at her quilt shop and asked her to find his daughter who went missing over 40 years ago. He knew she helped solve a police case a few months back and was sure she could help him. Callie had been through more than one loss of her own recently. She decided to help Ira even though it seemed a hopeless cause.
The whole story deals with how and why the young woman was found dead on the Fisher’s property, with the search for Ira’s daughter a sub plot. Everything begins to come together as you read each page. You will start to question several characters and their motives. Why won’t Reuben talk? Is he guilty of the murder? What clues does Deborah find? Does Callie find Ira’s daughter that his own son knows nothing about? Read A Perfect Square to find out.
I met Deborah and Callie, along with other characters in this story when I read Falling to Pieces. You can read my review of Falling to Pieces on my blog. Deborah is a caring person that is dedicated to her friends. Callie is finally discovering the joy of friendship, maybe even a little romance, thanks to moving to Shipshewana. Deborah and Callie didn’t meet up with people and clues by accident, God was working out His will through them. This book shows how God uses people and events to piece together His perfect plan. I would recommend this book to any fan of Amish fiction.
Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series
Book 1 - Falling To Pieces
Book 2 - A Perfect Square
Book 3 - Material Witness (to be released 9/1/12)
I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Perfect Square, Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT READ

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is nearing the time for Tobias and Esther's wedding. BUT Esther is with her good friend Deborah and stops to pick some flowers with her little girl Leah. Esther spots someone laying dead in the creek on Reuben's (Tobias brothers) land. Reuben clams up and wont say anything-and Tobias cant understand why Reuben wont say anything to defend himself!!! The local owner of Daisy's Quilt Shop - Callie couples with Deborah and Esther to figure out the pieces to the puzzle. An (old man) Ira Bontrager also comes to Callie and asks her to help him find his daughter who had been missing since 1965!!
Does Ira Bontrager find his long lost daughter?? Who is the person found dead in the pond??? Why is Reuben not saying anything despite being in jail??? Callie and Deborah and Esther have solved mysteries before can they solve this one???
Tis is the second book in the series- the first Falling to Pieces!!! Nothing has intrigued me quite as much as this story has to keep me reading to find out all the missing pieces to the puzzle!!!! Vannetta Chapman has a way of writing a story that leaves you feeling as if you are right in the midst of things- where the story is happening- very fascinating writer!!!! Definetly a 5 star book in my opinion!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>