Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1

Zondervan Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1

Talented businesswoman Camille Gardner agrees to take on one last assignment for her uncle's company before she makes a career change. But enticing Louisiana landowners to sell their mineral rights is harder than she expected---and so is resisting the attraction she feels toward the attorney representing them! Whose desires will win out---hers or theirs?
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Review 1 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow Start....

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just didn’t really enjoy this book and gave it a 4/5 stars. The story itself was slow to start and I actually got confused at the beginning. The characters were written to be these deep thinkers but I found them to be boring and was not entertained. I did enjoy the town setting and thought the author was excellent at describing things and locations. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick Christian fiction book that will entertain you for an evening.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Olive by Judy Christie is a most delightful book and a joy to read. Camille Gardner is a “landman” which is someone who works for an oil company and whose job it is to get property owners to sign over the mineral and water rights to their land. Camille is in Samford, Louisiana, against her wishes but her uncle Scott, and boss, forced her to accept the job. Camille once spent the worst weeks of her life in Samford so her plan is to get the signatures in record time and get back to Houston where she plans to work in an art gallery. After meeting the artist in the Sweet Olive area of Samford, Camille definitely has a problem for she has fallen in love with the artists and greatly admires their works of art which are proudly displayed in their yards and she completely understands why they do not want oil drilling on their land. Shortly after arriving in Samford, Camille meets Marsh Cameron who just happens to be the attorney representing the Sweet Olive landowners. Sparks begin to fly between the two and all of them are not about the oil deal.
The author did an excellent job in the development of this story. The characters were so well developed that they came alive on the pages of the book. I especially liked all the artists and was hoping that they would not give in to the oil company. When the author was describing the homes and art of the residents of Sweet Olive, I could very clearly see each one in my mind’s eye. And then add the descriptions of the personalities and lives of the artists, and I immediately felt as if they were close friends. Camille was very realistically portrayed and I could feel her doubts and pain and her growing affection for Marsh. I definitely liked that the author had Camille finally turn back to God and let Him lead her life. She found what had been missing in her life—faith, friends, and love. There were several twists and turns in the plot and quite a bit of suspense . The story had a great ending and proved that honestly is the best policy. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
I highly recommend this book to anyone that likes a great story set in the south, Louisiana to be exact.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely cozy, feel-good read with a southern settin

Date:April 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Big oil companies, small-town Louisiana setting, and a small community of artists combine in Sweet Olive, a book by Judy Christie that I greatly enjoyed. I've always been drawn to stories with a small-town setting and quirky characters, and would have to say that Judy shines at this. I easily connected with these characters and hope to see more of them in future books. Writing and characterization are strong, Marsh and Camille make compelling lead characters - but it's the ensemble cast within the artists' community that steals the show.
Oil-and-gas negotiator Camille Gardner must entice a group of rural landowners to sell their mineral rights and, instead, finds herself drawn to the folk art created by those same landowners. To oil companies, these people were a vital commodity in the race for gas production - and while Camille initially thought of them in terms of the number of acres they had to offer, soon they became real people to whom there were more important things in life than money.
Marsh, a lawyer representing the artists, was charming, handsome, and determined - yet "he wanted a chance to work more with everyday folks, people whose lives could be changed by the right champion at the right moment." Romance seemed secondary to plot, but Camille and Marsh being on opposite sides of the oil issue added good conflict to a sweet romance.
The artists' community - with their folk art that included metal sculpture, whirligigs, watercolors, glass, pottery, woodcarving, and oil paintings - are at the heart of this story. And it was Camille who became a catalyst for change in their lives, helping them to believe in their own abilities and discover a renewed passion for their art.
I loved how Judy used fiction to shine the light on two completely different attitudes toward money: those whose lives are motivated by greed, and those who realize some things are more important than money. "The beauty of their Louisiana land, earned through hard work and family tradition, would not be sacrificed for oil-company cash." The theme of God's provision is woven throughout the narrative, and that's something I never tire of being reminded of.
That God might have had a purpose in sending Camille to a town she never wanted to revisit made me smile as I thought of times I found myself thrust out of my comfort zone, only to eventually see God's hand in the situation. Camille's growing friendship with Ginny was one of my favorite parts, and it was through Ginny's leadership that the community pulled together - and therein lay their strength.
I fell in love with the Sweet Olive community and am eager to see where Judy takes us in the next book of the Trumpet & Vine series, Magnolia Market, which releases in the fall of 2014. Sweet Olive is a cozy, feel-good read that I thoroughly enjoyed and am glad to recommend.
This book was provided by BookSneeze and Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Southern Reading

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
hanni2
Location:Deland, Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the pleasure of reading Sweet Olive by Judy Christie for my most recent Booksneeze review. And now I have a new author to follow. I love it when that happens!
Camille Gardner heads to Samford, Louisiana to close an oil deal. She knows the oil business and feels confident she can get the job done - and then get out of Samford as quickly as possible. What she doesn't count on is falling in love with the people of the art community in Samford called Sweet Olive. She also never expected how returning to this tiny town, a place that holds painful memories for her, could do anything to heal her heart.
Judy Christie's writing is straight forward, easy to follow and fun. Her characters are believable, loveable, hateable and everything I generally hope to find in this type of fiction. This isn't a mystery, but there were enough twists to make it interesting and keep me guessing. I also learned a few things about the world of big oil.
I have always enjoyed reading new authors, especially ones who focus on a particular area. Christie’s focus in several of her works is in Louisiana, an area with which I am not familiar. I’m looking forward to reading more by Judy Christie.
I was given a copy of this book by Booksneeze in exchange for my honest opinion. My opinions are all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Olive is a sweet story!

Date:November 5, 2013
While I've heard of Judy Christie before, Sweet Olive is the first of her books that I've read. I can assure you that it won't be the last. Camille arrives in Samford, Louisiana at the insistence of her uncle, who also happens to be her boss. Her job is to negotiate with a group of residents who are refusing to grant mineral rights to the gas and oil company that Camille represents. Camille assumes this will be a quick and straightforward job, but once she meets this unique group of residents, she realizes this will not be the usual job.
Sweet Olive is full of the sweet, southern, small town charm that I just love. Small towns often make the perfect setting, and Samford, Louisiana is no exception. There are plenty of unique townspeople, local politics, and jealousy that you wouldn't believe. And when Camille gets plopped down in the middle of it all, she begins to see what she's been missing—friends, faith, love.
Camille is the perfect "leading lady." I love that she had a career in a male-dominated industry. And boy is she feisty! She definitely knows what she wants and goes after it. I loved watching her heart change throughout the book as she made friends with various characters. Marsh was a great guy as well. I wasn't sure how their relationship was going to develop since they were on opposing sides of this intense case, but it was great to see their friendship grow naturally—despite their differences. I absolutely loved all of the artists in the community. Reading about their art and their simple lifestyle made me curious to know more. I'm super excited to read more about this community in the rest of this series ... and I'd really like to visit in real life!
Sweet Olive is a great read. I'm glad I took the time to read it and look forward to more from Judy Christie! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

southern fiction a little confusing

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Camille is a “landman.” Working for her uncle Scott, it is her job to talk people into selling him their gas and oil rights. She's been good at it, except for that one mistake. She was ready for the promised office in Houston but her uncle has asked her to do this one last field job in northern Louisiana. She'd do it because she and her mom owed so much to him.
Camille finds Sweet Olive to be a different community than she had expected, however. They are a loose association of artists and most of them aren't interested in the gas rights money. Camille has a heart for art too as she has always wanted to own an art gallery. Her heart gets in the way as the gas rights deal falls apart at the edges.
Add to the mix a handsome attorney representing the art community, a powerful senator who has money to be made on the deal, and his ambitious daughter who is also employed by Scott and, in fact, wants Camile's job, and you sort of have the novel's plot.
I found the novel to be a little confusing on two fronts. When the novel opens it is clear that there is quite a back story to the situation the characters are in today. I kept checking to make sure this was the first in the series because I was sure I was missing an earlier book. All of the back story comes out eventually but I think a few prologue pages of “twenty years ago” would have helped.
Secondly, I live on an island in the Pacific Northwest affectionately called “The Rock.” That's because that is all that is in the ground. I know absolutely nothing about mineral or gas rights. There's nothing in the ground here to have any rights to. I was hoping to learn about gas rights in reading this novel. I'm not sure I understand anything more about the topic now than I did before reading the novel. For example, the very last thing Camille did was go to the parish offices to verify the legal descriptions and surveys of the land. This was after she had already offered contracts to landowners and tried to identify nearby land for wells that might preserve the artist community. I would think verifying land ownership would have been the first thing a “landman” would have done. Searching the legal descriptions last allows for a twist at the end of the story which makes for fun reading but, I would think, makes for poor “landman” tactics. Near the end of the novel Camille says, “This has been the most confusing experience of my life.” (311) Camille, I know how you feel.
The romance part was fun. There is some humor in the book and you do learn a little about the south, but not as much as this northerner would have liked.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Camille -pulled between Uncle Scot and new friends

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Olive
Judy Christie©2013
Zondervan Publishers
ISBN 978-0310-33054-7
341 pp. Plus Discussion questions (trade paper)
Camille Gardner feels obligated to her Uncle Scot for rescuing her and her mother after her father was killed. Scot paid for Camille’s art education and also training as a ‘landman’, someone who gathers signatures from property owners for mineral and water rights to their land.
The people of Sweet Olive do not want to sell their mineral and especially their water rights. Uncle Scot expects Camille to act as he would--bully them into compliance. But Camille’s real dream is to run an art gallery and she’s fascinated by the talented folk artists of Sweet Olive. She seeks to become their friend.
The small town of Samford holds sad memories for Camille, which she admits to no one. She makes several serious mistakes in dealing with the local people and honestly admits her fault. Her assistant undercuts Camille’s work and gains the job Uncle Scot had promised his niece.
Camille and lawyer Marsh Cameron discover some surprising past ‘deals’. Will they stop Uncle Scot and an officious senator from stealing the Sweet Olive mineral rights? An unexpected catastrophe pushes everyone’s agenda in an unwelcome direction.
The surprise ending proves in a most satisfying way that honesty wins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Olive by Judy Christie is Very Sweet Indeed

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet Olive is an amazing book about a girl with no roots and a heart set on a dream that seems to be wavering in the distance. Camille Gardner is a bright young woman who has seen many places and has been to many places but never had a place to call home. A few secret issues start to bubble up beneath the surface as she takes on her last and final job in the heat of Sweet Olive community. Sweet Olive takes readers on a journey with Camille as she finds a place to call home.
Sweet Olive is an amazing book. It held suspense and tingling romance that would remind me of God’s unsuspecting ways of putting people together. Judy Christie has done an amazing work. The feelings from the main character somehow resonated with me, Camille Gardner had some similarities of things many people these days go through. As for the other characters, they too were a delight. To work in so many characters and yet pull out a bit of suspense made this novel worth the read.
The message of Sweet Olive was a ‘sweet’ undertone of finding a home, where you are wanted and where you feel the presence of God calling you. No matter how much you look around if God lays it on your heart to be there, there it is you shall be; and that aspect was one in a million. This novel I would recommend.
++++++++++++++++++
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sweet Olive, Trumpet and Vine Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2013
Judy Christie is back with a new series! If you enjoyed her Green series you are sure to delight in this new tale. Judy's books are very character driven and the personalities that make up the town of Samford, Louisiana are a great mix.
This is a story of a group of eccentric artists that take on a big oil company. The artists are represented by the beloved local boy Marsh Cameron. Camille Gardner is representing her uncle's oil company. The oil company is interested in acquiring rights to the minerals and water of the artist's land. The artists are very leery of having oil rigs on their land. They've seen what can happen when the oil companies come in and they don't want to risk losing what they have in Sweet Olive.
Camille is known for her amazing abilities to close a deal. Unfortunately for her uncle she's also very interested in art and the people who produce it. As she gets to know the residents of Sweet Olive her heart becomes torn and she has to choose to do what is right, which isn't always what her boss wants.
I really enjoyed the dynamic relationships that were formed during this first book in the series. We are given a brief description of the corner of Trumpet and Vine and I am looking forward to seeing what all takes place in that location. This was a great start to what promises to be a wonderful series!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.