Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Cape Refuge - eBook

Zondervan Cape Refuge - eBook

In the first book of the Cape Refuge series, tragedy strikes when Thelma and Wayne Owens, owners of the local bed and breakfast for refuges, are murdered. Main suspect is their son-in-law, Jonathan Cleary, but other suspects include questionable tenants of Hanover House. Daughters of Thelma and Wayne must put aside their differences and memories and work together to solve the mystery of their parents' killer as well as stop an innocent man of going to prison. Terri Blackstock, paperback, 395 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cape Refuge - eBook
Review 1 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Mystery

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began this book, I was quite intrigued. After all, it is a Christian mystery. That is a genre I have never read. I grew up reading Erle Stanley Gardner and Agatha Christie where everyone jumped into bed with each other and used foul language right and left. How refreshing this book was in light of that!
First of all, the author is a fantastic writer who certainly knows how to develop believable characters and plots with intriguing twists and turns. I was drawn into the book from the very beginning--which is quite refreshing.
Furthermore, I absolutely loved that there were no bedroom scenes and no foul language! Yes! I could certainly handle reading more books like this. While the gospel was there, the reader did not feel as though he/she was being beat over the head with Christianity.
And finally, I pride myself in the fact that I partially solved the crime. I could follow the author's clues, and that really was exhilarating. Rarely could I ever solve an Agatha Christie or Perry Mason case, but I have a chance with Terri Blackstock. I certainly look forward to reading more of her books. It looks as though this is the first in the series, and it would be nice to read the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great mix of suspense and mystery

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is fantastic!There are a host of characters represented in this book, but only five points of view. At first, I thought this would be confusing and make the story harder to follow. Boy, was I wrong. Terri Blackstock writes the book in a way that endears each character to you, while still following the same plot line. Morgan Cleary is kind-hearted, tender, and the complete opposite of her sister, Blair. She loves with her whole heart and wants to help everyone in need she meets. Blair Owens, who was burned in a bad fire as a child, carries around her hurt and pain like a shield. She doesn't let anyone get too close. Deep down, though, she is just as tender and emotional as her sister. Jonathan Cleary is Morgan's husband. He is strong and protective. He loves his wife and sometimes that clouds his judgement. Matthew Cade, aka Cade, is the chief of police in Cape Refuge. He works hard to prove he deserves his job, and it wasn't just given to him because he's the mayor's nephew. He also has a secret crush on Blair. Finally, Sadie is a scared, yet strong teenager. She yearns for someone to love and cherish her and she finds refuge at Hanover House.
After the murder of Wayne and Thelma Owens, the little town of Cape Refuge is thrown into disarray. Accusations start flying, people are on their guard, and the town struggles to find peace again. This book is full of mystery and suspense. The story kept me guessing until the very end. Terri Blackstock did a great job of not making the plot predictable. She also does a great job of keeping you engaged in the story. You mourn the loss of Wayne and Thelma with these characters. Their emotions are heart-wrenching and real. The anger, sadness, and the sense of fear, uncertainty, and loss hangs heavy on each character. Who could have done this? Why would God allow this to happen?
Each character faces a spiritual struggle as well. The most prominent one, in my opinion, was Blair's. I believe her struggle is the most important because she doesn't "believe" at all. In a conversation Blair is having with one of the other characters, he states everyone believes in something. By choosing not to believe in anything, you choose to believe in something. She struggles with the concept that even though God is sovereign and knows all things, He allows man to make his own choices. A lot of people struggle with this concept, and I applaud the author with how she handled it. It didn't feel forced. It felt natural. And I can't wait to see how Blair's struggle continues in the next book.
Overall, this mystery/suspense book was fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves this genre. I will definitely be reading the next three books in the Cape Refuge series: Southern Storm, River's Edge, and Breaker's Reef so look for those reviews!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
hopiey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very engaging, hard to put down book. Have read the first 2 in this series and intend to get the next ones. First time I've read this author and I enjoy her writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jann
Location:Monticello, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very engaging book. I could not put it down until I finished it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Price
I really enjoyed the books! I had trouble putting them down, I just wanted to keep reading. Enjoy these books by Terri Blackstock.I have been reading Terri Blackstock books for about 6 months now, and look forward to reading another series. She really keeps you in the story--wonderful author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Excellent series, highly recommend! Very much enjoyed this author and have gone back to purchase more of her books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paula Lilly
I have read all the Refuge Series except Breaker's Reef, which I'll be starting this week. Once I begin reading I can't put the book down. I highly recommend this series. They are heartwarming and have a wonderful spiritual theme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
william scott
I am not a big reader, but couldn't stop reading this book, and I couldn't hardly wait to start southern storm. Now that I know about the next to books in the series I can't wait to get into them. Awesome writer, God bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dee Stone
Very good reading. It kept my interest on every page. Can't wait to read the other 3 books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Johannanoel
I would describe Cape Refuge as a casual, summer beach read. The author should have researched the mechanics of a spear gun before using it as the murder weapon. It was laughable that such a gun could have been used to commit a double homicide, unless the victims were hit simultaneously, which they were not. It was laughable and did not lend credibility to the story. I will read the rest of the books as they were loaned by a friend and perhaps not try to critique them so carefully for function and fact. A delightful beach read, not withstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Merry
Wow! After finding Jesus in Sept. 2004, I got rid of all my "secular" reading and started replacing it with Christian fiction. One of replacement series I got was the Cape Refuge series. Now I know what you're thinking, either I've never sat down and read them, or I'm really late in writing my review. It was the first. I started off by readng the O'Malley sereis by Dee Henderson and after that I was looking for the same kind of writing. I went to the local library and picked up Cape Refuge. I read it, thought it was a little slow, but bought the whole collection anyways. Well, a week ago I picked up Cape Refuge and read all the way through Point Break and all I can say right now is...Terri, please continue on with this series. It's not completely finished yet, you can still squeeze a few more books out of it...ha ha! If you like a good page turner where you think you have the culprit figured out and then realize you were completely off, then this is the series for you. What I also like about this series is that all the books contain the same characters and with each passing book you witness the continuation of their growth, their story, and their faith. That is an important factor that I look for in a series. I like to read about the same people. I hope you enjoy this series as much as I did. May the Lord bless you and keep you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Della Fulda
I loved this book! I had never read Terri Blackstock before. But after reading Cape Refuge, I immediately read #2 of this series and couldn't put either down. I must say, I am now hooked. I will continue to read Terri's books. Well written, --- keeps you guessing. It's such a delight to read a good mystery that you don't have to worry about indecent content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
Brenda F.
Loved the Newpointe 911 series, so I thought I'd start this one. I'm not disappointed! I couldn't put it down, and I can't wait to read the rest of the series. I do have one micro-gripe, though - I think I can already tell who's going to fall in love with whom, and personally, the romance parts of these series can go away and that would be just fine with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
Matt
Awesome series, I have read this and Southern Storm, I can't wait for the next book. I highly recommend this book and the whole series if you like good quality writing, the kinds you never forget. I am seeing a real maturity in Blackstock's writing and this one takes you to a new level. Simply Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sandi K.
Upon the heels of finishing Dee Henderson's O'Malley series, I was on the lookout for another enthralling series. I do believe I found it! We meet sisters Blair and Morgan fighting for their parent's endeavor of providing a safe haven for those who are in need of help only to find that their parents had been murdered. Chief Cade works diligently to figure out "who could have done something in this community?". Was it Morgan's husband-one of the last to see Thelma and Wayne- and Cade's best friend, Jonathan who shot the speargun? What about the red bandanas that appear as someone breaks into Blair's house and on one of the Hanover House residents? Exactly who is Rick and what is he hiding in his past? Why does God allow bad things to happen to good people? Where is He during these times? How can faith be durable and grow in times like this?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2002
Customer Avatar
Eb Jackson
This offering from a Christian perspective finds two sisters searching for the person who killed their parents. The twist is, the police think they have their man. The sister's think otherwise and respond by taking matters into their own hands. The author builds suspense by offering a variety of possible suspects. It's a classic whodunit. Also recommended: [THE PRAYER OF HANNAH] by Kenn Gividen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Wow! This is a truly amazing book. God has really blessed Terri with tremendous writing abilities. Just like the other reviewer's said, I could not put this book down! And when I was reading the afterword, I felt my eyes begin to well up with tears, something that doesn't happen too often with me! Amazing job, Terri. Thank you for using your talents for the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
Paula
I have always enjoyed reading Terri's book however, this is by far my favorite. Excellent book, get ready once you open this book you won't want to put it down. And when you do finish you will be pleased with what you read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2002
Customer Avatar
Susan M. Kerr
This is one I couldn't put down. I'm not sure what we ate the day I spent reading it. Terri Blackstock and Dee Henderson have this writing thing down pat. I'm looking forward to more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cape Refuge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Melba
Hard to put down! Terri Blackstock & Dee Henderson are my favorite authors. The suspense keeps you guessing. The only thing is that the end leaves you hanging - as far as the police chief and the one sister. Guess I'll have to wait until the next book. Would recommend any of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>