Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church

Zondervan Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church

For 30 years Lynn Wilder and her family lived, loved, and promoted the Mormon church---until her son came to know God personally through Christ. Telling her story of receiving the truth of God's grace, Wilder offers a rare look into Mormonism and why the differences between it and Christianity are so important---and life-changing. 368 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Review 1 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is hope!

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
southeast idaho
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in southeast Idaho as a born again believer, it often seems that there is no hope for a LDS person to come to Christ. This book gives hope as to how God works in His way and it is not our job to change hearts. We pray and God moves.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roxy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Loved it & love that The Lord showed this family the truth of the bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thorough for those who want to know the truth

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Trumble
Location:California City Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent read. The author is very thorough and tells it like it is. We are getting an inside account of the false teachings of Mormanism. The book towards the end show the wonders of Christ and the deceptions of the Mormon teachings and how they directly go against the Bible. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants to know the truth. I have gotten a couple copies and have loaned them out so that the secrets of that organized religion can be exposed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

one family's story of leaving the Mormon Church

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When young marrieds, Mormon missionaries came to the Wilder home. Michael and Lynn did not know the Bible well enough to even know what questions to ask. Mormons know how to do relationships well, Lynn says, and that was effective in drawing them in. They came to Mormon faith in 1977.
Lynn shares the culture and society of a Mormon community, such as people having status based on their church calling. They experienced the attitude of being second class Mormons since they were not born into the church. She talks about her reaction to male blacks no longer being excluded from the priesthood in 1978 due to a revelation from a changing God. She records her dismay at finding out the reality of modern polygamy. She writes about her teaching position at BYU and how she and her husband were dedicated to their Mormon faith.
Lynn then reveals how she began seeing discrepancies in Mormon faith and practice. Events began to crack the Mormon facade, especially involving their sons. One son, while on his mission, challenged them to read the New Testament. He had found a Savior different from that of Mormonism. The truth began to build to the point they knew they must leave Mormonism.
Wilder shares the difficulty of sorting out the lies, absorbing the truth, and finding solid ground. It took her nearly five years. She also writes about the difficulty of leaving the church, the church that had been their life and their culture for thirty years.
What comes across clearly is that Mormons do not follow the same Jesus that Christians do, as the most recent LDS prophet, Gordon B. Hinckley stated. (315) Wilder writes, “So what Mormon scripture says and what the Bible says are polar opposites.” (315) She outlines many significant inconsistencies and problems with the Mormon faith in her last chapter.
This is a very “chatty” book in that Lynn tells scores of stories about her own experiences and those of her children. While this may not be the most succinct book on a family leaving Mormonism, it does tell the complete story, event by event.
This book is significant because the Wilders were very active LDS and Lynn was tenured faculty at BYU. They know the doctrine and church culture well. Theirs was a profound change in belief.
Resources are listed at the end of the book, as is a comparison of biblical and Mormon doctrine.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An amazing book, that leaves you inspired!

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
PastorsDaughter
Location:WV
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I was a little unsure on how I would like the book, but I really wanted to read it because I have no idea abut anything the Mormons believe.
The book Unveiling Grace, is about a woman and her family who join the Mormon church, living their lives as Mormons for around (was it thirty years or so?).
It shows how they went from Mormons to Christians, along with explaining the Mormon faith.
I really enjoyed the book, though sometimes got bored, I had to remind myself that this story wasn't fiction, but a true story - something that really happened. I passed the book along to my Grandmother, then my parents want to read it, and I'm happy on how this book shares about one family, who lived as Mormons. It really gave a an in-depth look, and I loved how the author was positive, and never spoke in a harsh way toward the Mormon faith!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unveiling Grace

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michael
Location:Indian Trail, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Unveiling Grace" by Lynn Wilder, a former Mormon and tenured professor at Brigham Young University, is an enlightening look at why she and her family left the Mormon Church.
I have had experiences with Mormons (my Professor of Aerospace Studies in college, missionaries, fellow students, etc.) and found them to be pleasant people, although I have serious theological differences with them. I say this because I do not have an ax to grind with Mormons - I just degree with many aspects of their theology.
The book is around around 360 pages and covers such topics as:
1. Early upbringing and how she became involved in the Mormon Church.
2. Career - teaching at other schools before becoming tenured at BYU.
3. The adjustments she and her family had to make while moving to Utah from the midwest.
4. Numerous activities of the Mormon Church she and her family were involved in.
5. Mormon beliefs and how they conflict with the Bible.
6. Events that led to her family leaving the church (issues with theology - racial, for example; busy activities that made it difficult to spend quality time with her family and other interests, ways Mormon officials dealt with her sons when they struggled spiritually - appeared to treat them with legalism instead of grace, and other reasons).
7. How she and her family came to know the biblical Lord Jesus Christ and how He differs from the Mormon Jesus.
8. The personal and professional cost to her and family for leaving the church and eventual move to Florida and how the Lord provided for them.
The narrative flows smoothly as the author describes her various life experiences before, during, and after her membership in the Mormon church. There are some helpful appendices at the end contrasting biblical Christianity with Mormonism.
A good read for anyone wanting to know more about Mormonism/Latter Day Saints.
Recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A testimony and more

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura W
Location:Rocklin, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is first and foremost a testimony of the author’s experience into Mormonism, her many decades within the Mormon faith, and her ultimate exit from Mormonism as she discovered biblical Christianity. She tells of her enthusiasm for the Mormon faith community, as well as how she and her husband faithfully and conscientiously brought up their children in the Mormon faith. Nonetheless, when faced with the truth contained in the New Testament, she and her family ultimately gave up the false works-based teachings of the Mormon church for the truth of the gospel of salvation by grace through faith in Jesus Christ.
The book is very well written, organized, and engaging. The author carefully explains Mormon doctrines, as needed, to explain her situation. She also provides a glossary with more detailed information regarding Mormon terminology. Moreover, as “Part Three” of the book demonstrates, her grasp of true biblical concepts of grace, atonement, and the person of Jesus Christ is solidly Christian.
The author had been a faithful Mormon for decades, and her conversion to biblical Christianity was not a whim. She and her family studied and prayed and let the Holy Spirit lead them to the truth. This came at a great cost in that they had to leave the Mormon community that they knew and loved. They also had to make great financial sacrifices when leaving the Mormon faith…not to mention having to admit that they were wrong about their faith which they had boldly professed for much of their adult life.
This book will clearly anger many individuals of the Mormon faith. However, the author does not come across as angry or in any way retaliatory with regards to the Mormon community. In fact, she repeatedly commends the hard work, kindness, and dedication of the Mormon people. However, she makes a simple request of those in the Mormon community….read the New Testament. My impression is that the author felt that she had no choice but to write this book. Her testimony rings true.
***I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will keep you reading

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Kearney, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You know how I like to read a book's blurbs? Well this book, which comes out August 20th, is so fresh it says "Please save two pages for endorsements at the front of the book." It's labeled an advance reading copy! I notice Wilder and her husband also have an eBook already out. She eventually mentions it in her epilogue and describes it as a "two-hour read."
Wilder grew up in a Christian home. She and her then-new husband were converted to Mormonism by those door-to-door missionaries in the late 1970s. Would you believe one of Wilder's four children converted to Christianity before Wilder and her husband? And this while serving the traditional two-year mission trip that Mormon men make. Talk about courage. Wilder does a very good job but I'd almost like to read this son's perspective.
Wilder likens Mormons to the two elderly women in the play "Arsenic and Old Lace." (Wilder's daughter appeared in the play while in high school.) The two pleasant women give men poisoned wine, thinking they're doing the men a favor by ending what the women perceive to be a lonely, miserable existence. Wilder says, "The deaths resulted from the gentlemen's innocence, their lack of knowledge. They drank something they thought was good for them, but it was laced with poison. The people who offered it were so nice."
I recently picked up from the public library a new book about Scientology. Sorry but Wilder's story reminds me a little of that. Let's just say the practices and origins of both faiths are bizarre. I'm learning a lot, in a "safe" way. And I want to learn more!
Speaking of safe, this book is safe for Catholics. It is evident, though, that Wilder hasn't reached the "fullness of faith" - She says things like "...I was beginning to realize that because of Christ, we no longer need to work for our salvation, because Christ has secured that for us by his blood.... I was beginning to understand that I was saved through grace. Period."
You know a book's good when you have to tell someone about it, right? That was me on the day I started it. I had to tell the friend that told me about her church's library. I told her I had read conversion stories, but never one that didn't end at Catholicism! Maybe this one will yet....
I received this book for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com (http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing and revealing reading

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
livingforJesus
Location:Mankato MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a first person account of a woman who was a member of the Mormon church for over 20 years and eventually left the church as a result of reading the New Testament. Eventually her entire family leaves the Mormon church and become Christians. This is their story.
Reading this book was very eye-opening to say the least! First of all, it was very well written so it was easy to follow. But secondly, it was absolutely fascinating to hear firsthand about this hidden world of Mormonism revealed. Over and over again I was shocked as to the control and manipulation of the leaders of this cult.
At the end of the book is a very helpful appendix which supplies a list of Christian ministries to Mormons, a glossary, and a very helpful table of comparisons between the Scripture and Mormon teachings.
Honestly, I had a hard time putting the book down as I was anxious to see this family freed from the deception in which they were enslaved. If you have a connection with anybody from this cult, this book is a must-read!
This book has been reviewed as a part of the Book Sneeze Blogger review program. Thanks to Zondervan Publishers who provided a copy for review. I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting and informative

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unveiling Grace" is the story of how Lynn Wilder's family joined the Mormon Church and, many years later, left the Mormon Church. It's primarily the story of her life, and it's an easy, interesting read that kept my attention.
She assumed the reader had some familiarity with the Mormon Church and used "Mormon jargon," but she also gave short explanations of the Mormon terms when new terms came up. Later in the book, she gave more details about Mormon beliefs and about what the jargon meant.
This book primarily focused on what life as a dedicated Mormon is like and what caused one family to leave the Mormon Church after years of devoted service. There is a lot of information about Mormon beliefs, but this is not primarily an apologetics book.
I found the book very interesting, and I feel that I better understand some things about my Mormon aunt and uncle. I'd highly recommend this book, especially to those who want to better understand the viewpoint that Mormons are coming from.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
InkBlotsbyTRD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unveiling Grace was a very intriguing book to read. I was first interested in it because I went to school with quite a few Mormon kids, worked for a small, Mormon-owned company, and have also had a several studies with some Mormon missionaries. I felt like I was fairly familiar with Mormon doctrine and was interested to read about a family who had been faithful Mormons for so long (30 years) leaving the LDS church.
Being able to read about the Wilder's family journey into the LDS church was interesting, but I do feel like it may have been worded in places like they were already seeing that they needed to get out. This was probably due to the fact that this book was written after they left the LDS church, but in the middle of the story it almost seemed to me to undermine the credibility of what was a truly devoted Mormon family. (I see the same issue with the subtitle of the book.)
Other than that one minor issue, I felt the book was interesting and easy to read, but more importantly it was truly eye-opening to the real doctrines and practices of the LDS church. The author is respectful when she discusses Mormonism, but still brings the truth to light in an open, honest way. There were things I don't recall ever hearing about their beliefs - major beliefs - and that was not for a lack of trying on my part. I had studied quite a bit about the LDS church so that I could better study with and relate to Mormons, but that study didn't reveal how they talk about a different God than I know as a Christian. A different Jesus. You wouldn't think that things would be so different on a basic level when they read the Bible, but it is.
I think this book would be helpful for many groups of people: current Mormons (if they would read it), anyone who knows someone from the LDS church, and especially those who are looking into joining the LDS church. I highly recommend reading it.
FTC Declaration: The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy through BookSneeze®. This does not change the fact that I will give my honest opinion in my reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Personal and Personable Look Inside Mormon Culture

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lynn Wilder’s Unveiling Grace is a mother’s memoir of success and influence inside the Mormon church and Christ’s calling of her family out of it. Wilder, a one-time professor at Brigham Young University, and her husband spent more than thirty years inside Mormonism, having and raising children, converting their relatives, and working inside of super-secretive Mormon temples. Working their way toward holiness and eventual Godhood, the Wilders were relatively comfortable with their lives and were convinced that Joseph Smith was a true prophet…until their son, thousands of miles away on a Mormon mission, called home to say that Jesus now had too great a claim on his life for him to continue believing and following the Mormon church. The story leading up to and following that pivotal moment is an eye-opening look into the everyday culture of the largest pseudo-religion in the country, and an encouraging account of how Jesus Christ saved one family from it a member at a time.
Vastly informative about Mormon life and culture, Unveiling Grace has the distinction of being a great deal more than a handbook for debunking Mormonism—those typical texts with lists of doctrinal weakness cross-listed against effective techniques for shutting their mouths before you shut your door. It is the personal and personable account of what real Mormons think, feel, and do—the hopes that motivate them, the lies they are told, and the experiences that finally lead them to question their way of life. This is the type of work that fuels real evangelism, rather than the argumentative pugilism of mere apologetics.
Unfortunately, the book’s strength (its personal and personable tone) is also a significant weakness. The book reads like a memoir, but more than that it reads like the memoir of an Evangelical wife and mother, with a very feminine perception, idiom, and tone. These elements, though not faulty in their own right, make the work less engaging to female readers of different temperaments and to male readers general, unintentionally narrowing its ideal audience. Nevertheless, the appendices comparing basic Christian beliefs to those of Mormonism, and defining commonly used theological terms as Mormons understand and use them were add significant value to the book. All in all, though, the book is a rare and important look at the inner workings of a secretive group through the eyes of people with extensive access, and a message of hope to those praying and laboring for the salvation of their Mormon neighbors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the book's back cover: "From a rare insider's point of view, Unveiling Grace looks at how Latter-day Saints are 'wooing our country' with their religion, lifestyle, and culture. It is also a gripping story of how and entire family, deeply enmeshed in Mormonism, found their way out and what they can tell others about their lives as faithful Mormons.
I really enjoyed this book. When I saw this available for review, I immediately requested it. I was eager to learn more about Mormonism and this book did not disappoint. Sometimes nonfiction reads tend to be dry and difficult to finish, but Lynn Wilder has a wonderful writing style that is very easy to read. She describes everything and sets the scenes well. Her journey is a very interesting one at that. Her entire family was very dedicated to being a good Mormon family until her third child was on his Mormon mission and encountered a pastor that encouraged him to read the New Testament. Lynn takes us through her conversion to Mormonism, her "callings" in the Mormon church, employment at Brigham Young University, and her gradual conversion to Biblical Christianity. It is a well written, easy to understand book. My only criticism is her referral of the Holy Spirit as the Dancer of Grace. That is more of a personal dislike and nothing more. I highly recommend this read.
I received an advanced copy of Unveiling Grace from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Family’s Journey Out of Mormonism

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Few times do you hear a family’s story as compelling as that of Lynn Wilder’s family. In her book Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church, Lynn shows how the truth of the grace of Jesus, the cross, reached her (and her husband, three boys, and one daughter) even as they had been well-established in Mormonism for over 30 years.
I have studied many other religions before, and even the beliefs of the Latter-day Saints, but I am always left wondering, what does this religion look like to the average follower. Lynn shares a truly “insider” perspective having served with her husband, Michael, in a number of positions within the church and Lynn herself worked as a professor at BYU in Utah. If anyone can be an authoritative source, it is this family. Plus, Lynn and Michael did not grow up in Mormonism, but rather were converted as well-educated adults.
The book itself is broken up into three sections: Mormon Bliss, Cracks in the Façade, and Starting Over with an appendix in the back that charts the differences between Mormonism and the Bible. The Wilder’s 3rd son, Micah, was passionate about Mormonism until he started reading the New Testament while on his missions assignment in Orlando, Florida. As he read, he began to understand, and he encouraged the rest of his family and friends to read the New Testament, “as a child would read it.” In this way, the truth of God’s Word changed their lives forever.
As a final note, I have to mention how thankful I am to Lynn Wilder for being brave enough to even write this book. Some would like to portray Mormons as being the same as anyone else in mainstream Christianity, but after reading this book, there is absolutely no way you can maintain that view. She very clearly outlined the differences both in theology and practice so that the reader is left to consider a lot of things. I was encouraged to read my Bible more to truly know what I believe and not just rest on what others have told me. Everyone could use that reminder.
5 out of 5 stars
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan through the Booksneeze program in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye-opening narrative about life as a Mormon

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmomred
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn K. Wilder and her husband were Mormon converts who, in their quest for spiritual truth, rejected the Christianity of their upbringing. They lived and breathed Mormonism. They believed everything that the church told them. Then their world came crashing down. Their son, whom, along with his brother and sister, had been raised in the Wilder's "forever family", took it down. Well, maybe not him, but God instead.
If you have ever wondered what Mormons believe and how they live, you will want to read this book. I learned things that I never knew from someone who "walked the walk and talked the talk". Mrs. Wilder knows what she is talking about, and she does it respectfully. Once you read the truth about the church from a former insider, you will understand a little more about how Mormons think and believe. You will, hopefully, be better able to witness to these lost people.
Given that Mitt Romney, former challenger for the presidency of the United States, is a Mormon, you might find that you know little about the faith that he professes. Yet you're curious. Get this book.
Unveiling Grace is a well-written book that I think you will find not only enjoyable to read, but enlightening as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An account of God's grace in one family's life

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MIMom
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unveiling Grace is a personal account written by Lynn Wilder about how the Lord drew her deeply involved family out of the tentacles of the Mormon church and into a close communion with Him. The book contains her story, as well as a glossary of Mormon jargon, a brief comparison of LDS versus Biblical doctrine and information on ministries that reach out to the LDS population.
I was captivated by this book. As I do not have the best self-discipline, I usually try to avoid books (aka fiction) that will cause me to neglect my motherly duties, and I didn't figure this would be one of them- but it was. I ended up using a precious nap time and a couple late nights to read through this book. Wilder writes with raw honesty and descriptive passion, as she retells a brief summary of her childhood and how she became thoroughly enmeshed in the LDS church with her husband before the Holy Spirit called them to a true relationship with Jesus Christ. She wrote that their conversion to Christianity came through truly reading the New Testament and seeking truth from the words of Jesus, not what we are told by mere men and human authorities; I believe that not only Mormons, but all Christians, should take this to heart! We need to focus on the Word as the only source of truth, look to it as confirmation for all our actions, so that we can speak it, live it, breathe it. I loved that the book was filled with Scripture references (it is a testimony to her knowledge of the Word that she has tried to apply to her life). I loved that you could see how the Holy Spirit (referred by Wilder as the Dancer of grace) worked within her life to draw her one step at a time to recognition that no matter her status, she was indeed depraved like Saul before his conversion, and no amount of good works, temple recommends or esoteric exaltations would bring her into the presence of the Almighty. I loved that she kept the focus and glory upon God and though pointing out the errors within the LDS church, she maintained respect for the individual. I loved how the book showed the transformation of the Wilder family from a testimony of what they had done for God, to what God had done for them.
I would definitely recommend this book to friends. I agreed to review it hoping to learn what makes some of our dear LDS friends click, and finished with a heart grieving from all the deception and half-truths, and a passion for the deliverance of their souls from the only One worthy of praise.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting and in depth look at modern Mormon

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an in depth look at the conversion of the Wilder family to Mormonism and how they in time came to know the true Saviour. Micah Wilder is Lynn's son, and it was his questions and searching that started the whole family on the path to a big change. It's neat how Lynn can now look back and see how God by His grace was protecting and gently prodding them even when they weren't searching.
They were all very involved and enmeshed in the LDS church, doing everything they needed to in order to gain the best heavenly life in the hereafter, but the Bible says, "For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast." (Eph 2:8 - 9) This verse is essentially what they came to understand.
This book is a fascinating look into the modern Mormon church and culture.
I received this book for the purpose of an honest review from Zondervan. My opinion is my own. Thank you Zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unveiling Grace: The Story of How We Found Our Way Out of the Mormon Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Read, Amazing Journey, Amazing Grace

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Harmony Wheeler
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn Wilder is amazing, all at the grace of God, of course. Her book "Unveiling Grace" does a fabulous job of clearly laying out what the life of most Mormans looks like, all while showing God's amazing control over her journey in this autobiographical account of Wilder's own journey out of Mormonism.
Wilder weaves key Mormon teachings, both publicly touted and kept more secret, throughout her account, pointing out the strong contradictions between Mormon beliefs and Christianity, as well as the contradictions within the Mormon faith. But Wilder also has an incredible love for the Mormon people, one that allows her to tell her story in an easy and loving way.
It's a book you'll have to read more than once or take regular notes on to really solidify the great takeaways. If you're looking for a book on Mormonism that's more of a story than a straight-forward non-fiction, this book is for you. And if you're merely interested in different religions, this is a good book. This is a good book for any believer to read.
*Disclaimer: I received this book for free from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.