Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4

Tyndale House Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4

Military and NFL veteran Riley Covington can't sit on the sidelines when danger looms! When homegrown terrorists overrun the National Cathedral, taking senators, congressmen, and their aides---including Khadi Faroughi---hostage, Riley races to the rescue. Can he secure the captives' freedom before the beheading begins?
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Review 1 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disappointing Ending

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
shecogic
Location:Eaton, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have read everyone of the Riley Covington series and loved them all. I was sorry that it came to an end and even sorrier at the ending. Don't want to give away anything, but sure wish it could have had a more positive wrap up to a great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
norwes
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have all 4 book enjoyed them all very much. Was very disappointed in the ending of the 4th book. Why? WHY?
I just don't understand why? Will think twice before I buy any other books from these authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Riley Covingtion...Of course it's great!

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lichen
Location:FLORIDA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Riley Covington series has been great! #4 is no exception. Keeps you involved to the last page and perhaps a little after you've turned the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is one of the best I have read!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Riley Covington series is sooooooooooooooo good! The character development and story telling is superb! You won't want to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent Suspense

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the final book of the Riley Covington thrillers. Riley is a former special ops turned pro football star but when the woman he loves is taken hostage by a terrorist group he forces his way back to his special ops friends where he comes up with a plan to get her out. I have read the first novel in this series "Monday Night Jihad" so I had some background on how these novels began. I haven't read the second or third so I have missed some of the thrills and the growth of Riley and Khadi's relationship but you get the gist of it throughout the book. I enjoyed the suspense in the book but I have to say it irritates me when it takes half the book to set up what you know from the back cover description is going to happen. Aside from that, i thought it was well written and keeps you engaged for the duration of the book. I would start with book one so you can enjoy the whole series.
I received this book free from Tyndale in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprised Me

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Inside Threat by Jason Elam and Steve Yohn is the 4th book of the Riley Covington series. I picked this book to review from Tyndale without reading the other three. I figured each book would be a story in itself and the beginning of the book filled me in on lots of Riley's background. To be honest, I was not sure I could finish this book. The first 196 pages drug for me-it was an effort to pick the book up to continue reading but I kept on and was glad I did. On page 200 the action and real storyline begin and WOW, it was hard to put down.
Riley Covington is a football player who also, in the previous books was in the military fighting terrorists. There is a bunch of homegrown Islamic terrorists who kill a prominent senator and during his funeral, this group overruns the National Cathedral and takes members of Congress and others hostage. What Riley finds out is that his former girlfriend Khadi is part of that hostage crisis. Riley devises a dangerous rescue plan which really puts you on the edge of your seat. Can't tell you more-must read the book to find out how and if he succeeds.
The scary part of this book is that it could have come from the headlines of the newspaper instead of the authors head. We never know what evil lurks around the corner but the co-authors have put lots of scripture throughout this book and we, as Christians, know the "end of the story"
Thank you so much to Tyndale Publishers for this free book just for my honest opinion. I will be picking up the other 3 Riley Covington books to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

good, but terrible ending

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is an awesome series, but without giving spoilers, if you like it, don't read this one! The authors do something authors should never do. The writing is great, the plot great, other than using one word that is iffy a few times, clean and curse-free, but the ending stinks - really stinks. Don't read it. I really mean that. I wish I hadn't
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Storytelling, Excellent Story

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy L
Location:Santee, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warning: do not begin this book unless you’re committed to staying up all night to finish it because Inside Threat by Jason Elam and Steve Yohn pits good against evil and destroys the politically correct narrative that says all ideas are equally good and all people are just trying their best to get along by their own lights.
The hero, Riley Covington is a professional football player, military veteran, and a Christian. Special Agent Khadi Faroughi is a Muslim. They are in love with each other but have stopped a romantic relationship because their faiths will not allow them to marry. Radical Muslims begin a terror-killing spree across Americaand finally invade the National Cathedral during a high-level funeral and take over three-hundred hostages, which they begin to systematically behead. Riley, Khadi, and a group of supporting characters fight on the side of western civilization against seventh-century barbarism, and bring order, if not victory out of an impossible situation.
There are three stories being told: one is the love story between Riley Covington and Khadi Faroughi. The second is the story of Christianity—Jesus Christ alone saves. The third is the urgency of the battle between a far-superior western culture and seventh-century barbaric Islam. Friendship, loyalty, love, Jesus Christ, and good and evil are woven into a strong story with characters authentic enough to capture the imagination and propel the larger issues to a satisfying yet melancholy conclusion.
There were weaknesses. There were times the dialogue made all the characters sound alike. Unnecessary use of the colloquial (“antsiness,” “nixed,” “decked out”) by the narrator distracted from the otherwise solid storytelling, as if the narrator were trying to assume the main character’s personality. Both hero and heroine were (surprisingly) emotionally immature—this seemed inconsistent with how they behaved otherwise. Mechanically, the date/time stamp at the top of each chapter was a great idea and might have conveyed urgency if had been emphasized somehow. The chapter images on the right side of the page were a good idea and could have conveyed masculinity and determination and very fine weaponry, but they showed up in the paperback as blobs of black.
The weaknesses were far outweighed by the excellent storytelling. The narrative was real and compelling and the characters necessary and believable. Short chapters were even shorter near the end and created the sense that the lstories of love, salvation, and good and evil were racing toward an inevitable conclusion and something must be done! The invitation to know Jesus Christ given at the end was surprisingly well done and seemed natural and appropriate to the story. Hope for our hero and heroine sprang eternal until Riley was discovered dead under the cathedral bench, and the details of the hostage taking and ultimate release were neither overdone nor so vague as to lose the reader’s interest. Brutality was described but did not go beyond what was necessary and proper to the storytelling.
The story was real, and true, and compelling in a way that shows the authors of this work of fiction have a better grasp on the threats of radical Islam to America than do the politicians whose job it is to “provide for the common defense.”
In the end, the good guys win and the bad guys lose the battle, and a young man gives up his life for the woman he loves. These themes are as eternal as creation, and none the worse for wear. I believe American readers crave more solidly good stories like this one, stories with a good moral foundation and with believable characters that act as if they are proud of America rather than ashamed of it.
I received a copy of the book free from Tyndale House Publishing in exchange for a review of the book.
NOTE: Elam and Yohn created their hero, professional football player and Army veteran Riley Covington with their first book Monday Night Jihad in August 2008. They followed with a second book, Blown Coverage in December 2008, and wrote the third book in the series, Blackout in December 2009. I plan to go back and read all the books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riley Covington for President!

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was really fun! I had not read any other Riley Covington novels, and was pleased to discover that not only did it not matter to the reading of this book, but it made me want to read the others immediately. It’s always great when you can step into a book about a specific character and not feel lost. The story is plausible, and it was a fast read with lots of action and a strong plot.
Riley Covington is a professional football player and former anti-terror agent. His routine gets disrupted though as circumstances turn his own career upside down, while a series of terrorist activities that seem unrelated threaten the safety of his friends. Riley’s choices are always tempered with a true to life exploration of his Christian faith, as he truthfully examines his own behavior against the context of the cross. In a very honest way, he probes his own failings and motives in keeping with his relationship with Jesus. Every day, every believer does the same – that tension between doing what God wants and what seems necessary for existence on planet Earth is the primary purpose of grace.
So – read this book, but also read the other three so far in the series, because you will not be disappointed. Kudos to Jason Elam and Steve Yohn for writing with depth and excitement! I will gladly purchase the other three books, and look forward to reading them all!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inside Threat, Riley Covington Thriller Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Admittedly I was only interested in this because because I'm a hardcore football fan and it's author Jason Elam was a football player (even though he played for the Denver Broncos and I'm a Kansas City Chiefs fan). The authors clearly did a good job of writing in an easy to follow way and developing the plot but their are a few drawbacks. Inside Threat is billed as a suspense thriller yet it really won't keep you on the edge of your seat. It's also part of a series and having not read the previous novels it's somewhat annoying reading all the references to what happened in the previous books. What's more, the book, like most fiction books, seriously lacks the element of unpredictability. There were no real twists or curves that will surprise the alert reader and the ending which was probably meant to be a shocker could be seen coming from miles away. Overall though it's not a bad read. It's just pretty average as far as novels are concerned.
Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers for a free copy of this book in exchange for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.