Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation

Tyndale House I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation

Encourage your kids to "go green" with this eco-friendly devotional! Featuring Scripture verses, fun facts, jokes, activities, and applications, 90 readings teach 8- to 12-year-olds how caring for creation can help draw them closer to God and know him more deeply. Great for homeschool and VBS, it also includes individual, family, and group projects.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Review 1 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
HeidiPA
This is a great devotional book for kids. Even if youre not really into the whole environmentally friendly lifestyle, theres something in this book for you and your kids.I like the way this devotional book is laid out. Each days lesson starts with a Scripture verse. Using Day 49 as an example --- the verse is Ephesians 2:19. Following the verse is the main text for the day. Day 49 is entitled Monkeying Around and is about the rhesus monkeys in New Delhi, India (do a Google search to learn more!) Next is the Connection section this section ties the Scripture verse and text together and applies it to a childs life Day 49s Connection talks about the feeling of not fitting in (I think every child and adult has experienced that feeling once or twice!) Next comes the What Can I Do? section these ideas are all based on r words such as reuse, recycle, reduce, rethink, respect, reflect, and relay. Day 49s contains some questions for reflection. Some days include recycling and repurposing ideas and other simple ways that children can help respect the environment. Some days include Fun or Crazy Facts (which are fun trivia facts), other facts, Jokes, News Flash, or websites for further information or research. Day 49s devotional includes a Startling Fact and some Jokes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee'
I Love God's Green Earth is a really wonderful children's devotional designed to help kids (and parents) learn how to take care of God's Green Earth.The daily devotionals cover a period of 90 days/lessons. Each starts with a Bible scripture quote followed by a brief paragraph of information regarding the chapter's topic. Next they add a paragraph called "connection" where they link the topic of the daily devotional with God's views based on Biblical scripture. The final part of the devotional is filled with activity suggestions that the whole family can discuss and then it's followed up with a fun fact or a funny joke. Our boys both raved about it and loved the jokes, the lessons and activity suggestions. My husband and I enjoyed the book as well and really liked how the authors wove the concepts of God, faith, stewardship and caring for the Earth into each wonderful daily devotional. The book is targeted for kids but Aaron and I learned quite a bit too. We highly recommend this for the whole family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
kcjs
Michael & Caroline do a great job of making this book interesting for children. The book teaches kids how to take care of the Earth that God had created. The fun facts are interesting along with some of the cool websites and other activities that kids can do. The book is very kid oriented (the pictures, page layouts) and the length of each devotion is the perfect length for kids. However I felt the book was more of of something you would use as a training tool than something as a devotional.Each page has a new devotional for the day. While I like the layouts of the page, I didnt care to much for the content in the devotions. Dont get me wrong some were good, but some were really stretching what the verses were saying. Some I feel didnt even go a long with the verses at all. The end of the book had some useful resource. On a whole I would not recommend this book to others as a devotional for children, but as a training tool if this is something you are interested in teaching your children.Action Steps that we take in our home:~We use cloth diapers~We are careful about turning off lights whenever we are finished in a room~We also have a compost pile which we started last year. I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing for the purpose of reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Many of us are concerned about keeping our yards, neighborhoods and parks clean. We don't want to see trash laying around and we certainly don't want our children to be the cause of littering. It is very important that our children learn to clean up after themselves, both at home and outside.Michael and Caroline Carroll have written a Christian-based book to help with this. It is called, "I Love God's Green Earth." It contains 90 days of devotionals, which include a short lesson, a fact and suggestions of how they can take action. There is also a really nice quick list of 10 tips at the end of the book, such as "Pick up one piece of trash everyday" and "Save water by taking four-minute showers."The tone of the book is very "hip" and "cool" to a degree and is not really my taste. But I am sure it would be helpful to lots of families. It also contains plenty of helpful information and facts, which is great!*I received this book from Tyndale House for Review purposes.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
I Love God's Green Earth is a unique devotional for kids ages 6 and up. And of course the parents who read it to their children will enjoy it, too. I appreciated the simplicity of the devotional format (only 2 short pages each day) and the variety in each day. Each day's devotional includes a great devotional thought based on a passage of scripture, some application steps and tips, fun facts or jokes, and a story or paragraph about a current "green" topic that coordinates with the theme of the day. While I can't say that I "loved" everything about the book, I would say that it was a fair mix of showing respect for God's creation and spiritual application. I personally thought this book was a neat resource for those who want to teach their children more about caring for the earth from a Biblical point of view.Our family will try to make an attempt to watch our garbage output and show respect by picking up garbage that we see laying around. What will this book encourage your kids to do?* * * * *This review copy was provided courtesy of Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shawn
This is the perfect book for families to read to get ready for the 40th Anniversary of Earth Day. This devotional contains fun facts and jokes while combining scripture lessons and fun activities for children. Each devotion includes an action you can take and includes tips on how to reuse, recycle and rethink. I really enjoyed reading this myself and I can't wait to share this with my children. I think that reading this devotional book will help children to learn more about God, nature and get them thinking more about what they can do to take care the Earth. As this book is for 8-12 year olds, I think that all children and families would enjoy reading this. This is a fun educational way to learn about God and taking care of our Earth.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2010
We Love I Love God's Green Earth! This book is perfect for our family! While it says the ages are 8-12, even Gidget has been able to participate. This devotional is great for Nature Earth Loving kids. It would also be great for kids wanting to learn how to be more about how to take care of God's Great Earth.thank you so very much Tyndale House for allowing me to have a copy of this book for review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Love God's Green Earth: 90 Devotions for Kids Who Want to Take Care of God's Creation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
jb05
I must say I LOVED this devotional book for kids/families. We had been looking for something for us to do as a family. Well we found it...I love God's Green Earth written by Michael and Caroline Carroll. We did this book everyday for a month so far. We will continue it after this review. Each devotion includes scripture, facts on the scientific facts surrounding the topic of the day, connection links the scientific facts with the biblical truth from the days scripture, what can I do is an action you as a family can take to take care of God's Earth, fun stuff I must say is my children's favorite section of the devotional. It includes jokes, riddles and fun facts that connect the fact of the day.Our action step we as a family is taking after reading this book is we are going to be more self sufficiant as a family. We are planting a large garden which the children have taken a big part in. We are planting berry bushes and a could of fruit trees and strawberries.I HIGHLY recommend this book to families young and old. There is gems through out this book to be learned by all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.