Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook

Zondervan The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook

Should church and state really be separated? Does the church belong in the political arena? Arguing from Scripture and history, The Myth of a Christian Nation makes a compelling case that whenever the church gets too close to any political or national ideology, it is disastrous for the church and harmful to society. Contending that the American Evangelical Church has allowed itself to be co-opted by the political right (and some by the political left), Dr. Boyd exposes how this harms the church's unique calling to build the kingdom of God. In the course of his argument, he challenges some deeply held convictions of evangelical Christians in America, such as America being "a Christian nation" and that Christians ought to be trying to "take America back for God."
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Review 1 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The premise is agreeable, if not the politics.

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel Markham
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The premise of this book was totally agreeable to me, even if I do not subscribe to the author's politics. This book gave me what I was looking for, a mandate for keeping politics out of the church and in the secular political realm. The church is fast turning into a political action committee. Patriotism seems to be the neo-orthodoxy. Patriotic ferver and politics have quickly replaced the great commandment and the great commission. I highly recommend this book to those who have not yet been sucked into the political malestrom in the church. This book is an early warning device, if it is not already to late.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Consti
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the book, I will in fact look for a discount and buy a few more to give to friends. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent-an absolute must read for church leaders

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steven Hernandez
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Myth of a Christian Nation is the most important book I've read in a long time. As a fundamentalist Evangelical Christian I am frequently confronted by people in the public, both frustrated Christians and non-Christians, who often comment on how far away the practices and beliefs of many Evangelical Christians have drifted and eroded away from the teachings of our Lord and Savior. American Christianity has become politicized, and often simply co-opted as a veneer to coat over non-Christian civil agendas. The book calls for a return to scripture as taught by Christ and warns against what happens when people allow themselves to believe they are being good Christians, even when they are not seeking to be Christ-like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louise Fauveaux
I read this book several years ago and was amazed that an American, living in the USA, was able to see things so clearly. I left the USA 35 years ago to share the Gospel here in Europe and had come to the conclusion that too many Americans are Americans first and then Christians. People become Christians, nations do not. When I read the book I knew nothing of the Emerging Churches. Since then I have read a lot and have been distressed by some of their teaching. I hope Mr. Boyd does not adhere to any of their heresies. ON the subject of a Christian nation, though, I feel he has understood Scripture. I too have bought several copies of the book and shared them with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael V. Baxter
"If My kingdom was of this world, my disciples would fight," replied Jesus to Pilate when questioned concerning Jesus' kingship. This very idea of God's kingdom is applied to the current Christian's role in the kingdoms of the world and what a Christian can and should do to influence the world for God. Easy to read and highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gerald
This country was founded in rebellion. Instead of a cultural base, it is ideas based. And the idea that we hold most dearly to is independence and freedom. That rebellion was repeated when the South rebelled against the Central State. The 1960's brought rebellion against the establishment. Todays children have been better student's of the history than they're given credit. This book is nothing short of astounding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power Is Destroying the Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nina
This book is nothing short of amazing. The description of Jesus peels away our fleshly bias. The book describes Jesus the loving radical -kingdom builder that He is! Also gives practical ways to help Americans not put God in a box, not even a political box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.