Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook

Zondervan Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook

Want to become more like Christ but don't know where to begin? Rick Warren says the key to transformation is found in Scripture. This easy-to-understand guide offers 12 different Bible study methods to help you explore biblical truths, apply them to your life, and grow as a disciple. Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods will help you develop a customized, personal approach to exploring and studying the riches of God's Word. Formerly published as Personal Bible Study Methods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Review 1 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good study tool to focus on studying the Word of God.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Highly readable book

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Babe
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this book to everyone searching for a study guide. We used it at church in the theological class. Being just an ordinary, not very well educated kind of person, I love this book because it describes in simple terms different ways to study the Bible. It is not simplistic or patronizing but it opens up a vista of study paths that will never be exhausted.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
GODS Cop
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already done bible studies through Rick Warren and look forward to completing this study. Just in the brief time I have study this, I really see how meditating on God's word can effect listening to God.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yvonne D'andrade
Awsome book the plans laid out are quite clear on how to study the bible, I am not finished reading the entire book as yet, but so far its real informative and very helpful to me in exploring the bible and understanding it more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dalton
While some might find in-depth Bible study daunting, and books like Rick's that require more of us in doing so just as daunting, that is in fact what draws us closer in relationship to our Creator, and in understanding our Purpose in being his creations. It is ill advised for anyone to draw the incorrect conclusion that using a paraphrase to assist in understanding and interpreting scripture is substandard and to interpret it for oneself first is incorrect exegesis; exegesis IS interpretation by definition. For one to say using one Bible over another or one book over another or one interpretation over another completely leaves out the Holy Spirit; I would say that is the thing most dangerously and furthest from the truth of which we should be aware.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Stenbakken
Simple but not simplistic methods to enhance any level of Bible student. I have used this book with adult Bible study classes with great results and about 50% of the class members purchased new study Bibles and research materials to study on their own. Dynamic book for teaching, preaching, study. Of my 5000 personal library this volume is in the top 5%.Dr. Richard Stenbakken, Ed. D.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Stenbakken
Simple but not simplistic methods to enhance any level of Bible student. I have used this book with adult Bible study classes with great results and about 50% of the class members purchased new study Bibles and research materials to study on their own. Dynamic book for teaching, preaching, study. Of my 5000 personal library this volume is in the top 5%.Dr. Richard Stenbakken, Ed. D.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Fleig
This has been a very helpful resource. I would recommend it to those who are struggling with how to study the Bible to gain deeper understanding of it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Greene
My review is focused into one specific area. If you can be honest with yourself then this may or may not be the book for you. So here you go ...You can best sum this up by the words of the author himself. "How often should you study the Bible? The answer will vary from person to person, but an important factor to keep in mind is the distinction between you quiet time (short devotional period 10-30 minutes) and your Bible study time (in-depth Bible study with large blocks of time.)" (p.19) "YES!" it will help you in your "quiet time" but also know you may experience some frustration of not getting more out of it or that it seems "way too much." And "YES!" it will be a immense help in focusing you on your in-depth study of God's word. So the question you have to ask yourself is "What are you looking for out of this book?" If you are not 'regularly' in God's Word now, I am thinking, it will frustrate you or blow you out of the water. Think about it before you buy. As for myself I can say I have truly enjoyed this book. It has been a blessing. I hope you will feel the same.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynnk
If you are ready for serious Bible study then RW offers explanations of 12 methods with which to learn. My husband & I didn't think it was hard to understand at all. Most of the methods are time consuming, but most studies where you actually learn a lot are. This is the only way we have learned to really understand what we am reading and how to find answers to questions that come up while reading scripture. You analyze scripture from word level to book level. I love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl-Lee Raine
I bought this book feeling excited at the prospect of learning to study God's Word - as I've been weak in this spiritual discipline for a while now. I opened it and was already confused at the various methods that Mr Warren introduces to the reader.I attempted one session on Psalm 15 and I could NOT get it at all!! This book was far too difficult for me to comprehend and I read almost always. One thing that did NOT bother me was the use of various translations and paraphrases...this doesn't affect me since I own a few translations and paraphrases myself.I've purchased 2 other how to study the Bible-themed texts and they are working out much better for me. However, I'm inclined to give Mr Warren a star as he makes good points as to why we should study God's Word.This is a complex text and I'll not be recommending it to others,sorry.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mike Cooper
I believe this book was the first one that Rick wrote and he did it in college. I think this is a great approach to studying the Bible. And I think it is wrong for folks to think the book is terrible because Rick uses multiple Bible translations. So what if it is a paraphrase. The scholars involved know way more about the Bible and original languages that I will ever know in my entire life time. And that's the best part of looking at multiple translations on the same verse you can discover subtle nuances that maybe a translator or a committee left out. This is a good solid middle of the road book for anyone who wants to discover multiple ways to study the Bible for yourself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
John
I consider myself an average reader and I had no problems understanding Brother Warren's book. I used several translations (NIV,KJV,NKJV,NASB,TLB,NCE,etc.) and still was able to "study to show myself approved...". God's Word will "not return void" so I got exactly what the Lord wanted me to understand. Thank-you, Brother Warren! St.Francis of Assisi said: "In all things preach the gospel, use words if necessary." And Brother Warren's book helps.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robert Hawkins
I have found this book very helpful in teaching Bible study methods to new believers. One has to understand that this is a group of twelve study outlines rather than one single outline. Nearly all of the new believers (educated & uneducated) that I work with have find it challenging, if not impossible to study using translations such as the KJV, NKJV, NIV, and NASB yet easily understand versions like the NLT, CEV,and the CSB. This manual has methods that work great with ALL versions and should not be dismissed because the author promotes easy to read/understand translations of God's word. Again, a great book for methods of learning and understanding the Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Norm Ressler
I thought this book had some great info and had the potential to be a great tool in the life of a struggling Christian becoming closer to God. Although I didn't agree with everything in the book, I thought it was well written and very helpful overall.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chris
I would not recommend this book to my 12 year old daughter. Rick Warren implies that modern translations(which are not even translations, but paraphrases) to study from and are as good as traditional translations from the original language like the KJV, NKJV, NASB, etc. The Message, the NCV nor the NLT are not stand alone Bibles to study God's Word. If you'd like some meat in lieu of baby food, get Unleashing God's Word in Your Life: How to Effectively Study and Apply the Bible by John MacArthur. This will truly enhance your walk.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2006
I'm disappointed with the material Warren has presented here. While he has some good tips on Bible study, they are too varied and could leave the average reader confused. I can only give two stars for the lack of simplicity. Each chapter could be a booklet by itself. I also don't favor his implication that all modern translations are equally useful in doing serious Bible study. Nothing could be further from the truth.Simply put, Warren can do much, much better. For anyone looking for a book on studying the Bible, pass on this one. Look instead to Kay Arthur's "How to Study Your Bible."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rick Warren's Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God's Word - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Andrew
This book is not helpful for a saint who earnestly desires to study God's Word. Warren's first error is that he states the first step in Bible study is to read a passage and ask "what does this passage mean to me? How can I apply this to my life?" Warren says only after seeking out our interpretation are we to seek out the true interpretation. Any student of hermenutics/exegesis would agree this is incorrect interpretation of the scriptures. A better choice would be How to Read the Bible for all It's Worth by Gordon Fee.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.