Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Son of Hamas, Hardcover

Tyndale House Son of Hamas, Hardcover

As the oldest son of a founding member of Hamas, Mosab was groomed to assume his father's legacy, politics, status, and power. But everything changed when he embraced the teachings of Jesus instead. Here "Joseph" shares his story of danger, courage---and conviction that "loving your enemies" is the only way to peace in the Middle East. 256 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.958 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Review 1 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rivetting book!

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
ccshack
Location:Glen Rose, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An awesome story of God's persistent love, even toward those who seem "unredeemable" to most of us in the western world. This young man risked all, including family ties and his own life, to know the true & living God. Also puts modern day Israel in a good light. You will not be disappointed by this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Welter
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This man's story is nothing short of astonishing. To read how the Lord moved, in his complicated and dangerous life, to lead him to Him was thrilling to read. He was granted Political Asylum in the U.S. (God bless America!) and, as far as I know, is still residing there in relative safety (there are many who wish to see him dead). I pray this man's story would reach many, and that many hearts would be changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
monica
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down! Very well written, gripping and real. This book did a good job in shining a light on the spiderweb of issues the world of Islam and consequently, the entire world, are facing. A must read for every American to help to understand this world, our position in it and our responsibility to the defense of Israel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
shalou
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very interesting to read how he first viewed things and then how God moved and worked in his life and changed his viewpoint. Very interesting to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Breanne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An interesting read. I'm not certain that it helps me to witness to my Muslem acquaintances, which is really what I was hoping for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

eye-opening book

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
BJ77
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book about Middle East politics. It was an eye-opener about the levels of hate and pain that men will inflict upon others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Anne Piaget
Location:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A real eye-opener!
May God bless Mosab in his christian walk and give him a hundredfold what he had to leave behind for the Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new perspective on the Middle East situation.

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg Hume
Location:Kentville, Nova Scotia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent book. It shows the many situations that occur in Israel and the people of Palestine. It was certainly from a different perspective of the situation than we here in the West are led to believe by the media.
A really good read and I'll not think of the situation in the Middle East in the same way again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terror, Polical Intrigue, and Unthinkable Choices

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mosab begins his book with a letter to his family, acknowledging the pain, deep wounds, and separation he has caused by his choices. Had he stayed and become a terrorist, he would have gained the status of hero, dedicated to his faith, family and nation. But he does not think he would have been much of a hero, based on the Lord’s commands he now holds dearly. Instead, he is now considered a traitor in their eyes, bringing shame instead of pride. Once a royal prince, he is now a stranger in a foreign country, fighting loneliness and darkness. But saving even one innocent human life brings him hope.
Son of Hamas is a compelling, first-person account of young Mosab’s touching, difficult life as he watched his father being imprisoned over and over while he was still a young child, and his subsequent responsibility as the eldest son to care for the family. He always held a deep love and respect for his father’s ideology at the ‘bottom rung of the ladder.’
Mosab describes what life is like in what is considered Israeli-occupied territories–the horrors of terrorist activities, suicide bombings, imprisonment, etc., with very real and very raw emotions. He divulges his own behind-the-scenes involvement with Hamas, starting out innocently by throwing rocks. His vivid descriptions about dealings with top Middle Eastern leaders give the reader the impression of being there with him, yet sitting safely at home. He goes on to elaborates about the difficult choices he had to make as a young teen and young man, and how it changed his life, family, history, and nation–heart-wrenching decisions.
Mosab exposes information known only by a few individuals, but he does it for the greater good of all nations involved. That takes courage, but he did it because he believed in Jesus’ teaching of “loving your enemies.”
As a wife/mother, I can hardly imagine the turmoil of not only watching my husband sent to prison, but to watch my son endure the fear of and engagement in terrorist activities, all the while keeping things secret.
In his postscript, he admonishes Christians to love people unconditionally in order to represent Jesus to the world. A deep longing for this freedom is at the heart of his story.
I believe this is a book that should be read by our top government officials (our President on down) to help them understand the Middle Eastern mindset, as well as assist in working through the terrorism issues throughout this section of the world and worldwide.
I greatly appreciated his glossary and time line at the end of his book. To learn more information, news and updates from Mosab Hassan Yousef, please visit here.
This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., in exchange for my honest review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for info on Israel's current conflict.

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a shocking, eye opener for me to read. This is a book which gives a different insight into the Israeli Palestinian conflict currently going on in the Middle East. I doubt most people know who Mosab Hassan Yousef is, but for anyone who wants to learn more about the current Middle Eastern conflict through a more credible witness, this is a must read! Son of Hamas is not a just a fancy name for a book, Mr. Yousef is actually the son of one of Hamas' founders. When reading this, he gave me a feel of what it is like to live in the Palestinian side and erased the false notion that this current situation is a simple black and white issue: both sides have some innocence and blame.
He begins by talking about his childhood, his friends, his family, the pain and suffering, his former Muslim faith, the treatment of Palestinians, the treatment of Jews, the culture, the attitude and feelings of many Palestinians, the importance of Islam for many Palestinians, etc. He later talks about the former Ottoman Empire, Yasser Arafat and other Palestinian figures/organizations, the early foundation of the terrorist organization Hamas, what turned Mr. Yousef away from killing Jews himself, prison life, his defection into Shin Bet as the Green Prince, Middle Eastern Politics, his conversion to Christianity, etc. Though this book will not talk about everything one could learn about Israel and Palestinians, it is certainly a very detailed wake up call for those who think the Israeli Palestinian Conflict is easily resolvable as both politics and religion are heavy factors for all that has happened. I highly recommend this autobiography!
Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Tyndale House Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus. This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real eye opener

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
bonnystreet
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is a good read. Moves along. Helps one understand the Middle East conflict from an insider.
Outstanding ... I would recommend it to anyone seeking to understand current events in the Middle East.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story we all need to hear

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Color Me Bright
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story wasn't what I expected in fact it was way beyond which in this case was even better.
It was an amazing story that was personal and gripping. It told not only the darkside of Islam but there was a lighter side too. The authors father Sheikh Hassan Yousef while one of the founders of Hamas was expressed by the author as being kind, gentle, respectful to his family, and even when his son became a Christian he still expressed love for his son. I believe the authors father has the potential of being much more suited as a Christian then an Islamic. Mosab Hassan Yousef did very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
1peter419
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing account of how God can take a man and totally change his life around for God's glory! As one who has an interest in the Middle East this book is an encouragement that God can do everything and that there is a reason for everything. We may not know what that reason is but he has a plan for everything we just need to remain faithful in Him. I recommend this book to anyone who just wants to see or be encouraged by what God is doing in the Middle East! Though Islam is a very deceptive religion God can and will continue to shine his light through the darkness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanne Brown
Hard to put down, this book is a great modern history of the Middle East, giving insight that we Westerners lack into the real people obscured by media propaganda. A personal story of faith and courage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Priscilla J Flores
WOW, excellent information, well written, an easy read. A must read if you are interested in Israel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue Ann Llewellyn
I purchased this for my daughter's birthday, her reply (age 19) ... very well written account, captivating read ... I like how he shows the depth of the Islamic religion in comparison to Christianity ... he gives a rich historical background of his family up to contemporary times ... very interesting ... highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joel Faris
This has book has done more to help me understand the seemingly never-ending crisis between Israel and Palistine. A truely unique book by a humble, honest, and caring man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hardi Rosner
Riveting book that truly goes into the heart of Islam and the middle east conflict. An amazing story of how God can reach into the heart of ANYONE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
William Montie
This is a most informative book. I remembered when many of the incidents happened and it was interesting to read it from both the Hamas and Israel perspective. Also I loved reading how the Lord worked in Mosab's life to bring him to faith in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Son of Hamas, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal Inman
This is truly an amazing story. It grips you from the very beginning before you even start reading page 1!! Anyone interested in God's reconciliation thru Jesus' sacrifice should definately read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>