Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Fatal Convictions

Tyndale House Fatal Convictions

Alexander Madison is part lawyer, part pastor, and part con artist. When a Muslim imam is accused of instigating honor killings, Alex must decide whether to take the case that every other lawyer in town is running away from. He doesn't realize until it's too late that defending the imam may cost him the one thing in life he cares about most. Fatal Convictions is the story of a lawyer willing to risk it all and the women who must choose between faith and love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fatal Convictions
Review 1 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Awesome Singer Book

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
maciemollysdad
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third Randy Singer book that I have read and I will definitely be reading many more. This book, as with the other ones that I have read, was hard to put down. The main character is relatable and the story is easy to follow. The storyline ends up having a big twist that makes the book even better than expected. All lovers of John Grisham will love Singer's books since his style is similar but you also get the additional spiritual element too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Spellbinding Legal Thriller

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michell
Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The lawyer -Alexander Madison, also a part-time pastor with a case that no lawyer in his right mind would want. The defendant – Khalid Mobassar, a Muslim imam known to be a reformist. All the evidence collected points directly to Khalid. The crime – a Muslim wife, who recently converted to Christianity, was found brutally murdered with her alleged boyfriend buried alive beside her. Khalid Mobassar asks Alexander Madison to defend him. Alex hesitates to take on this case but he truly believes in his heart that Khalid is innocent. Follow this story as Alex examines the evidence and his own convictions that could lead to his death.
Fatal Convictions, by award-winning writer Randy Singer, is an explosive legal thriller that will hook you from its first page to the last. From the time you start reading it, you will not want to put it down. With an exciting and unexpected twist at the end, the story will move you to think about your own convictions.
I love this book! I’m a big fan of John Grisham, so a book that says that this author is the Christian John Grisham is quite intriguing for me. When I received this book, I excitedly started reading it and had a hard time putting it down. He doesn’t dwell on so many long, drawn-out descriptions, but he tells the story straight. Each chapter is only 4-5 pages long so it never becomes boring.
Is he indeed the Christian John Grisham? No, he is Randy Singer with his own brand of story-telling. He doesn’t just tell this story masterfully, he also directs his readers to think about their own convictions in life. This book is one of the reasons why I have such a great appreciation for Christian fiction.
If you are a big fan of legal thrillers, Fatal Convictions is a worthy read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House as part of their Book Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spellbinding action, but. . .

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was hardly able to put the book down, but when I came to the end, it occurred to me that there was an obvious comparison not mentioned in the book itself. That is the comparison of the deep faith of the Muslim antagonist and the lack of (obvious) prayer and faith of the pastor, lawyer main character. Is this perhaps typical of the lack of zeal found in Western Christianity, and the all-encompassing zeal of the jihadists? I was disappointed in Alex on several fronts, but the most disappointment was because of his lack of prayer, his lack of caution in what could have been a disastrous relationship, and the dichotomy of being both a lawyer and a pastor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
DawneSN
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a compelling story with an up-to-date theme. Singer handles a delicate subject on so many levels with realisic and nuanced characters. He keeps you on the edge of your seat as the story weaves its way to a conclusion--an excellent read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great legal thriller!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished Fatal Convictions by Randy Singer, and it was great! I have to admit that this book caught my attention for an unusual reason. When I read about an author who is both a lawyer and a preacher, that combination struck me as interesting and unlikely. Then when I read that one of his main characters was also both lawyer and preacher, well I had to see how that would all play out! This is the first of Randy Singer's books that I have read, but I don't intend for it to be the last.
Fatal Convictions is a suspenseful legal thriller. It started off a little slow, taking some time to set up the story and background information on the characters. But once it took off -- well, I found it really hard to put down.
Alex Madison and his partner Shannon Reese are in need of a profitable case to help keep their law practice afloat. Alex stumbles across what might be the perfect personal injury case involving the wife of a Muslim imam. Things get much more interesting, though, when the imam is accused of murder, suspected of ordering an "honor killing" of the wife of one of the members of his mosque. Alex finds himself having to make very hard decisions. Should he take the route that will save face in his church and his law practice, or is he morally bound to defend the man everyone thinks is guilty but Alex believes just might be innocent? Conflicting cultures and beliefs, life-threatening dangers, potential love interests, and more make this a very exciting read that I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a contemporary thriller

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
This book was difficult for me to read, because it is written is written in the present day, and so true. At times i felt that some of the scenes were a little disjointed, but as a whole, it is well researched and well written. Since Alexander is part lawyer, the story has a lot of court scenes with it accompanying language, which to a layman may be a little redundant, and hard to follow, but other than that moves right along. Very intriguing, a thriller. Once again, Randy Singer is willing to write a controversial story.
It is a book that i think more people should read, as it is an eye opener,as much into our own convictions as to the Muslim religion.
i would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Wow!There is not a dull moment nor a dull page in this easy reading, yet suspenseful book where the Christian faith and Muslim beliefs smash into each other in the defense of a murderer. Singer has written a wonderfully entertaining and fascinating story in this murder mystery and tucked in thoughts that will challenge your convictions along the way.Fatal Convictions is a thick book but incredibly easy to read. I stayed up late to finish this book despite my eyes drooping with sleep just because it was that intriguing. I like how the chapters are short and self contained making it easy to read just a little bit here and there rather than having to have a chunk of time in order to feel like you grasp all the details.The characters of this book are very real and it is easy to relate to their emotions through out the tangled trial they face. Singer writes enough history into the plot to make you understand the characters without being weighed down by too much detail. I appreciated how even the bad guys were written in a real dimension where I could at least understand and relate to their thoughts even if I did not agree.Anyone who enjoys mystery, intrigue, and/or suspense will enjoy this book. I think those who normally don't read books like this - especially those where the plot is Christianity vs. Muslims - will find they actually enjoy this book because it weaves in much more to the plot than just Christianity vs. Muslim beliefs.My only words of caution with this book is that there are several intense and gruesome scenes talking about the murders. I would advise parents to pre-read this book before letting a teen read it.I give this book 4 out of 5 stars! Enjoy the read!* * * * *This review copy was provided courtesy of SideDoor communications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Fatal Convictions by Randy Singer is a thrilling and intelligent mystery. Alex Madison is trying to fulfill both his father and grandfather's expectations: he's a pastor like his dad, and a lawyer like his grandfather. It makes for an interesting business card and an intriguing hero. He begins working a personal injury case representing a Muslim woman, the wife of an imam who suffered a brain injury after her car was run off the road by a semi-truck, but his case takes a sudden turn when the imam is arrested for being behind the honor killing of a young wife from his congregation for becoming a Christian. All of the evidence points directly to his client, but Alex has a gut feeling that something bigger is going on. His quest to prove his client's innocence will take him from Virginia to a Hezbollah camp in Lebanon and will expose the deepest prejudices Christians have against Muslims, as well as the conflict within Islam itself. Singer is a stand-out writer of legal thrillers, and he just seems to get better and better. His writing is also incredibly intelligent and he takes care to look at both sides of an issue. I think that many readers will be surprised at the nuanced portrayal of Islam by a Christian writer. Just a warning about the book: don't pick it up if you don't have a lot of time to read, because once you start, you won't be able to stop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet P.
I just finished reading a great book titled Fatal Convictions by Randy Singer. My favorite genre of books is the legal thriller, so I was really looking forward to reading this book. Randy Singer has been called "the Christian John Grisham" by Publishers Weekly and he does not disappoint. This is a page turning thriller while at the same time thought provoking as Mr. Singer puts the spotlight on the issue of Muslim honor killings.In the book, the wife of a prominent Muslim leader has been murdered shortly after converting to Christianity. The title character, Alexander Madison, is an attorney who is also a part-time pastor (just like the author) who believes the Muslim leader is innocent and decides to defend him. After the decision, there is national attention focused on the case and pressure from Alexander's church to withdraw from the case. There is action and drama, both in and out of court, with different characters becoming involved in the case such as the Muslim leader's daughter and Alexander's assistant. I really enjoyed reading this book and would definitely recommend it to others. This was the first time I had read a book by Mr. Singer and I definitely plan on reading his other books. Tyndale House Publishers/Debbie Lykins provided me the advance copy in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa7491
I loved this book and couldn't put it down. I loved the intermingling of Muslim and Christian faith as well as the drama and mystery involved around the court case. I only recently began reading Randy Singer novels and, in my opinion, this was one of his best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fatal Convictions
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Fatal Convictions is a legal thriller centered around an imam of a local mosque and a pastor of a local evangelical Christian church. Alex, the pastor of a local church, doubles as an attorney. When Khalid is accused of ordering an honor killing of a woman attending his mosque, Alex agrees to take the case. Highlighting the fear of the community, the outrageousness of the claims against Khalid, and the moral decisions Alex must face, Fatal Convictions is an interesting read.This book was interesting to me because I really enjoy novels by John Grisham and James Patterson. It does read a lot like Grisham's legal dramas. However, the book got off to a really slow start. The first 75 pages were background and setup, which was a little much for me. The beginning of the novel also gave a lot of background info about Muslim stories and teachings of the Qu'ran. Some were helpful, some were not. Some just seemed like extra information. However, it really picked up about halfway through and I finished the book pretty quickly after that.I think this book would have been better had it not been quite so long. It was just a lot to get through and it wasn't keeping my attention as well as I would have liked.I received a FREE copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.