Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3

Jessilyn Lassiter no longer has to convince people she's not a child. Having just turned 19 in the summer of 1938, her love for Luke Talley has never been more real. And Luke is finally beginning to care for her in the way she's always dreamed of. But their budding romance is interrupted when Tal Pritchett-a young, black doctor-comes to Calloway, stealing the heart of Jessilyn's best friend, Gemma, and stirring up the racial prejudice that has been simmering just beneath the town's surface. The tension starts to bubble over when Jessie's elderly neighbor Miss Cleta becomes the first white townsperson to accept Tal's treatment. And when a young black man is lynched, Calloway is brought to its knees once again as Jessilyn realizes that her anger can make her heart as full of hate as the klan members who have terrorized her town and her family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Review 1 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent read

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Catching Moondrops was the third in this series and I was so enthralled by the characters I was let down when I finished the book!
My only complaint would be that the portrayal of Jessilyn's "conversion" to Christ was dramatic but lacked definition, so that the reader may be left quite confused as to how to accept the salvation Jesus offers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Reading!

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I thought this was a very good read. I did not realize that it was the third in a triolgy though, and I think it would have been helpful for me to read the other books first. It took me a while to figure out who everyone was. Some events from the other books were referred to, and while I don't know exactly what happened, I was able to get the basic gist. It took me a while to get into all the "southern talk" but once I got settled into the story, I was drawn in. Reading the book alone, I thought the love story jumped in way to strong, too fast, but If I'd have read the others, it probably wouldn't have seem that way. I thought the storyline was excellent though and I would recommend the read!
Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers for a free copy of this book to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-warming! Life-Changing! A Must READ!!!!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teenaged Jessilyn Lassiter and her best friend, a young Negro girl named Gemma, pitch in, like everyone, to help on their small-town Virginia farm, and struggle, like everyone, to make a living. Still, the two young women find time to catch fireflies and moondrops and wonder when Luke Talley will make his intentions known with Jessilyn.
Peace, always tenous with the Klan suspiciously eyeing the Lassiter family for housing a Negro, disintegrates when a young--and handsome--Negro doctor, Tal Pritchett, comes to town. Soon Genna isn't the only one in the Lassiter house with a boyfriend...and big problems.
Racism sets off vandalism, fistfights...and Klan meetings under a blood-red moon. Tempers boil, as does hate. When a family friend hangs from the noose, will Jessilyn be eaten up by the consuming evil that threatens her love...her life?
This Southern girl loved Catching Moondrops from the first page. Valent captures the creaky porch swings, the muggy nights...the insidious racism that produced strange fruit during this era below the Mason-Dixon line. Valent's third-in-a-series packs two satisfying romances and will inspire you to purge prejudice and revenge from your soul.
Catching Moondrops will change your heart. Forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST ending ever!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Buttercup
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read Fireflies in December last year and LOVED it. When I read Cottonwood Whispers I said to myself, "this one can not be as good as Fireflies in December." It was. Then when I read Catching Moondrops I said the same thing. Yet it was again. These books are now my favorite books! I have read all of them at least twice over. As a matter of fact, I finished Catching Moondrops and then picked it up again!
In this book, you can feel the anger burning in Jessilyn Lassiter's heart. You can feel the fear when she stares straight in the eye of the KKK. You can touch her love when she looks at Luke. This book takes you to a whole different world. It made me laugh, and it made me cry. Everything is wrapped up perfectly. I was so afraid that I would not like the ending (I don't like a lot of endings :D) but Jennifer Erin Valent is one talented author.
You will not regret reading this book. Even if this book was twice its price I would buy it! I have already recommended it to a few friends, that's how good it is! I actually talked about it for an hour with my sister(I told her she HAD to read it). ;)
I will be looking forward to more books by this author in the future. Please don't keep us waiting long! I can't wait to see what she comes up with next. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valent has talent, and it shows in this story!

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer Erin Valent's voice is so amazing in this book! All of the teasing the characters did toward each other and the southern sayings sprinkled throughout the book were adorable, too. In fact, I enjoyed the "voice" in the beginning so much that I read the first chapter out loud to my husband on the way to Church on Sunday. Less than four days later I'd finished the book. That's a good story. I would've finished even sooner, but I had to work. Anyway, I loved the dialog in this book because it planted me solidly in the setting. I could literally hear the characters talking in my head as I was reading.
There were so many things to love about this story. I thought it was awesome that even though it's the third book in a series, you can read it without having to read the previous books. I haven't read them and I didn't get the sense that it was necessary to enjoy this book because the facts were touched on enough to give you a sense of history with the characters. I loved how there was danger, intrigue, and heart pounding romance in this novel. There was also a great lesson in the story about what it means to really know Jesus compared to knowing about Him because you were raised going to church.
I appreciated the message that Jesus and hate can't live in the same heart. That was shown so well in the story! I also cried through a few of the chapters toward the end. The situation at the funeral was so beautiful that it really moved my heart. I loved how Jessie realized that one of the things that made the people she cared about so beautiful to her was their faith in Jesus. That was a nice touch and so very true.
Jessie's faith journey was genuine, honest, and realistically portrayed. Her insight into the darkness in her own soul was powerfully written. There were a few things that were vividly described and thus made me cringe, but it was necessary to appreciate the situation the characters were in. Some things just don't feel right when they are glossed over - like prejudice in the south. Thankfully the author didn't gloss over anything. This book was awesome on so many levels that I could go on and on. It's making my best fiction for 2010 list.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Fireflies in December and Cottonwood Whispers several months ago, I anxiously awaited the release of Catching Moondrops. The latest installment in the series does not disappoint. At 19, Jessilyn Lassiter is still the spunky and determined heroine. She is determined to win Luke Talley's heart once and for all and begins to see signs of success. Meanwhile, racial tensions escalate in Calloway, with the arrival of a young black doctor, Tal Pritchett. Love blossoms between Tal and Jessilyn's friend Gemma, but the beauty of new and true love is threatened by hatred as the Klan once again violently makes its presence known. Jessilyn, her family, and friends find themselves fighting for morality and equality in the face of deadly threats. As Jessilyn witnesses the evil actions of the Klan, the seed of hatred and bitterness that was planted in her heart several year prior grows into a poisonous vine that seems destined to destroy her life and her relationships.
Like the other novels in this trilogy, Catching Moondrops completely captivated me and whisked me away to Calloway, Virginia in 1938. The southern dialogue is engaging and refreshing and the characters are developed and well-crafted. I have been captivated by Jessilyn's love for Luke since Fireflies in December, and this novel provided the perfect conclusion to their story. Catching Moondrops is not just a love story; it is also a drama, which examines the racial tensions and hatred that sadly defined the south in the early 1900s. Valent touches the sensitive subjects of discrimination, cruelty, and hatred in each of her novels, which make them especially thought-provoking and meaningful. Each novel delivers a satisfying blend of love, drama, and several comical moments. As a testament to the quality of Jennifer Erin Valent's novels, they have even engaged a non-reader in my family, which has always been a difficult task indeed. I highly recommend all three novels to readers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3rd in Calloway Summers trilogy is perfect ending

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catching Moondrops by Jennifer Erin Valent is the third book in the Calloway Summers series about the Lassiter family in 1930s Virginia. Jessilyn Lassiter has finally reached womanhood and her hope to make Luke Talley fall in love with her has finally come true after being in love with his for six years. Her stepsister, Gemma, who is black and was adopted after her parents were killed in a fire, has lost her heart to the new doctor, who stirs up anger in the town when he dares to treat a white woman. Racial prejudice is always simmering beneath the surface in Calloway, but this summer they will explode with the resurgence of the Klan and cause unspeakable tragedy. Jessilyn is filled with anger and bitterness toward the bigots and may lose what she loves most if she refuses to forgive. Valent is a fresh and fantastic talent in Christian fiction. Her writing is both faith-filled and literary. Jessilyn is a delightful character. The stubbornness and smart mouth that were amusing as a child have matured into a woman who occasionally allows her anger to get the best of her, but whose dialogue is a joy to read. Valent's writing rings incredibly true; the series feels more like a memoir than fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Miller
This is the third book of a trilogy that began with author Jennifer Erin Valent's Fireflies in December, which won the Jerry B Jenkins Operation First Novel contest. That said, I haven't read the first two in the series and feel I missed a lot because of it. With that being said, I also enjoyed this book on its own.Taking place in the South just before World War II breaks out in Europe, I found this a fascinating setting that isn't covered very often in Christian literature. The racial tension of the time provides a stirring backdrop for this story about a girl discovering what she wants out of life. I found Jessilyn a strong character (sometimes a little too headstrong for her own good!) and loved her relationship with the hero, Luke. Every scene flowed naturally and it was a delightful read.Most of all, I'm enamored with Valent's writing. She has a way with words and some of her lines really resonated. Jessilyn's voice is so real that your heart breaks when hers does. She's so brutally honest with her readers, "But I suppose death does that to people. It sort of makes us all equal since we have one thing in common - a broken heart." Valent's masterful writing held my interest when the story may have lagged a little for my taste. But I still cared deeply for the characters and am planning on reading the first two books of the trilogy. Note: An advanced reader copy of this book was provided to me by Tyndale in exchange for my honest review, which is what you see here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Catching Moondrops" is a historical novel set in 1938 in Calloway, Virginia during a period of high racial tension. It's also an awesome story and a fast read. It's the third novel in the series, but you can easily follow it without having read the first two novels. However, the impact will be higher if you've followed Jessilyn's story from the beginning. The previous two novels are also very well written, so start with "Fireflies in December" and "Cottonwood Whispers."The pacing and world-building were excellent. I was completely pulled into the story. The characters were engaging, realistic, and complex. They dealt with realistic struggles, like losing a best friend, wondering how the future will turn out, dealing with traumatic events, and standing up for the right thing even when it's dangerous. The tension was created by a number of "normal" worries and changes in everyone's lives with spikes of high tension when lives were in danger.Sad things happen in this novel. It's mostly about dealing with the really hard things in life, like seeing hatred spill over to harm the innocent, why God doesn't bring immediate justice to wrongdoers if He's real, and what hatred and bitterness can do to a person's life.Many of the characters were Christians and several tried to get Jessilyn to make peace with God. However, I think many non-Christians share Jessilyn's view, so they might enjoy this novel as much as Christians.The ending was very satisfying. There was a very minor amount of fake bad language. There was no explicit sex. Overall, I'd highly recommend this well-written, clean novel.I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy
I walked down a dusty lane in Calloway, Virginia in the late 1930s as soon as I picked up Catching Moondrops. I was there. And this is Jennifer Valents third book in the Fireflies in December trilogy. Immediately impressed with the gripping characters and tension-building story, I found this book difficult to put down. Jessilyn Lassiters fiery personality lights up the pages as she falls deeper in love with long time friend, Luke Talley. The town erupts in disturbing controversy when a young, black doctor, Tal Pritchett comes to Calloway to practice medicine. Tensions flare. The Klan incites incident upon incident of cruelty. My attention swayed between the pleasantness of Jessilyn and Lukes love story and the hatred the Klan spread around town. Valent incorporates ideas of faith in a tender and appealing way. Catching Moondrops made me think about how Id react in a similar situation. Valent uses clever descriptions and moves the story along at a rapid speed. I was swept up and Id recommend this read. (As a side, this isnt the type of book Im usually drawn to, but Im thankful I read it because I enjoyed it.)*I received a copy from Tyndale for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz
Jessilyn Lassiter and her best friend Gemma have seen a lot of hurt and hate over the span of their young lives in Calloway, Virginia. So when a new black doctor arrives in town, they know there's sure to be trouble stirred up if he starts treating white folks, and the racial tension starts rising. Jessilyn has much to learn about the human heart, both in love and hate.I enjoyed the setting of Calloway. The author's use of southern drawl dialogue was enjoyable and easy to read. I felt like I was in the south. She managed to sweep me away with Jessilyn and Luke, causing me to forget all about the trouble brewing with the Klan, and then suddenly I'd be caught off guard by a turn in the story.I truly appreciated this book because, although there was romance, it was innocent. The scene dealing with a lynching was subdued as well, without being over the top in description. I don't believe we need too much information to understand what occurred or to grasp the full emotion of the characters. It was handled well.I would find the book challenging for both Christians and unbelievers. It challenged me spiritually, and I think this would be a good book to share with an unbeliever who has heard the gospel but is uncertain about what it means. The spiritual challenges wove in nicely with the story. I didn't feel it to be abrupt.I highly recommend this book! I loved it, and I anticipate reading more novels by Jennifer Erin Valent. She stole my heart and exceeded my expectations with this story.Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book for review purposes. This review is solely my opinion, and I was not required to write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
ElizabethB
Jessilyn Lassiter and her best friend Gemma have seen a lot of hurt and hate over the span of their young lives in Calloway, Virginia. So when a new black doctor arrives in town, they know there's sure to be trouble stirred up if he starts treating white folks, and the racial tension starts rising. Jessilyn has much to learn about the human heart, both in love and hate. I enjoyed the setting of Calloway. The author's use of southern drawl dialogue was enjoyable and easy to read. I felt like I was in the south. She managed to sweep me away with Jessilyn and Luke, causing me to forget all about the trouble brewing with the Klan, and then suddenly I'd be caught off guard by a turn in the story.I truly appreciated this book because, although there was romance, it was innocent. The scene dealing with a lynching was subdued as well, without being over the top in description. I don't believe we need too much information to understand what occurred or to grasp the full emotion of the characters. It was handled well.I would find the book challenging for both Christians and unbelievers. It challenged me spiritually, and I think this would be a good book to share with an unbeliever who has heard the gospel but is uncertain about what it means. The spiritual challenges wove in nicely with the story. I didn't feel it to be abrupt.I highly recommend this book! I loved it, and I anticipate reading more novels by Jennifer Erin Valent. She stole my heart and exceeded my expectations with this story.Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book for review purposes. This review is solely my opinion, and I was not required to write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
I recently had the pleasure of reviewing the newest book by award winning author, Jennifer Erin Valent. Catching Moondrops will be released in October of this year. It is the story of a young woman coming to terms with falling in love as she harbors hate in her heart relating to the racial prejudices surrounding her in her community. The story takes place in 1938 as Jessilyn Lassiter is celebrating her 19th birthday. Jessilyns family took in a young black girl many years ago to raise when her familys house was burned to the ground. She has grown to be like a sister to Jessilyn and is an enduring member to the family. The town had not seen much in racial activities until a young black doctor moves to town and begins his practice. Her community begins seeing again the uprising of racial hate crimes with lynching and cross burnings taking place. I enjoyed reading the story and I it touched my heart as I experienced forgiveness along with Jessilyn and the community. I found the book to be attention-grabbing and had a difficult time putting the book down until I was finished. I have read other books about these experiences but this is the first that I have read that spoke from the heart of a character surrounded by such turmoil. I highly recommend it as a book to read as the leaves begin falling and fall arrives.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received an advanced reader copy of this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Catching Moondrops is book 3 in a series, I haven't read book 1 or 2 so keeping that in mind I still set forth to read this book. I liked it ok, not a 5 star book but it was OK . The first paragraph made me take a step back and I was alittle upset by it so it took me awhile to really read it but I did and while I didn't love it I found it an interesting read. While I think I would have gotten more out of it if I had read book 1 and 2 I will reread this book after reading the others to see if I like it any better. thank you tyndale for sending me a copy of this book for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ethan M.
The following review was written after reading and Advanced Reader's Copy of the book distributed by Tyndale House.As much as I, and so many others, have come to know characters such as the headstrong Jessilyn, the sensible Gemma, the bold and brash Mrs. Cleta, it all has to end at some point. This third and final book in the series, Catching Moondrops, takes on the task of ending the series, and does so with beautiful finality. Moondrops takes place two years after Cottonwood Whispers when Jessilyn has just turned 19. As a new doctor, Tal Pritchett, enters Calloway, the townspeoples prejudice becomes rekindled anew. Tal is black, and this will cause trouble, as well as the resurrection of an old enemy. This man, combined with two black brothers of the town, one of which is a trouble-maker will make for more conflict than you might think. The book focuses quite a bit on Jessilyn and Luke Talley, as Jessilyn yearns for Luke to see her as the adult she now isa subject I know many readers of Valents previous books are looking forward to. Characters will struggle within themselves to decide who they really are and what they truly believe. There are scenes so dark and heavy that you will most certainly shed a tear if you have any soul at all. On the flip side of it all, this book will fill your heart with joy. You will laugh and smile, at the witty and well-crafted humor Valent gives us. This book will mark the end of Valents seriesone that it has been an honor to read. I will not pick a favorite. All three books are masterpieces, and Im sure whatever Valent has in store for us next will be just as much a treat as this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
The story is continued with Jessilyn Lassiter, a young nineteen year old, who has grown into a woman as one summer changes her life forever. Jessilyn is one of those girls who has no fear. She stands for what is right and here in the country of Calloway there are many things that needs changing. Here black and white do not mix. Here pain and fear take grasp of life according to the color of your skin. Jessilyn is not alone. Right by her side is Gemma, her best friend, who has skin darker than hers, but to Jessilyn she doesn't see that. All she sees is beauty, a friend and a sister. Life's tragedy brought these two young girls together as the Klan terrorized Gemma's family in "Cottonwood Whispers". Life is not easy, but life brings blessings and love to these two young women. Jessilyn is deep in love with Luke Talley. In Jessilyn's eyes, Luke isn't returning that love fast enough. We see this young relationship take flight through trial and tragedy as a young friend is lynched and changes the lives of these sweet young people. Tal Pritchett is a young black man, a doctor, who has come into town and the town is not ready for a black man, yet alone one who is a doctor and wants to serve those around him. Gemma catches Tal's eye and we see a pure love blossom between kindred spirits. Color is only seen by those selfish people filled with hatred. Jessilyn wants to change the world around her. Jessilyn is willing to give whatever it takes to bring change and peace. We see Jessilyn go through a change herself as she finds the faith those around her carry. I loved this book. I cried and there were also parts of sweet laughter. This is a book that is a must read. It is one that will change your heart and open your eyes to what hate and prejudice can do.This book was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Set in the 1930s in Virginia, Catching Moondrops by Jennifer Erin Valent tells the story of friends battling the trap of racism and hatred in their small town. Jessilyn and Gemma have recently turned nineteen and are enjoying their budding romances. However, the racial prejudice in their town disrupts everything and causes everyone to look at what's really important in their lives.I thoroughly enjoyed Catching Moondrops. The story is well-written and there's a great blend of romance, regular life, and tragedy. I loved the way the author wove faith and hope throughout the novel as well. Every character lived out their life in relation to their faith - whether they had a solid faith in Christ or not. And those who were devout Christians repeatedly shared their faith with Jessilyn as she walked around her journey to faith.About halfway through, I realized that this was actually the conclusion to a trilogy. There were several references to things that happened in the past, but I didn't have any trouble filling in the gaps. I look forward to reading Fireflies in December and Cottonwood Whispers. I definitely recommend Catching Moondrops!I received a FREE copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
I received this book from Tyndale Publisher free for my honest opinion and review of this book. Catching Moondrops is the 3rd book in this series, I personally have not read the first 2 books. The book is a continuation of the Lassiter Family, who 6 yrs ago took in a black child to live with them when her parents were killed. This book takes place in 1939 in Calloway, Virginia. Jessilyn Lassiter and Gemma Teague are best friends and both 19 yrs old. A black Doctor comes to Calloway to offer care to all people. In 1939 in this town the Klan has resurfaced and caused lots of problems for Jessilyn and her friends. Jessilyn is also in love with Luke Talley and he is in love with her. They finally start courting. One night a horrific event happens that changes Jessilyn deep in her being. Anger and hate start to take over. Everyone around her including Luke try to explain to her she needs to lean on God. Jessilyn questions the existence of God and why bad things happen to good people while the evil in the world get everything. Jessilyn begins to withdraw from everyone and allows her hate and anger continue to grow until she is faced with the ultimate life/death situation. Jessilyn learns what is inside of her, God.Jennifer Erin Valent has written a wonderful book about love/hate and the very close relationship they have. Also about the big question of why do bad things happen to good people. Throughout the book our characters talk about leaning on God. I HIGHLY recommend this book. It is well written and very well researched. The language of the area and time are present and the events during that time period truly captured in this story. Reading this story felt like you were there with them seeing and feeling the experiences. I look forward to reading more of Jennifer Erin Valents books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Catching Moondrops, Calloway Summers Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle V
This series is one of my favorites of all times! You could read any of these as stand alone novels, but please, do yourself a favor and read the whole series from start to finish! It is definitely worth it! It has been a while since I read the first two books. I loved them so much and I've been axiously awaiting this conclusion, but I think I had almost forgotten just how spectacular Jennifer's writing is until I opened to that first page and began reading and it took my breath away. Wow! Amazing writing that immediately whisks you away to another time and place. This book, like the others in this series, is not one that I could quickly read because I found myself reading slowly in order to savor it, and very often I would read a sentence over again because it was just so good. When I read her books I can see it, hear it, sometimes smell it, and feel it as if I'm really there living it right along with the characters. And I know and love the characters so much that they're like friends that I've known forever. This series and this author are in a league all their own and the books are an experience that is best experienced for yourself! I laughed and I cried. At times I was on the edge of my seat holding my breath in suspense. These 3 books are staying on my shelf because I want to read them over and over again! I cannot even express how highly recommend this book and the whole series. A MUST read in my opinion! The writing is exquisite, the characters are phenomenal, the storyline will grab you literally from the very first line, and boy does it pack a powerful message that will keep you thinking long after you've finished the books! This book is my favorite of the year. In my opinion this is one of the best book series I've ever read, and it's probably my all time favorite series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.