Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers River of Mercy - eBook

Harvest House Publishers River of Mercy - eBook

Young Gideon Kanagy faces a life-changing challenge--and an unexpected romance with his young Amish friend, Emma Knepp. Gideon's sister, Rachel, and the "outsider" Jeremiah Gant add to the drama with their own dilemma and its repercussions for the entire community of Riverhaven.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River of Mercy - eBook
Review 1 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I really enjoyed it very much

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gretchen
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like to read books that don't have any bad words in them. It is very interesting to read about the Amish quiet life and their ways of handling things. I like the recipes they have in some of the books. And the unexpected endings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where is the rest of the story?

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Location:Southfield, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I finished book 3 tonight and it left you hanging at the end looking for the rest of the story. I thought surely there was a book 4 but not so. This was written in 2010 so I guess we will not get the rest of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good finish to series

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Groseclose
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to get the final book in the Riverhaven series. Loose ends were tied up, spiritual lessons were given, and the book was what I hoped for from this author. I greatly enjoy the writings of B.J. Hoff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I thought the book was wonderful.

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had me guessing, angry, happy and sad. But overall it was great. I love a good love story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

River of Mercy

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Edna Conklin
Location:Hastings MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent conclusion to this series. The author kept my attention and "tied up all the loose ends" among the different main characters interacting through the series. She gives us real insight into Old Order Amish life without being judgmental.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellen

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley Salo
Location:Watton, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really a good "read". Didn't want to put it down!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and Full of Surprises!!

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like the first two books in this trilogy, this book is wonderful!!! Just when I thought they must be out of surprises (as the first two books are full of them), this one kept me on my toes. I hated having to put it down, and couldn't wait to get it back into my hands! These books are the first I have read from BJ Hoff, and I will be looking for more of her books in the future! The characters are so well described that I felt like they were my "old friends" by the time I got to this book (#3). Great emotion, sense of fear, the wondering about who was behind all the attacks on these kind and loving people. This was truly an exciting story. It can be read alone, but I recommend you read the first two before reading this one - the continuity is important in this plot.
Very thrilling, and full of surprises - this is a book (and trilogy) you don't want to miss! I would recommend this for adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BJHoff is a gifted writer.

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carol Walczak
Location:Glendale AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I''ve enjoyed many of her books, especially the Emerald series, and ordered this not realizing it was 3rd in a series, so now I've also ordered books 1 and 2 of this Amish trilogy as you can't go wrong with BJHoff books. She is a gifted writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well written and put together

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all three of the books in this series, and they were outstanding. They held my interest and I found it very difficult to put the book down. I will most likely purchase more of this authors books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BJ Hoff leaves the reader begging for more. A book you can't put down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dramatic

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A trial fraught drama amongst an Amish community.
This one was a little tough for me to get into because it was the third in a series, I was hoping to be able to jump right it, but it was a bit harder than I thought.
But after I caught up with the backstory, I was struck with how terrible the situation was for Gant and Rachel. I think this is my first book by B.J. Hoff that I have ever read, which is kinda surprising because she's been around, and she does a fantastic job with all this drama.
I guess the only thing I really disliked was how I got a peek into the bad guy's point of view, because I just don't really like knowing what is going on with the bad guy, especially in his head.
I really liked Jeremiah's humorous relationship with the bobcat outside his house!
There was alot going and and some really well-built characters, even though I didn't like all of them. B.J. Hoff has a gift for weaving drama that reaches to the heart. This was a different read for me because it was an Amish book set during the 1800's. I guess it was just kinda hard for me personally to read, because the bad guy was just so evil, but it was definitely full of drama. I really liked the character of the old doctor, because he was such a wise man, and I thought that this book had a really strong message that showed how God works all things out for good, and has a greater purpose for the bad things that happen.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teeanna Schimmel
Location:Prattsburgh NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This long awaited book is well worth the read. A wonderful plot filled with twists and turns and well put together,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Eatmon
Location:Bailey, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product along with the others I ordered are sequels in a series , and I look forward to each issue being published as it alows me to continue taking part in the stories of these authors. Enjoyed each one ot them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful ending to the series

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
rogie
Location:OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have waited a long time for this last book. The second in the series left me wondering. I'm so glad she finished the series. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shirley Eaves
Location:Joplin, Mo
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love B J Hoffs books. She is a great writer. that is all I have to say. If you don't won't it that is fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad book #3 is finally here!

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Columbus, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great ending to the saga in Riverhaven. As always this is such a great storyline that the minute I am given the book I can not put it down! I just wish it would not of been so long between books. Whatever you do start with the first book and read all 3 you will not be disappointed, they are sure to capture you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the book very much, as I had been waiting for this book since 2009. Part 3 was a great ending to this saga.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for River of Mercy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read...

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Kinnee
Location:Rochester, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Because this is #3 in a series, reading them in order is a good idea. However, Mrs. Hoff did an excellent job in bringing all the story's threads to a credible and satisfactory conclusion. I'd recommend both, the series, and this third title in particular.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.