Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter

Tyndale House The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter

No matter what celebrities promise on TV, it's never easy to lose weight and keep it off! That's because the real issue is usually emotional or spiritual. Providing a "pros and cons" overview of today's most popular diet programs, McKinney Hammond shares everything she's learned about nutrition, exercise, and self-worth - and shows how you can succeed! Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Review 1 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very timely book!

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow! I started this book thinking it was going to be dull, tedious and quite boring (I've never read a diet book before). But I was wrong! Michelle has a great sense of humor and tells it to you straight up - no sugar-coating it! She not only takes you through some inner healing of the heart, she also gives you her thoughts on different fad diets, exercise and how she feels you should really be living your life - through moderation, combining of different foods and exercise.
I walked away from this book thinking, "Hey! I can do this! I can have a healthier life and a better body." If you've struggled with weight loss, low self-esteem and just being utterly confused as to what you should do (after all, there are a bazillion diets out there - all promising the weight loss you long for), then you should really take a few hours to read this book and let it sink in. I know you won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of great information and lots of humor

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After years of having trouble keeping weight on, I now find myself having trouble keeping it off! Reading The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions & Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-Yo Dieter by Michelle McKinney Hammond has been very inspirational and allowed me an opportunity to find humor in a frustrating situation.
Michelle has a real good sense of humor for a difficult problem for many people. I enjoyed her straight-forward attitude. And never having been a "diva," I found looking at myself as one gave me a new attitude!
At the end of each chapter there is some very practical questions that helped me look at myself, my eating habits and suggestions that I can apply. That's the "Keeping It Real" portion. Right after that is the "Diva Reflections." Here's an example:
Some of the things we war with in life cannot be won by natural means. Their roots go deeper to an invisible place with unseen forces that do their best work through our ignorance. After all other efforts have failed, it's time to look deeper and let God show us the root of the fruit that is showing up in our lives, on our hips, and on our lips. Sometimes we have to get past ourselves to see what's really in the way. The truth hurts, but it's also medicine that can set you free. So don't despise the process. Hang in there, my sister. (pg 83)
At the back of the book are some real yummy recipes that are easy to make. And satisfying.
This isn't your typical "diet" book. Rather, it's a book that will help you find the real reasons for the over-eating/ yo-yo dieting roller-coaster. She helps you get to the heart of the matter instead of just covering the outer problem. And it's all done with truth, humor and a willingness to share herself.
This book was provided free for the purpose of reviewing it by Tyndale House Publishing. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Real Skinny On Losing It By: Michelle Mckinney

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reader Between The Covers
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"No more volunteering to be a victim of the foods you are eating." The Real Skinny On Losing It is a divas life story about yo-yo dieting. Her failures and triumphs. Her divalicious tips at losing weight and keeping it off. Michelle Hammond lets you join her on a fun spiritual journey through weight loss. With her upbeat attitude you get that, don't be scared girl come on and join the real party! feeling.
A completely honest look at weight and women's struggle with it. Michelle gets down to the "nitty-gritty" about losing the pounds all while being healthy. I was pleasantly surprised with this book because, I have to admit, I was on the fence about reviewing it. I thought to myself,, "Eh, just another self help diet book, nothing new." But no, I was definitely wrong! There were elements brought to the table that I didn't even know could contribute to losing weight. Although she made the reading entertaining it did feel like she would ramble on a bit. But my favorite parts were the Keeping It Real and Diva Reflections at the end of each chapter. They gave you the chance to just stop and think and be honest with yourself. And as a woman who has struggled with weight, I certainly see this book as a great tool in helping women change their lifestyle for the healthy.
The recipes were a great bonus in the back of the book!
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great practical advice on losing weight.

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
frugalexperiments
Location:Central IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is written as though you are having a conversation with your most-trusted girlfriend (you know, the one that always tells you like it is) and contains practical advice and tips on losing weight and keeping it off. Ms. Hammond gives examples of her struggles with weight issues, diets and programs. She details what has worked for her and then puts the pieces together to form a real world plan to help you lose weight.
Focusing on the underlying issues that many of us experience: poor self-image, negative self-talk and low self-esteem and taking inspiration from the Bible. This book helped me view my own weight issues in a new and different way. Instead of wallowing in self-pity and doubt, feeling like a failure, this book has lit a fire in me, making me want to lose the extra weight I carry around and keep it off. I am excited to begin my weight loss journey with a new mindset, for the last time. I can see myself incorporating many of the tips provided and making a lasting change in my life
I love that she explains so many of the diet's, programs and weight loss systems that she has tried. I truly believe that just like people are individuals, no "cookie cutter" plan will work for every body. Having the general overview of so many programs allows me to pick and choose the best from several programs and incorporate them into my own personalized plan. The one that will definitely work for me. This gives me the hope that's been missing in my weight loss struggles.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blogger Network book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not your mother's diet book!

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckybeanne
Location:Nebraska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a pro at rationalizing my weight. After all, I've been doing it for as long as I can remember. So I'm not sure what compelled me to agree to read a book about weight loss. Maybe it was the fact that I knew the author really struggled with her weight--she wasn't some "Skinny Minnie" who had no concept of what it's like to be overweight. Whatever my reasoning, I'm very glad I picked up this book.
In "The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions & Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-Yo Dieter," Michelle McKinney Hammond gets to the heart of most weight issues: the heart. It's not my head that tells me to eat that ice cream; it's my heart. It's not my head that tells me to continue shoveling the pasta into my mouth; it's my heart. If I don't control my heart, I don't control my waistline.
Hammond brings generous doses of humor and solidarity to her "tell-it-like-it-is" memoir/self-help book. She doesn't say anything you haven't heard before if you're at all familiar with dieting, but the way she says it makes so much sense that you just might take note. For example, when she talks about eating slowly, she doesn't just say "Chew each bite 40 times" or whatever that ridiculous number is. Instead, she talks about savoring each bite and giving your stomach a chance to signal that it has had enough, rather than inhaling your food and eating until you're ready to burst. She also points out that many skinny people eat slowly and end up eating less ... perhaps because their stomachs tell them when to stop!
If I have one critique of the book, it's that the last few chapters, which introduce the reader to Hammond's "Diva Diet," get confusing and contradictory. But that's okay--the thrust of the book isn't about one way to lose weight; it's about providing a needed kick in the pants to quit making excuses and start changing your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is more than a "diet' book

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
grammageri
Location:Bethato, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed with "THE REAL SKINNY ON LOSING IT" by Michelle McKinney Hammond. One of her quotes is, "Do your body calculations, and set your goal--When you know exactly what you're dealing with, you will know how to chart your course and move forward. The truth equips you to make the right choices. Truth helps you to not just make the right choices but to love the choices you make because you know the 'why' of what you're doing. This is empowering."
This is what Michelle does. She gives you information to know how to eat healthy and lose weight. She has had lots of experience of doing it the wrong way with fad diets and other conventional ways but she did the research to find out what works and what doesn't. I have been hearing on the news about "eating according to your blood type" but didn't know what foods I should eat or avoid and she lists foods for each blood type with a web site to get more information for your particular blood type.
She includes a chapter on fasting to cleanse your body and one on fun ways to exercise. At the end of the book she includes recipes.
This not just another boring diet book. She gave lots of information in a fun way. After dieting off and on for 40 years, I thought I knew all the things to do but just didn't have the will power to stick with it but I think this book really gave me new information that will really be helpful. It is not a diet but a lifestyle.
I would like to thank Tyndale Publishers for giving me a free copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Advice is extremely motivating and powerful

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
NanaBeeBlogger
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Michelle McKinney Hammond. I loved her enthusiasm, sauciness, and fun spin on the very serious subject of permanent weight loss. She takes us on a detailed journey of her many attempts at losing weight. From the cabbage soup diet, to the rice diet, to the lemon juice cleanse, McKinney Hammond does indeed seem to have tried everything to take off the pounds. There is a lot of information in this book. Much more than the "Do this and you'll get skinny" diet book. Not everyone will be willing to try some of the suggestions here, such as eating according to your blood type, or using acupuncture. But her wise, bottom line advice is extremely motivating and powerful. She wants us to understand that we must nurture our bodies, our souls, and our spirits. And when we do this, the weight battle is no longer really a battle at all. With a dose of God and some spiritual principles included, I would recommend this book to anyone trying to lose weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Real Skinny on Losing It

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished this book by Michelle Mckinney Hammond on as she says "true confessions and divine revelations of a former yo-yo dieter. This was a very easy and enjoyable read. Yes, there were parts that we as "dieters" have heard time and time again, but there was a lot I learned and pondered about as I read this book. She writes very honestly about her struggles and the highs and lows she has experienced with so called "fad diets" and she names quite a few of them. She gives advice and shows how God is at the helm and our bodies are a temple and we need to remember that when we keep throwing junk into it. She explains we want short term, quick fix, drastic diets so we can lose it and be happy!!. Nothing in life is like that so she shows how she finally won the diet battle and what worked for her. I especially liked the chapter on the ABS diet and what all that entailed along with what foods are power foods. Each chapter is devoted to certain topics which were so helpful . At the end of each chapter was a section called Keeping it real which summarized what we read in the chapter and then Diva reflections which were very interesting. I will probably reread these often as I restart my "diet" again for the good of my health. Loved the recipes in back. I appreciate how she helped me understand what the real issue is-my heart and mind. Thank you Tyndale Publishers for sending this free for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Humorous and Insightful

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michelle McKinney Hammond is well-known for her books on relationship advice for single men and women. The Real Skinny on Losing It is her first book about dieting.
The first three-quarters of the book chronicles Hammond's personal struggles with try to lose weight and believe me, she seems to have tried it all. From Jenny Craig to Weight Watchers to the cabbage soup diet to the master cleanse, she has seen her share of pounds lost and pounds gained back once she went back to her old eating habits.
With an emphasis on attitude and directing your thoughts toward all things positive (she has coined the acronym D.I.V.A.--Divine Inspiration for Victorious Attitude), Hammond speaks to us ladies like a trusted girlfriend, sharing some of her secrets along the way. She says at one point in the book, "It is not what I put into my mouth but rather what comes out of it that can cause me more damage than I know."
The final few chapters gets down to the nitty-gritty of a new diet plan, which Hammond calls the Ultimate Diva Diet. She uses information from the science of both the Blood Type Diet and the Abs Diet and combines them with some other principles to creat the Diva Diet.
I have personally tried a few diets and done quite a bit of reading and The Real Skinny on Losing It had some information I had not heard before. For instance, did you know that your body can digest fruit in 30 minutes but when you combine that fruit with other foods, your stomach gets confused and doesn't know what to do with that fruit so it stores it as fat?
The Ultimate Diva Diet plan does seem a little extreme to me (especially the cleanse she suggests doing before you start) but implementing some of the idea into your routine would assist in weight loss. Over all, the conversation was engaging, new information was brought to light and there were some very good reminders of how our attitudes affect our weight loss (in the author's words, we have a totally different outlook when we say "I lost a pound" as opposed to saying "I'm fat."
***A copy of this book was provided to me free of charge from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review of the book. I was not compensated in any way for either a good or poor review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Losing it Again and Again

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read a number of Michell McKinney Hammond's books and I must say this is my favorite. Unlike most diet and weight loss books, she talks about what didn't work for her, including poking some fun about some of the radical things she's done to try and lose weight. (Cabbage soup, anyone?) I very much enjoyed the light-hearted look she took at weight loss before getting down to business at the end of the book and instead of setting forth a miracle weight loss plan, she encouraged healthy eating and eating right for your body. Unlike other Christian “diet” books I've read, she doesn't go off the deep end saying how prayer is THE answer to weight loss, but does mention that prayer can help. She pretty much covers it all in this book, everything from the “stretchy” clothes we keep in the back of our closet to the fact that we can't always rely on pre-packaged meals. Like most people who need to lose weight, she mourns the fact that some of her favorite foods are no longer her friends, but then she discusses what that means in the long term, and maybe that chocolate bar never was your friend to begin with. I really liked her approach of discussing her struggles with her weight because it felt like she knows what it's like to step on the scales and groan whereas in other diet and weight loss books the authors looks like they have never wanted a bonbon on a bad day! I'm not sure anyone would find anything in this book they didn't already know, but it's certainly worth a read for entertainment purposes as well as to know you are not alone on your weight loss journey!
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my review. The opinion are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Real Skinny on Losing It: True Confessions and Divine Revelations of a Former Yo-yo Dieter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun and Encouraging Read for Women

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really had a lot of fun with this book. Though I generally stay away from books about weight loss, the subtitle for "The Real Skinny on Losing It" intrigued me. I just had to read the "true confessions & divine revelations of a former yo-yo dieter," suspecting the book had more to do with physically becoming the person God intended one to be than with how to lose weight.
It did. Michelle McKinney Hammond writes with humor, encouragement, compassion and insight. She tells of her experiences being what she thought was too thin, then weighing more than she wanted to. Her style makes me smile. She goes beyond telling women what to do physically, helping them explore root issues such as fear, self-esteem, peer pressure, and such. Throughout she refers to Bible stories, retelling them in fun ways, but not misusing the text to make points about health that aren’t truly biblical (as many diet books do). She helps the reader understand what God helped her understand about appreciating His creation for what it is. She encourages the reader to find a healthy balance between accepting oneself as is and setting reasonable goals to strive for the size one wants to be.
And that’s really what women need to do. On page 19, Hammond asks, “How is it that women can become Supreme Court justices, walk on the moon, and birth babies (which is the most complex achievement of all) and still not be able to get on top of their issues with weight?” The insights she shares in this book can help women succeed in this area as well.
Thank you, Tyndale House Publishers, for sending this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.