Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are

Zondervan Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are

Who do you think you are? This question may be harder to answer than you think. The world tells us one thing--that we want to be well-known, accomplished, or successful. Our friends and family tell us another--you're a father, a mother, a husband, a wife, a daughter or son. Our own hearts often tells us something else--you're empty, lonely, depressed, vain, or angry, and always will be. While some of these labels may be true, they are not the whole story. They don't reflect the deepest part of ourselves, and answer our questions for purpose and meaning. Only God can tell you who you truly are. Not the world, not your family and friends, not even yourself sometimes.

In Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are, Craig Groeschel believes that we only discover our true identity when we lay down our perceptions of ourselves, and allow Him to tell us who we are. We have a new identity in Christ and once we uncover what that is, our lives will never be the same. Place your false labels and self-deception on the altar of God's truth. It's time to embrace your altar ego and become a living sacrifice, wholly surrendered to God. Are you willing to take the journey? Softcover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Review 1 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

eye opener and self evaluation tool

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jesus14u
Location:Lawton, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Altar Ego
Craig Groeschel
Sacrificing our ego's on the altar of God and learning who we truly are in Christ. The author, Craig was firm about an individual knowing who we are in Christ and not accepting the labels of others. Not to sell yourself or anyone else out to achieve what you want just for a label. In this book are some tough questions that cN not be answer quickly. i call those soul searching. If you ever felt insecure or didn't belong, this is a read for YOU.
“How do we overcome the cultural pull toward immediate ego gratification? We pursue God with all of our hearts until his desires become our desires. “Paul told us to “let the Holy Spirit guide our lives. Then we won’t do what our sinful nature craves. The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are the opposite of what the sinful nature desires” (Gal. 5:16 – 17 NLT).” Excerpt From: Groeschel, Craig. “Altar Ego.” Zondervan, 2013. iBooks.
When we know better prayerfully we will do better. We are to live with patience, integrity, gratitude, showing honor, boldness; by boldly speaking-the Word do God, prayers-without ceasing and obedience-to th will of God). Altar Ego is a swift kick to get us to refocused our life as it is today. Page by page it shows us who we are, so that we will be God's workmanship created in his image.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the #BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was only required to write a review. I have also place a review on #Christian Book Distributors in connections with this review (www.cbd.com). I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Altar Ego Review

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris Tabone
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Altar Ego by Craig Groeschel is a book about how we are not truly living out who we are called, by Jesus Christ, to be. The biggest issue that is dealt with within this book is the issue of identity. According to Craig we need to lay aside our idea of our identity and place it upon the altar to God and sacrifice it. Craig’s thesis seems to be that we cannot fully realize who we are suppose to be, according to God, until we wrestle with and understand that we are his children first and foremost.
I personally have a great respect for Pastor Craig. This is the third or fourth book of his that I have spent time wrestling through. His writing is both deep and practical, making it a great read for people of all theological backgrounds and understandings. This book “Altar Ego” in particular is a read that all of my students need to read. As a youth pastor the biggest thing I am seeing right now is that the understanding of identity is skewed and students are not finding their true identity in Christ, but in other things. And when these other things let them down, as they always do, they are left questioning life and meaning. But if we start with Christ as our definer of identity we will at the end of the day always be alright, because there is nothing that can sway us, not matter how bad because we understand that Christ is holding us.
Not only would I recommend this book to friends, but I am exploring using this book for our high school and middle school small groups this fall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Came at just the right time

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SuzyO
Location:Batesville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
As books tend to do, "Altar Ego" by Craig Groeschel came at just the right time for me. When I received an email describing the book, I had begun a time of seeking: God, what do you have in store for me? How are you looking to mold and shape me so that I can carry out Your mission? What is my part in Your plan to make Your name great among the nations?
My ego tends to get in the way of a lot of things, but fortunately God has been working on it through the years. So this book was one more step toward my being molded in His image.
The book has three parts:
Part 1: Sacrificing Your False Self for Your Sacred Identity in Christ.
Part 2: Sacrificing Cultural Relativity for Eternal Values.
Part 3: Sacrificing Self-Justification for Passionate Obedience.
Part 1, while completely relevant, seemed like yet one more recitation of things I already knew: “You are God’s masterpiece,” “You are God’s ambassador,” etc. I appreciated the lessons but didn’t get as much out of it as I did the two other parts.
Even Part 2 was more or less a rehash of a lesson on proper living (things my ego tells me I already have a handle on!). So, again, relevant but not as compelling as Part 3.
I highlighted many passages in all three parts of the book, so it would be unfair to say that only the last section spoke to me.
But finally, in Part 3, the author gets to the meat I’m interested in chewing on: “Bold Behavior,” “Bold prayers,” “Bold words,” “Bold obedience.”
And, while I’ve heard over and over that we are to be bold for Christ (if you don’t believe me, read the Book of Acts – 28 chapters of boldness), it’s a lesson I can hear every day and not get enough of.
So Part 3 really hit home with me – a challenge to continue building on the foundation God has laid for my life.
This review is part of my agreement with Thomas Nelson through its BookSneeze project. It allows me to get free books in exchange for my honest review, regardless of whether I like the books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book is amazing, challenging, and at times frustrating.
It is amazing because it is challenging. It challenges you in all areas, but mainly your faith and encourages you to step above the normalcy of our society and even the Christian society. It asks you to step out of your comfort zone and be who God created you to be. It is a book that has taken some time to read because it is so challenging. It isn't overwhelming but you definitely need to take time to read this book so that every section, chapter has time to sink in and so you understand it. It can also be frustrating at times because it helps you see how much God loves you and cares about you, and that can be difficult for some people, but a must read. I highly encourage you to go out and buy this book and read it, pass it on for others to read, and read it again.
This book was given to me in exchange for a review through Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wake-up call to become who God says you are!

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BridgetHaymond
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This new book from Pastor Craig Groeshel, is a wake-up call for Christians everywhere. He emphasizes that as believers in Christ we are not supposed to look like or live like the rest of this world, because we are God's ambassadors in this world. And the only way to really be an ambassador is to know and understand your identity in Christ and begin living from that new identity. Living this way requires letting go of any false identity or sense of worth that is untrue or unbiblical and getting rooted in the unshakable truth of what God's Word says about who you really are.
This book is a clarion call to every Christian to start living according to your true identity in Jesus Christ. Pastor Groeshel will challenge you to identify and let go of the false things that give you a sense of security in order to embrace boldness, humility, faithfulness, and truthful living as part of God's kingdom plan for your life. He makes it abundantly clear that there is no such thing as living the easy life, and he emphasizes the biblical mandate for bold living, which will often require you to depend on God for miraculous provision to further the His kingdom in and through your life.
At the end of the day there is no such thing as "safe" Christianity - not only is that a lie, but also it's uninspiring and a so-called “safe” life will never change you, nor will it empower you to make a difference with your life. If you're ready to quit trying to find meaning in your life through self-esteem, and start embracing Christ-esteem, then this new book by Craig Groeshel should be on the top of your reading list. Get your own copy of Altar Ego so you can start becoming who God says you are today.
By way of disclosure: I received a free review copy of “Altar Ego” By Craig Groeschel in exchange for writing a review—good, bad, or otherwise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good source for practical life applications

Date:April 17, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you know who you are? Are you certain of your identity? Is God really on the throne of your heart or are you worshiping another idol? Is your own ego your god? These questions and more can be answered in "Altar Ego" by Craig Groeschell. So much of our world today places a great deal of emphasis on "self-worth", and for what? Let's be honest, in the grand scheme of things, we have no worth outside of Christ. We are only worthy through Him in the eyes of the Lord. If we are secure in Christ, He will not love us any less, nor will He love us any more. What happens when we understand this intellectually, but do not fully grasp it as a heart belief? It is called an identity crisis. Our quick fix, me-me-me culture demands that we see immediate results. To have an "Atlar Ego" we must first surrender our self-gratifying nature at the foot of the cross and unfortunately this is not a one-time event. It is a life-time process that we must continue to do daily for the rest of our lives. The Bible is full of examples where self came before Christ (e.g. Eve wanted the apple, David wanted the woman, Esau wanted the stew, Judas wanted the money, and the list goes on). Are you selling out your birthright for food, lust, or money? We all sell it out at some point for sin. Craig Groeschell's book will help guide you on a path to develop an "atlar" ego in place of an "alter" ego. Learn how to stop serving the me god and see what it takes to serve the one true God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Craig Groeschel does a wonderful job with 'Altar Ego'.
The concept? Sacrificing our ego's on the altar of God and learning who we truly are in Christ.
As I've read through this book, I've grown to like it more and more. Craig is a real person. He gives it straight and not in a lot of over-spiritual "Pastor talk". He talks about being people of integrity, honoring others (even if we disagree with them), praying bold prayers, and acting in obedience to the callings God gives us.
If you're looking for a an easy read filled with a lot of truth and real life stories that God will use to open your eyes and produce a change in your life, then I suggest you go buy this book! Right. Now. It will encourage you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Altar Ego: Becoming Who God Says You Are
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

your identity and life in Christ

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Craig writes, “If you've ever felt insecure, inadequate, or insufficient, this book is for you.” (9) Where do you get your worth? Do you believe what others say about you or what God says?
Craig wants us to discover how to live with an altar ego – God's view of us. He helps us find our identity baggage and then see our new identity in Christ.
He shows us specifically who God says we are. We are God's masterpiece. We are overcomers. We are ambassadors.
And when we know our true identity in Christ, it will drive our actions and empower us to live by God's values, not the world's. We are to live with patience, integrity, gratitude, showing honor, boldness – bold speaking, bold prayers, bold obedience.
Craig does not predict instant results. There will be challenges to overcome. “Almost everything worthwhile I'm doing today is a result of God helping me to overcome a challenge, a problem, opposition, or my own doubts.” (59) Nonetheless, Craig reminds us, we are super conquerors in Christ (hupernikao in Rom. 8:37).
Craig double-dog dares us to ask God to use us. He suggests we pray, “Lord, use me today, use me for your glory, make me bold, stir me up, give me eyes to see the needs of those I work with, give me a heart sensitive to those who are hurting, give me a prompting of the Spirit to minister to those who are around me.” (187)
We live in a time when we are urged to be all we can be, But we will never be who we are to be until we die to self and let Christ live in us. Reading Craig's book will help move that process along.
He illustrates his teaching with examples from his life, the lives of others, and from biblical examples.
While this is not an earth shaking book, it is a good book for Christians who want to understand more who they are in Christ and what He calls us to do.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.