Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Double Blind - eBook

B&H Books Double Blind - eBook

Twenty-nine-year-old Lisa Newberry can barely make it through the day. Suddenly widowed and a survivor of a near-fatal attack, she is wracked with grief and despair. Then she hears of a medical trial for a tiny brain chip that emits electrical pulses to heal severe depression. At rope's end, Lisa offers herself as a candidate.

When she receives her letter of acceptance for the trial, Lisa is at first hopeful. But-brain surgery. Can she really go through with that? What if she receives only the placebo? What if something far worse goes wrong?

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double Blind - eBook
Review 1 for Double Blind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not what I expected from this author

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed in this book. I have read every book by Brandilyn Collins and eagerly await her next book. This is the first book I will give less than 5 stars. I thought the storyline was very interesting and was drawn into the book quickly. Unfortunately, that lasted for about 60 pages. That is where the story started to get very slow and repetitive as I read about the same visions several times. The last 75 pages was really where the suspense came in. I didn't really connect with this book. Maybe because I am not a big fan of books written in first person. I love to feel a part of whatever book I am reading and I like to know what the characters are feeling and thinking. Unfortunately while reading this book I didn't feel much of anything. I hope with her next book she returns to her previous writing style as in the 'Kanner Lake Series'. I know I am going to be in the minority with this review but sometimes I think when it is one of your favorite authors it is hard to be critical in any way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Original and clever plot!

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Lisa Newberry lost her husband to a car accident about 9 months ago. She was attacked and almost strangled to death. All this brought her to despair and she was suffering from a severe depression which she couldn’t handle. When she hears of a brain chip that emits electrical pulses to her brain that will cure her depression, she offers to participate in the medical trial—hoping and praying that she will get the real chip and not a placebo.
After surgery she is feeling fine and is convinced she’s cured from her depression, but while still recovering in the hospital she is having a bad dream of someone being murdered. First she’s thinking it must be the meds that’s giving her hallucinations, but when the medications are out of her system she’s still seeing these visions. They scare her to death. She is sure the chip is causing these visions, but the medical company who planted the chip in her brain claims it is a placebo so it shouldn’t do anything.
Lisa and her mom are trying to unravel the mystery. Who is the woman being murdered in Lisa’s visions? And why is the medical company telling her that she received a placebo while she’s sure it is a real chip?
I was hooked from page one! I had no idea where this story would take me. It has an original and clever plot. Brandilyn Collins has penned another page-turner which will keep the reader up till late in the night!
Thanks to the publisher for providing me a review copy through NetGalley.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Double Blind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

If something seems too good to be true...

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Desperate people make desperate choices. Sometimes they rob banks or commit other horrible crimes. In this case, Lisa Newberry has been suffering from a debilitating depression for a while, and her desperation leads her to sign up for an experimental treatment. What she doesn’t know is that there are others just as desperate as she is – and they might be the ones who are treating her.
As the treatment progresses, Lisa’s life becomes more and more out of control – the opposite of what she hoped for. In the end, she has to come to a place where she recognizes that her hope cannot be in what modern medicine can do for her, but in what God can do for anyone. As she comes to the point where no one is trustworthy, she finally opens her heart to the one who has been there all along.
This story is a great read, and one that kept me guessing until the very end. It was fun and exciting, and had some great characters. There are some who are quick to make corporations the automatic bad guy in every situation, and although there are some corporate elements in this story, there was never a sense that ALL corporations are bad, or that greed is the only motivator of every CEO. This story went in many different directions, with a really interesting plot line.
I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries or thrillers. This one will keep you guessing, and it will definitely entertain.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microchips In The Brain & Murder = Suspense Thrill

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandilyn Collins in her new book, “Double Blind” published by B&H Publishing Group brings us into the life of Lisa Newberry.
From the back cover: Desperate people make desperate choices.
Twenty-nine-year-old Lisa Newberry can barely make it through the day. Suddenly widowed and a survivor of a near-fatal attack, she is wracked with grief and despair. Then she hears of a medical trial for a tiny brain chip that emits electrical pulses to heal severe depression. At rope’s end, Lisa offers herself as a candidate.
When she receives her letter of acceptance for the trial, Lisa is at first hopeful. But—brain surgery. Can she really go through with that? What if she receives only the placebo?
What if something far worse goes wrong?
Written in the relentless style for which Brandilyn Collins is known, Double Blind is a psychological thriller with mind-bending twists. Lisa faces choices that drive her to the brink, and one wrong move could cost the lives of many.
I liked the books that Michael Crichton used to write and was sorry when he died as there would be no more technology gone sour stories. Brandilyn Collins saw the vacuum and stepped right up to fill it. “Double Blind” is really something, a microchip planted in the brain to remove depression. It works too so no problem right? No, not quite, there is a side effect, Lisa Newberry sees a murder and she has no idea of who the victim is. And then the suspense really starts. The problem is Lisa sets out to find out all the answers and there is a murderer who doesn’t want to be caught so that puts her life in danger. Get ready for a page turner thriller that is just loaded with suspense. Ms. Collins grabs a hold of your nerves and squeezes until you think you can’t be squeezed anymore and then she squeezes those nerves some more. What more can we ask for? “Double Blind” gives us much, much more. This is a top-notch thriller and, I think, this is Ms. Collins best work yet and that is saying some. Ms. Collins takes us on a ride that leaves us breathless but extremely satisfied. Sort of like the way you feel after a roller coaster ride. I liked this book and recommend it highly!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B&H Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great suspense that will keep you reading

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you ready for suspense? Do you want a novel that will keep you awake at night – not because it is so scary (although it is intense), but because it is such a page turner you don't want to put it down? Pick up this latest book by Collins.
A miracle cure for people suffering from depression is ready for clinical trial. A new chip that, when inserted in the brain, sends out signals destroying the intense thoughts of depression. And Lisa is accepted into the program. Lisa who has suffered miscarriages, who suffered through her husband being killed, who was almost strangled to death by a mugger.
Lisa is a Christian but her struggle in her mind is so great she feels God has left her. The memories and the terror are just too much for her. The chip, the chip will let her have her life back.
And it seems like it is working...until the nightmares begin. Lisa sees visions of a murder. Over and over, the stabbing, the blood, the body, and the hands of the man who did it. She can't get rid of the visions.
Her life turns into a nightmare.
That sets the scene for Collins' latest thriller. And it is a good thriller. I read way too late into the night. The action is tight. The character development is superb. And the plot is the possible science of tomorrow. Researchers are already testing brain implants in patients who suffer from depression. A brain chip like the one Lisa got is not far off.
There are discussion questions at the end of the book. This would make a very good book for reading groups. There are twenty million Americans who suffer from depression so the subject is very timely.
If you are ready for a few late nights of suspenseful reading, grab this book!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from The DeMoss Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping Thriller

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the last three years, Lisa Newberry has suffered three miscarriages, lost her husband and been the victim of a mugging. She is suffering depression from all the losses, but her acceptance into a medical trial might be the answer. Cognoscenti's new Empowerment Chip is implanted directly into the brain, and claims to remove the trauma associated with emotional issues such as depression.
When she wakes from the surgery, Lisa is convinced she has received the real chip, not a placebo, because for the first time in months she can think of her husband without crying. But when she falls asleep after the operation, she has a horrible nightmare. She then starts seeing dark visions of death and murder even while she is awake and in the middle of a conversation… Is the chip malfunctioning, is Lisa crazy, or is there something more sinister behind the visions?
Brandilyn Collins knows how to get straight into the action, and Double Blind was a thriller from start to finish. The story is told in the first person by Lisa, and she is a strong narrator who immediately grabbed my attention. She is assisted by her mother, with whom she has always had a difficult relationship, and by her best friend, Sherry. The characters are all strong women, intelligent and likeable.
Behind the race to find out what the visions are and how she might be rid of them is a deeper theme of forgiveness, trusting God and understanding that he is there for us even in the midst of grief and depression. I thought the author brought this out very well, and the Christian aspects of the novel were well integrated into the overall story. Recommended.
Thanks to B&H books and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this thriller!

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandilyn Collins is an author who writes so many twists into her suspense that I never know exactly where a book is going until the end. Usually I can foresee at least the general direction of a suspense -- but Double Blind kept me guessing and reading until the last page. The combination of an innovative medical device that can bring relief to some but terrorizes the heroine was fresh. Has what she is seeing already happened? Is there any way to be rid of these horrible images? While there is no romance -- the book doesn't need it. Instead, there is rich relational conflict with Lisa's mother and best friend. I loved this page-turner that shines a light on the reality that God doesn't leave us in our deepest valleys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another keeper from Brandilyn Collins

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was pleased to snag a copy of this book fresh from the publishers right as it came out. I couldn't wait to get my hands on it! I am always anxious to see what Brandilyn has up her sleeves next. This plot is original and mind boggling - a chip that can be implanted in the brain and send out little shock waves that will disturb the brain waves that cause depression. This chip is supposed to give Lisa her life back after the tragedies she has experienced over the last year... miscarriages, being widowed and then being viciously attacked. She has basically quit functioning and is racked with depression and grief. She just wants her life back and agrees to be part of a medical trial with this brain chip. She wakes up from the surgery and doesn't take long to realize that the chip is working! But as hindsight usually shows us, if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is and Lisa starts dealing with some side effects of this "miracle chip". And these side effects could end up killing her... or someone else - except that they are already dead. Is she going insane - this might be worse than the depression she was dealing with before.
I was really on the edge of my seat to see how it was going to turn out and I have to be careful what I say at this point... I don't want to spoil anything but I have to say that the ending was not quite the punch I was hoping for. I never did understand the reasoning of the bad guy (other than pure sociopath maybe...) but overall this book was really good. I always know that if Brandilyn Collins writes it, it will be unusual and original and that is what I love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Double Blind - eBook
This review is fromDouble Blind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An edge of your seat suspense novel!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All Lisa Newberry has is her memories, even as painful as they are. It validates who she is, who she was and who she can be. First she miscarried three times, then she lost the love of her life, Ryan in a car accident, and later she was brutally attacked outside in a parking lot. Now her life is reduced to nothing more than simply waking up and trying to see it to the end. To say she was depressed was mild compared to how she was really feeling. Blackness, fear and anxiety now consume her.
Her only hope remains in the envelope and it's contents she holds within her hands. It's from a company called Cognoscenti and even though she believes it is what she so desperately needs, she will soon learn it will hold another quite different fate for her. She has filled out all the necessary paperwork required for this life-changing medical trial for victims of PTSD or Post Traumatic Stress Disorder or suffering from severe depression that almost incapacitates its victims. Most of the subjects have been from brutally attacks or returning from the war and the trial promises to suppress the emotions of the events without altering the memories.
It's the one thing Lisa doesn't want to eliminate are the memories of those times but it's the debilitating emotions she can't seem to work past. Now if she is approved, she can undergo surgery to have an Empowerment Chip installed on her brain that has shown amazing results for those that receive the real thing. She won't know if she'll get the placebo or the real thing, but all she knows is for right now, something has to change. When she opens the envelope, she is surprised when she learns she's been accepted. But what will really happen when she decides to go through with this? Will she forget everything? Will she survive the surgery? What is nothing happens?
In the latest suspense thriller from Brandilyn Collins, Double Blind takes the readers into an interesting science fiction story line where a new medical trial promises the most amazing results to help it's subjects who receive the real thing. There have been no reported side effects and Lisa knows how life changing this could be for her, but what she doesn't realize is just how life changing it will really be. It may just be the worst decision she's ever made!
I received Double Blind compliments of B & H Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review and have to say, I was completely captivated by this one. I was spending so much time trying to figure out what was going on and who was behind it all, before I realized it, I had finished the book. Once again Brandilyn creates such a believable story that will hold the reader in the palm of her hands until the final page is turned. I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars. I found myself constantly stopping and telling my family how amazing this story really is! Due out in book retailers in October of 2012!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.