Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2

Tyndale House Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2

In the dramatic conclusion to Her Mother's Hope, the Cold War has begun and Carolyn is struggling to navigate her shifting family landscape and the changing times. With her mother, Hildemara, away in a tuberculosis sanatorium, Carolyn develops a special bond with her Oma Marta. But when Hildie returns, tensions between her and Marta escalate, and Carolyn feels she is to blame. College offers the chance to find herself, but a family tragedy shatters her independence. Rather than return home, she cuts all ties and disappears into the heady culture of San Francisco. When she reemerges two years later, more lost than ever, only her family can help rebuild a life for her and her daughter, May Flower Dawn. Just like Carolyn, May Flower Dawn develops a closer bond with her grandmother, Hildie, than with her mother, causing yet another rift between generations. But as Dawn struggles to avoid the mistakes of those who went before her, she vows that somehow, she will be a bridge between her mother and grandmother rather than the wall that separates them forever. Spanning the 1950s to the present day, Her Daughter's Dream is the final chapter of an unforgettable epic family saga about the sacrifices every mother makes for her daughter-and the very nature of unconditional love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
39 out of 4195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Review 1 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MAKE THIS GENERATION BETTER THAN THE LAST ONE

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
MAEVIS
Location:ORANGE COUNTY,CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK THAT GIVES MANY TIPS ON HOW TO LOVE ONE ANOTHER & MAKE THE NEXT GENERATION EVEN BETTER. THIS WAS A GREAT 2ND BOOK IN A SHORT SERIES. FRANCINE RIVERS DID NOT FAIL TO DELIVER A GREAT STORY.THIS HAD TO BE GOOD TO READ THIS MANY PAGES (564)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great book!!!

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shea
Location:Alpine Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shows you the importance of loving your family and that you need your family through hard times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
mick
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife loved it as a Christmas gift, and devoured it readily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grams
Location:Edmonton AB, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so enjoy this author's writing, she keeps you interested right to the last word. I felt that this book showed you how not communicating in our families can bring about rifts that really do not exist. Thank You
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can love heal the hurt of generations?

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HER DAUGHTER’S DREAM
By Francine Rivers
What drives us to push away those who love us the most? This multi-generational story delves into the dangers of tough love and its far reaching affects.
What Marta did out of love for her daughter Hildemara has far reaching consequences that affect the third and fourth generation. Carolyn, Hildemara’s daughter, feeling that her parents lack of attention is due to a lack of love looks for love in all the wrong places. As a result Carolyn becomes a single mom to May Flower Dawn. But Dawn’s birth does not bring the mothers and daughters closer, instead it brings a fourth generation into the ever widening rift.
When she is older Dawn sees the hurt that her mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother suffer while being unable to let the other know the love they feel for the other. Can Dawn figure out how to bridge the gap between her Mother and Grandmother so that they can all discover the love that’s been there all along? Or will a fifth generation be caught up in the rift as well?
Her Daughter’s Dream is the conclusion of the 2 book series Marta’s Legacy. Taking up the story in 1951 it continues through to the present day. Celebrate the joys and sorrow in the tragedies as Marta’s legacy is discovered!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Story of redemption and forgiveness

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Love one another, Jesus said. Sometimes it took a lifetime to learn how. Sometimes it took hitting rock bottom to make someone reach up and grasp hold and be lifted from the mire to stand on a firm foundation.”
In the conclusion of Francine Rivers Marta’s Legacy Series we continue to learn about Oma, Hildemara Rose her daughter Carolyn and daughter May Flower Rose. Rivers continues to weave a story that links you to the characters but also teaches you lessons about your everyday life.
Every family has the traits they pass from each generation to the next, sometimes unknowingly and sometimes we choose to pretend to not see what is happening. Rivers tackles these things head on, showing that through generations families can remain disconnected but it does not have to stay that way. Relying on Jesus, we need to let go of our pride and conquer those things head on. The things that tear a family a part do not need to be passed down but repaired, with Jesus there is no reason to let the hurts and pains of one generation to continue on to the next.
Francine Rivers has created a story of redemption and forgiveness we can all learn from. This book will not only captivate your attention but encourage you to open the line of communication with your entire family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a 2-book series & FABULOUS

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Granny Karen
Location:Englewood, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francine Rivers is the best Christian Fiction author that I have read and I read all the time. The two-book series is the greatest. You can't put it down---she keeps you entralled in the tangled webs of lives that are protrayed in the books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Historical Fiction!

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francine Rivers is my favorite modern author. Since I discovered her books about 2 years ago, I have become spoiled with amazingly well-written, life-changing, inspirational fiction. All of her historical books are so well researched that you feel like you're truly there. This is no fiction that was written quickly... it was well thought out and will change your life.
The 2 book series "Marta's Legacy" is a saga. It deals with the relationships between mothers and daughters with quite a lot of romance, too. These women battle so many different obstacles and their struggles are often hard to read about. In "Her Daughter's Dream," one of the main characters is so meek you want to grab her and tell her, "Just tell someone what you feel!" Still, it's a gripping read and a wonderful story that comes together perfectly in the end. These are characters and a storyline you won't forget.
This 2nd book in the series takes place from the 1950s to the present day. Having such a glimpse of what it was like to grow up in the 60s was very eye-opening. I've read a lot of historical fiction but never anything that delved into the Hippi Era. I loved this book and highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nise
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Many of us have favorite authors that no matter what their book is about we will pick it up. Francine Rivers is one of those authors for me. In this second book (and final) book of Marta's Legacy we find the mother/daughter relationship becoming a generational cycle for this family. You will be pulled in by this emotional story of loss, sorrow, pain, anger, love and forgiveness. You will need a few tissues on hand for the last 60 pages and hopefully be changed as you close the cover. Every grandmother, mother and daughter should read these books. While this is Christian fiction, it is gritty, honest and tells the story of hurting, messed up women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

well written book

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
chartless
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story picks up with Marta's granddaughter and Hilde's daughter Carolyn. Hilde was treaded roughly by her mother Marta, for fear that treating Hilde gently would cause her to not venture out and make her own way in the world. The story shows how Marta's actions play out in the lives of her daughter and granddaughter. The relationships between each pair of mother/daughters is strained and Marta then has the opportunity to use her godly influence to repair what she can, and set the stage for resolution even if each woman is not ready to seek forgiveness yet.
I enjoyed the story however, this book deals with several hard topics, rebellion, drug use, etc. The thing that I enjoyed reading though is how God uses the hard things in our lives to grow us and to show His grace through His redemption. Definitely difficult subject-matter at times but a very well-written story. I enjoyed seeing how the characters from the beginning of the first novel came back into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Storytelling

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlogfulOfBooks
I love Francine Rivers's writing style, and I love the way she interweaves the stories of the four main characters. There is just so much ... I'm not sure how to word it ... so much life told in these books. From war to death to child abuse to independence to love to ... the list could go on and on. Rivers is a wonderful storyteller, and I truly enjoyed reading this saga.
The only negative for me is that Rivers includes a very well described sex scene, and I just can't understand that in a "Christian" novel. The scene does have importance to the rest of the book, but I don't know why she couldn't have just implied it and not written it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Part 2 of Marta's Legacy

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie Ski
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Her Daughter’s Dream is part two in Marta’s Legacy by Francine Rivers. To fully understand and soak in the story you need to start with part one, Her Mother’s Hope.
Part two picks up where one left off in the early 1950’s. Hilde is suffering for a second time with TB and is in a hospital room quarantined from her family. Her husband Trip calls Oma Marta to come and help them so that Hilde can come home to recover and care for the children. Hilde is surprised that she does. Marta and Carolyn form a close bond while Hilde is recuperating, and the relationship between Hilde and her daughter never grows to be the close bond that she desires.
Years later Carolyn goes to college and soon after her brother Charlie goes to Vietnam. Carolyn drops out of college to protest the war, experiments with the drugs and alcohol of the hippy era. Still close with Marta, but never having felt loved by Carolyn. She turns from the God she once held dear after her brother is killed in the war. Carolyn comes home after all her options are exhausted, pregnant with May Flower Dawn. The cycle continues as Carolyn rebuilds her life while Hilde cares for Dawn. The relationship between Grandmother and Granddaughter overtakes the one of mother and daughter.
This saga is rich in historical data and loaded with well rounded, unique characters. A heavy read about the generational sin of pride and secret keeping. Of not reaching out to the ones you love to make sure that they know you love them. I had hoped that this second part of the story would bring some redemption as the first one left me feeling sad and not at all satisfied. I cried at the end of this novel and it truly made me look at my relationship with the women in my life.. thanking God for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book holds your attention

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Douglas, Ga.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book holds your attention and you don't want to lay it down ,also it's not repetive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Reading

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Pitman, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book "Her Mother's Hope" and this book "Her Daughter's Dream" are so well written. I couldn't put them down! I finished both books in about a week's time (and with an 18 month old running around that's an accomplishment!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book did not draw me in

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
vision of loveliness
Location:Toronto
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some reason, I did not enjoy it so much. I found the first one much more interesting and realistic of hard times. I struggled with a few topics regarding a young lady who apparently turned Christian and prayed a lot. If she truly had faith in the Lord, there would not have been talk about her taking birth control pills. Nevertheless, this is in my opinion. I found that money never lacked, for the young couple and the granny (who travelled a lot) This made me wonder where did the money come from? As a retired nurse myself, also knowing of young soldiers away from home, the families live on a tight budget. It was just a book a little hard to agree with.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another inspiring winner from Francine Rivers!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Love
Location:Greensburg, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved part one, Her Mother's Hope and the conclusion in Her Daughter's Dream left me still wanting more!
Francine's books inspire, enrich and entertain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!!

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
deeregrl
Location:Stockbridge, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great sequel! Francine Rivers does a wonderful job in her writing of pulling you right into the story as if you are there partaking of all that is going on. It is an eyeopening story of generational guilt and its unknowingly passing to other generations -- then addressing it head on. Just a reminder of how sweet forgiveness is and how great it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life impacting

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved reading Francine Rivers for years. The first book I found interesting and couldn't put it down. It made me think about how I as a mother am impacting each of my kids and how our decisions will shape them. This second book opened my eyes up to seeing that the choices we make, though not intentional can hurt people enough to build up walls. We tell our friends that we love them but often forget that is the family around us that needs to hear it the most. Just because we are family doesn't mean they know how we feel. I loved how she showed real people dealing with real life choices and how even though we do things out of our own selfish desires God can work for the good of those who love Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

legacy continues well!

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
andeja
Location:whittier, ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
still reading the book...but it is just as good as it's predecessor! i would purchase other books by this author...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Her Daughter's Dream, Marta's Legacy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This goes to show that one can mend bridges.

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marty
Location:Lake Wales Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent reading and I enjoyed every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.