Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books A Lady in the Making - eBook

Barbour Books A Lady in the Making - eBook

Millie Evans has changed, choosing to leave rather than join an outlaw gang with her brother. Hoping for a new future, she boards a stagecoach but runs into her past and David Stone, a man she and her brother once tried to swindle. As she tries to convince David she's changed, her brother's gang holds up the stagecoach. Fighting beside David goes a long way to softening his heart, but he's still not convinced. Millie must trust God to show David the truth, but will he see before it's too late?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Review 1 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ginger Long
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love stories of redemption from bad pasts to great futures. Isn't that what grace has done for all of us? This book really brings the powerful message of grace, redemption, and forgiveness to life in a wonderful and impacting way that will warm your heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice story!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely conclusion to the Prairie Dreams Series.
Millie Evans has decided to leave her old life behind, but then a stagecoach brings her face-to-face with the man that she and her brother had previously tried to swindle. But as she cares for him, and helps him make his way home, she finds herself falling for him. Will David Stone make a lady of Millie yet?
The conclusion of a lovely series, and in my opinion the best! David Stone finally comes face-to-face with those who would do him harm in order to take his inheritance, I'm happy to see this story come to a sweet ending.
This is definitely the kind of series that you may want to read in order so that the full story arc can be fully appreciated. The story was told by 3 main characters, David, Millie, and the villian, Peregrin, and it was nice to see the tale through so many different eyes.
Overall, I found this book very enjoyable, and there was a tinge of suspense to the story as well. I really liked how David and Millie's relationship grew and developed naturally, and didn't feel forced or anything! A lovely conclusion to s series!
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Re: Fantastic read!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review:
The Prairie Dreams Series by Susan Page Davis was on my HAVE to read book list and when I received my review copy of Lady In The Making (Book #3), I started with the first two books in the series first. The first two books are: #1-The Lady's Maid and #2-Lady Anne's Quest.  The whole series
is fantastic and I read them all in three days.  Susan is now one of my favorite authors and I will be reading more of her books soon.
Lady In The Making is full of adventure, romance, mystery and a whole lot of fun. I loved Millie and David's love story and how it showed the redeeming power of God.  You meet Millie in The Lady's Maid  as a character that is in need of a relationship with Jesus. It is so exciting to see her character grow in faith in A Lady In The Making. Get ready for a fun-filled read and you will not be disappointed.
I give this entire series a 5 out of 5 stars.
I received my review copy from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect ending to this wonderful series!!!

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes the hardest thing to do in life is to convince people you have wronged, that you have truly changed. That's exactly what Millie Evans is trying to do. She no longer took part in swindling innocent people or conspire to have people murdered and even giving up being part of her brother-in-law's gang. Nope for Millie, she's had a complete change of heart. Must have been all that time, working hard at cooking and trying to make an honest living that has changed her deep down inside. However for some people, they believe no one ever really changes.
When Millie decides to take the stage to Salt Lake City to being her new life away from her past and her brother in law, she didn't plan on running into David Stone. He was the man she had fallen in love with and also the man she tried to murder and run off with all his money. Is it possible for her to convince David Stone to give her another chance? He believes Millie has been watching him for sometime and planned to take the same stage coach in an effort to finish what she had begun the first time she met David. Now he was wealthier and part owner in his own stage coach business and wonders just what Millie is up to now. He's not about to be caught off guard this time. Not if he can help it.
Millie thinks this is divine providence that she has run into David. It at least provides her with an opportunity to return the Bible she has stolen from him as well as the onyx cuff links his grandfather had given him on his twelfth birthday. . No matter how much she pleads with David that she has found God and has truly changed, he's not about to give her a second chance. He'd come so close to losing his heart to her. He'd been blinded by her charms. The knowledge left him feeling witless and old. He never wanted to see her again. Yet something kept nagging at him. Was even a tenth of what she'd said to him the truth?
In the conclusion of the Prairie Dreams Series, A Lady in the Making by Susan Page Davis takes us back to the late 1800's to the Oregon Territory to see just where David Stone and Millie Evans have wound up since their fateful encounter in the previous books. She has stolen from him and tried to lure him into marrying her so she could live in style. Without meaning to, she'd endangered his life. If only he'd give her the chance to show him that she had transformed into a new Millie Evans. He didn't even know her really name since she changed it to Charlotte Evan in Scottsburg because it sounded more elegant than Millie. This novel shows how difficult it can be for people to accept the changes we make, even if they are for the right reasons. Will Millie give up and go back to the life people have come to believe is true about her or has she truly changed both inside and out?
I received A Lady in the Making by Susan Page Davis compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for my honest opinion. I have read the entire series and have grown to love each of the characters that Susan creates for her reader to come to know and really love. I didn't care for Millie's character in the first two books because she was truly rooted in greed and deceit but looked forward to seeing how Susan would convince me that she had changed as well. For those that love Christian Historical Fiction set in the old west, then you will absolutely LOVE this one! You can read this as a stand alone since Susan does a great job at outlining Millie's past in this book, but trust me, you'll want to see where this all began! In my opinion, I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!!!! This is one of my favorite genre's to indulge in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SO SO

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Millie has changed her life since she last saw David Stone. She is no longer on the wrong side of the law and is working hard to live a good life. As she boards a stage coach she can hardly believe her eyes when one of the other passengers is David Stone! Can Millie prove to him she is a changed woman? David wants nothing to do with Millie but fate finds them stuck together after a bad accident. Slowly David starts to see the new Millie and finds his heart may be in jeopardy of trusting her again. Can these two find love after all they have been through?
This is book three and the final book of the series. Both Millie and David where also in book one and two so I was interested to see how their story played out.
What I liked: Millie and David are first introduced in book one so it was nice to get to know them in book three. I liked Millie a lot. Even though she had made bad choices she was working hard to do right. I also like the lesson of once your sins are forgiven your truly forgiven and can start fresh and live for God with out fear of being punished for past sins.
What I did not like: This book was kind of slow. The author spends a lot of time on details which is fine but there where area where I just wanted to move on. Also there where not a lot of side characters in this book so it even felt a little boring at times. There was Merrileigh Stone and her brother but I was not drawn into their characters like I had hoped. It’s not hard to figure out how the book was likely to end but it seems to take forever to get there.
Over all this was an okay book. The author does do a great job of describing people and places and its easy to feel like your their with the characters. If you enjoy historical fiction you might like this book. Read some other reviews and decide for yourself. I also suggest you start with book one in the series or you will be confused with the over all story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Final in Trilogy

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Millie Evans has decided to leave her wayward half-brother to his life of crime, and boards the stagecoach to Salt Lake City in search of an honest life. Much to her surprise, one of her fellow passengers is David Stone, who knew her as a thief named Charlotte Evans. Millie has been reading the Bible she stole from David, and how is a changed woman. But will David see that and learn to trust her?
Back in England, Merrileigh Stone has ambitions to be a Countess and the mother of an Earl. But for that to happen, David Stone will have to meet an unfortunate demise, and she hopes that this plan will be more successful than her last. She enlists the assistance of her gambling brother, Peregrin Walmore, to ‘assist’ her in achieving her ambition, and this adds an element of suspense to the plot.
I often read American contemporary fiction where one person chooses to ride 'shotgun': that is, in the front passenger seat, but the origin of the phrase was beyond me. A Lady in the Making solved the puzzle: a shotgun rider sat in the front seat of the stagecoach, to deter potential robbers and outlaws. See, you can learn something new reading Christian fiction!
A Lady in the Making is generally a sound historical novel, but there were some negatives. I found there was a distinct lack of romantic tension, especially compared with some of Davis’ previous books (my personal favourite remains Frasier Island). There were a few annoying examples where the English characters used Americanisms in their speech (e.g. using fall instead of autumn), and I thought the ending was quite abrupt.
This is the third book in the Prairie Dreams series by Susan Page Davis, following The Lady’s Maid and Lady Anne’s Quest (both previously reviewed). Although part of a series, this can easily be read as a standalone novel, as the couples from the previous novels are only mentioned in passing. Overall, this was a good story, but by no means the best Susan Page Davis has written.
Thanks to Barbour and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be Sure To Read The Other Books In The Series Too

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book three in the Prairie Dreams series. I would highly recommend reading the other books in the series before reading this one. I know you will enjoy the story even if you don’t read the others but it will make the book easier to follow if you do.
Millie Evans has decided to change her life. Will she be able to convince those she has hurt that she is turning her life around? David Stone can not believe he has run into Millie again! Can he learn to trust her? Can they finally be together or has too much passed between them to have a future together?
I gave this book 4/5 stars. I thought the story itself had good adventure and great characters. I liked the interaction of the main characters. I especially enjoyed the setting. I do think that reading the others in the series is important and therefore gave the lower rating, as it is not a good stand-alone book.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Lady in the Making - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prairie Dreams Book 3

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Lady in the Making by Susan Page Davis
Book 3 of Prairie Dreams
David Stone had come to America from England twenty years ago to make his own fortune. Being a third son he would have no title or fortune handed down to him…or so he thought. He was sought out by his niece, Anne, in the previous book to be told that the title of Earl of Stoneford has come to him after the demise of his two older brothers. So now he is headed back to England to claim his title. After almost falling for a gold digger and being shot he’s ready to leave this country. Wouldn’t you know his luck….that very same woman that he despised above all others….is headed across the country as well!
Millie Evans is a new woman. She and her step-brother, Sam Hastings, had a tough life and didn’t live it very well but after she stole a bible….God truly did change her. She had to get away from Sam though and away from crime. When she noticed David Stone….a man she once tried to marry for his fortune….on the same stage, she was thankful she could return his things she had stolen. Cuff links and his bible. Returning his property was not enough for him to believe she was a changed woman though. Would she ever be able to regain his trust and prove she was truly a new creature in Christ?
Follow their perilous journey from Oregon, where they run into all kinds of complications, let alone David trying to ignore the beautiful Millie. If you enjoy knowing the whole story, you will want to read The Lady’s Maid, where Anne comes to America to find her long lost Uncle David, and Lady Anne’s Quest where she does find her uncle and much more. Another well written and enjoyable series by Susan Page Davis.
**Received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.