Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Thicker Than Blood

Tyndale House Thicker Than Blood

Christy Williams finally has her life on track. She's putting her past behind her and working hard to build a career as an antiquarian book buyer. But things begin to unravel when a stolen Hemingway first edition is found in her possession, framing her for a crime she didn't commit. With no one to turn to, she yearns for her estranged younger sister, May, whom she abandoned after their parents' untimely deaths. Soon, Christy's fleeing from her shattered dreams, her ex-boyfriend, and God. Could May's Triple Cross Ranch be the safe haven she's searching for? Will the sisters realize that each possesses what the other desperately needs before it's too late? A stunning debut from the latest Christian Writers Guild winner.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thicker Than Blood
Review 1 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story, sudden ending :-(

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edith Jane
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As the title of this review says... too sudden of an ending. I just finished the book and loved it but I feel as if I left the book before it ended. Everything in the last chapter seems like it was shortened and left me wondering. What happen between Chris and Hunter? How did May react to Chris' sacrifice? etc. etc. *SIGH* I wish there was a better ending but I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thicker Than Blood
This review is fromThicker than Blood - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Story

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andrew Wapakala
Location:Nairobi, Kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lovely story on forgiveness and restoration and how God does take care of us in times of trouble.
Captivating and riveting to the end. Read it all in one sitting, I could hardly put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thicker Than Blood
This review is fromThicker than Blood - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Woodhaven, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought the book was well written and it held my interest till the end, I actually didn't put it down until I had finished and then I was looking for more. Anyway, I would recommend this to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thicker Than Blood
This review is fromThicker than Blood - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book encouraged me with scripture references.

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aggie
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pace and redemptive storyline was well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have a new favorite author.

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
cjajsmom
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I won this book here several months ago and finally had a chance to sit down and read it after the holidays. Oh my -- the author had me from the very beginning and I finished this book much more quickly than usual.
Had I not won this book, I probably would not have chosen to read it. Anything with horses, ranches, or set in the west doesn't appeal to me. However, this book captured me in the first chapter and held my interest to the very end.
C.J. Darlington created two memorable characters in sisters Christy and May. One sister makes bad choices that lead to bad circumstances while the other sister has good circumstances that lead to good choices. Both sisters struggle spiritually and the working out of those struggles is the undercurrent of the storyline that kept me reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
Several experiences of Bible characters cometo mind: Benjamin, who was found possessing a cup he didn't snatch; Jonah,running from a call to speak the truth to those who ironically believed him and repented when they saw him, Joseph, who extended grace to his brothers after they had sold him as a slave, and the tearfulsinner in Luke 10 who loved much because she had been forgiven for much.(My typing error): I meant to say the Biblecharacter brought to mind was the repentant,weeping woman in Luke "7" and add that theLuke 10 account of the experiences of thetraveler toward Jericho road (to include hisrestoration at the loving hands of the goodSamaritan) are reflected .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terese Kraus
Compellingly set in the interesting worlds of antiquarian bookselling and ranching, this contemporary twist on the story of the Prodigal Son is an impressive debut novel by C.J. Darlington. With an eye for detail, with interesting characters, humor, suspense and the skillful exploration of some tough issues, the author has created a story that will please Christian fiction enthusiasts by weaving in the spiritual journey of Christy and May without being "preachy." The message of forgiveness, love, hope and faith is sure to touch readers` hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
As I read C.J. Darlingtons first novel, Thicker Than Blood, I found it hard to believe that this was her FIRST novel. This book is the work of a professional, seasoned writer and I thought it was fantastic!The storyline involving two sisters whove been estranged, held my interest and kept me reading. The pace of the novel was perfect fast enough to keep my attention and yet just enough detail and background to make the story solid.Being an avid reader and lover of books, I enjoyed that part of the story takes place with the main character working in a bookstore. I appreciate how the author gave some inside details about how the used book business works. All in all, I thought the story flowed beautifully and wove the lives of these two very different women seamlessly as they were reunited.Darlington hits on some very hard issues in this book such as alcoholism, abortion, domestic violence, grief and loss. For someone so young, she writes with a wisdom beyond her years. I thought she handled her subject matter brilliantly and with grace. Her faith is very clear all the way through this book and she was able to write about very sensitive subjects and yet maintain the integrity of her beliefs. Though the main character struggles with hard-core issues, the story is tactful and meaningful.No surprise that Thicker Than Blood won the 2008 Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel contest.I look forward to reading more of C.J. Darlingtons books!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Anne Bantz
An intricately woven story of rejection and restoration, misunderstandings and forgiveness, THICKER THAN BLOOD is a satisfying read. Christy Williams has cut herself off from her family, and cant seem to find her way back. Too many bad decisions. Too many disastrous relationships. The one bright spot in her solitary life is her job at the used-book barn where she has learned to value rare first editions found at auctions and estate sales.Christys life spirals downward when her former boyfriend/co-worker, frames her as a thief, and she finds herself without a job. Out of necessity, she finds refuge with her sister May at the ranch, but the rift between sisters is not easily repaired. And her rejected boyfriend is seeking deadly revenge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Thicker than Blood sweeps readers right into Christy Williams troubled life and pulls them along on her journey of pain and discovery. Christys mistakes and trials prompt readers to root for her all the more. Orphaned on her 18th birthday, Christy abandoned her younger sister, May, and has not had any contact for fifteen years. The death of their aunt tugs their paths back together.Each sister thinks their estrangement was her fault, plus both their lives are in turmoil. Christy has problems with alcohol and with her ex-boyfriend, which also affects her job at the antique bookstore. It looks like May will lose the ranch in which shes invested her life. Christy seeks refuge at the ranch, but doesnt seem to be willing to be totally honest with her only living relative. Can their relationship be salvaged?C.J. Darlington may have begun writing this as a teen, but its a fully mature novel waiting to satisfy your reading appetite. I recommend it for older teens and adults. It contains elements to appeal to a variety of interestsbooks, horses, adventure, danger, and the love of God that binds thicker than blood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Brandmeyer
Christy Williams parent's died in a car accident. Not long after that she ran away from her aunt's home cutting all contact with her aunt and her younger sister, May. The only contact she has from back home is with a lawyer, an old friend of her father's who has promised not to tell anyone where she is at.Christy's life is ugly. She's lied, stolen, smokes and become an alocholic. She'd like to go home, but she can't not in this shape.Then circumstances propel her toward home, running for her life.I loved that Christy is so broken and has fallen so far from hope. Will she find redemption? So many in real life have that same fear. It's a long road fraught with danger and I found myself wondering if there would be any hope for this character. Could she be saved?Well-written with setting details that pull you into the story and hang on to you until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Psmith
I was looking forward to reading this book for a long time and I didn't feel let down a single bit by it. This doesn't read like a debut book ~ and certainly not by someone so young. There is real emotional depth to the characters and nothing formulaic about the plot.I know my standard far is romances, and this book has a twisted romance and one relationship that reads like it shows promise for a romance ~ but it is a book about relationships. One of the main ones focused on is between the two sisters, May and Christy, and how that is changed by the guilt that Christy has allowed to come between her and basically everything good in her life. She listened to the lie instead of the truth.There is the relationship both sisters have with God and with their family, friends and co-workers and how what Christy, May and others do change those relationships for the better or worse.What I think the author did best of all was not paint her characters in all black or white. Christy had many weaknesses and faults, but she also had strengths and good points. May was a strong Christian, but when Christy shows up unexpectedly and doesn't even apologize for walking away, she still feels hurt and angry.This was a very well written book that deals with tough topics in a realistic way. I can't wait to read more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Christy Williams didnt see the cop until his red lights flashed in her rearview mirror. Want to read more? I did! I was hooked from the first sentence, and you will be too. I signed up for a review copy of this book when I realized the author, C. J. Darlington, was the same person who owned a website I frequent. C.J. Darlington weaves an interesting tale of Christy Williams struggle about the direction her life is headed. After her parents death she made choices that would change her life forever and separate her from May, her only living sibling. Christy Williams is an antiquarian. The author describes her love of and hunt for books. C. J. Darlington gives you a sneak peek into this professionone she held for quite some time. C.J. reveals how to hunt for treasurerare books and everything in-between. It was fun to read about a few book treasureswhat makes them rarevaluable and worth seeking! Some I recognized you will too! Christys sister, May, has her own passionrunning a ranch and taking care of the animals. It was fascinating to read about what made both sisters tick. I enjoyed the suspense and drama that caused a collision in both of these sisters lives. You wont want to miss reading this exciting, fun adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rene Forehand
Certainly a christian novel that will keep you wanting more. If you are a book lover and collector or just love hanging out in a book store or library, you'll enjoy this read. It's not just your ordinary sad story about family heartbreak and forgiveness. Darlington is a master in creating her characters. You will feel and smell the old novels and as she vividly describes the characters, you will feel you know them. You will be afraid of the outcome as Christy is stalked by her ex-boyfriend. I'm so glad Eva Marie Everson gave this book to me to read. I look forward to Darlington's next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela
In many ways, this is a good book, as many other reviewers have indicated. I had some real problems with it, though. For one thing, I had a hard time believing that a young lady without any higher education would be in the antiquarian book business...She didn't seem to me to think in the way one might expect from someone who has read much good literature. I cared about her, but I just did not find her convincing as a professional whose area of expertise is books... let alone collector's and antiquarian books. Even her habit of constant chain-smoking seemed jarring to me for someone who is supposedly well-read...I am not saying that I would expect her to sip mint herbal tea while quoting from classical philosophers at all times. But I just didn't buy her characterization. (However, I did finish the book and enjoyed parts of it quite a bit.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty LeBlanc
I loved this debut novel by C.J. Darlington. What a great story of family, forgiveness, and the things that we let get between us. Christy has a past that she can't seem to forgive herself of and doesn't think anyone else could either. She let her past get between her relationship with her sister and hadn't made contact with her in many years. I really liked Christy's sister, May. She had a love for the Lord and for her sister that endeared me toward her. I look forward to reading more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
This new author showing that blood is thickerthan anything, but the love of Jesus. A excellent read for someone searching for faith and closure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
This book was a great book. It captured me from page one and I enjoyed this book very well. I loved how the characters were written and how they all mingled into each others livesThis is a great Christian Fiction book about Love, sacrifice, Forgiveness and Redemption. This was a great first book by C.J Darling and I hope read more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Titus Osborn
Thicker than Blood is an exciting, page-turning novel by CJ Darlington. Through the main character, Christy Williams, the reader will learn ways to deal with issues of emotional and physical abuse issues that run rampant in our society. It also is a tender story of sacrifice and family reconciliation. Susan Osborn, Director of the Christian Communicator Manuscript Critique Service and author of 30 books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thicker Than Blood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherrie Ashcraft
If you're looking for a good read that deals with relationships between sisters, Thicker than Blood, the debut novel of C. J. Darlington is what you want to pick up. Christy Williams has been estranged from her younger sister, May, whom she walked away from fifteen years previously, when a terrible family situation brought a rift between the sisters. Christy's life tumbles in a downhill spirial, as she becomes involved with a sinister, controlling boyfriend. She has lost herself in the process of trying to build her life in her own way. Christy has an interesting job in a bookstore that deals in antiquarian books, often bought from estate sales, but her boyfriend interferes with her life there, causing her to be charged with a crime she didn't do. May has spent the last years constructing a fulfilling life on a ranch, working with her hands and building a "family" with the other people on the ranch. But she often prays for her sister Christy, wondering what has become of her and why she simply walked out of her life.Through an interesting and realistic series of events, the two sisters reunite, though not with the ease of a Hallmark movie. Their world view and religious beliefs are nowhere the same. These are real women who have to deal with problems in their lives that are nearly as old as the books Christy deals with! Thicker than Blood covers the issues of broken relationships, forgiveness and chances to try again, and ultimate redemption. Ms. Darlington develops her characters well, so much so that there were times I wanted to shout at Christy for making such bad decisions! This book held my attention and didn't to slow down. It was one situation after another that eventually brought these sisters back in contact, with a chance to build a deep family bond.I give it four stars for an entertaining yet thought-provoking look at the possibility of broken relationships being restored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>