Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook

Barbour Publishing Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Review 1 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ANOTHER POWERFUL STORY!!

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
CAMELLIA by Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver is another interesting inspirational romance set in 1871 Boonville, Missouri and Natchez, Mississippi. #2 in the "Song of the River", see "Lily",but can be read as a stand alone, with re-appearing characters. Camellia Anderson, only wants to go to finishing school regardless of the brewing hostilities between the North and South. Enter Thad Watkins, a Southern supporter,and a soldier,thus begins their courtship....then enter Jonah Thornton,a Union soldier,and a possible spy. Soon Camellia learns that, just as with the war,she is torn between two loves. Filled with faith,passion,hostilities,war between the North and South,trust,forgiveness, healing and finding love. The heart can't help what the heart wants,thus is Camellia's life. Fast paced! If you enjoy tension,and love than you will enjoy "Camellia". A powerful story from beginning to end. I have enjoyed this series and look forward to what these two writers have in store next. The characters are engaging and realistic. As the turmoil of the North and South grow stronger so does the risks taken by Camellia,Thad and Jonah. What an interesting and intriguing storyline! Another must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camellia is convinced that if she doesn't go to finishing school in New Orleans that she will never be able to marry a rich husband and escape her life on the river.
Jonah Thorton is a spy for the Union Army who comes from a wealthy family in New Orleans, and checking up on a family friend, named Camellia is the perfect cover. Sparks fly between Camellia and Jonah as they get caught up in the terrifying world of spying.
Filled with action and intrigue, Camellia invites the reader in to the world of spying during the Civil War. This is the second book in a series, and I would highly recommend reading Lily first because Camellia keeps up with the main characters from the first book and the relationships will make more sense if you do. The World of Camellia is lush and chock full of intriguing characters, that are at times a bit hard to keep track of. But I loved the intricacy of the plot and getting to see old characters featured in this sequel.
Overall, this was a wonderful read and I think I appreciated this book so much more because I had already read the previous book, and that way I could just jump into the story and I didn't have to wonder what was going on. I loved all the characters and there were some great surprises along the way, a very enjoyable read. I eagerly look forward to reading its sequel.
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really liked it...

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberlee
Location:Austin, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick thought after reading some other reviews: I found the first little bit of the book cleared up quickly any relationship questions that I had since I did not read the first book. I really liked the book... maybe because I didn't read Lily first?
I certainly had a hard time putting Camellia down until I had turned the last page. Another novel set during the Civil War {seems to be a theme for me at the moment, LOL}, a neat turn to this one was `seeing' Vicksburg in my mind while reading the latter part of the novel which was set there. We had a family reunion there by the river, and spent a day at the Civil War locations. The National Graveyard there is a sight to behold. Definitely a trip I recommend as highly as this book!
Camellia {the character} starts out a little a lot on the self preoccupied side, which is as irritating in a novel as it is real life. But it is interesting to read her transformation as her eyes and heart open to what was the big issue with slavery... the belief that the slaves were not to be considered as human beings. After watching the movie, The Help, also based around that premise, it is heartbreaking to think of the years people lived in miserable conditions because others had power over them. I treat my pets better than most treated their servants/slaves. The title you give them is based on whether it was before or after the slaves were freed... but was there a big difference in the way they were treated until MLK? I believe consideration of others is a very important aspect of how we interact with others, and hope that my children learn from my actions that it doesn't matter whether someone is rich, poor, or of a different skin tone... you treat them like you want to be treated yourself.
Back to the book...
Diane Ashley and Aaron McCarver take you through all that `mess', and manage to weave a beautiful love story in there as well. Camellia grows into a woman as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside, and her leading man is dashing and heroic as a Civil War novel demands of him. Her family is hilarious, and I can't wait to read the story of her older sister, and am hoping they continue this series with the other family members too. ~Kimberlee, www.TheSpunkyDiva.com
DISCLOSURE: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley to review. The opinions contained in this review are 100% my own opinionated opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Riveting Read!

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Camellia, Book Two in The Song of the River series, Diane Ashley sweeps us away to beautiful Mississippi, with its majestic, tropical fruit plantations and azalea covered grounds, to the tumult and darkness of the Civil War, secrets -- and betrayal.
Camellia Anderson has always lived a self-centered life, wishing only to go to finishing school that she might attract a rich, handsome husband and live in a mansion with the most fashionable attire, jewelry, and possessions. Against her elder sister's better judgement she goes to New Orleans, confident that the Confederate troops will be able to hold off the Yankees and she will abide in safety there.
Camellia becomes fast friends with Jane Watkins and together they attend the finest balls and events, and under the tutelage of the school's headmistress, Mrs. Dabbs, they learn the skills to become a lady in every sense of the word. Just when life seemingly can't get any better for Camellia, she meets the man of her dreams -- Captain Thad Watkins of the Confederate army and brother of her friend, Jane.
Thad is the most handsome man Camellia has ever beheld and seems to be her perfect match, and she quickly begins thinking about marriage. Then Jonah Thornton enters her life again, a man with a deep, dark secret, and soon Camellia finds herself and her friends in the utmost danger. Both men vie for her heart, but which will Camellia choose? As she becomes immersed in unselfishly tending to the wounded, does Camellia find out what her true calling really is and what is really important in life?
This was an awesome and realistic book with a strong storyline -- depicting the horrors of war, but also throwing in episodes of enjoyment and humor so as not to depress the reader. I loved the main and secondary characters!...and although this is the second book in The Song of the River series it may be read as a stand alone. I also loved the fact that there is a strong spiritual thread of forgiveness, redemption, and salvation throughout this book. Very nicely done, Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver!
I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Romance And The Civil War = Great Read!

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver in their new book, "Camellia" Book Two in the Song Of The River series published by Barbour Publishing, Inc. takes us into the life of Camellia Anderson.
From the back cover: A heart torn between North and South
Camellia Anderson misses her life of wealth and privilege. She misses the balls, she misses the suitors...and she's bored with hearing about politics despite the undeniable wave of unrest raging across the South. Then an opportunity to attend finishing school in New Orleans brings Thad Watkins-staunch Southern supporter and dashing soldier-into her world, and they begin a whirlwind courtship.
Jonah Thornton is disappointed when he sees Camellia growing closer to Thad. He has admired Camellia from afar even though he knows he is no more than a friend to her. Having questioned the practice of slavery in the past, and without much hope of finding love with Camellia, Jonah heads north to join the Union Army.
When an injury brings Jonah back into Camellia's life, she is both challenged and drawn to this man of strong convictions. Suddenly Camellia is torn between two loves-just as the nation is torn between north and south. But is she willing to risk everything-her reputation, her life, and her heart-to save a Union soldier?
Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver return us to a South that doesn't exist anymore with absolutely interesting characters set against the backdrop of The Civil War. Ms. Ashley and Mr. McCarver know how to tell a great story because they have filled it with tension. Camellia is the younger sister of Lily's from the first book. Jonah and Camellia do not get along. Camellia wants her lifestyle back and is being courted by Thad so Jonah heads north to join the Union Army. It takes Jonah being wounded to return home and then Camellia must decide who she will spend her future with, Thad or Jonah. Many kudos to Ms. Ashley and Mr. McCarver for a truly memorable, fun book, I was sorry to see it end. The good news is Book Three in this series is not far away. I can hardly wait.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing, Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Will Enjoy This Story!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book two in the Song of the River Series. You do not have to read the first to enjoy and understand this one. I liked that this book could be read alone. A lot of series you have to read all the books to get the whole story of certain characters.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. At first I did not like the main character, Camellia, too much. As the story proceeded though I grew to like and respect her more. I thought the other main character Jonah was also interesting. The authors wrote their interactions so well I could almost hear their voices bantering back and forth. I enjoyed the storyline and would recommend this book and series to anyone who enjoys Christian Historical Fiction Books!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Camellia

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3.5 Stars
Camellia just wants to be a lady. She wants to attend finishing school in New Orleans and find a rich husband and live in a big house and leave her family behind as she feels embarrassed by them and does not like living on a steam boat. The one thing standing in her way is the civil war. Her sister Lily is concerned about sending her but Camellia finally talks her into letting her go. Nothing is going to stand in the way of her dreams not even a war. Jonah is from the south but believes in the northern cause and joins the northern army. Because of his southern ties he is put into service as a spy. He must find out all he can about the southern army with out letting his family or anyone else know he is actually a union solider. Will Camellia realize there is more to life then the perfect husband and a big plantation? Will Jonah help his cause with out losing his life and being labeled a trader? Is it possible for these two opposites to find love?
This is the 2nd book in the series and I liked it but did not love it.
What I liked: I enjoyed reading about the civil war and how it played out in the south. It was quite interesting and well written. I also find the steam boats quite interesting and enjoyed reading about them. I liked Jonah and it was fun to read about how a spy would operate and the dangers that come with being one and the sacrifices they would have had to make.
What I did not like: Camellia was so shallow at first I just could not like her. Even as her character changed as the book went along I just never cared that much about her. I also felt the climax was a let down a little to unbelievable. I just don’t see a a southern solider doing what he did. It was just to easy an ending and could have been a little more exciting.
Over all it was okay but nothing special. Like I said above the ending was a little bit of a let down and even though Camellia changed as the book went a long I just don’t like her. It was nice to see how Lily was doing and to have some closer on book one. I am interested in book three which I figure will be about the younger sister which should be good. I am enjoying the series just wished for a little more from this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Camellia: Song of the River (2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Camellia

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description from CBD:
Natchez belle turned riverboat maiden Camellia Anderson misses her old life of privilege. She misses the balls and she misses the suitors. . .then a chance to attend finishing school in New Orleans catapults her into an exciting world—and a whirlwind courtship with a dashing Confederate soldier. It’s beautiful, uncomplicated romance until a trip to Memphis brings old friend—and Northern spy—Jonah Thornton back into Camellia’s life. Now she’s torn between two loves, but will she risk everything to save a Union soldier?
My Thoughts:
I was excited to review this book because it is another book in the Song of the River series. I loved Lily and I knew this book would be just as good.
Was it?
Yes! There is history, faith and romance... all things I love... mixed in to a family that is very much like a normal family we would know in real life.
Camellia has much to learn about herself, life and her relationship with God. At the beginning of the book, she is very self-focused and shallow in her view of the world. But, the challenges of school, relationships, war and danger cause her to refocus and grow in maturity.
Like Lily, there is a clear presentation of God's Word and the good news of salvation. The author puts a heavy emphasis on having a true relationship with God. For those who may be struggling like Camellia with the truth of God's Word or with forgiveness, this book will openly talk about those things through the characters.
I look forward to book 3 in the Song of the River series where I'm sure we will learn more about the 3rd sister, Jasmine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.