Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House #6: Yikes!!!

Tyndale House #6: Yikes!!!

They did it again! When Tuna and Herby try to transport themselves back to their own time, they manage to finagle the mission and send themselves to Africa-and half of TJ's seventh grade class too! In the jungle, the time stumblers' usual mayhem jumps to a new level as Herby is adopted by a mother gorilla, Tuna is transformed into an ostrich chick, and the students are taken in by an African tribe.

When Hesper tries to escape by leaping into a raging river, TJ finds that it's time to begin showing the leadership qualities that Tuna and Herby claim she'll have someday as a world leader. Thanks to her, everyone makes it home safely and the time stumblers fuel up their time pod, leaving everyone with laughter, tears, and one last zany surprise for TJ.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #6: Yikes!!!
Review 1 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satisfying series conclusion

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Yikes!!!" is the 6th (and I believe, final) book in the "TJ and the Time Stumblers" series by Bill Myers. Like the previous 5 books, "Yikes!!!" follows the crazy, wacky adventures of TJ and her 23rd century companions, Tuna and Herby, as they navigate junior high life with futuristic gadgets and inventions.
In this volume, the gang spends a majority of time somewhere in the African jungle (thanks to some future transporting gizmo), and TJ learns some valuable lessons about leadership, humility, and having a servant's heart. Although I still find the books fairly obnoxious at times, I must say, this was my favorite book, as the lessons TJ learned are very applicable for the intended reader, and although her predicaments may not be typical, the internal struggles she has are very relatable. Additionally, I've mentioned in previous reviews how annoyed and bothered I was by the plethora of boyfriend/girlfriend, "he's hot," and "she's a babe" vocabulary in the books, so I was pleasantly surprised by the conclusion of this book and the series, and one final lesson TJ learns.
For these reasons, I'm going to go ahead and give "Yikes!!!" 4 stars! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

strange

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yikes! is a strange book. The story gets interrupted all the time with words in a large font or a tiny font. The story is choppy and silly. The heroine is a seventh grade girl, so maybe a junior higher would think it’s a cool book. I just wonder what happened to kids loving a great, well told story. I feel like the storyline is lame, so they try to add excitement with all these crazy words and strange dialog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son read it in just a few days :)

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received this book from Tyndale for free with reward points. My son began reading it immediately. I asked how he liked it and he said it was a good book and that he would like to read others in the series. That's a good review if ya ask me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Craziness, Silliness, You Might Even Say Zworked

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really fun series with unbelievable events and crazy time travelers. These stories are intended to teach lessons, which they do, but they are very silly, and take a roundabout route to the lessons. Switched! is number 5 of 6, and I’m glad I read them in order. The writing is simple, with sound effects tossed in. These books are great for young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Leadership is Serving Others

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yikes is the last of the Time Stumblers series and this time, TJ, Tuna, Herby, and TJ’s classmates get transported to Africa. As usual, catastrophe occurs and the group faces wild animals, leech infested waters, piranha attacks, and an angry village of people. Also, Tuna turns himself into a baby ostrich and Herby is adopted by a mother gorilla. TJ must race against time to rescue Herby from the gorilla, turn Tuna back into a boy, and rescue her classmates by transporting them all back to Malibu. Despite all the chaos, TJ learns a valuable lesson about true leadership and serving others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Series finale

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TJ's visitors from the 23rd century are finally heading home, but not without causing trouble first. Somehow TJ's class ends up in the African jungle and she has to figure out a way to get them home.
I thought this book was silly like the others in the series. The ending was interesting and not what I had expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Strangest book of the series

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
RuthSophia
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not my favorite series. The book itself follows the series' standard outloopishness but really takes it over the top. It is nice to see TJ start becoming a leader though. I was glad TJ matured where Chad was concerned, but don't like the actual ending to the book. While TJ exhibits servitude in her adventure, it doesn't show the carry-over into her family life, which I found disappointing. I also thought the author broke the 4th wall too often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the publishers webpage: "In an effort to find the last of the fuel ingredients for their time pod, 23rd-century goofballs Tuna and Herby transport themselves to Africa. Unfortunately, they also transport TJ Finkelstein and half of her 7th-grade science class, including TV star Hesper Breakahart and dreamy Chad Steel. In the jungle, the Time Stumblers’ usual mayhem jumps to a new level as Herby is adopted by a mother gorilla, Tuna is transformed into an ostrich chick, and the students are taken in by an African tribe. When Hesper tries to escape by leaping into a raging river, TJ finds that it’s time to begin showing the leadership qualities that Tuna and Herby claim she’ll have someday as a world leader. Thanks to her, everyone makes it home safely, and the Time Stumblers fuel up their time pod, leaving with laughter, tears . . . and one last zany surprise for TJ."
A fun conclusion to a great series. These books are a wonderful tool to share good morals, values and Christ. I highly recommend reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #6: Yikes!!!
This review is fromYikes!!! - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yikes!!!

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yikes!!!: Just as Herby and Tuna are finally ready to travel home, they accidental transport themselves, TJ, and some of TJ’s fellow students to Africa. In this final ordeal, TJ must summon the valuable lessons she has been learning and start to act like the leader Herby and Tuna say she will become. Needless to say, she displays remarkable leadership skills and everyone comes through with flying colors. TJ finally bids farewell to the zany boys from the future and can get back to life as a normal teenager…sort of.
I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Something really missing

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A hilarious conclusion to a fun series.
T.J. Finklestein is you reveryday average girl--except for the fact that she has two invisible, time-stumbling friends, Tuna and Herby...Yup, completely normal. As if that weren't bad enough, Herby and Tuna accidently transport T.J.'s entire class to Africa! Not to mention many other mishaps.
I have really enjoyed this series, because they have a nice clean humor that I believe that parents and children alike will appreciate. And while each of the books in the series teaches a great moral lesson, one thing that struck me was that there aren't any mentions of Jesus, sin, or salvation. So there were times when I wondered why it was marketed as a Christian book, that aside I found myself highly entertained. T.J. and the boys got themselves into tons of wacky adventures, and there was always something happening.
Overall this is a fun and funny series about an average girl who is far from average. I think that this series is well written and something that kids will love, yet I couldn't help but wish that it was a bit more like Mr. Myer's former series', including The Bloodhounds Inc., & Wally McDoogle, both of which expressed a more Christian theme. So if you are looking for a fun kid's read that teaches good lessons, this is a series that is a blast :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #6: Yikes!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yikes!!! the 6th book TJ and the Time Stumblers series by Bill Myers is a must read! The whole series has the same feel to it as the My Life as... series. Kids and their parents who like Myers writing will love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.