Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)

Tyndale House Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)

An airborne Boeing 747 is headed to London when, without any warning, passengers mysteriously disappear from their seats. Terror and chaos slowly spread not only through the plane but also worldwide as unusual events continue to unfold. For those who have been left behind, the apocalypse has just begun.
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 out of 1974%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Review 1 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

didn't love this book

Date:July 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
dlhersh
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is one of those books that makes you think. Whenever I hear anything about it all I can think of is the song that DC Talk redid "I wish we'd all been ready" because that is pretty much the theme of these books.
For me this book and the ones that follow are fairly quick reads because even though they deal with the Apocalypse and the Antichrist they really don't delve that deep.
If you like dramatized books about the end of the world you will probably enjoy this book and the rest of the series but I must say I never did end up finishing the series. I think I made it through book 6 before I gave up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
JenARay
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read this book a few times over the last 15 years. I love the characters in this story. Their reactions are so real. You can feel their pain and confusion. My one thing I don't like is the series last forever and none of the books seam to have an ending in themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tamilou13
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really got into this book and the whole series. It took some to get it going but I liked the whole idea of how it follows Revelation in the Bible. I like the thought that at the End Times, those who believe will be "raptured" up to Heaven. I liked how the authors made Revelations into a story with characters and actual places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Even better the second time around

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
J4Life5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read this book many years ago when it first came out and loved it then. I was prompted to read it again as part of the Tyndale Summer Reading program and I am really glad I did.
It is even better the second time around and just as relevant. LaHaye and Jenkins weave an engrossing story of real life people coping with biblical events and discovering truth for themselves. I think the key to really enjoying the Left Behind series is to accept that it is based on the authors' understanding of Bible prophecy and each reader might have a different opinion about the events. Bible scholars can interpret things in different ways, but what I like the best about this book is the way the authors encourage readers to put their faith in Jesus.
This is a riveting series for anyone who is interested in imagining what the future might hold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Left Behin

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To be honest, I do not think Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth’s Last Days was a book for me. The first 100 pages were really interesting and grasped my attention where I did not want to put the book down. Then the next 200 plus pages, I was rather confused and bored and did a lot of skimming. I was beginning to have hopes that I would find the ending soon. When I finally got to the last 100 plus pages, the book got my attention again. I was starting to have a better understanding of where the book was headed. Everything was making sense to me and all was coming together.
The concept of Left Behind does sound scary and makes me wonder if all that happens within its pages could actually happen one day. I do believe that the book does have an interesting plot and does make the reader to do a lot of thinking about their own lives and how they should be living it. There is a great moral to the story that all need to read and learn about. I give this book 3 ½ stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-provoking and entertaining

Date:June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the publisher's website, "An airborne Boeing 747 is headed to London when, without any warning, passengers mysteriously disappear from their seats. Terror and chaos slowly spread not only through the plane but also worldwide as unusual events continue to unfold. For those who have been left behind, the apocalypse has just begun.
A repackage of the New York Times best-selling novel Left Behind."
When I first started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. The idea of all the people just disappearing has been one of the most fascinating aspects of the rapture to me. I enjoyed seeing the authors' take on what could happen to those that are "left behind". It was entertaining and thought-provoking. I highly recommend reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wilkie
Location:South Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put it down! Sometimes I forgot that it was fiction - I was in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Courte3
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really did enjoy this book, and many of the other books in the series. Although I didn't originally have background in Christian theology, this was easy to understand, and was really engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Left Behind

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left Behind by Jerry Jenkins and Tim LaHaye is the first book of their end of the world series. I really loved reading this book for many reasons. First, this book is based on what is taught in the Bible in the book of Revelation but the authors write in a way so that you can picture the events in a tangible manner. Secondly, the characters are so realistic that most of them reminded me of someone that I know and care about in my life. Lastly, this book reminds Christians of the hope that they have in Christ as well as the fact that He is coming back and we live in a world that desperately needs to know of Christ’s Salvation.
As far as the plot of the book goes, it is about a small group of people who are thrust into the last 7 years before Christ comes back. The main characters are Rayford Steele (a pilot), Chloe Steele (Rayford’s daughter), Buck Williams (a journalist), and pastor Bruce Barnes. Each of these people have something in common: they were left behind when the rapture came because they weren’t Christians and each must come to terms of what happened, why they were left behind, coming to terms with their loved ones who were raptured, and what their future might look like, and their own decision in accepting Jesus as their Savior. Another character that is introduced in this book is Nicolae Carpathia, who is the antichrist and each character has to decide who they are going to follow: Jesus or Nicolae.
I found this book to be very interesting and it gave me an idea of what it might be like for non-Christians during the end times as well as those who convert to Christianity. From what I read, it sounds like the end times will be horrible and it makes me not only glad that I will not have to go through it because I am a Christian but it also gives me another reason to tell my loved ones about Jesus because I don’t want them to be left behind. I hope that anyone who reads this book will take a long look at their lives and if they haven’t chosen Christ, I hope they do so before it is too late. And for those who are Christians, I hope this book causes them to share Christ with their loved ones while they can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Well told, awful theology

Date:June 7, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book (and really the series) is relatively well engaging - if it wasn't I wouldn't have read ALL of them. However, I have beef with it's theology. If you believe in pre-tribulation you will probably love this book. As that's not what I believe about the end times, I wish this book didn't espouse that view. If the book leads people to Jesus, though, I say it's a job well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joan Russell
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have probably bought about 20 of these to get people started on the series and mine is practically in shreds from loaning out. It's the best fictional books EVER!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put this book down till the end.

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
awed by Christ
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written. I loved the bible references. Got me hooked on this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Biblical

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Desarie
Location:Young Harris, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved the series, but after intense bible studies I find this gives false hope to people who would like to "ride the fence" in their walk with Christ as they believe they have a second chance after the return of Christ. There is NO second chance. We either accept Christ before He comes again or we are lost. This series is of couse fictional.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting hypothesis of the Apocalipsis

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rodrigo
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've already finished the book and what I would say is that it is a really good exercise of imagination. May be the Apocalipsis won't be exactly as it is presented in the book (for instance, the Rapture before the second visit of Christ, the prophecy of a massive attack to Israel from Russia), but anyway, it is nice to start imagine vividly how could it would be, in order to live today with biblical wisdom.
Thanks for the authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where it all started

Date:August 17, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book that started it all. Left Behind is probably the one Christian book that even those who don't read Christian fiction have at least heard about. As I said before, though I personally don't agree with all the books' interpretations of prophecy, Left Behind does present on question every Christian should examine: Am I ready for Jesus to come back?
The four main characters of this book certainly weren't. Rayford Steele is a pilot who only barely tolerates his wife's faith; his daughter Chloe is more concerned about college life an her future than religion. Buck Williams is a rising reporter; Bruce Barnes is a pastor who doesn't believe what he preaches. They weren't ready...will you be?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What if you were the one Left Behind

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins have teamed up to create this 12 book series about the return of Christ. The first book in this series, Left Behind, a New York Times best seller introduces you to Rayford Steele, an airline pilot and Buck Williams a newspaper writer and their experiences of witnessing the rapture and realizing the truth behind the millions of people disappearing. Rayford Steele has lost his wife and son, both devout Christians and while Rayford attended church occassionaly he did not understand and was flirting around with one of the airline attendents. Not until his son and wife disappear leaving him and his daughter behind does he start to realize what has happened.
The first book in the series follows both Buck Williams and Rayford Steele as they search for the truth behind the disappearances and to find Christ and spread His love before it is to late. But with so much happening in the world will they be able to hold on to their faith and be able to introduce Christ to their family and friends that were left behind as well as avoiding the anti-christ?
This book will keep you reading from start to finish and is a good work of fiction that will keep you interested in the story and invested in the characters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What would you do if you missed going to heaven?

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The premier book in the best-selling Left Behind series offers readers the opportunity to explore the option of what earth would look like and how people might respond if they missed the Rapture, (the taking of all believers to heaven). In the book, the main character Rayford Steele, has lost his wife to the Rapture, and thus begins the free-for-all quest of searching for other family members. Other characters emerge and attempt to begin a relationship with the God who had already called His people home, all the while fighting to survive a world lost in utter chaos. This book is an interesting perspective on the possibilities of life after what Christians call the Rapture.
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Left Behind: Book 1

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The series begins with “Left Behind.” This book starts just before the rapture of the church takes place. On an airplane in mid-flight we meet Rayford Steele, Hattie Durham, and Cameron “Buck” Williams. Rayford is the plane’s pilot. Hattie is a flight attendant. Buck is a journalist. Panic arises when sleeping passengers wake up to find loved ones missing, but their clothing is still in their seats. Back on the ground Rayford realizes his wife and young son are gone, their pajamas laying in their beds. He frantically tries to reach his daughter Chloe who is off at college. Hattie tries to find her family. Buck is trying to get the story. By now reports are coming in of strange stories and theories. Pregnant women are suddenly barren. People are missing all over the globe. Is it aliens? Some kind of biological warfare? Rayford knows the truth, even if he doesn’t want to admit it. His wife had tried to tell him a million times, but he wouldn’t listen. Christ had come back for his church and he, along with millions of others, had been left behind. He and his daughter Chloe find a pastor, Bruce Barnes, who had also been Left Behind, but he has answers. While the whole world goes crazy trying to figure out the events, rising politician Nicolae Carpathia is there to ease the world’s grief and keep order. He quickly rises to power, but Buck can see that Nicolae is not the peaceful, humble man he claims to be, and he tries to convince Hattie Durham, Carpathia’s new personal assistant, to stay away from him.
What’s great about these books is that, though there are many, the sub-plots never get confusing or overbearing. You get to follow several of the characters from their points of view without ever feeling lost. The characterizations are wonderful. They come to life so easily that you will have no trouble feeling for them, or hating them in some cases. This is probably one of the most important pieces of literature for the Christian world, but the truth is, even without that stamp of importance, it’s great literature! This is a great story with great characters, and everyone should read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Left Behind, Left Behind Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend of mine told me some time ago that I needed to read this series and now I understand why! So perfect for this time in the world's history. Rayford a pilot for Pan Continental married to Irene has now focused his attention on his flight attendant Hattie Durham who is much younger than he is. Cameron (Buck) Williams journalist, a rising star in the writing world, aboard a flight Rayford and Hattie are serving. Buck is known for capturing the world in words and one of his greatest pieces involves his now friend Dr Rosenzweig an inventor whose purpose is to make Israel the most profitable country on earth. During the flight passengers vanish while in air causing Hattie, Buck and Rayford and the other passengers that are left behind wondering what had happened the only things remaining from the disappeared passengers are their clothes and personal belongings. Upon landing they discover other people missing including family members, friends and others too numerous to count. Rayford is led to the church of his wife and meets Bruce, one of those left behind. Together they search for truth and answers. Excellent character development and dialogue make this book the start of an must read series. This book took me about 10 hours to read and went very fast. It held my attention to the end and I am eager to read the next book in the series. I was challenged in my faith and was entertained. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.