Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana

Zondervan Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana

Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Review 1 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspiring, emotional journey.

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I wanted to purchase this book after we stood on the site of Hotel Montana in July 2012. The book came alive and was very emotional as we talked to some of the people in this book 2 years later--the Haitian people are truly heroic and we both came back with a greater love for the people; especially children. We also sponsored two more girls after meeting our first two sponsor children. To God be the glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wendyluwho
Location:Perry, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome! It's unbelieveable at to what lengths people do to survive!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good read and value

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Glendon Todd
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found Dan Wooley's experience inspiring and helpful to the reader as a reminder of establishing and maintaining proper priorities in life. An excellent reminder of God's purposes for our lives for His glory and in His service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Allendale, Mi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very good! Not only was it a riveting story, it also made you think about how you might react to a similar experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
jean
Location:Prosser WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspiring - a testimony to God's greatness and the power of one man's love for one woman!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I felt I was there in the elevator....

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maria Le
Location:Roseville, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story itself is so moving and well written. Woolley does and excellent job telling the story from the moment he arrives in Haiti to coming home to Colorado Springs after the rescue. He meets our Savior head on in the midst of the rubble and dibris. The detail is so vivid that I felt I was watching his every movement in the broken elevator. I highly recommend this book to both Christians and non-Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
quickwolfy
Location:Pgh., PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read! Open mind and open heart! REAL Life!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
steve
Location:Lancaster Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I met Dan Woolley last summer, I am also apart of the Compassion family, so reading this may have even more meaning for me, but its a great read.....a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Winterfield
Location:Adelaide, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in about 3 hours because I was so captivated by Dan's story, I couldn't put it down! It is so well written, so intensly personal and so profoundly impacting. It makes you think about your own life and about what's really important.
Dan really conveys his thoughts and emotions and takes you into the elevator shaft with him, to share his experiences, trials and triumphs. An amazing story of survival that I would reccommend to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring real life story of faith and beyond

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheri
Location:Neenah, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Woolley was on assignment in Haiti for Compassion International when the 7.0 earthquake hit in January of 2010. The glimpse into the very rare personal 65 hour journey of survival after the earchquake is intertwined with an earlier journery of Dan and his wife Christy surviving a battle of depression which more people have experienced. It is a story of faith, hope and God. I didn't want to put the book down. Even though I knew the outcome of the story I wanted to skip to the end just to make sure the outcome was the same. As the story progressed Dan shared his moments on one side and Christy shared her moments of the story. Told in this way you felt the actual movement of their lives moving toward each other.
I cried, laughed, rejoiced and was overcome with emotion. It is beautifully told and can be enjoyed by all ages. It makes you take a good look at ones life and relationships with family and God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is Unshakable

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Winn
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Compassion sponsor I was aware of the plight of Dan Woolley and his videographer David. Now you can read the first-hand account of Dan's hours trapped under six stories of rubble and the miracles - both small and large - that sustained him in the 72 hours of darkness. Dan and his wife, Christy, share from the depths of their hearts the agony and the triumph of these days. Even knowing how the story ends I couldn't wait to read the next chapter.
The Woolleys also share about the struggle with depression they have faced together and, ultimately, how God took "this horror-filled experience" in their lives and "transformed it into something good - something very good" (p220).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lorac
Location:Tryon, Ne.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing account of God's perfect work in a families life. I was touched with Dan's LOVE for his wife, when she was going through her depression. His LOVE was totally unconditional!! I believe that is what God used to get him through his time in the rubble. His time to reflect on Who God Really IS! God Bless that family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
mima
Location:West Melbourne, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written. I felt like I was there with him in the rubble and feel I have grown spiritually from his challenges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Life

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colleen
Location:Upstate, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After following Dan's story on TV and through Compassion, this provides complete coverage. This book addresses real life issues and how even with faith we will go through personal earthquakes. What a testimony of suffering, perseverance, character, and hope!
This book addresses the reality of depression and I believe our society needs to better understand depression and how we can best support those around us.
I could go on and on about how great this book is and how it touched my life. Let it touch yours!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story on many levels

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heartily recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in Compassion, Haiti, Faith or redemption. Dan bears his soul in telling his story of being trapped beneath the Hotel Montana in Haiti last year during the devastating earthquake. Switching between the actual event as well as his marriage to Christina it shows how faith can be deepened and relationships grown. Though you know how it ends getting there is quite a journey and a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!!

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is absolutely amazing! It is one of my first ventures into non-fiction and I am extremely glad that I did! This inspiring story of how Wooley survives 65 hours trapped in darkness under 6 stories of collapsed rubble after the earthquake that hit Haiti. The story pushes you to take your faith to the next level as it deals with issues from survival to depression to marriage and so much more. Truly an inspiring must read for everybody!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unshaken: Rising from the Ruins of Haiti's Hotel Montana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
lizzie
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really great survival story. It is the story of struggle, of perseverance, of God's deliverance. It is personal and very profound. The pictures of the Hotel and also the Haitian people are very touching and mind boggling. Read this book; go on this journey with Dan and may you seek to make your faith in God, Unshaken!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.