Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2

Zondervan Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2

Every year, young Amish men descend on the cozy little town of West Kootenai, Montana, arriving in the spring to live there for six months and receive "resident" status for the hunting season in the fall. They arrive as bachelors, but go home with brides!

In The Promise Box, the second book of bestselling author Tricia Goyer's Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series, Lydia Wyse, a book editor from Seattle who grew up Amish, returns to the small community of West Kootenai, Montana to give comfort to her father after her mother's death. She is drawn back to the familiar Amish ways after finding her mother's most precious possession, a Promise Box of prayers and scripture. What her publisher sees, though, is an opportunity for a sensational "tell-all" book about the Amish.

Lydia soon finds herself falling in love with Amish bachelor Gideon Hooley. She wants nothing more than to forget her past and look forward to a future as an Amish bride. Will the pain of her childhood---and her potential betrayal of her community---keep her from committing her whole heart?

Average Customer Rating:
4.893 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Review 1 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good handling of intense themes

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was so much more than a sweet Amish romance. The powerful themes of grief, remorse, faith, adoption, unconditional love of a parent, and community brought a depth of emotion to the story. As one who doesn't enjoy being brought down by heavy themes, I'm appreciative that there was an underlying message of hope and promise throughout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tricia At Her Best

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I realize that Amish books are all the rage, but as I was telling my mother, Tricia Goyer is one of the originals. Anyone can write an Amish book, but I believe it takes someone special to weave a memorable, emotionally involving Amish story that will stick with its readers for long after the book is shut. And Tricia Goyer is the author that does it again and again. I lost count of how many of her books I have read, and I believe I rated each one of them as a solid five. She has the formula for writing an amazing story, and I hope to be reading her stories for years to come.
This book is one that has the perfect amount of humor, faith, sorrow, and even a bit of mystery. I have to admit that although I could basically guess how the end would go, I was not one hundred percent certain. There was still just enough uncertainty to keep me guessing along the way. This book never comes across as "preachy," but I so appreciate the way she paints this wonderful community. It is clear that these Amish communities care more about a relationship with God than rules and regulations.
This book is entirely clean--no profanity and no sex. In addition to this, you can count on reading fairly quickly. The author's style is quite enjoyable to read, and you may just find putting down the book is next to impossible. I marveled at the devotion of the Amish people, and it was further intriguing that Lydia came back from Seattle (from the native Washingtonian).
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best in Series

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer has created an incredible, suspenseful romance that will lift the hearts of readers. As I read and waited with baited breath to find out the answer to the big question, another conflict was added and I did not want to put the book down. My heart went out to Lydia and Gideon. Lydia and Gideon both fear that they will never belong anywhere. I have certainly experienced the sting of rejection and abandonment so I could relate to the characters. I have read each of Tricia's books in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors' series and I personally felt that this book was the best in the entire series. I also am hoping that there is a book to follow this one as I am anxious to know what comes next for Gideon and Lydia. It would be nice to see her connect in a deeper way with her birth family.
I received a free kindle version of this book from booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydia Wyse is an Amish girl from Seattle who became a book editor for the English. She has returned to West Kootenai, Montana, to be there for her grieving father as they mourn a wonderful wife and mother. She is irrevocably drawn to a box that belonged to her mother, filled with prayers and scriptures. The familiarity of her upbringing brings many precious memories of a much different life to the surface. But then her publisher sees the opportunity to make a sensational 'tell-all' about the Amish through the eyes of Lydia.
Every year, young, Amish bachelors come to West Kootenai during the spring, live there for six months, and receive resident status to get a hunting license in the fall. They come single, and leave hitched. Gideon Hooley is one such Amish man, and he has every intention of leaving with a bride. Lydia seems like the one, except she seems to be struggling with the circumstances of her birth. Gideon has some secrets to hide. Will they be able to resolve the hurts of the past to enter a brighter future? Or will the secrets that should never have been hidden threaten to destroy them all?
While I loved this novel, the switch between "your" and yer" was a bit much. But other than that little disappointment, this was wonderful story! While there is so much Amish fiction out there (yes, it makes my head spin sometimes!) Goyer presents us with a thrilling installment in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series. While the story line is not the most unique, there was plenty of tension between characters and all the quandaries they find themselves in. All in all, a great novel for fans of Amish fiction (die-hard, or otherwise) and anyone looking for a great summer read.
This book was provided by the publisher fore free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story with a few twists along the way...

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beke
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the opportunity to review The Promise Box by Tricia Goyer.
The Promise Box is about a young woman, Lydia, who comes home to attend her mother’s funeral. She was raised Amish, but left her community years ago for the Englisch life.
While she is home, Lydia discovers a box filled with prayers and scripture her mother left for her. As she starts to reevaluate her life, Lydia begins to question the choice she made to leave the Amish community in the first place.
Of course, there is Gideon. He is a young Amish man who has a story of his own. Over time Lydia and Gideon begin to fall in love with each other. But will their secrets keep them apart?
Dun Dun Dun!
I love those stories that have a little mystery and intrigue. I also love that Lydia, our heroine, is adopted. Being an adoptive parent myself, I had a soft spot in my heart for Lydia immediately. I also was extremely inspired by her mother’s Promise Box.
This book was beautiful written. I also love that it is one I can pass on to my teenage nieces. Some romance novels are just a bit much. This had all the angst one must feel while reading a romantic story, but none of the “ickyness.”
And of course, this book is sure to be a hit with all of those who love a good Amish novel. The Promise Box is actually a part of the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series. I look forward to reading more of Tricia’s books.
I was excited to learn that Tricia Goyer is also a homeschooler. We strange homeschool people have to stick together. And I just want to know when she finds the time to write such awesome books! There are some days I can barely form two (if that) coherent sentences.
If you enjoy Christian Romance (especially about the Amish) I’m sure you will enjoy this book!
I received this book in exchange for my honest review from Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goyer fans will be thrilled to find some familiar faces within the pages of her latest book. That's a bonus to an already winning read. I just love the concept of a promise box and found it a great catalyst for Lydia's faith journey.
This is a sweet romance that develops between two hesitant people who are struggling with childhood hurts. I thought Goyer did a realistic job of portraying the way both Lydia and Gideon held onto unrealistic feelings of responsibility because of their past. Even though it appears irrational to an observer, it is very real to them and does colour their actions as adults which creates an interesting tension as their romance develops.
The Promise Box is an inspirational romance that will inspire and encourage readers even as it entertains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Lydia is returning to her Amish home in West Kootenai, Montana to mourn the passing of her mother. Lydia left the Amish way of life years before and has seldom returned. When she stops to take a picture of her family home she meets Gideon Hooley, a young bachelor there in the Kootenai for the hunting season. Gideon is not happy with some Englisher taking pictures of an Amish farm. When he finds out that Lydia is there for the funeral of her mother Mrs. Wyse he feels more sympathy for her. Both Lydia and Gideon feel an instant attraction for each other but both know that Gideon will never turn from his Amish way of life and it is very unlikely that Lydia will return to it.
Both Lydia and Gideon are hiding secrets. Lydia was adopted by the Wyse couple as a baby. When she found out the truth behind her birth she left the Amish and her adoptive parents behind. When she returns her father gives her a special box that Mrs. Wyse called her Promise Box. It contains many verses of scripture that inspired her throughout Lydia's life and many letters to Lydia. Reading the contents of the box helps heal Lydia's heart and she begins to hear God speaking to her heart wooing her back to her roots.
Gideon has been in the Kootenai many years before. As a child he was lost in the woods and the whole town was out looking for him. Gideon has always known that there was something else that went on that day when he was lost but his parents would never talk about it. Gideon has returned to find out the truth, but will he be able to forgive himself when he learns what his disobedience cost one family?
This is the second book in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series and is set in the same Amish/English community that the authors Big Sky series is set. We even got a little glimpse into Marianna Sommer the main character in the Big Sky series. I really liked The Promise Box. I loved the idea that Lydia's mother had written down all of her thoughts and feelings and scriptures that comforted her. Each letter and each verse seemed to be read at just the right time for Lydia to be wooed back to her Amish roots. The author shows us how God loves His children enough to send circumstances into their lives to bring about His perfect plan for them. I'm liking this community where the Amish and English grow in faith together. Now I need to go back and read The Memory Jar and look forward to reading The Kissing Bridge which comes out in April 2014.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydia Wyse is an Amish girl from Seattle who became a book editor for the English. She has returned to West Kootenai, Montana, to be there for her grieving father as they mourn a wonderful wife and mother. She is irrevocably drawn to a box that belonged to her mother, filled with prayers and scriptures. The familiarity of her upbringing brings many precious memories of a much different life to the surface. But then her publisher sees the opportunity to make a sensational 'tell-all' about the Amish through the eyes of Lydia.
Every year, young, Amish bachelors come to West Kootenai during the spring, live there for six months, and receive resident status to get a hunting license in the fall. They come single, and leave hitched. Gideon Hooley is one such Amish man, and he has every intention of leaving with a bride. Lydia seems like the one, except she seems to be struggling with the circumstances of her birth. Gideon has some secrets to hide. Will they be able to resolve the hurts of the past to enter a brighter future? Or will the secrets that should never have been hidden threaten to destroy them all?
While I loved this novel, the switch between "your" and yer" was a bit much. But other than that little disappointment, this was wonderful story! While there is so much Amish fiction out there (yes, it makes my head spin sometimes!) Goyer presents us with a thrilling installment in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series. While the story line is not the most unique, there was plenty of tension between characters and all the quandaries they find themselves in. All in all, a great novel for fans of Amish fiction (die-hard, or otherwise) and anyone looking for a great summer read.
This book was provided by the publisher fore free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her life was a gift...God didn't make mistakes

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beakers Bookshelf
Location:Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Another great Amish read!
This is the story of Lydia Wyse. She was raised Amish but has chosen to lead an "Englisch" life in Seattle, WA. The book starts off with the passing of her mom, so she returns home to West Kootenai, Montana.
Enter Gideon Hooley, one of the "bachelors" that come at least 6 months before hunting season so they can gain residency for the hunt. We also see the mention of many characters from The Memory Jar. Just a note that you do not need to have read The Memory Jar to read The Promise Box. Ok, back to Gideon. When he first appears, he is training a horse named Blue. He is from Bird-in-Hand, Pennsvylvania and has been to West Kootenai before. As a young child. During that trip, he had an experience that has somewhat haunted him his whole life. His parents have not talked to him, so he's hoping to find out the details while in Montana. When he does, it haunts him even more...all the while he is falling for the new Englisch girl in town...
Lydia has been haunted by her own demons, surrounding her birth. She was adopted by the Wyse's at her birth and left after finding out the truth. The pain was too much. As she returns to help her Dat, the Amish lifestyle and customs come back easily to her. Her boss has planted the idea that the time is ripe for her to write her own book focusing on returning to the Amish community. She isn't so sure...
Will Gideon get over the details of what happened when he was a child?
What about his feelings for the Englisch woman?
Will Lydia really return to the Amish life?
What about her 'book'?
For answers to these questions, read The Promise Box BY Tricia Goyer and then come back and let me know what you think of this great read! Of course, I won't leave you without a quote from the book! It's really hard to choose just one, but here goes...as usual, I couldn't bring it down to just one:
pg 13: "Mem had told her that her life was a gift, that God didn't make mistakes."
pg 103: "We aren't perfect. God doesn't expect us to be...Faith isn't about having all the answers. It's about taking one step. The first step."
pg 138: "You can tell when you're on the right track. It's usually uphill."
Disclosure: As part of the Tricia Goyer 2013 Fiction Launch Team, I did receive a free copy of this book; however I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed here are completely my own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Amish Fiction!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEJ99
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the rural, country scene on the cover. It's so gorgeous! Plus, the title font is pretty amazing.
Description (from Goodreads): Every year, young Amish men descend on the cozy little town of West Kootenai, Montana, arriving in the spring to live there for six months and receive “resident” status for the hunting season in the fall. They arrive as bachelors, but go home with brides! In The Promise Box, the second book of best-selling author Tricia Goyer’s Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series, Lydia Wyse, a book editor from Seattle who grew up Amish, returns to the small community of West Kootenai to give comfort to her father after her mother’s death. She is drawn back to the familiar Amish ways after finding her mother’s most precious possession, a Promise Box of prayers and scripture. What her publisher sees, though, is an opportunity for a sensational “tell-all” book about the Amish. Lydia soon finds herself falling in love with Amish bachelor Gideon Hooley. She wants nothing more than to forget her past and look forward to a future as an Amish bride. But will the pain of her childhood---and her potential betrayal of her community---keep her from committing her whole heart?
Language: 0.
Other objectionable: There are bad circumstances surrounding Lydia's birth (she's adopted), and there is also some flirting and kissing (very clean though).
Suitable for: Highschoolers and adults would really enjoy this book.
Pros: First of all, I have to say that one of my favorite parts of the book was the name of the town where Lydia's parents live. "West Kootenai". What an unbelievably awesome name!! It's so fun to say. Kootenai. KOOTENAI. Okay, to the serious stuff. I loved Lydia and Gideon's first meeting. SO cute! You need to read it. Also, there is so much backstory for Lydia and Gideon, like Lydia's birth mother and what led to her adoption by her parents, and Gideon had a traumatizing event as a child, too, which he struggles with over the course of the book. I like that Lydia is an editor, too (one of my dream jobs).
Cons: Umm...(sits here in front of computer for about five minutes). I really came across nothing in this book that I didn't like, which is very rare for me. Sorry, I have a somewhat critical nature. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheila Smith
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When started reading the Promise Box, I could not put it down and read all night.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE ENGLISHER & THE HORSE WHISPERER

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each of Trish Goyer’s latest novels I read is better than the last, and I marvel at how she can do that! The Promise Box is no exception – it is my favorite so far of her series “Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors.”
Lydia and Gideon’s story has a sad beginning. Lydia Wyse, adopted by Amish parents at birth, left that upbringing to enter the English world and became a book editor in Seattle. She returned home to West Kootenai, Montana upon the death of her mother to care for her dat during the funeral and for an unplanned time afterward. Gideon Hooley, an Amish bachelor who has come to the community temporarily for the hunting season, which is a popular draw of young Amish bachelors to learn the skills of this sport. Gideon has ghosts of his own from the past that haunt and puzzle him. He hopes to find answers in the town of what happened there years before while his family visited and a tragedy involving Gideon occurred of which he has no memory.
These young folks had an eventful and humorous meeting which kindled Gideon’s mistrust of Lydia’s English appearance and snapping pictures (not Amish approved) of him while he was in a horse training session with Blue, an untempered equestrian beauty. There were definitely sparks – some of anger, while some were instant attraction between the two. Gideon did not know who Lydia was, and that she was also taking pictures of her home in the background and familiar scenes to her.
Ms Goyer’s story is extremely emotional and heart rendering. Lydia struggles with a decision about returning to the Amish life, being accepted and not shunned by the community, and wanting to clear up the mystery surrounding her adoption. She yearns to be a writer and considers the notion of writing about her returning to the Amish faith. She fights temptation from her Seattle editor and friend who encourages her in this respect. Life is full of unknowns and uncertainties for Lydia and Gideon. Both young people are caught in the time of their lives when their choices could alter their lives destructively.
Personally, I can relate to the adoption issue for Lydia because I have three adopted children, now grown. I cheered and thanked God for Lydia’s mem’s box full of God’s promises and letters to Lydia. Will Lydia find her way through her mem’s words and confidences? How about Gideon…can he express his love and possibly marry an Englisher? Are they the mates God has chosen for each other? What will happen to dat if Lydia chooses not to stay and care for him? Will Lydia learn who her birth parents are? What will Gideon do about finding the answers to the mystery in his life? Will pain heal?
The sub-title for Trish Goyer’s Promise Box might have been The Englisher and the Horse Whisperer. Trish writes a wonderful story with much depth on each page. It is realistic for today’s world concerning Amish communities and lifestyle. Pay close attention to the answers God graces Lydia and Gideon with during their confusion and hunt for reasons to turn their lives completely to Him. Trish Goyer is a strict master author on God’s interventions and I admire her own faith. She is indeed an artist at painting God’s word into her writings.
So, for the answer to all the questions above, you will not hear the answers from me. You’ll need to get the book on your own and read, read, read. Oh, don’t forget the tissues while reading. And….this is only Book Two, so far, and I’m watching for Book Three to see how she could possibly write a better story than The Promise Box!
Thank you Litfuse for providing a review copy. Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A mother's legacy brings healing

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Lydia Wyse grew up Amish but left the Ohio community when she grew up. She settled in Seattle and works as a book editor. When word came that her mother died, Lydia packed her car and drove home to Montana, to the small Amish community her parents had relocated to after her departure. The community of West Kootenai is a little more open to the “English” neighbors and Lydia decides to stay awhile to comfort her grieving father. Her father passes along her mother’s legacy, the Promise Box, a box of written prayers and scriptures and notes written to her beloved daughter. As Lydia reads through the box, she discovers more about her parents and herself. She also grows more attracted to bachelor Gideon Hooley, who’s visiting in Montana from the East, to establish residency for the fall hunting.
The community of West Kootenai is populated by endearing people and some difficult ones. Lydia’s journey of faith is believable and poignant, as she learns more about her history from her beloved Mam’s letters. At the same time, a misunderstanding with her publishing friend in Seattle nearly derails Lydia’s new found peace and acceptance among the people she’s come to love.
I enjoyed The Promise Box and Lydia and Gideon’s story. The setting of Montana made the story more believable as the Amish “rules” were more relaxed than would be true in a Pennsylvania or Ohio setting. I will definitely read more by this author. Although this is part of a series, it functioned well as a stand-alone story.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Promise Box

Date:June 18, 2013
At sixteen years old, Lydia Wyse knew she couldn’t be a good Amish daughter. She left the Amish way of life before anyone else discovered the pain she had caused. Six years later, she returned to her parent’s new Amish community in West Kootenai, Montana. She had to bury her mother and care for her father. She planned to stay a few weeks and get her dad settled into life without his loving wife and then return to Seattle, where she was a book editor. What she didn’t plan on was being attracted to Amishman Gideon Hooley.
Gideon was a gentle man who trained horses. He travelled to West Kootenai to hunt and more importantly to discover a truth from his past. His parents wouldn’t tell him anything so he set out on his own to find answers. He never expected to find himself falling in love, especially with Lydia, an Englisher.
Lydia’s mother had left behind a box for her, “The Promise Box” as she called it. Inside were letters and Bible verses that she had written down for Lydia over the years, starting with the day she became her parent’s adopted child. As Lydia read the letters from The Promise Box, God began working in her life.
For her whole life Lydia had head knowledge of God, but not heart knowledge of His love for her. In West Kootenai, she began to understand this–the grace of God, which is Jesus dying for our sins. I really enjoyed this aspect of the story. Many people can recite Bible verses and know the Ten Commandments but they never apply it to their lives and have a relationship with God. While reading The Promise Box you will see how God can change people and their lives when they choose to follow him. One part of the story deals with someone who gave their life to save another. This is a great symbolism for what Jesus did for us.
The Promise Box is about Lydia and Gideon being set free because of the truth. I don’t want to say too much to give anything away. This book has twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. There are parts that tugged on my emotions. Tricia Goyer brings the area and people to life so well that I want to visit West Kootenai. Anyone who can do that has written a good book.
Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series:
#1 The Memory Jar
#2 The Promise Box
I received a free copy of this book from The Christian Manifesto and Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer has done it again. In The Promise Box, the second book of her Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series, the author is able to take two main characters with self doubts and flaws and endear them to the hearts of readers.
Both Lydia and Gideon must deal with very painful realities from their pasts. Both realities are events they feel enormous guilt over. They must learn to trust that God has their past, present and future in His hands.
The characters feel like real people, living real lives and making real decisions that have real consequences. A thoroughly enjoyable book! I received a copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adoption, Childhood Trauma, Healing and Romance

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricia Goyer in her new book, "The Promise Box" Book Two in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series published by Zondervan takes us into the life of Lydia Wyse.
From the back cover: With her heart-and her loyalty-on the line, can she let true love in her life?
Every year, a number of young Amish men descend on the cozy mountain town of West Kootenai, Montana, arriving in the spring to live there for six months and receive `resident' status for the hunting season in the fall. They arrive as bachelors, but go home with brides!
In The Promise Box, the second book of best-selling author Tricia Goyer's Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series, Lydia Wyse, a book editor from Seattle who grew up Amish, returns to the small community of West Kootenai to give comfort to her father after her mother's death. She is drawn back to the familiar Amish ways after finding her mother's most precious possession, a Promise Box of prayers and scripture. What her publisher sees, though, is an opportunity for a sensational `tell-all' book about the Amish.
Lydia soon finds herself falling in love with Amish bachelor Gideon Hooley. She wants nothing more than to forget her past and look forward to a future as an Amish bride. But will the pain of her childhood--and her potential betrayal of her community--keep her from committing her whole heart?
Tricia Goyer has an attention to details that help draw you into the story as well, of course, as her marvelous characters. Lydia is going home to take care of things now that her mother has died. She is not planning on returning to the faith just visiting to put things in order and then leave. However, she meets Gideon and sparks begin to fly. Now Lydia has to make some choices of what she wants to do with her life; return to Amish or remain English? Lydia and Gideon both have secrets from their pasts that they must deal with if they are ever going to go forward with their lives. Lydia is scarred from learning that she was adopted and Gideon had an experience of being lost in the woods that he doesn't know all that happened. Now they have to bring their wounded souls to God for His healing. Both Lydia and Gideon are presented in such a real manner that you feel as though they are friends of yours and when the book eventually ends you are sorry to see them go. "The Promise Box" is an exciting book with the romance taking top priority as each of them deals with their individual issues. "The Promise Box" deals with themes of forgiveness, healing and restoration as only God can produce. Ms. Goyer has done it again. I liked this book a lot. I am so looking forward to book three in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accepting The Past

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful read, the second book in the Seven Brides for Seven Brother's series...and equally as good!!
Pull up a chair and get comfy for a return visit to Kootenai, Montana. We reunite with some old friends, and make new and lasting friendships. Here we celebrate life, and morn death with loving friends and neighbors.
We meet Lydia Wyse on the road to her parents home, she is now English, and coming home to Wake her Mem. She is working now at editing books, and has left the Amish way of life. The peace she encounters in the valley here thrills her, and she stops to take a few picture....totally not an Amish thing. She has an encounter, and really not a pleasant one with Gideon Hooley. He was patiently trying to win the attention of a horse. A wild fellow named Blue, when they are disturbed by Lydia.
From this meeting though, a few sparks fly. Will Lydia be able to return to the Amish? Will Gideon be able to let go of the secret that has been haunting him, and move on with his life?
There is also the ever present feeling that Lydia has about her birth, will she accept what her birth Mem did? She was brought up in a loving Amish home, with parents that adored her. A lot of her questions are answered in her Mem's Promise Box.
Be ready for a wonderful, heartwarming book, and all of your questions get answered. I loved that the story is followed right to the end! No cliff hangers here, PTL. Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and the Tricia Goyer launch team, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another fantastic Amish Series!!!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydia Wyse left home at 16 and never looked back. She couldn't bear the thought that she wasn't wanted and was simply given up. It was something she had difficulty coming to terms with. Growing up Amish but learning that she was adopted. Her birth mother gave her up since she was a product of rape and didn't want the reminder to face every day after she was born. To her Amish mother who remained unable to have children, Lydia was a blessing from God. Feeling like she would never have the opportunity to love a child that belong to her, she was more than thrilled to adopt Lydia. In fact to her, Lydia was a promise from God.
Now called back home for her Amish mother's funeral, Lydia begins to experience more than just home sickness and grief when she arrives home. She feels remorse for all the years she spent away from her Amish mom, hoping to find some answers for where she fit into the world, and now returning to her hometown in West Kootenai in Montana, she wishes she had one more day with her Amish mother to tell her how much she appreciated all her love that she took for granted. She helps her father process his own grief now that he is growing older and no longer has anyone but the Amish community to care for him, he hopes Lydia might find it in her heart to come home to live once again, but he's not about to suggest or pressure her in anyway.
The one thing Lydia's Amish mother has left behind for her is a small, wooden box handcarved by her father in which she has kept the promises that she believes God has provided since before Lydia was born. It is a legacy of sorts that contains personal notes and letters to Lydia beginning from before she was born until her final days of waiting to see if Lydia would ever some home again. Her heart simply gave out waiting but her love still goes on and is waiting to be discovered as Lydia cherishes this personal time with her mother through her written promises.
Now if Lydia can find it in her heart to come home to stay once again. Her employer believes that Lydia has it within her to write the next best-seller about what it's like to leave and return to the Amish community and has agreed to provide her with enough time to do just that. While Lydia spends time in prayer considering her options of staying in Seattle or returning to her Amish roots in Montana, a handsome Amish man, Gideon Hooley, who spends his time whispering to wild horses might just be the thing that tames her wild roots after all and bring her home to stay.
In the latest novel from the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series, Tricia Goyer once more takes readers into the heart of the Amish community in Montana in The Promise Box. In this novel Lydia has to come to terms with both her past in the English and Amish life as well as deciding for herself just what God's purpose is for her in this world. It is a hard place for her to be, and deals with many conflicting emotions between two entirely different lifestyles, but as with all of Tricia Goyer's novels, she will capture you heart and soul.
I received The Promise Box by Tricia Goyer compliments of Zondervan Publishers and Litfuse Publicity Book Tours for my honest review. I love how Tricia wrote about Lydia's struggles in coming to terms with her Amish lifestyle and her English birth. She just didn't rush in and resolve whatever issues Lydia had in dealing with her adoption and the reasons behind it. I love Gideon Hooley, the Amish Horse Whisper, who lovingly chooses to interact with Lydia even though she has left the Amish community and has now returned. Every single time they were with one another, you could feel the chemistry and sparks flying but Tricia gave just enough turmoil to keep them from falling in love right away. They each has pasts to deal with before they could contemplate dealing with an unknown future with one another and that's why I'd rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. I can't wait to begin creating my own Promise Box. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review and can't wait for the next book in the series. Even though this novel is part of a larger series, you can pick this one up and read it as a stand alone. The first book in the series is The Memory Jar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Touching Story!

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydia Wyse returns to West Kootenai, Montana for her "mem's" funeral. As a teenager she left her Amish family to discover her true identity. Her "mem" had left her a promise box containing small pieces of paper upon which she had written meaningful verses of scripture, special prayers and promises from God, as well as letters to Lydia. An adoptee, she had numerous unanswered questions about her biological family. Are the answers to her past included in the promise box?
Gideon Hooley traveled to West Kootenai, Montana, with other Amish bachelors to obtain hunting privileges. Gideon's purpose for the visit is far deeper than merely hunting. Painful questions haunt him, and Gideon needs answers to a mystery that involves being lost in the mountains when he was four years old. His family has ignored his questions, leaving him frustrated and concerned about what might have happened all those years ago.
Lydia and Gideon share a special bond, and their relationship blossoms. Lydia commits an indiscretion that could affect all she holds dear. Will the secrets they keep betray their friendship? Will the answers to their questions drive a wedge in their relationship?
Tricia Goyer writes an inspiring story of two characters lost in the questions of their past. The characters in this book are richly defined, and so endearing. A blended community of both Amish and Englische is unique, with numerous colorful characters and personalities. The settings are eloquently described, leaving images and portraits that create a familiarity for the reader to ponder. Conflicting developments and issues that develop throughout the plot are unpredictable, leaving the reader challenged. There is a deep spiritual richness throughout this story, validating the writer's personal convictions. The Promise Box is impressive!
Disclaimer: I received an ARC copy of this book from Zondervan through Litfuse Publicity in return for my honest review. All opinions expressed are mine, and I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Promise Box, Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book Worth Reading Again

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lydia Wyse returned to West Kootenai, Montana after her mother’s death; although she was only planning to stay long enough to make sure her father would be okay. Her plans began to change when her father gave her a box her mother had left for her. Inside the box, Lydia found written prayers and promises from the Bible that were special to her mother and as Lydia read them she began to see the love and hope she had for her. As she read the promises and begins to become acquainted with the people of West Kootenai, she begins to feel drawn to this community.
Gideon Hooley is one of the bachelors who had come to West Kootenai for the hunting, but he is also hoping to find answers to something that had happened many years ago when he was a little boy.
Lydia and Gideon met when she returned for her mother’s funeral. Neither of them expected any type of friendship, because she was English and he was Amish. They each discover that God hasn’t abandoned them as their story is told in only the way that Tricia can—with plenty of God’s truths gently woven through.
The Promise Box is a book that I plan to read again; because the story held truth that I needed to hear as much as Lydia and Gideon.
**The Promise Box by Tricia Goyer was provided as an ACR free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>