Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook

Master Books Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook

Distant starlight, uniformitarianism and other theories have all been used to 'prove' the big bang theory; but author Dr. Jason Lisle and the team at Answers in Genesis have accumulated both new and old evidence to show that such theories don't disprove the Genesis account at all! Taking an aggressive approach, they go through the myriads of astronomical phenomenon that in fact could only be explained by the presence of a divine creator. Many full color photographs and easy to understand text will capture the attention of any child, teen or adult. 128 indexed pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Review 1 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional!

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dad7
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book and the pre-eminent 'Answers in Genesis' ministry are based on providing a '...defense or proof of Christianity'. Dr Jason Lisle provides the truth/evidence of various areas that Satan has spread his lies about (billions of years, UFOs, etc.).
It is an amazing book, useful to be shared with children, has great pictures and number of explanations throughout - gives praise to the Creator: Jesus Christ for creating the heavens and the earth. Check out AnswersinGenesis.org and visit the Creation museum!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very scholarly and fantastic read

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Homeschool Mom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Leaf Publishing Group sent us Taking Back Astronomy for review and "Wow", is all I can say. This book is for high school aged students, or gifted middle scholars who have an interest in astronomy. The book is an "introduction only- a starting point to a biblical view of the universe...", but it is 128 pages of scientific information, amazing full color photos, scripture, and "facts that challenge secular theories" such as naturalism or the Big Bang. I found this book is enthralling as well as insightful! I am no astrophysicist, but this book really makes me want to be one. The pictures alone are mesmerizing, but the content of the book is amazing. Some of the chapters include: The universe confirms the Bible, The age of the universe, The Bible and modern astronomy....this is really good stuff! There are also very interesting sections on the uniqueness of the Earth, aliens, and biblical world view. I appreciated the glossary at the end, in addition, there is an endnote and index section. The topics are a little complex in places, but very enjoyable and educational overall. This book will be a staple in our homeschool curriculum, and I can't wait for my kids to be old enough to enjoy it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely photographs and interesting information

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Taking Back Astronomy" gives Christians a biblical view of astronomy. It's written in a clear fashion that teens & adults can easily understand. Some technical language was used, but the terms were explained in the text & in the glossary in the back. While the book was mainly an overview of astronomy, there were in-depth explanations on a number of topics, like Hubble's Law, gravitational attraction, & the horizon problem for the Big Bang model.
The book was filled with beautiful full-color photographs of nebulae, star clusters, planets, stars, & galaxies. Most of the pictures were fairly small (a couple inches across) but some were full page or even a two-page spread. Overall, I felt the book was well-written & very interesting. I'd recommend it to any Christian interested in learning more about astronomy & how it confirms a biblical worldview.
Chapter 1 surveyed the universe & our solar system. Chapter 2 explained what the Bible says about the universe & how modern science has confirmed much of it even though ancient astronomers didn't accept what the Bible stated on the topic.
Chapter 3 talked about the age of the universe, why secular astronomy gives billions of years instead of the biblical ~6,000 years, the many ways that the Big Bang doesn't match the biblical account of the origin & end of the universe, the distant starlight problem versus the horizon problem, problems with the day-age compromise, evidence that confirms a young universe & why explanations as to how these evidences can be explained in a billions-of-years time-frame are unsupported.
Chapter 4 talked about modern astronomy & the problems with the Big Bang origins model. It also described how unique the earth is & touched on the subject of extraterrestrial life. Chapter 5 explained the conflicts between the biblical & secular worldviews & pointed out which one best fits the evidence found in astronomy.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert N
I noticed several reviews that were vitriolic. They appear to be an attempt to discount and marginalize this book. I wonder if they have purchased it or read it. I wonder what credentials the authors have that qualify them to call into question the author's qualifications? Let us consider the author's qualifications: Dr. Jason Lisle graduated summa cum laude from Ohio Wesleyan University with a double major in physics and astronomy and a minor in Mathematics. He received his Master's Degree and Ph.D. from the University of Colorado in Boulder. There is a great deal more, but I believe this makes my point. The author's detractors make no mention of their qualifications.I just received the book this evening so I cannot speak to it from the perspective yet of having read it through, but I have read the about 20% thus far and I find it well written, cogent, and logical. It seems so far to be a good read and the photography is beautiful.I have to say that I am a bit irked by the negative reviews and I believe that only reviews by those who have purchased the book should be allowed. I hope my review will serve to counter those negative reviews which were written I suspect by reviewers without the qualifications to comment on Dr. Lisle's book and who I doubt have read the book.This is enough for now. I hope to add more once I have finished reading the book. By the way, this reviewer did purchase this book from CBD and is reading it. 'To God be ALL glory great things He has done!!!'
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
KEB
I enjoyed this book immensely! I have read the book twice and love it! The way Dr. Lisle takes everything back to the Bible and explains it, makes astronomy make sense! The photographs are superb.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Theology Guy
Dr. Lisle has provided an outstanding resource for those of us who believe the Bible to be the inspired, inerrant word of God. In a very readable fashion, the author demonstrates how a naturalistic philosophy has led many to accept an unbiblical view of history (i.e. the big bang theory). Dr. Lisle shows that the real battle is over worldviews (or starting points) rather than the actual evidence since both sides have the exact same evidence (i.e. stars, galaxies, planets, etc.).Dr. Lisle also shows that the big bang is riddled with numerous unexplained problems. It is not nearly as well-proven as some would have us believe.He also deals with some of the objections to a young universe, such as the distant starlight problem.One look at the negative reviews will tell you all you need to know about this book. It is obviously striking a nerve with those who do not care about God's Word. In fact, this is typical of any book endorsing a young-earth view. If you are considering this book, keep in mind that Dr. Lisle is a real scientist, with a real Ph.D. in astrophysics, from a real university (UC-Boulder). You may not agree with his view but he certainly knows the subject.The book is beautifully illustrated with full-color images from space. It has recently been redone with a new cover design. I would give it ten stars if I could.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Josh Bingham
Dr. Jason Lisle is the finest astrophysicist in the field. This is the book I wish my science teachers had used during our studies in astronomy. This is a very cool and informative work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fred Simmings-Munster
The Wiccan Books of Shadows tend to be more factual then this poorly written unscientific compilation of lies and half-truths. Putting this book in front of a child should be criminal.Don't get me wrong, I'm Christian myself, but I look for my own conclusions of God's presence, usually drawn firmly from the realm of reality.
-21points
0of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
FSM's original midget
Ah, some great science! After all, gravity couldn't possibly explain the atmosphere, no, God MUST have done it. If you must smear someone's beliefs with this junk, wait until they're at least old enough to make their own decisions, taking advantage of youth innocence must be one of the worst things the church does!
-21points
0of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
J
Shameful nonsense. Do authors like Dr. Lisle ever consider the consequences of teaching children not to think? One step further into the age of unreason. Thanks a lot.
-21points
0of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Taking Back Astronomy: The Heavens Declare Creation and Science Confirms It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Davey
Utterly bad "science" throughout. To put this book in front of a child and tell them that it contains anything resembling the truth is nothing less than mental abuse. An abhorent work.
-20points
0of 20voted this as helpful.