Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3

Zondervan The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3

On the day of her sister's death, Rebecca Troyer took her first step away from the Amish. Rebecca had always strayed a little outside the fold---a job at an Englisch bakery, long weekends with non-Amish friends---but nothing could have prepared her family for what she is about to do: Rebecca is abandoning the community to attend nursing school. She is headed to college, into "the world." But she has to make it across the country first. When she stops in West Kootenai, at the home of a lapsed Amish friend from her youth, Rebecca finds a lot more in Montana than she had bargained for---namely a handsome working man named Caleb Hooley.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Review 1 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith through rough decisions

Date:June 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story of faith. Rebecca lost a sister and felt called to leave Amish community to pursue nursing. She felt a call to help others so they would not have to die like her sister while she stood by helpless.
She stops in Montana to see a friend who had left the Amish community. There Amish and English lived together in a community.
She meets Caleb, a risk taker. He wants an Amish wife but one with spunk.
Both Rebecca and Caleb find faith in God.
This book was what I needed right now as I struggle with God's plans at this point in my life.
Rebekah and Caleb marry and remain Amish in an Amish/Mennonite church where they embraced Rebekah being a nurse.
Rebekah got the three things she desired. To be a nurse, to marry a good man and to be part of an Amish Church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Love This Series~

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:St Joseph, Mo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have so enjoyed reading this series from Tricia Goyer. She is a great author. This is the third book in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series.
In this this book Rebecca loves her Amish life and does not want to leave it. The death of her sister has forever changed her life. Her desire to help save her people from harm by becoming a nurse is not something she can give up.
So with no other choice she hides the fact that she has been working on her requirements to go to College to become a nurse. Hurting her mother and father is not something she wants to do but feels she has no choice. She decides she must leave home but she will return one day to help her people.
Only a stop to visit an old friend complicates her life even more. There really is no room in her life for a a handsome Amish man running from his own issues. How can Caleb fit into her already uncertain life? She must get to college and get her nursing degree and leave Caleb behind too.
I had a hard time getting into this story at first but really enjoyed it once it caught my attention. I rate the book 4 stars. I love that is is a continuing story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

another Great Book in this series

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed revisiting West Kootenai, Montana. This book focused on a new group of people and their secrets. I liked Caleb from the start. He is a take charge kind of guy and holds no punches. It felt like the relationship between Rebecca and Caleb was natural and not a forced thing as sometimes authors try to make two characters fit. I like Rebecca's reason for her secret and I was routing for her the whole time. Will they end up together or will their secrets keep them apart? Tricia Goyer weaves a fascinating tale that kept me going to find out what will happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Rebecca is leaving her Amish community in Indiana to pursue a nursing career in Portland, Oregon. On her way to Portland she feels led to stop and visit her friend Marianna in Montana. There she meets Caleb, a young Amish man with a sense of adventure and daredevil. Both Caleb and Rebecca are keeping secrets that could jeopardize any further relationship between them.
I enjoyed THE KISSING BRIDGE. The relationship between Caleb and Rebecca had its ups and downs of course. I admired Rebecca for her desire to become a nurse no matter what it took. I liked how the author portrayed both characters struggles with their Amish upbringing and a more personal relationship with God. And I liked being able to once again visit this community where Marianna and Ben have settled. If you haven't read any of the Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors series you must remedy that along with A Big Sky novels where Marianna's story unfolds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful continuation of the series!

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s always fun to read a book that is part of a continuing story.
And I really hope we get 7 books out of this series!
Tricia Goyer certainly has a deep well of story lines. Each book of hers that I have read is clearly original. There is no feel of having read the same story in a slightly different form over and over again.
Tricia continues the story that began with The Memory Jar – beautifully in The Kissing Bridge. We see some familiar characters and we meet new ones.
And we get to enjoy the familiar surroundings colored through the views of different people and their experiences.
It’s wonderful!
In fact, I recently read another story that is at least loosely attached to this series and it was equally wonderful.
Tricia Goyer wrote a novella for An Amish Garden called Seeds of Love. It was about the Amish of West Kootenai, Montana as well.
The Kissing Bridge is the third book in this series and it is just as enjoyable a read as the first two.
If you enjoyed The Memory Jar and The Promise Box, you will enjoy The Kissing Bridge!
And I am certain that, if you are a fan of Tricia Goyer’s writing, you will love this book!
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story, enjoyable

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book very much. Tricia Goyer shows us over and over how talented she is. This story was a bit different than most Amish stories. It doesn't center on the Amish faith, so much with all the rules and regulations. But the story centers on the people, and their faith in Christ. Very interesting story, and definitely a story to share with your friends and family. It was wonderful to connect with Marianna and Ben again too. I love when we get to glimpse into the lives of characters from former books. 4.5 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only by Booklook, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book in another great series!

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, Tricia did great with this book! I loved the characters in this story, there were a few from the first two books in the series, and I love Millie's "God Box". There is a lot going on in this book and Tricia keeps you wanting to keep on reading. There is a wonderful ending too! I'm guessing there are more books coming in this series and I am anxiously waiting for it, it's not even listed anywhere yet so she's keeping us guessing on that I guess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to this series

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
high plains
Location:WY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the series and is just as good as the others! Involving...Highly Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Greer, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book description: "In the third book in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series, award-winning author Tricia Goyer introduces a surprising new resident to West Kootenai as a young woman escapes from her stifling conservative Amish community to find a new life. Rebecca is an Amish woman whose pained past compels her to leave everything to become a nurse—abandoning her family and community. Caleb is an Amish man who is counting down the days until hunting season. At a crossroads in his own life, the excitement of hunting game is all he looks forward to. All the while he wonders what to do with the rest of his life. Even though he likes the Amish lifestyle, what good is an Amish man without faith in God?
An unexpected meeting pushes them together, and they embark with friends on a two-week-long wilderness wagon journey. Hardship tears down the flimsy walls of protection they've placed around their hearts, and as their friendship grows they open up to each other and eventually reveal their deepest secrets. While on the outside they appear to be traditional Amish people, inside they both know they are anything but that. Will their secrets pull them together or draw them apart? And will their faith in God grow? There is a bridge to cross at the end of the journey. Will true love take them across?"
My review: Unusual Amish stories no longer surprise me. It seems that the typical Amish stories are a thing of the past. This one certainly does not fall into the typical category. Not only does Rebecca not fit the mold, the Amish in Montana don't fit the mold either. I still enjoyed the story and appreciated that the author is sensitive to the Amish way of life but still shows that many Amish have found that the way to God is through Jesus. I loved the analogy of the bridge and finding our way to God. I loved that the author, Tricia Goyer, included the plan of salvation very clearly. Tricia Goyer has always been an author that I have enjoyed. This book was no exception. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The kissing bridge

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
mamaof4
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebecca has planned this day for years, and now it is here. The day she leaves home to start nursing school. While it seems to right to gain the skills to be able to help just one person, her Amish community says it is so wrong. What a challenge! After the child birth death of her sister, Rebecca as vowed that she wants to be able to help those in her community with their health problems. So she has gone to school on-line to get her high school diploma and EMT certification. And now she has been accepted to attend nursing school in Oregon.
On the train ride she calls her childhood friend in Montana and stops by for a visit. A visit that changes her life!
Caleb is one of the Amish bachelors who came to hunt, and has enjoyed the time in Montana away from his family and the problems there. He persuades Rebecca to go on a wagon trail trip to see the Montana sights before she heads to Oregon, and they are able to help each other learn more about each other.
This is the #3 in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher, Zondervan. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story filled with adventure and romance

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Kissing Bridge," written by Tricia Goyer, is the third book in the Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors series and it is a wonderful addition to this series! Rebecca has been living a secret life since her sister passed away as Rebecca is determined to help others avoid the complications that her sister did giving birth and decides to go to enroll in collage for nursing school. However, Rebecca is Amish and this would not be accepted by her parents and community. Finally the time has come for Rebecca to leave home, really leave, not just living her double life that she has been. As Rebecca begins this journey she encounters some complications, one being a man named Caleb. Caleb is also trying to find his place in the world as he is torn between his Amish community and the English world. This is such a sweet story and journey that these two individuals are on in their lives and I highly recommend this to fans of Amish fiction. It is a well written story and the characters were easy to empathize with; this is one you will not want to miss!
*Thanks to the BookLook Bloggers program for the complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lost but found

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Kissing Bridge by Tricia Goyer was magical. I cannot get enough of the Amish way of living and the beautiful stories that I can enjoy at whim. The idea of being able to live off of the land and not by industries sounds like a peaceful way to live with no distractions and a closer relationship to God. Although the struggles are not only in the English world they are sometimes a part of the Amish and this story is framed around the struggle of continuing to live in the Amish community or become part of the English world. Our heroine, Rebecca, has been grappling with the idea of wanting to become a nurse and no longer live Amish and when she loses her sister it seemed like a sign to do so. In fact, it was a sign for her to find the right Amish community that would enable her to be a nurse, find love, and be in an Amish community that was be to her liking. Interestingly enough she finds all of those aspects and found herself in the process with the guidance of His love for her. It may seem like we have lost our way and are no longer a believer, but He is always by our side ready to help when we need Him. I was given a review copy and all thoughts are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Kissing Bridge, Seven Brides For Seven Bachelors Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read!

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebecca left her home in Indiana years ago, without telling her parents, by train to Portland to studying nursing. She decides to stop by Montana to visit her childhood friend, Mariana.
Even though she is only there for a short while, Rebecca meets several people who help her grow in her faith and encourage her in her quest to become a nurse.
Caleb is fascinated by Rebecca's adventurous spirit , even when he doesn't know the whole story.
Will Rebecca have to choose between following her calling and love?
This is not your typical Amish story. I immediately liked Rebecca and her determination to follow where God was leading her, trusting when many things seemed unclear. One of my favorite characters was Millie, who was a rancher's wife for fifty years. Millie had many stories to share, as well as plenty of faith and encouragement. Millie also gave Caleb a talking to when he needed it.
Rebecca was my favorite though, ever since her sister died in childbirth Rebecca has wanted to learn all she can to keep that from happening again. She worked hard to earn her high school diploma, pass her EMT classes, and keep up with her online classes. She wants to help all people, Amish and English alike.
I enjoyed every moment of this book, it is well written and easy to read. There is plenty of good dialogue between Rebecca and Caleb. But this book is so much more than the relationship between Caleb and Rebecca. Faith and inspiration are well woven into the storyline, and fit effortlessly into the storyline. I loved the setting and descriptions of the majestic mountains. Kootenai sounds like a great town to visit :)
Overall, this was a fantastic read from begging to end, with characters that will capture your heart. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.