Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Hurricanes in Paradise

Tyndale House Hurricanes in Paradise

Since starting her new job at a Paradise Island resort, Riley Sinclair feels the pieces of her life finally coming together---until she discovers that some guests arrive with their own demons, fears, and secrets. With a hurricane headed straight for the island, will Riley and three women find healing---and friendship---through the storm? 384 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hurricanes in Paradise
Review 1 for Hurricanes in Paradise
This review is fromHurricanes in Paradise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was excellent!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyce Griffin
Location:ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good book. I thought it was well written and it kept me glued to the pages. The messages of God and relationships are clearly seen in the story. I have recommended that my friends read Hurricanes in Paradise because they will be blessed like I was when I read it.
Joyce
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hurricanes in Paradise
This review is fromHurricanes in Paradise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book.

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
pssinab
Location:Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story was well written and seems to accurately depict the brokenness in many peoples lives. The story made me laugh out loud at times and weep at other times. It clearly portrays that healing comes through God and His love working through others. I look forward to reading other novels by the same author. I have already recommended it to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hurricanes in Paradise
This review is fromHurricanes in Paradise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
aheb
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very funny, refreshing, and uplifting. I laughed, cried, and just couldn't wait to finish reading it. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I could not put this down!

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
booklover
Location:Mt. Vernon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book based on the reviews and they were right on! I appreciate a good novel now and then and bought this for myself for Christmas to steal away and read. What a great story this was, it moved swiftly and did not drag. The characters were well developed and it seemed like I have met them sometime in my life. Ms. Hildreth writes uniquely and colorfully. I was so glad I purchased this and look forward to reading her Savannah series. It will be a keeper on my shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Be ready to be swept away to Paradise Island in the Bahamas once you pick up Denise Hildreth's "Hurricanes in Paradise." Vacations are supposed to be just that - a vacation - a time to rest, relax and recharge. However, it is not easy to escape from reality and "hurricanes" that are being dealt with in one's life. Riley is the director of guest relations at a 5-star resort and loves her job! Riley is preparing for the arrival of three different guests - a widow, a fashion model and an author. What Riley does not know is that these guests are all brought here by God for a reason, reasons that the four women will discover as they are trying to escape from reality at the resort when a hurricane is brewing. Hildreth will have you laughing, crying, and working through life with these four women. This is a fun summery read, how can it not be with the setting of the novel! But, it is also a book that will take each reader on a journey along with these four women who find healing and unexpected friendships. *Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book - thank you! *
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
A very likable character that is the hotel chauffeur to pick up these 3 very special ladies tells each one: The waters there are special water that heal but only if they are ready to be healed. Do they leave healed and what do they need healing from? that was my question for each one as I read the book.This was a first book that I've read from this author and I'm so glad I was able to read this. This author is great and writes a story with such a descriptive text you just feel like your in the book and know these people. You get to know their whole life story and realize they are all lost and searching for something so great and powerful but they have to realize they need God and accept God back into their life's. You really are talking to the book at times like come on Open Your Eyes! This book was great! LOVED IT! I added this author to a long and getting longer list of authors I want to explore more.Tyndale provided me this book for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Throw four single women with all of their personal issues and concerns together at a resort in the Bahamas with the threat of a hurricane coming in and you have a great story of conflict and resolution, hurt and healing, and forever friendships forged. Think Steel Magnolias on an island with Christs grace and forgiveness thrown in.Issues woven into the story include: alcoholism, divorce, grief, disease, betrayal, and domestic abuse. The four main characters are far from perfect, but strong. Each knows she needs healing and help that can only come from Christ. Each reaches her moment of crisis in turnwith help from new acquaintances quickly becoming friends.I did have one struggle with this booka struggle that one of the characters even shared with me. Winnies denominational convictions came out strongly in the setting of a resort casino with several bars and an adult swimming pool. It was obvious that this wasnt an environment she was used to or comfortable in. She spoke up to her companions about the things that disturbed her, mentioning often that Baptists stayed away from such things. The other ladies teased her lightly as they dragged her in. But considering the struggles they were dealing with personally, even because of some of those things, I wondered why they werent more cautious themselves, why they didnt let Winnie lead and try to avoid those things with heror, at the least, respect and honor Winnies convictions.On the other hand, I loved the emphasis on forgiveness and healing available to everyone all around. When Christians fail, God forgives and helps them to forgive themselves, too. When death claims our loved ones, God is there. He helps us overcome the grief and leads us in new directions. If you enjoy stories that illustrate how God can work in peoples lives through His people who love and care for one another, you may like Hurricanes in Paradise.This book was provided for my review by Tyndale House Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen Willis
Please do not miss this book, by absolutely one of my favorite authors. Loved the Savannah series tie-in (more Savannah please, btw) as well as all of the visual details from the Bahamas...I read the entire book on a car ride home from Disneyland and was willing to take the flack from my husband each time I laughed out loud. I found myself thinking, "I wish these people were available to hang out in real life, because I'd seriously like to be friends with them." This book will stay in my collection and be re-read more than once.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
KAREN S. WATSON
As a Book Club leader for over 10 years, this book rates high in the enjoyment, page-turning, "dinner is late again", faith exploring and deepening relationships not only with girlfriends, but with the God who loves me "in spite of" experience ! Please don't miss the reading of this book...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlyn
Why would I allow a fiction book to make me cry...But it also gave me lots of laugh out loud moments also. Can you believe I think I know all of these women!! They just came to life as I read about them in the pages. My husband had his copy and I had mine...I tried to finish before he did, but when I heard his hearty laughs near the end, I thought when I got there, now how great was the ending...You will love this book. Will actually take you on a vacation in Paradise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
"Hurricanes in Paradise" is Christian women's fiction. Since I don't think like any of the women in this novel nor have I had male-female relationship troubles similar to theirs (abuse, an affair, a widow having trouble letting go, and depression combined with alcoholism), I didn't connect emotionally with them. If I had, I think I would have really liked this novel since the characters did (mostly) deal with realistic problems.The author was very fond of using figures of speech and extensively describing every detail (significant or not) of every character's clothing, their physical appearance, and the details of the decor in every room of the resort. This created a slower pacing in the first 100 pages or so, but then it picked up.The target audience seemed to be Christian women or women with a Christian background. The first part of the novel hardly had any references to God, but each woman in turn had a supernatural experience of emotional healing (including wind where there shouldn't be any, an actual conversation with God, and similar experiences) and then the praying and references to God became more frequent. The main theme was about forgiving yourself and facing your fears.While the story was enjoyable enough once it got moving, I was left feeling a bit irritated at the author for something that happened at the end. It felt not-quite believable and wasn't necessary, so the ending didn't feel completely satisfying.There were implied references to sex in the character's conversations, but no sex during the novel. The minimal bad language was of the "he cussed" style. Overall, I'd recommend this as clean reading.I received this novel as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Thank you to Vicky Lynch at Tyndale House for my review copy. This fun novel is written in the third person voice of several of the female characters, which enabled this reader to see the various perspectives. I found myself fully engaged in the story line. I enjoyed meeting the characters, especially Winnie; the author sure knows how to write a Southern lady. I found the plot compelling. Because the setting is a five-star resort in the Bahamas, I envisioned myself enjoying a luxury vacation! However, there were some weak spots, particularly in Chapter 16. I found the balcony scene implausible, and the church service a bit contrived. It read as if written by another hand. In addition, the sappy ending disappointed. Nonetheless, I liked this story with its theme of friendships. Read it and decide for yourself. Discussion question are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
I was thankful to receive a review copy of this fun, honest, and inspiring book. The story reminded me a little of the TV Shows Love Boat and Hotel. Each week theyd introduce new characters and their dilemmas. Everyone tried to have fun because they were on vacation. But life doesnt stop happening just because were on holiday!Denise introduces four very different, interesting, quirky characters that would never have talked to each other under normal circumstances. But, rules are different when youre on holiday. Time is of the essence, you may never see these people again.Denises main character is Riley Sinclair, a single mom and head of guest relations at the hotel, working hard at her new job. Tamyra, is a beauty queen just finishing up her tour; hiding out from everyone and holding a secret close to her heart. Winnie Harris, Sams widow of three years- is stuck in the past with Sam and is afraid to live. Then theres Laine Fulton, an author on a trip to get ideas for her new novel. She hates to eat alone and invites all of these ladies to dine with her, as she takes notes of their conversations. All of these ladies were in survival mode for one reason or another and life begins to get a little crazy as they all prepare for a Hurricane heading their way.Denises book touched my heart and soul. I enjoyed these ladies, I laughed, I was surprised at what these women shared and my spirit was moved as these characters faced their fears. You can tell this author has faced some fears of her own. Finding Hope Book Club is reading this novelI cant wait to hear what this group has to say about Hurricanes In Paradise. Its more than a great summer read. These ladies and their stories will stir your soul!Nora St. LaurentACFW Book Club Coordinator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
A title with the word hurricane in it should be a HUGE clue about what is going to happen in this book. There is a a real hurricane, but the true storm comes when four women from an unlikely friendship. This is a a great example of women's fiction done well. Hildreth has yet to disappoint me with one of her stories. She lays down a complex web of layers for all of her characters and yet the book is easy to read. By the end of the book I wanted to gather my own friends together for an evening out to embrace the special thing called, 'friendship of women' there is nothing like it. All women need special friends to get them through the good and the bad times.What I like about Hildreth's books is she doens't pull her punches. If something bad is going to happen, should happen to her characters she lets it occur making her writing real. Tyndale provided this copy to me for review, but as I've said before if I don't like it I don't review it. As mama said, "Don't say something unless you can say something nice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kady Garrett
Hurricanes in Paradise by Denise HildrethHildreths book, Hurricanes in Paradise, is about four women who are struggling with their lives. Riley came to Paradise Island to forget her past and make a new future, Tamyra came to escape the knowledge that shes dying from HIV, Winnie came because her children made her in order to get over her dead husband, and Laine came to write her next novel. These four women come to terms with themselves with the help and support of each other and face their demons with the help of God.To begin with, I loved this book and found little wrong with it. The ending had an unpredictable twist to it, which made it even better. Oddly enough, the lack of background information on the characters kept you reading to find out more, rather than frustrated. Additionally, the book was very humorous and had many laugh out loud moments. Furthermore, the descriptiveness of the setting and characterization was artfully done in a way that allowed you to picture yourself as part of the story. I also loved how real and believable the characters were - they had actual pain and hurt that managed to get the reader to experience it with them. One last thing I loved was the Christian connotation to the book and how God helped mold the womens lives. There were a few typos, but thats expected with advanced reader copies. All in all, Hurricanes in Paradise was a wonderful book which I would definitely recommend you reading. Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with this complimentary copy to review.-Review by Kady Garrett
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hurricanes in Paradise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzie Waltner
Most people go on vacation to relax and kick back but some are trying to escape fear and despair. In Denise Hildreth's newest book (scheduled to be released in June 2010), four women have found themselves in Paradise Island, Bahamas. Each has secrets they are trying to either run from or hide from.As the four women try and survive their vacation wtih a hurricane coming towards the resort, each woman uncovers and confronts her struggle with the help of the others. As the women learn more about themselves and each other, they form life-long friendships with each other.The characters in this book were very likable and worth rooting for. Each character was struggling with big issues that were life changing. Hildreth does a wonderful job of individualizing each character and the turning point in each of their stories is powerful. Part romance, part mystery and all heart, "Hurricanes in Paradise" is a page turner that will not disappoint. ***An advanced reader copy of this book was provided to me by Tyndale House Publishers free of charge. I am in not compensated in any way for either a favorable or poor review of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.