Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Judge

Tyndale House The Judge

Staging the ultimate reality show, an eccentric billionaire invites representatives from the world's religions to argue their beliefs. Feisty judge Oliver Finney accepts the challenge---and realizes he's trapped in a deadly game. Will his law clerk, Nikki, be able to decipher his cryptic e-mails before he dies defending Christ? (Previously titled The Cross-Examination of Olive Finney.) 400 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Judge
Review 1 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling, mysterious Survivorlike game show story

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Judge Finney, a devout Christian who can't stop smoking cigars, is invited to represent Christianity in a game show like Survivor called Faith on Trial to compete against a Buddhist (Dr. Ando), a Hindu (Swami), a Muslim, (Kareem Hasaan), and an atheist scientist (Victoria Kline), he decided to win the money for Christianity. The show was apparently staged to help a billionaire with inoperable brain cancer decide which God to worship before he dies. Flying with the contestants to an unknown destination, Judge Finney found the contestants interesting. They were told they would confront temptation, injustice, trauma, sickness, shame, forgiveness, and love. There would be 2 verdicts: one on the island and the jury verdict by the viewers as well as a contest between two finalists with one receiving a million dollars for their favorite charity. Because so many viewers are Christians already, the show took a poll on those planning to watch and determined the percentage for each group and the winner would be the one who was making the most converts. What was taken from all the contestants to keep them from communicating with the outside world? Despite attempts to prevent communication by the contestants with the world outside, how did Finney communicate with Nikki? She then enlisted a young code geek, Wellington, to help her figure out Finney's messages. How did Finney make friends with other contestants? Where did the contestants go to communicate with each other? What were the two hardest tests? What hurt Finney? The race to learn the truth and prevent Judge Finney from being killed was on. Would Nikki find the truth in time? Were the rumors true that the 2 finalists would be killed? Could she get help from the government in time? Whom did she go to? What ultimately happened? This is another terrific Randy Singer mystery you won't want to miss!!! It is a must read book for mystery lovers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing book with lots of codes and mysteries

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absolutely intriguing book about codes and defending the faith. Randy Singer kept me turning page after page, wanting to find out how all the puzzle pieces fit together. The twists and turns in the story are marvelous. And I loved the descriptions of Wellington, a geeky mama's boy, as described by Nikki, the judge's gorgeous law clerk. Be prepared to not put this book down once you start it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BAD DEAL

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
William Bryson
Location:Milton, NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes it's my fault, because I didn't read that this book was a copy of Cross Examination of Oliver Finney. I loved the story, but I hate this underhanded method to increase sales dollars. This apparently is something new that some publishers are doing. Taking older books, putting a new title on them, identify it as a new release and scamming the readers. It is deception in its simplest thieving way. There are other publishers who have done this but I didn't expect it of this one. Is it the way a Christian should get fleeced? I guess so, but being sold as a Christian publications tells me not to trust this publisher ever again. Actually, I'll not buy anything with their name on it again even though I like Randy Singer's writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Judge

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Judge is a book that as all the elements of a good mystery: deception, suspense, and a great plot with likeable characters. Once I started reading this book, I was so captivated that I could not put it down. The book begins with a dying man’s quest to determine which religion/faith is true so he secretly funds a reality show, in which, each faith would be represented by one person. The reality show is set up as a courtroom and each contestant has to give their case for why their religion is the correct one. Each contestant is also cross-examined by one of the other contestants. The main character of the book is Finney, the Christian contestant, and during his time on the reality show, he discovers a horrible plot to kill one of the contestants. Finney must race against time to figure out the motive behind the plot and the guilty parties before the murder takes place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The judge by randy singer is a book about judge Oliver finney and his decision to be part of a reality show called faith on trial. Faith on trial consists of several different contestants all of whom are terminally ill who defend all of their different religious beliefs or views. Rumors begin surfacing of a plot to kill one of the two finalists and judge finney searches for truth in regards to these rumors with the help of his clerk Nikki Moreno.
Overall I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed and relatable. There is a lot of use of code breaking and ciphers mentioned in the book and I didn't really enjoy that part. It was pivotal to the story but to me it felt like it dragged on sometimes. That is my only criticism and I recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely a Thriller. Recommended.

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is full of suspense, delivered in a way that makes this a page-turner. It kept me guessing right to the end. I was intrigued by the ciphers, since I love words and puzzles. The story had a very interesting concept, and I found myself rooting for the characters. The debates were memorable and thought-provoking. I couldn’t put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judge Oliver Finney is chosen for a reality show about faith, and he is to defend Christianity. On the island where the show takes place, he realizes there is a murder plot. He sends coded messages to his clerk, Nikki, so she can help him solve the case.
This was a good story. There were several plot twists as the judge tried to figure out the case. The parts dealing with the codes were interesting, and the book had a nice conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Judge

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book! This book is different than the previous ones I have read by Randy Singer. The judge, Oliver Finney, is defending Christianity and he calls one his law clerk, Nikki Moreno to help him. She has to decipher codes in a race against time. This book is not a newly written novel by Randy Singer but has been previously published as The Cross Examination of Oliver Finney. I would stronly recommend this book to everyone. Randy Singer is one of my favorite authors and I have never been disappointed in any of his novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, not Great

Date:June 18, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a difficult book for me to review because it was pleasant, but it wasn't a stand-out novel, or, on the other hand, something atrocious I would never recommend.
I was not bored while reading the book (very important!) and it certainly wasn't a drudgery to keep reading. Singer kept me actively engaged in the story, and I read it without taking many breaks. Even though I read it more or less straight through, I wasn't left anxiously wondering what happened next - as I usually am with books of this nature.
Honestly, though, that could be me being in pregnancy brain fog where I just don't engage anymore than necessary because I don't have the brain power right now.
I enjoyed the integration of fiction mystery with some defense of Christianity. It was a little weird for me though with all of the modern pop culture references ... can you tell I usually stick to reading the classics and don't frequently venture into modern fiction?
I thought the book was tastefully written, and I don't have any qualms about recommending this book for others to read. I didn't get wrapped up in trying to decipher the codes in the book (as I would have at an earlier time in my life), but that certainly didn't detract from the book. I think it awesome that if people want to try and figure out the codes in the book they have that option because Singer wrote the book The Cross Examination of Jesus Christ which contains the codes in The Judge. One word of warning though - this book was previously published as The Cross Examination of Oliver Finney, so don't think that this is a brand-new Singer book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reissue of an old title

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Location:Olivehurst, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Before you get as excited as I did, let me remind you: this is NOT a new novel by Randy Singer. Instead, it's a previously published book about a fictional judge named Oliver Finney. I admit, I prefer the new cover and title, but the book is the same as before.
This is the first novel by Randy that I never finished. I don't know if it was the premise, the characters, or simply the fact that it just never 'clicked' with me. I liked Nikki: she is a feisty and loyal assistant and added a lot to the story.
At the time of the original publication Tyndale released a companion book called "The Cross Examination of Jesus". Now, that one I did finish, and I enjoyed it. The book reminded me of Josh McDowell's "More Than a Carpenter" and Lee Strobel's "The Case for Christ."
Considering how many novels Randy has written and how many I've loved from beginning to end, this one was a mild disappointment. I wish I could put my finger on what was lacking, but I truly believe I was overwhelmed with both books at the same time.
So, give "The Judge" a try, and let me know what you think. You just might convince me to give it a fresh reading. I purchased a copy (not realizing it was a reissue:-) and you can purchase the book from bookstores everywhere.
"The Judge" is published by Tyndale Publishing and is mildly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"The Judge"

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It isn’t very often that I read a book that I don’t want to put down. The Judge was one of those books. As I read it, I couldn’t wait to find out what was going to happen. The concept of a reality TV show pitting defenders of the major world faiths against each other in a court of law was absolutely fascinating. The depiction of the five “contestants” was perfect. I felt like I knew each of them and couldn’t wait to see them in court. For me, this was the main story and the part that interested me the most.
For others, I'm sure the main story was the second plot line that involved the main character’s assistant and the codes they were passing back and forth. Though that part was interesting, it got to be too much. During the sections where they were trying to crack the code, I kept wanting to return to the courtroom to hear from the contestants. The description on how they cracked the code was, at times, excessive and dragged on.
The end of the book was one of the best endings I have read in a very long time. This was my first time reading a Randy Singer book, but I know for certain that it will not be the last.
This book combined elements of a courtroom thriller, a spy novel, and a mystery/thriller. I can’t wait to read more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith on Trial - How Would You Do?

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Review: Randy Singer is a thinking man and his books cause you to think and The Judge is no exception.
Judge Oliver Finney is a cigar smoking judge from Virginia, with terminal cancer, but he considers himself a strong Christian. So when he has the opportunity to participate in a reality TV show, designed as a competition between World Religions, he sees it as his opportunity to make a difference for the next generation. What he gets is much more than he ever bargained for, as he does his best to represent the Christian faith and stay alive.
As I’ve already said, this is a thinking book as you watch each of the contestants represent their faith and the interaction between the characters. Mr. Singer allows you to work through the story trying to determine who the “good” and “bad” guys really are. He adds some nice twists that keep you wondering. I missed some of the clues the author gives throughout the story, but realized they were there as Finney reveals them at the end.
Singer subtly puts out a challenge in this book, ‘How would you defend your faith?’ As I thought about this throughout the book, I think the best way to defend your faith is to live it in a real way, developing relationships and letting people see the ups and downs but you remaining faithful.
The only downside I felt was at times it seemed like some narratives were just too long. But I think the author wanted to demonstrate a key component in being an effective Christian witness, it requires relationships and they take time.
Disclaimer: I would like to thank Tyndale Publishers or the opportunity to read and review this book. I was under no obligation to give anything but my honest opinion, which I’ve done my best to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would happen if you took a selection of people from all of the world's religions and put them into a "Survivor" like setting? You would get the makings of a book by Randy Singer, of course! So this billionaire is getting ready to die and he's found out that being rich doesn't provide him with any additional insight into what happens after we die. In the search for this information, he comes up with the ideal to bring together people from all different religions to a remote island where they will "battle" it out against each other to see who has the best answers for the afterlife. For the Christian perspective, we have Judge Oliver Finney. Judge Finney is a cigar-smoking curmudgeon who never dreamed in a minute he would be picked for the show, but we know that demographic studies can't be wrong! As the show progresses, Judge Finney starts noticing that things may not be exactly as they seem. The judge begins passing crypted notes back and forth with his law clerk, thanks to a book on cryptology that he had written. As the stakes appear to be getting higher and higher for the contestants, Judge Finney begins to feel a sense darkness and dread. Will this be the end of Judge Finney? Does he help the billionaire with his thoughts of the afterlife? Buy a copy and see how this one ends!
I have been a fan of Randy Singer for a long time. I even hosted Mr. Singer for a book signing / discussion several years ago. Anybody that reads John Grisham would love any of Randy Singer's books, and this one is no different. Randy always shares his knowledge of the judicial system through his books. This book, though, allows us to not only see the inner workings of a case against Christ, but he rolls in the whole reality tv show craze that the entertainment world is abuzz about. I always come away from his books feeling like I have a little bit more knowledge of the judicial system, and that isn't always a good thing.
Is this a "guy's book"? If you're into law and justice and reality TV, then you would enjoy this book. Do you have to be a "guy" to like it? Nope, this book would be enjoyed by everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Isolated and required to defend one's faitth

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of Randy Singer's books and he is a fine writer and man. I appreciate his dedication to his craft of writing and to his practice of law. Did you know that he is also a pastor? Hmmm... did you wonder why he wrote such spiritually grounded books? Well, when I received "The Judge" to review and to participate in the blog tour, little did I expect the twist and turns this story would take me on. I did not anticipate the level of intensity with which the characters were required to defend their faith.
The story begins with a very wealthy man who has just been diagnosed with terminal cancer with a year to live. He has no faith. He is enthralled with the current "rage" on TV of reality shows and decides to fund a reality show called "Faith on Trial." Candidates for the Faith on Trial show represent several of the major religions of the world - Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, a non-believing scientist, and a Christian. At the end of the show, the "faith" that wins is the faith this wealthy man will choose to die believing. Then he virtually exits the story line, though he does follow afar off.
The candidates are flown to an unidentified (to them) island and allowed no contact with the outside world. They are put on trial for their faith and must defend it. It is set up like a court room and they are interrogated. Before long it becomes clear to the characters, especially Oliver Finney, the Christian in the group, that all is not well and they are pawns in a game that does not seem legal or ethical.
Oliver Finney (the character who is "The Judge") is a student of variety of codes, has written books with embedded codes in them, and has discovered embedded codes in classic books. His former law clerk, Nikki Moreno, is a beautiful young lady whose code-breaking skills are sorely lacking. Enter Wellington Farmington, a young, very intelligent geek who skillfully breaks codes and helps Nikki discover the ways and means that Oliver Finney has found to communicate with her about the odd happenings on the Island.
This twisted and turning plot uncovers hatred and desire for revenge. But mostly it covers the testimony of a man of faith as he, knowing he has only a few months himself to live, defends his faith in Christ to the death.
Randy Singer also wrote "The Cross Examination of Jesus Christ" which would probably be a good book to read in conjunction with "The Judge." "The Judge" was formerly published in 2006 under the title of "The Cross Examination of Oliver Finney."
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of The Judge by Tyndale Publishers on behalf of the author for the purpose of rendering my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Judge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Judge on Trial

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve only watched a couple of reality shows out of Australia. Whether you love them or not, check out this Faith on Trial reality show! Hosted by an unknown billionaire who’s been diagnosed with an inoperable brain cancer, he wants to find the true religion to believe in to make it right with his Maker. Hiding this agenda, he picks contestants from the major faiths to defend their beliefs through all the trials thrown at them on the show.
The main character, Judge Oliver Finney, is a cigar-smoking Christian with terminal cancer. He signs up to defend his faith and to hopefully bring others to the Lord through this worldwide TV show. Little does he know how he will be tested!
Nikki Moreno is Judge Finney’s law clerk who thinks of him as her father figure. She’s been ‘tested’ by Finney to get her ready to pass her law exam. This information will be needed, and more, to assist the judge during the reality show. In fact, before the judge leaves for parts unknown for the show, he shows her his book on apologetics that also includes cryptograms that he worked into the book.
However, when the judge sends Nikki his first plea letter, she’s at a loss as to the meaning. She does recognize the Wellington Farnsworth name included in the letter and sets out to track him down. She finds out that he just happens to be the judge’s best known, top teenage cryptanalyst. Thus he becomes one of the crucial players in the game.
What a zinger of a book! The cover alone is ominous enough and the title brings out many innuendos that come to mind. What kind of judge is he? Is he honest? Corrupt? Is he up to something?
The relationship between the beautiful, leggy Nikki and nerdy Wellington is uproarious. The author has them play off each other to the hilt, to the chagrin of Nikki. These two become my favorite characters. Not to be outdone, the characters on the island are portrayed in such a way that you would most likely recognize them on the street if you saw them. All their quirks, characteristics, physiques, qualities, and every event they encounter are delineated with intricate detail.
Besides the feisty old Judge Finney, I enjoyed ‘Swami’ with his personable personality. Kareem’s personality was a great contrast, causing more consternation than the others put together. All of them have their own personal secrets, which are exploited to develop a deadly game. It’s those dangers that cause Judge Finney to find a way to get cryptograms off to Nikki.
The author utilizes even the titles of the book sections to cause you to critique what was to come next in the reality show and to up the ante for the contestants. Tracking the book through a trial process was genius! It truly was a Trial by Faith!
Agendas
The Contestants
Cross-Examination
Rebuttal
Verdict
To accelerate your involvement, the author adds cryptograms within the text, challenging you to figure them out either before or with Nikki and Wellington. He is very thorough in capturing and connecting your imagination and presenting the suspense at peak level from beginning to end.
This book was provided free by Susan Sleeman of The Suspense Zone in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.