Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness

Tyndale House Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness

* Growing up, Velthouse was a poster child for the perfect Christian who did everything she could to earn God's "okay." But when her best wasn't enough, she began a search to discover what is. How God breaks through her empty goodness reveals the surprising depth of our sin---and the stunning wonder of his grace! 224 pages, hardcover from SaltRiver.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Review 1 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots to chew on...

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
oregonmomofmany
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just posted the following with a link to this book on my FB page...
Just finished reading 'Craving Grace' ~ took a bit to get into but then I could not put it down. Now that I am done, a lot to ponder.
Grace, so simple and so complicated all at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captivating

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse was not what I expected. I am not sure what I was expecting, it may have been from my oversite on the cover of not seeing the fact this book was a memoir. The writing in this book is captivating and pulls you into the story, many of these instances any of us can relate too. Admittedly I struggle to get into this book in the beginning, where I wanted more information I was not finding it, and in other cases I did not want to continue but the more I read the more I wanted to know about how the fast turned out. By the end of the book I did not want to finish the story. Velthouse brings an insight on topics I had never considered, and being one of those people that always tries to follow the rules I easily related to her. By the last two chapters I did not want the story to end, and when it did I craved to know more, I hope for another book to come about the communal fasting of the members on the farm and to hear from not just Velthouse but also those accompanying her on the fast and their experiences.
Craving Grace is exactly what the cover claims 'a story of
faith, failure, and my search for sweetness' many times we forget to look at the sweetness of grace that God has granted us. Craving Grace has opened up that idea and pushed me to wanting to understand that grace more fully and instead of attempting to always do what I am supposed to but to remember the grace that God gives us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlogfulOfBooks
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Craving Grace appealed to me, someone who does not often read memoirs, because of the author who wrote it. Years ago I read Saving My First Kiss, and the news about Craving Grace mostly circulated around the fact that she didn't save her first kiss as she had promised to. I wanted to know why; not because I was upset about it, but because I wanted to know what changed the girl who had passionately written about saving her first kiss. What had happened in her life to cause a need to discover grace once again?
Lisa Velthouse delves into the details of her life pre kiss book and post kiss book, discussing and dissecting her emotions and feelings and, most importantly, her perception of God. It's an interesting account filled with moments of hilarity, passion, sadness, and confusion. It's real life, and time after time I stopped mid-chapter to sigh and consider how similarly I've felt in my own walk with Christ.
It is only through much heartache and turmoil that Lisa discovers what grace is really about, and what the God who gives it freely is really like. It's a touching, inspiring story, and even if you're not big into memoirs, I'd give this one a shot anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Craving Grace

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received a complementary copy of Lisa Velthouse's Craving Grace through the Tyndale Blog Network. Craving Grace is Velthouse's personal memoirs of her life as a Christian, trying to do what she thought was the right thing to please God. She wrote a book called "Saving My First Kiss," and spoke about saving herself for her future husband. She tried many other techniques to make herself feel like she was a perfect Christian, such as fasting, but always failed in the end. Eventually, we follow her journey to love.
While I enjoyed the story of Craving Grace, I found it a little bit hard to follow. Velthouse jumps around in time, and I would personally have liked it better if it was chronological. She has a charming amount of humor about her life and what she has been through to get where she is that I found refreshing. All in all, it was a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Non-Fiction Chick Lit

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rarely think of chick lit as non-fiction, but that is exactly what Lisa Velthouse has created in the book “Craving Grace”. It is funny, girlfriend-y, and laugh out loud funny, and yet is a memoir.
The book starts as Lisa experiences her first kiss. This doesn't sound that big of a deal until you realize she is the author of “Saving My First Kiss: Why I'm keeping confetti in the closet” so she has to deal with the ramifications of being a hypocrite by not living up to the premise of her book. (Or is she a hypocrite? Is she no longer a self-righteous person instead?)
She keeps referring in the book to when she did “The Honey Project” when she fasted from sweets and what she during that time about God, herself, and others. As it went on, she also became more attuned to sweetness in things like ketchup. (Ketchup is sweet? Hmmmm.)
During the course of her tale, she moves into the basement of friends. It sounds like an ideal situation to me, but she obsesses over if she's doing enough chores and other things, such as sitting on the kitchen counter and leaving a pair of panties in the dryer accidentally.
The book is entitled “Craving Grace”, and Grace is exactly what Velthouse discovers. From reaction from others when she had her first kiss. From when she eats sweets during “The Honey Project”. And maybe that annoying man with the out of date hair cut in the drive through in front of her with a bunch of Christian bumper stickers. . . maybe . . . just maybe. . . he's not as obnoxious as she first thought.
I very much enjoyed this book (with the exception of her description of an annoying pastor. He reminded me too much of someone out of my past! But then again that's a trait of good writing!) I recommend this book to any woman who would like to explore the concept of grace in a lighthearted, fun way, or any lover of chick lit. You did know chick lit doesn't need to be fiction, didn't you?
I received this book from from the publisher as part of their summer reading program. The opinions of the review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

savouring sweetness ~

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
berg
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
how do we move from knowing about God to knowing God? by more diligence, more duty, more effort? or might it be by spending time together pursuing relationship?
are we craving God - craving God as Grace?
or are we pursuing performance - our own?
savour the sweetness of 'Craving Grace' as Lisa Velthouse invites us on her spiritual journey into flavourful tastes of new ways of living...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Craving Grace

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bluerose
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's important to know that I don't like memoirs. I never have. I'm not a huge non-fiction reader, although I usually have at least 2-3 of them going at a time. I read them very slowly, though. Memoirs...I have to read them painfully slow!
When I decided to review this book, I thought it was a fiction book, and it seemed really interesting. Unfortunately, this is the second time I've mistaken a memoir for a fiction book. (I know, right!) :) And after I got the book, it plainly says {a memoir} right on the front.
Needless to say, I had a hard time getting into Craving Grace.
Lisa is the author of the book, Saving My First Kiss. Craving Grace is ultimately about how she made a mistake and didn't save her first kiss.
I do like that I learned a little more about the ups and downs of fasting. I've never fasted, but I have been interested in reading a bit more about it. If you want a peek at fasting, this might be a good book to try.
I didn't like how the chapters skip around from three years earlier to current time. It was a bit confusing and I'm not sure why it was written that way.
*I was provided a review copy from Tyndale House in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
aimy
Location:seattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes reading a book cause you think the cover is amazing, ends up in a great book. And in this case it was true. I loved reading this, through Lisa’s thoughts and feelings. I could feel like I knew her, I knew what she was going through I could feel it through her words. Some reviews I’ve read found it really confusing that she went back and forth between 3 years ago and present day. But I didn't have a problem with that at all, I knew where she had left off and it was good to read it that way honestly. It compares the experiences from back then to present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Read for all Females :)

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Craving Grace - Lisa Velthouse - April 2011
Reading Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse made me go "WOW" there's somebody I can relate too, as being the oldest in a family where the middle child is about to have a baby and has had like countless boyfriends and the youngest at this stage has had his fair share of girlfriends, I start to feel a bit like a black sheep, though I tend to call myself the technicolour sheep as I like to dye my hair bright and funky colours. I have always seen myself to wait for "the One" , the perfect guy that God has picked out for me and I know he's out there somewhere. Many people call me fussy or weird as I don't date - well not very often compared to the average Joe, It's not that I'm odd it's just that I know exactly what I want and I can tell in the first couple of minutes or on the first date whether he is what I'm looking for. Though , in personal opinion I'm not like Lisa exactly as kissing a guy wasn't that big of a deal for me , but the final base is.
For myself personally, I actually congratulate Lisa as I think that her tale is an inspiring one , that all should look up to and as I read her memoir Craving Grace , there were bits and pieces that I could relate too and reading the waking up next to a groomsmen, I could imagine the pain that it caused Lisa as when you make a vow towards God and you break it , it's like breaking a promise and it can make you feel like a big fat failure. That's a Grade F for Never Been Kissed.
Craving Grace takes readers on a journey into Lisa's life as we discuss her up's and downs , her triumphs and failures . For Lisa, she had been brought up in a christian home and had the sermons go through her ears Sunday after Sundays . At the age of nineteen , whilst walking down her dorm's corridor with a hot chocolate in hand , she decided to make a vow to God - to hold off kissing until she met the "perfect one" , the one that God had chosen for her in her life. The vow was going well until after twenty years , Lisa decided that she wasn't really getting anywhere with God and that her faith in him was slipping and for somebody who knew God the way Lisa did, this scared her . So Lisa turned to do what many Christians do when they want to get back on track with God and move closer to them , she decided to fast and give up her favourite indulgences of sweets and chocolate. This was going well for Lisa until she was invited to her younger sister's wedding and the next morning, she awoke next to one of the groomsmen - who at that moment , Lisa shared not only her first kiss with him but also her second. At this shock, Lisa's faith in God starts to crumble drastically as all the hard work she had put in for him , with just one morning had crumbled, destroyed for nothing. What followed is the result of Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse as she decided to put her bitterness and lack of faith in God to a bigger purpose and to help herself rediscover the Grace within herself , something that by focusing on her vow along the way she had misplaced.
Craving Grace is an inspiring Christian Memoir about One Woman's journey to find the Grace in her life after one broken promise lead to a bitter heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristenph
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is grace?
The Sunday School definition is undeserved favor.
Or God’s Richness at Christ’s Expense.
Those are both okay definitions, but you can understand those definitions and still not fully grasp God’s grace. Actually, I’m not sure we can ever fully grasp God’s grace.
Lisa Velthouse thought she had to earn God’s favor. I did too. So I felt a certain kinship with her as I was reading the book. Unlike the author’s, my testimony is not one of thinking I had done almost everything right, and that God was not giving me what I deserved. My struggle was with truly accepting God’s forgiveness for my sins. We both had a false view of God’s grace. The peace of realizing that there is nothing that I can do to earn His forgiveness is freeing. I finally understand that my salvation doesn’t depend on my ability to say the right words in a prayer or my ability to not sin, but on Christ’s atoning sacrifice that completely and totally paid for my sins. He’s the one that’s doing the saving. He’s powerful enough. What a relief! What a wonderful Savior!
I enjoyed reading this book. The author was transparent in sharing her struggles. I liked the way she told the story by going back and forth between two different periods of her life. However, it might be confusing to someone who is extremely sequential.
But I can’t neglect to mention one concern I did have about this book. The author previously served on the staff at Mars Hill Bible Church. That wouldn’t have meant a thing to me until about a month ago. However, the founding pastor of that church, Rob Bell, just published an extremely controversial book entitled Love Wins. I have not read the book, but it has been accused of espousing the universalist view that a loving God wouldn’t send anyone to hell. So I read Craving Grace looking for any evidence that Lisa Velthouse believes that. I didn’t find any. But I didn’t find any evidence that she isn’t a universalist either. However, it’s not a theology book. Craving Grace is a memoir, and it does what a memoir should–tells the story of a life.
Disclosure: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a free copy of this book to review. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Craving Grace: A Story of Faith, Failure, and My Search for Sweetness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Craving Grace is has something for everyone

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received this book in the mail for review I wasn't sure if this was based on her life or a story losely based on her life. This is a memoir of her life as she finds her own grace. This main theme through out the book was her Honey project and fasting. Being Catholic fasting is something I'm familiar with and liked the references to Ash Wednesday and Lent, especially since I read this during Lent. I love that her fasting was always sweets and her great support system of friends that formed a bound and family of sorts. I found this book a fun read and enjoyed it. Grace is something I think we could all use more of and struggle with at times. This book is a book that stays with you even after your done reading it.
thank you Tyndale for allowing me sending me a copy of Craving Grace to review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.