Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys

Tyndale House No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys

Want to get your 8- to 12-year-old boys into the habit of devotions? Featuring stories about everything from sports to superheroes, this colorful resource addresses a variety of boyhood-related themes---including bullying, being a good sport, generosity, and church participation. Each meditation also includes Scripture, illustrations, a game/activity, quotes from well-known people, and more. 256 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Review 1 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good basic devotional

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
sidewinder
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for young boys. Got it as gift after baptism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I was looking for

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Clementon, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not sure if I misread the description but this devotional book only lasted us 4 weeks. I have my son complete daily devotions so that it becomes a habit that he will have for the rest of his life. This book was supposed to be the one he did nightly. After a month, he was all done! Praise God I had bought him 2 different devos...he enjoyed this book but he needed more. He LOVES Superheros and the title No Girls Allowed is perfect!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katia Rossetti
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the first time as a gift for a friend of my children. After that I already bought two more and this will be the gift for birthdays boys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for 11 yr old boys

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy Winans
Location:North Pole, AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for our 11 yr old's birthday. He loved it so much he started reading and doing the work book section immediately with all his buddies that were over for his birthday.
It is full of good, age appropriate godly advice, written with boys in mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erin M.
I recently received the book No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys from Tyndale for review. I think the book would be very appealing for young boys. I believe it is aimed at boys over the age of 6, but I think it's even appropriate for younger boys. My son is 4 and he can relate to the characters such as Batman and Spiderman and the choices they make. I think the authors have done a great job of understanding the characters young boys like to read about. Most people wouldn't think to ask "What would spiderman do" and then compare that to "What would Jesus do?" What a way to grab boys' attention! The devotional also has occassional games, word puzzles, and word searches for older boys. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has boys ages 5-8 years old!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Howson
My 9 year old son liked this devotional book for boys. When I told his the title was No Girls Allowed he took great delight in making sure his sisters left the room. Each devotion is less than two pages long. In the sidebars there are scriptures and prayers which we enjoyed reading. The next two pages had puzzles or secret codes to figure out and then a list of things to do and things to remember. I found this devotional to be entertaining for my son but I wasnt very happy with the devotion called Mr. Big Mouth. It made reference to the X-Force which isnt something we have exposed our children too and I had to explain what the X-Force was to my son so that the devotional would make sense.The illustrations were ok, but we would have preferred them to be more colorful. The whole book is printed on cream paper with brown ink. I found it to be bland. I am however very happy with the length of the devotions since my son isnt a strong reader. He was able to read the devotions without becoming frustrated, this is a big bonus for me. I think this devotional would be great for boys ages 8-11. I believe it would be a great gift for a boy.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of reviewing this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
This is the best devotional I have ever seen for boys in this age range. The topics are relevant life lessons and the author uses references that are sure to strike a chord. This book is truly going to make a spiritual impact on the life of the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Girls Allowed: Devotions for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
I absolutely love this book!! Not only does it cover topics that appeal to boys and uses examples they can relate to, but it makes learning The Word of God fun. No more dry lessons that may stick in the brain for 5 minutes. This book is going to make a major spiritual impact on my grandson's life.Frankly, I completely enjoy reading it too!! This is one I will recommend to everyone I know!! Excellent book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.