Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook

Chosen Books Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Review 1 for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wake Up Call for knowing HOW to pray for others.

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Creek
Location:Comanche, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that it took a few chapters to follow where the book was trying to lead me. At first I had trouble figuring out what the subject and the title had to do with each other, but when I let God guide my thought process rather than trying to analyze each sentence, it all started making sense.
It was more than just a "how to" book on Intercessory Prayer, it delved into how we should live our lives for God if we are going to ask for His help in matters.
For example, when we pray a normal prayer for ourselves, or even others, it is totally different than an intercessory prayer. Intercessory prayer is a "fight" against powers of darkness and unseen forces. As God's Word says in Ephesians 6:12, For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. We HAVE to have a special, FERVENT, forceful prayer for other's situations and special needs.
As I got further into his book, I realized that not only was Mr. Hayford explaining how to pray in this manner, but he was showing me how to be a better "child of God".
I would recommend this book for anyone who is wanting to pray for others and see results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Does Not Sign Off On Those Who Sign Off On Him

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Modern Day Disciple
Location:Narragansett, RI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Secrets Of Intercessory Prayer - Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love by Jack Hayford is a a powerful read which is aptly titled and delivered well that which it promised. Beginning with Chapter Ones's "A Divine Invitation to Partnership" and our call to partner with God in prayer, to the final chapter "Having Done All, Stand" Pastor Hayford divides and conquers the obstacles to our intercessory prayer lives and leads us on to new hope to persevere in prayer.
As a Moms In Prayer leader and one who desires to have a healthy personal prayer life I read a lot of books on prayer, and this is one of the most practical books on intercessory prayer I have come across. Specifically challenging the hearts of those who desire to intercede for others by first examining their own hearts toward those whom they pray, makes this read immediately applicable. I found myself pondering the points and reflecting on steps I could take immediately apply with regard to addressing and assessing my own prayer "attitude". Oh my heart was rejoicing at the wisdom presented in this book and I pray that every Christian would read and apply it. I intend to share it with my Prayer Partner and Co-Leader and then would like to read through it again.
I really liked the way Believers were called out for some of the self-righteous and holier than thou attitudes that pollute and permeate Christian circles which can hinder prayers being answered. I appreciate also the way I was convicted in the chapter "Praying For Someone You Don't Want To Pray For" because God so often calls me to do just that. The reminder that "God does not sign off on people who sign off on Him" is a reminder every single professing Christian needs to remember. Loaded with powerful quotes worth further reflection and practically applicable to the life of all who desire to intercede effectually and effectively for their loved one, I highly recommend this book.
I received this book for free from Chosen Books in return for the purpose of review. The opinions expressed are completely my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Call To Praying For Our Families

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Seeking Disciple
Location:Lexington, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always appreciated the ministry of Jack Hayford. His passion for worship, his heart for God and His Word, and his desire to see the people of God seeking God’s face in prayer. This aspect, intercessory prayer, has been my passion as well. So much can be done on our knees before a sovereign God who hears our cries and answers our prayers. We read the promises in the Word concerning prayer but too often we are not motivated to pray, too lazy to seek God’s face, too full of the world to really see our desperate need for Christ. Hayford’s book is a call to intercessory prayer. The very title, The Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, with the subtitle, “Unleashing God’s power in the lives of those you love” should capture our hearts as we long for the Lord to touch those around us. Especially our own families.
Yet this book is unique in that Hayford’s focus is not merely on seeking God for the nations. Certainly that is commanded by God in Scripture (Psalm 2:8; 1 Timothy 2:1-7). But Hayford takes intercessory prayer in this book to focus on praying for our families and loved ones. How many of our loved ones need a touch from God? How many of our loved ones need salvation? This book focuses us on praying for those purposes. It is call to intercede for God to move in our own homes. This takes the work of intercession from a world-wide focus to a focus on those directly whom we love. How often do we fail to pray for those right around us.
In this book Hayford looks at prayer and he applies it directly to our human relationships. The focus is not just on praying for our children or spouse but upon those in the church as well. Relationships of all kinds are transformed through prayer. The book is very encouraging as we see the call to not just pray but to be specific in prayer. Along the way Hayford uses both Scripture and practical experiences from Christians (including himself) to show us how God has used intercessory prayer to touch lives for His glory.
I was encouraged to pray by reading this book. Much like the books of Jim Cymbala on prayer, Hayford knows the power that God has for those who will cry out to Him. He knows that God hears and answers prayers and his call is a call to be specific in our praying. Jesus said that His disciples would pray (Matthew 6:5). Do you pray? Does your heart long to be a 1 Thessalonians 5:17 disciple who knows what it means to commune with your God? This book will no doubt help you build your passion to touch the throne of God.
This review is based on a review copy sent to me by Chosen Books, a division of Baker Books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Re-run

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
amyjdj
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this purchase. I bought it for a friend who likes Jack Hayford. I saw it was a new publication, so I felt assured she wouldn't have it. Upon receiving it, I see it is the same book published in 2009 Praying For Those You Love -- just a new cover and title -- the very book I gave my friend 3 years ago. Your description of the book should include the information that it has already been published under another title. I feel jipped.
Response from Christianbook.com:By Internet MarketingDecember 6, 2012
The copy has been updated to indicate that this title is a re-release under a new title..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Inspiring

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Veronica Simply Me
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture
I recently had the opportunity to read and review The Secrets of Intercessory Prayer by Jack Hayford, once I started reading the book, I could not put it down!!!
Within three pages I was hooked. Wonderfully written, saturated in God's promises and easy to read with practical tips make this a MUST have book for everyone.
I enjoyed that this book looked into our own thoughts/opinions and how that sometimes hinders us in our prayer life. Sometimes we get so caught up in the "ME" thinking that we forget we were created to depend on God for everything. I also enjoyed how Pastor Hayford related the Biblical truths to life today; showing that the bible still pertains, that it is not outdated.
Two very powerful chapters for me:
* Chapter 3 - War Against the Spirit of Separation. This chapter opened my eyes to the ways I have hindered my own prayers for others. How quickly satan can blind us and make us indifferent to others.
* Chapter 11 - Praying for Someone You Don't Want to Pray For. We have all been there. We have all had people that we rather not pray for. We fall into a trap of turning our backs on those who don't think or act like we do. We say it's because they don't live a Christian lifestyle, never realizing how un-Christian we have become by living with that thinking.
If you are looking to deepen your prayer life or you are just starting to pray, this book is for you. I can't quite put into words how inspiring and powerful it is.
I received a free copy of this book to review from Chosen Books
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Secrets of Intercessory Prayer, The: Unleashing God's Power in the Lives of Those You Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Partnering With God In Prayer

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Noreen
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Chosen Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group, to review. I have listened to Jack Hayford for many years on christian radio stations, so was familiar with his teachings and character. For any person who longs to see answered prayer in their lives or the lives of their loved ones, this is definitely a book to read. The topics cover a wide range but include answering God's invitation to partnership, how to apply promises from the word, how to pray for someone you'd rather not pray for. A concise book of just 12 chapters, Pastor Hayford shares biblical truths, principles and specifics on how to unleash God's power in the lives of those we love. I found it easy reading but it caused me to stop and really dig deeper. For those who love prayer and praying for others, this is a must read.
I was given this book for my honest review; I think it is a book that should be on our bookshelves at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.