Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1

Tyndale House For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1

Escaping her legalistic upbringing, Camilla Deardon runs away from home to marry and start a family with Nathan, a young Mormon. But when the church elders give Nathan the honor of taking a second wife, Camilla questions this special revelation and remembers her childhood faith. Will she be able to save herself and her children? 384 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Review 1 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
This review is fromFor Time and Eternity - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An eye opener!

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very much enjoyed this book! It's a story about the passionate love that binds Camilla and Nathan, and their strong faith. However, as Camilla's faith matures she seeks more and more to know the truth of the Bible as God reveals it to her and she knows she must stand up for what she believes in. The story ends rather abruptly so you may want to have book #2 in the series near by! Allison Pittman is a great Christian writer - I will definitely be looking for more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this novel! I thought it was powerfully written, especially from a mother's perspective! I thought it was so amazing to see Camilla grow in her faith once she realized that the Word of God does not need to be changed by the prophet Joseph Smith or anyone else for that matter! It was so heart-wrenching to see Camilla leave her family behind, but I know she was doing what God wanted her to do and plus its not like she had much choice since Elder Justus said she had to go! I am looking forward to the next book! I also thought it was very eye-opening to see what women experienced in Mormonism where the husband had many wives or was going to take on another wife! I could not imagine having to go through something like that and if I did I think I would be how Rachel was where she had bitterness in her heart because of the situation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
This review is fromFor Time and Eternity - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. For Time and Eternity is a good Christian fiction book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Jackson
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this to be a very well written book written by an author who tells a story in the way that it touches your heart from beginning to end. I couldn't put it down and am glad I purchased the second book in the series at the same time for I want to continue to read on. I was glad a portion of the second book was included in the first book and also the " Conversation with the author".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not sure why a gifted author took a "band-wagon" subject matter from TV and tried to turn it into a Christian fiction work. Not at all what I expected.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
This review is fromFor Time and Eternity - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book that left me wishing for more

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
homefire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was an interesting look at the early Mormon society and the pressures within that society. It was a good read, and I want to read the next in the series now!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Londonderry, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow-this was a wonderful book! I intended to read just a little bit of this book per night, like I usually do with most of my books, but I could not put this one down! I ended up reading for a couple hours each night and was really tired the next morning when I had to go to work! I looked forward to reading the next part. It was so compelling and unlike any other book that I have ever read. I did not know alot about the Mormons and I really felt like I was there with Camilla and could feel her pain as Nathan took a second wife and as she became disillusioned with Mormonism. It was wonderful how it drove her to really understand the Bible and what she believed. I just loved this book-can't wait for the sequel!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS BOOK IS A NICE SURPRISE!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
COOKIE
Location:AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SINCE I DON'T READ BOOK JACKETS I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED WHEN I GOT INTO THE STORYLINE OF "FOR TIME AND ETERNITY". THE AUTHOR WAS UNKOWN TO ME, BUT ALLISON PITTMAN IS ON THE TOP OF MY LIST NOW!
I READ FROM 11 P.M. TO 4 A.M. AND WAS DISAPPOINTED THAT I WAS FINISHED!! CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE NEXT BOOK IN THE SERIES.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Needed in our world today.

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bette
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waiting patiently for the second in the series of Time and Eternity....it's coming! Thank you, Allison, for your very informative and inspiriing book, and for not leaving your many readers disappointed. I am so eager to read the sequel. Knowing where Allison's experience is coming from, places great value and confidence in this story.
"And a highway will be there ....called the Way of Holiness...but only the redeemed will walk there and the ransomed of the Lord...will return". Isaiah 35:8-10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down, read it one morning. Great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mazy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story kept me unwilling to put the book down!! Can't wait for the second in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
This review is fromFor Time and Eternity - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Vs Mormon - Who Will Win ?

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: For Time and Eternity - Allison Pittman - Book #1 Sister Wife Series - August 2010
For Time and Eternity is the first of a series by Allison Pittman and follows the life of Camilla Deardon , in June 1850 where our novel starts we see Camilla as a fifteen year old girl who finds herself torn between what she believes and the mormon way of life as living next door to Camilla is a Mormon Church camp and when Camillia meets teen Nathan Fox , for both of them it is love at first sight. So Camilla , does what any lovestruck teenager does and leaves her family and everything she has ever believed in to move in with Nathan at the Mormon Cult. Soon Camilla has left everything she has ever known and married Nathan and become a Sister Bride , in the next five years we see Camilla become a mother to three children and lose one baby boy and we also see the introduction of Nathan's second wife Amanda which will be the turning point of the novel as Camilla soon re-discovers that the life of Mormon's goes against everything she believed and was taught and that there really is no God in the Mormon Church, just false prophets. We read as Camilla starts to teach her children and their housekeeper about the "true" god and read as the consequences of her actions are carried out , this novel leaves you on a bit of a cliffhanger but at least it provides at the end of the novel - a first chapter insight into the second novel in the series "Forsaking All Others'. Included in "For Time and Eternity" is also a readers Discussion Guide and a Q & A with the author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant and Unparalleled

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Time & Eternity, Allison Pittman
5 stars
The first installment of Allison Pittman’s The Sister Wife Series is a poignant introduction to Camilla Deardon’s story that will resonate with readers long after the last word is read. For Time & Eternity introduces readers to Camilla’s journey from her Christian home to life in a Mormon community. Captivated by the handsome and charming Nathan Fox, Camilla chooses to leave her strict home and embrace the love offered by Nathan and his fellow Mormons. While her marriage and family flourishes in the beginning, the less ideal aspects of the Mormon faith are soon unveiled. For Time & Eternity is a story of love, faith, and sacrifice, and Camilla must make challenging and life-changing decisions.
I have been a fan of Allison Pittman’s work since reading her first novel, Ten Thousand Charms, and I have enjoyed each of her novels. For Time & Eternity tops my 2010 reading list. Allison Pittman delves into a theological subject matter without creating novel that is too “preachy” or heavy. Camilla’s story intrigued me from the first page and kept me engrossed until the very end. I empathized with Camilla’s plight and mourned her losses. The novel lingers in my mind and I often discuss it with my sister, who also read the novel. Very rarely am I so moved by a novel, and I am anxiously awaiting the next chapter in Camilla’s life. For Time & Eternity is not a light read. In fact, it can be somewhat heartbreaking, but it is indescribably moving. This is a must-read novel that will long remain on my bookshelf and in my heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This novel crackles with tension!

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first novel by Allison Pittman, and she gets 3 cheers for such a well written, in depth, emotionally and spiritually charged story that keeps you turning the pages well past bedtime! The detail is enough that you have a clear picture of the depth of Camilla's struggle both spiritually and emotionally with the Mormon doctrine. I actually found myself loudly claiming...."NOOOOOO...." as she realized her husband took a second wife. It is a novel that will not soon be forgotten...and you know what website I'll be on when the sequel comes out in 2011!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2010
Allison Pittman can flat write a book...period. If it had not been for a suggestion from a friend of mine several years ago, I doubt I would've ever discovered Allison's books. Since then, though, I've become a fan through and through. Her historical novels always seem to have some a little different from all the rest--sometimes, it's unique characters, but almost always, it's a story that pulls at my emotions from start to finish.
For Time and Eternity was a novel I wanted to read from the first moment I read the description. I've been on a little bit of a kick with this particular book "style" lately, and I knew Allison's take on this point in history would not disappoint. It also helped that she had first-hand knowledge of the Mormon church and their practices. Now, I'm not Mormon, I don't know any Mormons, but I do have a basic knowledge of their beliefs. What really saddens me is how many people were drawn into this religion in it's early years, maybe before they were fully aware of what they were getting into. Honestly, what sane woman wants to share her husband? Um, not me. Thankfully, as a church they have eliminated all practices of polygamy, but it's still a part of their history. Now, only the FLDS (Fundamentalist Latter-Day Saints) participate in polygamy.
I felt all of Camilla's emotions through this entire book. Camilla had more on her young shoulders than most people have when they're twice her age, and she had so many decisions that she had to make...some that were split-second. One came when she had to choose between her parents and this new boy, Nathan Fox. She barely knew him, and she didn't understand why her parents didn't want her around him. After time, their reasons became very clear. And thankfully, Camilla's mother insisted that she read her Bible daily, and journal a verse every day. This early nurturing in Scripture would be the difference maker in Camilla's adult, married life.
If you decide to read For Time and Eternity, let me warn you that this is not your typical novel--not just because it has both Mormon and Christian elements, but because it will literally have your emotions on overdrive from page one through to the very end. It was an excellent story that was heartbreaking, but beautifully told. My only complaint was that it didn't last long enough!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Time & Eternity

Date:October 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucinda Pruss
Location:Aurora, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book tonight. WOW what a wonderful book! I believe God is going to use this book to bring some people out living in the darkness. I have read three different sister wife books this year from various authors, and this one is my absolute favorite. A must read that will not dissapoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
For Time & Eternity, the first book in The Sister Wife series by Allison Pittman, was very interesting to me because I hadnt ever read a Christian historical fiction novel about Mormon culture. Being raised in Utah, and married to an ex-Mormon, Allison definitely knows her subject matter. In this book, Allison writes about the Mormon marriage ceremony in great detail and I wondered how she knew so much about the sacred and secretive ritual. As part of her research, she spent time in Salt Lake City at Temple Square and also read The Book of Mormon and The Doctrine and the Covenants, as well as talking with and reading posts by ex-Mormons on various online forums. I cannot wait to read the 2nd book in this series. My full review is posted on my website at Cafe Lily Book Reviews.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Titus Osborn
For Time and Eternity by Allison Pittman gives an excellent portrayal of the life on the frontier of a young woman named Camillia who chose to follow her heart after a young man named Nathan Fox. She knew nothing about Mormonism as she took that step into the unknown, but she soon discovered that to abide by their theology would greatly compromise her biblical teaching as well as her Christian faith.Susan Titus Osborn, director of the Christian Communicator Manuscript Critique Service and author of 30 books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kyna Stanley
I loved this book! When I was done with it I went back and re-read it. The only problem is the second book does not come out for another year. Unlike most series this first book ends in a "to be continued" sort of way. Therefore if you don't want to have to wait a year you may want to get it when the second one comes out. I wish I would have. GREAT READ!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for For Time & Eternity, Sister Wife Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Edwards, Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
Stunning. Beautiful. Breathtaking. Incredible. I could go on and on with descriptions of this book. Allison Pittman is not a new to me author, but I must say that this book, this breath taking start of what is sure to be a wonderful new series, is her best book yet. There aren't enough words to describe what I felt as I read this book. In For Time and Eternity, Pittman introduces us to Camilla and Nathan. You see, they are Mormons. When I read that, I was really anxious and curious to see if this book was like some of the others I have read about the Mormons and multiple marriages. Alas, I was surprised! It was NOT like those others...it was better! I fell in love with Camilla and Nathan and felt their struggles through out. They were brave and courageous with their feelings and decisions. I prayed for them through out as if they were a part of me. This is most definitely a story that will go a long way. Their may be some out there who don't agree with this style of writing about the Mormons. But that is their opinion. I, on the other hand, loved this story, and was so glad to read a novel with the same concept of some of the others that I have read on this subject, but with the skill and tender care that Pittman put forth in creating this amazing new novel. I give this novel a shining 5 star review. It's unique and full of inspirational messages, along with the breathtaking love story of Camilla and Nathan. Please, I encourage each of you to give this novel a try. You may find that you are like me, and will anxiously await the release of book 2 in this series, though sadly, that won't be until 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>