Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Auschwitz Escape

Tyndale House The Auschwitz Escape

With unspeakable violence escalating against his fellow Jews, Jacob Weisz joins rebel forces working to undermine the Nazi regime. But after a raid goes horribly wrong, he's shipped to a death camp. With the fate of millions in the balance, can Jacob manage an against-all-odds escape---and alert the world to Hitler's actions?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Auschwitz Escape
Review 1 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite read this summer!

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Auschwitz Escape is my favorite book so far in my summer reading adventure. I say this with the caveat that probably my favorite genre of literature is historical fiction, of which this book is a part. I learned many things about the experience of the Nazi “death camps” that I didn’t know before, most importantly, that there actually were some successful escapes. When you read of the great lengths the Nazis took to keep people in, to keep those on the outside from knowing what was really going on, it truly is remarkable that some managed to get out. Even more surprising was how hard it seemed to get those outside to believe what was really going on inside. I imagine from the perspective of the day, it does seem unbelievable that this could possibly be happening.
I really appreciated the “Author’s Note” in the back that listed many facts (and the places that he strayed ever-so-slightly) of the true story, along with a list of sources he consulted when writing his novel. I have already put a couple of those books on my library list for later. It is important, especially in today’s world with so many little “internal” wars that seem to seek to provide ethnic cleansing, that we continue to remember things like Auschwitz and what the world’s failure to realize what was happening allowed. As Santayana wrote (in The Life of Reason, 1905): “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
CathyRN
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warning...once you start this book you will NOT want to put it down. I have been interested in WWII and the Holocaust for a long time, and have read many books about it. This novel is based on real events (the escape) and the author grabs you from the first page. While the story is about the Holocaust and the death camps, it is also a story of brave men and women who tried to do what their faith tells them to do and also a love story. I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a great story that is based on fact.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Suspense

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found Rosenberg’s Auschwitz Escape to be full of suspense, adventure, and I could not put it down until I had read the last page. The setting begins in Germany during World War 2. Jacob is like any other man: he loves his family and supports them sufficiently, however he and his family are Jewish. The Nazi regime comes to power under the leadership of Adolf Hitler and Jacob’s life changes forever. Just one night of horrible violence by the Nazi’s causes Jacob to join an underground resistance group where he meets a Christian pastor, Luc. Working with Luc, Jacob helps during a rescue operation that goes terribly wrong and Jacob becomes one of the thousands on an overcrowded, unsanitary train headed to Auschwitz. While in the concentration camp, Jacob’s life changed even more as he saw the cruelty of the Nazis. He was a quiet man by nature but he found the courage to speak up despite the risk of losing his life for it. Though hundreds had already tried to escape Auschwitz and failed, Jacob was determined to be the one that did so he could tell the Allies what the Nazis were doing to not only his people, but all those who tried to help them. With tremendous courage and a struggling faith in his God, Jacob took the first step in escaping the camp. But, will Jacob find success or will he be just another casualty of Auschwitz? I found this book to be not only very well-written and mind-captivating, but also accurate to the conditions of the concentration camps. This is an excellent book to read because though it is hard to imagine people being treated as the Jewish people were, the message is important so we can make sure it never happens again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense and Riveting; Recommended

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are familiar with the horrors of Auschwitz, but this brings them to us from a personal perspective, with the main character’s emotions and reactions portrayed in a gut-wrenching, dramatic style. The history rings true, and the fictional characters act in a realistic manner. Real people are mentioned within the plot, with real events woven in. The young man matures admirably, albeit forcibly, under the atrocities. My husband was fascinated by the concepts and the history, so he plans to read it next. The history was well researched and quite educational. I am inspired to peruse more sources after reading this intense novel, and the Author’s Note in the back refers books and films I will use to do that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WWII Escape From Concentration Camp Thriller

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joel C. Rosenberg in his book “The Auschwitz Escape” published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us into the lives of Jacob Weisz and Jean-Luc LeClerc.
From the inside jacket flap: A terrible darkness has fallen upon Jacob Weisz’s beloved Germany. The Nazi regime, under the leadership of Adolf Hitler, has surged to power and now holds Germany by the throat. All non-Aryans–especially Jews like Jacob and his family–are treated like dogs.
When tragedy strikes during one terrible night of violence, Jacob flees and joins rebel forces working to undermine the regime. But after a raid goes horribly wrong, Jacob finds himself in a living nightmare–trapped in a crowded, stinking car on the train to the Auschwitz death camp.
As World War II rages and Hitler begins implementing his “final solution” to systematically and ruthlessly exterminate the Jewish people, Jacob must rely on his wits and a God he’s not sure he believes in to somehow escape from Auschwitz and alert the world to the Nazi’s atrocities before Fascism overtakes all of Europe. The fate of millions hangs in the balance.
History, World War II and The Concentration Camps. World War II was an extremely dark time on our planet and The Nazis with their Concentration Camps just made it even worse. Hitler wanted to exterminate the Jews and set into motion this evil plan. The wonderful thing is there really was a city that the people were trying to smuggle Jews out of France. Here Jean-Luc is captured and is sent to Auschwitz where he meets up with the captured Jacob. There really was an escape attempt and this book is based on that escape. This book is a thriller as mostly everyone’s lives are in great danger. This book is entertaining and will have you flipping pages as fast as you can read but, be prepared, it is also thought-provoking and will have you looking up from the page going, “wow”. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Rosenberg is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Auschwitz Escape is one of the best books I have read this year. Starting on page one was where the action began and stayed that way all the way to the end. I could not put this book down. I had to keep turning the pages because I did not want to miss anything. The author has a way to make you feel as though you are the one running from the Nazis. I was constantly sitting on the edge of my seat and rooting for Jacob all the way. I am amazed at how the author described the horrific conditions and atrocities of Auschwitz concentration camps.
I cannot say enough how great this book is. It is phenomenal. I was truly moved to tears by the end. I cannot imagine what all those people went through. This the best World War II era novel I have ever read. I would love to see this book made into a film. Joel C Rosenberg’s masterful writing is superb and powerful. Definitely a must read for all. It is one book I hope to reread again soon. I highly recommend it. A well-deserved 5 plus stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Auschwitz Escape by Joel C. Rosenberg is about a young Jewish boy named Jacob Weisz. He suffers greatly against the Nazis and even gets sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. We get a glimpse of the atrocities in the camp and the reactions of those outside it.
Having read Mr. Rosenberg's previous series, I was eager to read another of his books. It was a very difficult book to read because of the heinous and horrible crimes committed against the Jewish people at the hands of Adolf Hitler and his Nazis disgust my very soul. I began this book in tears and ended it in tears. At first I wasn't sure I would be able to finish it. I did and I'm glad I did. It was another incredibly well written story with lots of real history interwoven. The characters are rich and complex. If you enjoy suspense at all you will enjoy this book. It wasn't as difficult as I expected but the subject matter is generally well known and sometimes hard to read knowing that these things really happened to the Jewish people at Auschwitz. Nonetheless it was a very well written book and I'm glad I read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible book!

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible book! One part that really hit me was how, although this is a fiction book, Joel Rosenberg has told a story that is true. There were some escapes from Auschwitz; the escapees tried desperately to get the news out about what was happening there and to keep more Jews from getting on the trains to death; and even that some people even in the camps sent letters trying to warn family members about the concentration camps. So many of the events in the book were factual and meticulously researched by the author. Yet the story he weaves is both fascinating and horrifying.
At the beginning of the story I wondered how the characters being introduced would tie together but as the story progressed I found myself hoping they would be the ones saved – and some were, and some weren’t.
Another part of the book I enjoyed was the tie in between the Christians and the Jews, and how at one point one character tells another that the “question shouldn’t be, ‘Why are you, a Christian, here in a death camp, condemned for trying to save Jews?’ The real question is, ‘Why aren’t all the Christians here?’” Later Jedrick says that he is helping them (escapees) “because the Bible teaches us to love the Jews.”
And finally I really appreciated the epilogue which tied up so many loose ends! This book was riveting and made me think of how Christians should not sit back, confident that justice will prevail – that atrocities cannot happen in this modern, “civilized” society. I highly recommend The Auschwitz Escape!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stardust Fiddle
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Do not be overcome with evil, but overcome evil with good.”
Epic in scope, Joel Rosenberg’s “The Auschwitz Escape” is a work of historical fiction that is both breathtaking and heartbreaking. Young and naïve Jacob Wiesz, guided by his beloved Uncle Avi, joins the Resistance movement in Belgium after he is forced to flee his native Germany. Meanwhile, Jean-Luc Leclerc, an assistant pastor in Vichy France, answers God’s call to love his neighbor and the Jewish people by helping as many of them escape to safety as possible. Unfortunate circumstances land both men in the Auschwitz death camp, and while their approaches differ, they end up interacting in an unexpected and potentially dangerous way. Jacob has never been religious and cannot fathom how a loving God could allow such widespread genocide, and he makes it his mission to survive and try to help his people in any way possible, while Jean-Luc never questions his faith in God or his calling to help the Lord’s chosen people. Together, can the two men make a difference in this place of hellish devastation?
With “The Auschwitz Escape,” Rosenberg crafts an incredible thriller that readers will not be able to put down. Despite its sordid subject matter, Rosenberg handles the story with grace and clean language, drawing upon true accounts and several historical figures. The narrative focuses mostly on Jacob and his experiences, and despite the plethora of Holocaust books already published, this one is unique in its focus and approach. It teaches that even in the darkest hours, there is hope and a place for miracles. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction, Holocaust and WWII literature, and heart-pounding suspense will find “The Auschwitz Escape” a must-read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Auschwitz Escape
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Haven't stopped thinking about it since I read it

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Connie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrests. Imprisonments. Slave-labor camps. Torture beyond imagination. Mass murders. This was the Nazi-imposed fate for all Jews and all those protecting them. Word was spreading like wildfire throughout Europe.
The warnings reached Jacob Weisz, and he resolved to join an underground resistance group. When a rescue operation went awry in April 1943, Jacob became one of hundreds of thousands shipped by train to concentration camps. Auschwitz – a place where the “ovens never stopped working and the chimney never stopped belching out its black, putrid smoke along with the ashes of human bodies that fell from the sky like snowflakes morning, noon and night.” Mostly Jews.
The volume of people brutally captured from their homes and shipped to death factories multiplied daily. As conditions worsened, Jacob found resolve and strength he did not know he had. “The Nazis had taken away his name, his clothes, his dignity. But only he could give away his will to fight, and he resolved not to do it.” Close to 800 people had tried to escape. No one made it. Maybe he would!
Life in a death camp changed Jacob. He used to be timid; now he had something to say and would risk his life to say it. He was determined to escape to expose the atrocities to Jewish and Allied leaders, if only to keep one more Jew from being sucked into the Nazi killing machine.
This book was born from the author’s visit to Auschwitz in 2011. Vivid characters, disturbing but realistic details, and compelling writing brings this horrific time in history to life. The book leaves the reader with the questions: Do I put this information back on the shelf of history, or do I look for ways to care for and protect the Jewish people today?
Why should Christians care about the Jews? A couple who protected Jacob in his escape answered this way, “Our Savior was Jewish. His disciples were Jewish. They were born in Israel. They lived in the Promised Land. Jesus died on the cross in Jerusalem. He was raised from the dead in Jerusalem….and our Savior is coming back again to reign and rule from Jerusalem….You’re from the same family and people as our Savior, Jacob.”
The Auschwitz Escape is an important part of the author’s other writings, all focusing on the dangers the nation and people of Israel face in the world. The parallels between this 1940’s European context and the present-day Middle East perils are crucial to understand as humanity faces the potential of another holocaust. Every world leader and citizen should read this book.
(I received a complimentary copy from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for an honest and objective review.)
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.