Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD

Tyndale House What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD

In DVD #5, Buck Denver and cast take us through the next books of the Bible: 1 and 2 Samuel. The two episodes focus on three of the most influential kings of Israel (Saul, David, and Solomon). And the Tricky Bits section defines the Trinity (after we learn that the Spirit of the Lord fell upon David). The DVD highlights God's promise to David and how the promise impacts the salvation story. We also see what happens when David (and the other kings) sin against God. Kids learn that there are consequences for sin! Each episode about 30 minutes long.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Review 1 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best children DVD!!

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teia
Location:Penang, Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DVD, my 6 year old daughter was clued to the TV. Very good content. I recommend for children 5 and up. It is very good for adults too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent series for children of all ages.

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
JohnV
Location:Chelmsford, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent series for children and children of all ages. I highly recommend this series. A few minor things are not in harmony with Orthodox Christianity from which the Bible sprang but all in all excellent.
Very funny. It makes you think. Thank you Phil and company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids love to watch again and again

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
John J
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My six year old son has learned a lot from this DVD series. Now they keep guessing when the next one will be released!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

impressed with how much the kids remember

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Davida
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grand kids are 9 and 12 years old - they absolutely love this series! It is funny, keeps their attention, yet God's word is explained without any hesitation to talk about the tough subjects. Kids not only walk away with the facts, but meaning and application. I am very impressed with how much of it the children remember. They are watching these DVDs over and over -- we look forward to each new one that comes on the market!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Durwinus
Location:Tucson,AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb! Just like the other WITB videos. I especially liked the way they pointed out that even though David was forgiven for his sins, he still had to deal with their consequences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun and educational DVD about the Bible.

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Simply Shop and Save
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given the opportunity to review What's In the Bible: Israel Gets A King as an official member of the Street Team. As an adult, I lOVE THIS DVD! This is the first DVD that I have seen from this series...
As a child growing up and not attending church, I had no idea about what was in the Bible. All I knew pretty well knew was a song about the names of the books of the Bible from Vacation Bible School. The reason I appreciate this series is because it's a great way to reach a young audience to know the basic content of the Bible. If you are unfamiliar with the Bible or one who has never walked into the church, then go for it and take a look at What's in the Bible series to discover what's in the Bible and about God!
In Israel Get's a King, Phil through the DVD cleverly answers questions that children, teens and adults normally ask;
the explanation of the trinity, that God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit are each equally and eternally the one true God
salvation (God's rescue plan).
With regards to children watching the movie, I showed it to a group of children ages 5- 8 years old in my church and they LOVED IT TOO! They really enjoyed learning the story of Saul, David, and Solomon and the DVD totally captured their attention. The music is upbeat; the characters have various personalities and are funny; and the concise Bible stories are unparralled to anything that I have seen. It's a series that are a MUST HAVE for children and parents.
I have one question--Phil Vischer, when are we going to visually see Pierre?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT and EXCITING Overview of I & II Samuel!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family was recently exposed to the fairly new DVD series for children called What’s in the Bible. Keeping in mind that we are jumping in here with DVD #5, from what I’ve seen of this DVD What’s in the Bible is a zany, but comprehensive overview of the Bible for children. The fifth DVD in the series – Israel Gets a King! gives children an overview of I Samuel, II Samuel, and part of I Kings – the life of King Saul, King David, and King Solomon.
Created by Phil Vischer (one of the creators of the ever-popular Veggie Tales) the series exudes the same wild sense of humor that Vischer brings to his projects. We even get to see Phil in the flesh as he handles parts of the speaking in the series. Basically, the cast is a crew of puppets (no veggies – all humanoid), Phil, and a few other voices and people. They have come together to form a television show (think The Muppets – there is even a pair of elderly ladies who watch the show on their TV.) that educates children about the Bible. There is quite an assortment of puppets, personalities, voices etc. that make my children laugh out loud and keeps them entertained while they learn. The puppets and Phil switch off speaking parts very often to keep children engaged.
The DVD is divided into two parts – each complete with theme song and ending segments, so you can watch the parts independently (around 30 minutes each), or in a single sitting. There is also standard chapter navigation built in. Part one revolves around Saul and David up until the point when Saul dies. Part two covers David’s reign and Solomon’s life.
This is a great, grammar-stage overview of the main people, places, and events of the books covered. This would be an excellent way to get a big-picture view of certain parts of the Bible before reading those books together as a family. Unlike Veggie Tales episodes that fictionalize and simplify biblical events for young children, What’s in the Bible is very up-front about even the aspects of these men’s lives that are typically omitted from children’s Bible stories. I love that. I can’t tell you how much.
Not only does this DVD not shy away from David’s adultery and Solomon’s 700 wives but it interprets these events correctly through God’s word, displays the consequences of disobedience, and shows God’s mercy when repentance is present. It is beautifully done and challenges children to decide which king THEY want to be like in their response to their inevitable sins and shortcomings. Brilliant. The series is also careful to weave God’s plan of salvation throughout the entire Bible, even back in I Samuel.
There is also a “Big Idea” segment where important theological truths are shared. In episode #5 the trinity is tackled. That’s a big idea for sure! It is very well done and my husband has referenced it a few times already when speaking of God with our children (he really digs this DVD too).
There are fun songs, colorful puppets, popsicle stick theater segments, flannelgraphs – all very upbeat and attention grabbing. I asked my children what they thought, “Hilarious!” They are 8, 5, and 2 – they will all sit through the entire DVD AND bonus features (bloopers, deleted scenes, and a popsicle stick theater skit about a melon monkey – think the boy who cried wolf). We have watched this DVD together as a family twice and my children are always glued to the screen. Better yet, they are retaining what they learn and sharing it with us at meal times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What's in the Bible? #5: Israel Gets a King! DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Entertainment and Education

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to help your children learn more than just bible stories this is the DVD series for you!
With a mix of live action, animation and puppets Phil Vischer has created a new way to teach children all about the bible. I really appreciate the fact that this is more than just bible stories. It is filled with easy to understand definitions, historical information concerning the times, places and customs of the people, and in -depth teaching about the books.
This is the 5th in the What's In the Bible series. It is conveniently seperated into two parts: the first being 1 Samual, the second being 2 Samuel and the first part of 1 Kings.
Micheal introduces this first part by saying that we will learn about the "intangible value of unseen people". The children are taught about Isreal's request for a king to lead them. After annointing a tall and impressive King Saul the Isrealites are pleased with their choice when he takes care of the Philistines. However, from Saul children are taught that "God doesn't want us to be impressive, He wants us to be obedient". This is a lesson all of us need to hear, but it is especially important for children to grab hold of this invaluable truth since the world is always telling our children what they have to do and be in order to be useful or important. In this section children see that obedience to God is what matters and that it is the best thing you can do. In this section children are also introduced to David and the trinity. I am so impressed with the way that the trinity is explained and illustrated in this video!!! Such a complex thing to explain and yet with the use of puppets, and song Phil Vischer slams the definition home. The song is cute and catchy and any child will easily remember it.
The second part is introduced by the Pirate singing "David was a King and he did lots of things...." I just love all the music and funny jokes that are hidden in this. The theology that is taught is biblically sound but is brought down to a child's level in comedy, story and song. These things will not be quickly forgotten. How many children do you know that can explain what the Davidic Covenant was and why it was so important? - - - You will know a lot more after this video is shown around.
This sections chronicles the life of David - and even explores the story of David and Bathsheba. I thought the way this was handled and explained made it very easy for children at any age to understand. The outstanding lesson taught is the correct attitude of repentence (including a very thourogh definition of the word repent); and the difference between God's forgiveness and the consequences of sin. Children learn that although God will forgive them when they repent, they must still face the consequences of this sin. I loved the puppet's comment, "Once again sin messes up a perfectly good story".
This ends with another cute and catchy song about David
"2 Samuel the book that tells
the reign of David the King of Isreal
He had some highs, he had some lows
Read 2 Samuel to learn about those....."
then it concludes - -
"Just like you and I do David messed up
Let's just say he did some pretty bad stuff
But he was really, really sorry for missing the mark
that's why he was called a guy after God's own heart..."
Overall this is an excellent video for children of all ages - even adults will enjoy it.
Thank you Tyndale for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.