Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook

Summerside Press Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook

A young woman traveling the Oregon Trail in 1841 must rely on a stranger to bring her to safety. After losing her parents along the trail to Oregon Country, Samantha Waldron and her young brother, Daniel, must overcome tremendous challenges to reach the Willamette Valley before winter. When their canoe capsizes on the Columbia River, they rely on handsome British exporter Alexander Clarke to escort them to Fort Vancouver. A number of men vie for Samantha's affections, but the only one who intrigues her is the one she cannot have. When Alex's betrothed arrives from Britain, Samantha becomes determined to create a home far away from the fort. But when Daniel disappears into the wilderness alone one night, Samantha must rely on the man she loves to rescue her brother before it's too late.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Review 1 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Typical Christian Historical Read

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am partial to books where the setting is the Pacific Northwest. The Oregon Trail is always a fascination for me, and it was nice to read a well-researched book that took place during the time of great Westward expansion. It was also nice that this is a clean romance with Christian principles--always a plus.
I liked Samantha--nice, strong Pioneer woman. And her brother, Daniel, was the typical boy who often got himself into scrapes. Then you had Alex, the English gentleman who prefers the "Wild West." The characters were the typical stereotypical characters for this kind of romance, but at least they were well-developed. The author even threw a few surprises into the plot that made things interesting.
I appreciated the fact that there was no sex nor profanity. I could have done with a little more about God and Christianity. Yes, Christian principles were there, but sometimes I didn't see the characters' faith as well as I would have liked to. I also didn't see the romance budding between the characters in the same way I would like to, but that didn't diminish my enjoyment of the book.
The Pacific Northwest landscape in the book was truly a joy for me to read about. To read about Fort Vancouver, the Willamette Valley, Mt. Hood, and the Columbia River was truly a nice treat. When you live in the Pacific Northwest, it's nice to read about such familiar areas. There are enough books written about New York, California, and England, but very few about my neck of the woods!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable!

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story of a strong woman, who was willing to take stand up for what was right.
A bit slow to start, this book intrigued me with it's many well developed characters. I thought this book was especially interesting because it wasn't your typical Oregon Trail journey, it was about some of the wagon trains that actually blazed the trail instead of just following it!
Samantha, the main character, is very strong and I liked how she was willing to take a stand. And there were many other great characters like the Kneedlers. I thought that the characters acted very realistcally, and I could understand why there was probably more than a little conflict along the way!
This story was almost like three different stories interwoven into one, which I really liked because then I got to see more stories than just one. One of my favorites was Jack and Aliyah's :)
Overall, I found this book very enjoyable, and the more I think back on it the more things I find to appreciate. I really liked how this book was more than a romance, it was about the struggle, the journey, the challenge, and the hardship of leaving everything they'd ever known, of some very courageous people who blazed the trail west. The characters were well written, and I came to really like Samantha and Alex, as well as many others like Micah, Samantha's brother. This is a book I would happily recommend :)
I received this book through Litfuse from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good historical novel

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
admom
Location:Liberal, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book had great story line and historical points also couldn't put it down A great read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3 stars

Date:October 18, 2012
Melanie Dobson's latest offering, Where the Trail Ends, is part of the new Tapestries of America series from Summerside Press. When Samantha's family sets out for Oregon, they are confident that they are traveling to a better life. Along the way, they face many obstacles and Samantha and her brother must finish their journey alone. Samantha is determined to make a good life for them and must rely on the new friends she meets at Fort Vancouver to help them.
I had high hopes for this book, but it fell a little short for me. While it was marketed as a romance, I found it to be more ... "romance light." The story was more of a combination adventure / coming-of-age story. The book started out fairly slow, but about halfway through it picked up and I got really into it. Dobson does a great job of giving readers a great picture of life on the Oregon Trail. What a hard journey! As a fan of Melanie Dobson's previous books, this wasn't my favorite, but I'll definitely read whatever she writes in the future. [3 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Summerside Press and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well researched historical novel

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melanie's book portrays a group of Americans traveling West in 1842 over what came to be known as The Oregon Trail. They were some of the first. In 1843, Melanie says in her Author Notes, more than nine hundred men, women, and children emigrated in what is now known as “the Great Migration.” “During the next twenty years, approximately three hundred thousand Americans traveled West on the Oregon Trail.” (327)
Where the Trail Ends is a great historical novel. Melanie has done her research and portrays what it was like to travel West before The Oregon Trail was well established. The wagon trails were run like a democracy with an elected train leader and a list of rules.
The novel follows eighteen year old Samantha, her young brother Micah, their father, and the family's wolfhound Boaz. The father had planned the trip West for their mother as it was thought the western location would be better for her illness but the trip came to late. It would be two thousand miles from their Ohio home to the Willamette Valley. Two thousand miles of hardship.
Interspersed with Samantha's story is that of Alexander Clarke in Fort Vancouver and an agent of a fur trading company in London. He is getting experience in all aspects of the business as it seems he will soon be running the company. He has a woman of London's society waiting for him back in London – a marriage planned more for social reasons than love.
Melanie has done an excellent job of telling the story of those who came through the mountains, across rivers, through terrible weather, and more, to reach the land they planned to farm. The harsh travel conditions are accurately represented and there is just enough romance to lighten the severity of the story. I highly recommend it.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where The Trail Ends

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although it took me awhile to get into this book, once I did I couldn't put it down.
A realistic look at what life was like for the pioneers who settled the Western part of our county. Samantha Waldron, her Dad and young brother Micah are traveling to Oregon. I hated some of the things that happened to these people, and the Wagon Master. I wanted to shake him... ugh!
Be sure to have a box of tissues handy on this Journey. We see some beautiful sites, but having to be lowered by ropes?? Ride along in the wagon...or I should say put your walking shoes on and travel for a few thousand miles.
Long lasting relationships are established here, and many of them are going to last for the rest of their lives...however long the Lord has them stay.
Don't miss the incredible happenings that go on near the end of this book. I also found Micah so endearing!! A good read to really learn what hardships are.
I received this book from Litfuse Publicity Book Tours and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where the Trail Ends

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine, if you will, packing up your belongings, but only what is absolutely essential, packing the Prairie Schooner (wagon), and leaving your comfortable home. Now imagine walking, not riding,
2,000 miles along the Oregon Trail--from Missouri to the Willamette Valley.
This is what the Waldron family, as well as, others in their party did in order to start a new life. The trail was not without its hardships water and food at times were scarce, there were illnesses, and wild animals, accidents, deaths and disagreements among the people. There were also strong friendships that were forged despite the trials, or maybe because of them.
Melanie Dobson has crafted an realistic story set in a familiar historical backdrop. I found that the characters come to life upon the pages and so did the scenery. The story was about the people, and how they survived their long, and at times, treacherous journey. Was there some romance? Yes, but it was subdued, and really didn't develop until near the end to the story, which, in my opinion worked well in this book, allowing the reader to focus on the strong men and women who traveled along the Oregon Trail. I found this story to be enjoyable and would recommend this story to history lovers, and homeschoolers alike. Homeschoolers, because I think it would make a good addition to their history curriculum.
**Where the Trail Ends by Melanie Dobson was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

See The Oregon Trail like never before!

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember reading about the Oregon Trail in my history classes in high school, but I never really gave them much thought outside of knowing what it was, how they arrived and why most people came west along with some relevant dates, but until I read, Melanie Dobson's fictional novel, Where the Trail Ends it really shined a whole new meaning to what life was like to those who made the journey west.
This historical fictional novel introduces us to Samantha Waldron and her family, her father and brother Micah who have become one of many families who are moving west along the Oregon Trail before winter settles in. They had hoped to take her mother as well but she died shortly before the trip. All of the duties of cooking, cleaning and taking care of her younger brother, fall on Samantha's shoulders as they make their way west. They have to endure nights without water when no streams or rivers can be found. If they don't make sure their water barrels are full before leaving, they might not have enough to get them from campsite to campsite. The family has to endure a stampede caused when a families dog spooks the oxen killing several members of the wagon train, damaging several wagon and results in the decision of the leader of group, Captain Lowe to kill the remaining dogs to prevent that from occurring again. This means Samantha's beloved dog Boaz is at risk and she will stand up to anyone who wants to kill her dog. Even if that means it puts her at odds with Jack Doyle, a man she has grown quite fond of along the journey and hopes will marry her when they arrive in the Willamette Valley.
Samatha is a strong female who has to face the odds when her father grows ill and she is left behind as she seeks help for him while the others move ahead in their journey. She faces Indians, wild grizzly bears and extreme weather conditions just to make sure her brother is well cared for. When she has to face off against a fierce Wolverine, she is forced into the icy rivers of the Columbia River as they flees for safety in a canoe. Yet when it overturns, will Samantha be able to save her family just as they are about to make the final leg of the journey?
I received Where the Trail Ends by Melanie Dobson compliments of Summerside Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. Being a huge fan of American History I could really relate to the struggles Samantha had to endure just to bring her family through the Oregon trail. She longs for someone to care for her and hopes that love awaits her on the other end. It is through those struggles with hardship that character is defined and truly makes us stronger than we might have ever thought we could be. Samantha has to grow up faster than she would have liked and she is often reminded that she still has a lot to learn about trust along the way. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for more in the American Tapestries series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Western Adventure and Romance

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melanie Dobson in her new book, “Where the Trail Ends” Book Two in the An American Tapestry series published by Summerside Press takes us into the lives of Samantha Waldron and Alexander Clarke.
From the back cover: A young woman traveling the Oregon Trail in 1842 must rely on a stranger to bring her to safety. But whom can she trust with her heart?
For two thousand miles along the trail to Oregon Country, Samantha Waldron and her family must overcome tremendous challenges to reach the Willamette Valley before winter. Together they weather autumn storms, hunger and thirst, and the dangers of a wild and unfamiliar country. But when their canoe capsizes on the Columbia River, they must rely on British exporter Lord Alexander Clarke to rescue them from the icy waters.
Alex escorts Samantha and her young brother, Micah, to Fort Vancouver. There Samantha is overwhelmed by men vying for her affections, but the only one who intrigues her, Alex, is the one she cannot have. The ship will soon arrive from England to carry him home, back to his betrothed and a different world. Samantha becomes determined to create a home for herself and Micah in the fertile valley away from the fort, but how will an unmarried woman support herself and her brother alone? When Micah disappears into the wilderness one rainy night, Samantha must rely on the man she loves–the man she’s trying desperately to forget–to rescue her brother before it’s too late.
I like Westerns and, most definitely, “Where the Trail Ends” is a Western. Wagon Trains, natural perils along the trail, forts and villains this one has it all. And it is a romance too. Samantha and Alexander have a romance that seems doomed from the start as he already is betrothed and soon to go home to England never to see her again. To find out how it all works out you are going to have to read the book. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. “Where the Trail Ends” is great fun to read. Ms. Dobson has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. All this and in a Western. What more can anyone desire? A really enjoyable read.
Win a Kindle Fire from Melanie Dobson! RSVP for American Tapestries Facebook Party {10/18}
{American Tapestries Kindle Fire Giveaway and 10/18 Facebook Party}
Celebrate with Melanie by entering to win a Kindle Fire!
One fortunate winner will receive:
A Kindle Fire
Where the Trail Ends by Melanie Dobson
Queen of the Waves by Janice Thompson
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on October 17th. Winner will be announced at the American Tapestries Author Chat Facebook Party on 10/18. Connect with authors Melanie Dobson and Janice Thompson for an evening of book chat, trivia and fun! There will also be gift certificates, books, and a Book Club Prize Pack to be won (10 copies for your book club or small group)!
So grab your copy of Where the Trail Ends and Queen of the Waves and join Melanie Dobson and Janice Thompson on the evening of the October 18th for a chance to connect with the authors and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the books – don’t let that stop you from coming!)
Don’t miss a moment of the fun, RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 18th!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational and not gloomy

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In some ways this story reminded me of others I'd read about the journey west on the Oregon Trail, but strangely it was less depressing than most. I liked how the author showed the heroine and the mettle she had that helped her endure to the end. It took a lot of determination to survive back in the pioneer days. So many people died on the way. But at the same time, for those who arrived, there had to be so much joy at arriving at their destination, especially after having traveled for so long.
The love story was sweet and the tension between them palpable at times. But the hero was a man of honor, and of course, there had to be the typical misunderstanding that often happens in romantic fiction. I enjoyed the story and the strong heroine, and at the same time I didn't find it as compelling as some of Melanie's other books. But I couldn't stop reading, so the pacing was just right to keep me hanging on to the end. If you enjoy historical fiction, you'll enjoy this novel. It shows the many of the hardships the emigrants traveling out west experienced, but without the gloomy feeling that often accompanies such historical tales.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where the Trail Ends: The Oregon Trail - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well researched story!

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Where the Trail Ends, a novel by Melanie Dobson
Book Review by Trudi Cook
A Courageous People
Where the Trail Ends is the story of Samantha Waldron, a brave young woman who journeys west with her father and little brother. She proves to have the required fortitude for the challenges met on their 2000 mile trek, including avoiding the impending attack from a wolverine. Also included is an account of the British settlement of Fort Vancouver, an outpost of the Hudson’s Bay Company, and Alex, a young man who resents the arrival of trail-worn and starving Americans into a territory the British want to claim.
Author Melanie Dobson has described well the challenges and victories, joys and sorrows experienced by those who followed their dreams to Oregon. As an Easterner who has been transplanted to Oregon herself, you could sense her love for her adopted home as well as her respect for the strength and determination of its early settlers.
I’ve personally read more than a few books centered around the popular theme of wagon trains headed west, including some set in Oregon. With that experience, it was refreshing to discover details I hadn’t encountered before. This was actually the first time I’ve read about Fort Vancouver and the British presence. That, combined with the courage and hope of a group of pioneers provided an entertaining story. I will look forward to reading other books in the American Tapestries™ collection, which will be highlighting “epic moments in American history.”
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Christian Fiction
Copyright September 2012
ISBN 978-1-60936-685-8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.