Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook

David C. Cook Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Review 1 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, must read

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Justin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book, Were going through it in my small group, the chapters are in depth and make you really think about what the word is really saying, the questions in each chapter really help you get to know yourself better and they make you think about how were supposed to be. The videos on the website/app are helpful as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
tusean11
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As the body of Christ, our church is involved in transforming to bring Jesus to the community. Multiply book should help guide us to follow Christ's command. thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brave Heart
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captures the essence of true Christianity and rightly calls all believers to their true and complete calling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Christianity In A Nutshell

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glorify Christ Jesus
Location:Glens Falls, N.Y.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I would have saved some pain and just read this book the day I first was convicted of sin, repented and put my faith in Christ 7 years ago. This book should be handed out at the entrance of every church building.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ability To Follow The Command To Make Dsiciple

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francis Chan with Mark Beuving in their new book, "Multiply" published by David C. Cook gives us Disciples Making Disciples.
From the Back Cover: Jesus gave his followers a command: "Follow me." And a promise: "And I will equip you to find others to follow me." We were made to make disciples.
Designed for use in discipleship relationships and other focused settings,Multiply will equip you to carry out Jesus's ministry. Each of the twenty-four sessions in the book corresponds with an online video at "multiply movement", where New York Times bestselling author David Platt joins Francis in guiding you through each part of Multiply.
One plus one plus one. Every copy of Multiply is designed to do what Jesus did: make disciples who make disciples who make disciples.... Until the world knows the truth of Jesus Christ.
Once we realize that Jesus gave us a command to make disciples then the issue is how do we make disciples. Francis Chan has given us the ability in "Multiply". The book is designed in five parts each part to help you grow in the basics of The Bible. Once the reader has received this information he is encouraged to go and teach the same material to new disciples as quickly as possible. Once believers obey the command the Church will flourish and the world will stand in awe of God's ability to accomplish the amazing through ordinary people.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from David C. Cook for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book is a very useful resource

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I would recommend this book for people to use in discipling others, especially for someone who has never discipled or mentored another individual.
The book starts at the beginning and lays a solid foundation for equipping believers or introducing unbelievers to Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and the Gospel. The book is easy to use and guides you through the material. Just have your Bible with you and you are ready to go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the "crowd" will always be larger than the "core."

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francis Chan is a best-selling author and the founding pastor of Cornerstone Church, and the founder of Eternity Bible College. He also sits on the board of directors of the Children’s Hunger Fund and World Impact. Currently, Francis is working to start a church planting movement in the inner city of San Francisco and also working to launch a countrywide discipleship movement.
Hence this book. Multiply: Making Disciples is one of those books that you can judge by it's cover. Yes, it's about growing as a church, yes, it's about discipleship - and since it's co-authored by Francis Chan, you can expect that there is a lot of good stuff in there.
In the book, Chan argues for the true purpose of the church: "making disciples."
"Jesus’ command to make disciples in the Great Commission (Matt 28:18-20) was not intended solely for the early disciples, nor is disciple-making the responsibility of a special class of Christians. Rather, all followers of Christ are called to make disciples, to fish for men (Matthew 4:19). Many don’t actively make disciples because they don’t know what it means to be a disciple."
My wife and I listened to Chan on his Simi Valley podcast and towards the end of his time there, we both agreed that Chan was growing frustrated at the seemingly inactive lifestyle of the global church. I would guess it gets hard week after week to call people to action, to call people to obedience, only to see them return Sunday after Sunday no different than the week before.
"We don't understand how serious it is when Jesus Christ gives us a command. We just don't get it."
In reading Multiply, you can still hear that frustration in Chan's voice.
But it's a maturity issue, it really is. And I would say that I think Chan is a little too hard on the global church. Discipleship is happening, and Christian growth is happening in the world - it really is, but we all move at our own pace.
Is there a large potion of the church who are content to just "attend" church and squeeze Jesus into their already packed life? Absolutely. But the "crowd" will always be larger than the "core."
There were other critics of this book who wanted more from it, and I admit as a stand alone book - it'd would have been nice to have some deeper application. (Chan does have a great chapter on studying the bible) But that's the great thing about this book, each of the 24 chapters in Multiply corresponds with an online video, where author David Platt helps expound the book even further.
This is still a very good book and I liked it better than his last two. The message is indeed needed in the church and I hope its a message that creates a following like Crazy Love did.
For me personally, Crazy Love is still his best book and probably the reason is because he wrote it. Forgotten God is co-written by Danae Yankoski. Erasing Hell is co-written by Preston Sprinkle. And as a reader and a Francis Chan fan, I would rather he got back into writing. I have no way to be sure, but I'd guess that the reasons why his last few books don't have the same fire as Crazy Love is because they are not 100% one voice.
Thank you to David C. Cook publishers for a review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was impressed the insertion of study questions.

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Richard Beschinski
Location:Valparaiso, In
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent study. Once again Francis Chan has
put forth a teaching instrument which provides knowledge
of Scripture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
myrt
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good book if used for a group study in discipleship; otherwise, not as captivating as Chan's previous books. Would be well used in discipleship training venue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book for Discipling New Believers

Date:December 19, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Multiply author Francis Chan attempts to provide the reader with a practical book to help in their efforts to make disciples. The intent of the author is to mobilize Christians to go and make disciples as is our command from Matthew 28. Much of Christianity today involves getting people to church so they can hear the pastor preach but failing to personal disciple them. This book invites every believer into the disciple making process, not strictly relying on pastors and church leaders alone.
The book begins with three chapters explaining a disciple maker. These chapters are meant to help the reader understand why they should desire to make disciples and what exactly a disciple is. The next four parts provide the meat of the book. These sections are as follows: Living as the Church, How to Study the Bible, Understanding the Old Testament, Understanding the New Testament. These sections provide the reader with an opportunity to disciple a new or young believer in a structured format. While not very deep (individuals books could be and have been written on the topics discussed in each chapter) they provide valuable information for a new believer. Each chapter has study questions in the book that are meant to spark thought and conversation. Each chapter also has a video that goes along with it and can be viewed at multiplymovement.com. These chapters are roughly 10-15 pages long and would be perfect for a weekly discipleship meeting. The amount of material and questions provided are good lengths to have a 45 minute to an hour and a half meeting (depending on how in depth you may get) with someone or a small group. The sections are very easy to read and should not be difficult even for new believers.
I think that this book is a valuable resource to help disciple new believers. It should be noted, however, that while a lot is covered in this book (all of Scripture and how to study it) it is covered in a shallow way. Anyone who has been a believer for any length of time and seriously studies their Bible will find nothing new here. I do not mean this as a knock on the book, I think it does exactly what it intends to do. It provides a “fly-by” intended to give the reader an understanding of the Bible and the Church and it does this quite well. I can see this book being used in my life as I encounter new or younger believers who need to grow in their knowledge. The layout, readability and external resource (provided by the website) all make this a very profitable book for discipling new believers.
I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good discipleship tool.

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dale
Location:Miramichi, N.B. Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great discipleship tool. The ease of understanding and the flow of the subjects not only make this a good read and a refresher, it also makes it excellent for small group study and reinforcement.
I am currently using it to traing classroom teachers so we can do a whole church study in the new year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kpires
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very challenging. The points in the book where you can take a break and watch a video from Platt and Chan help keep it interactive within your group studies. Great resource!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
StevenH84
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great resource to use in early discipleship. It's challenging and encouraging to anyone who reads it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is such a great resource, along side the WORD of GOD, to help anyone be better equipped to build up others in the faith and go out and reach others for Jesus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.