Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo

Tyndale House The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo

Embark on a one-year "girls only" journey through Scripture and cultivate a new level of closeness with your precious 8- to 12-year-old daughter! Covering hot-button issues including modesty, purity, self-esteem, emotions, faith, and witnessing, Gresh's resource provides a natural springboard for Scripture-centered heart-to-heart conversations you'll both remember forever. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Review 1 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjsmom
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I love this book! What a great way to explore the Bible together! Language is easy to read and easy to understand, and I love the author's practical, everyday examples. My daughter has really been able to relate to some of the stories in the book. We are learning together to turn to the Word of God for strength, wisdom, peace and joy. Looking forward to the rest of the year!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
bible girl
I love anything written by Dannah Gresh! She explains verses in a simple yet very meaningful way that young girls (and their moms) can relate to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This devotional has been great!

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this devotional a year ago and gave it to my then 8-yr-old daughter for Christmas. We began doing these devos every night together before bedtime, beginning on Christmas night. These devos have opened up some great discussion between us throughout the year! I know that her heart has been drawn closer to the Lord, and doors were also opened for greater conversation between the two of us. She loved the Amazing Animal days, and we both enjoyed working through the Armor of God, the Fruit of the Spirit, and the Beautitudes. I feel sad that our year with this devo book is coming to an end, but I'm excited to use this with my younger daughter in a year or two! And, we plan to check out secretkeepergirl.com to possibly attend an event with Dannah sometime!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing for young ladies!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this devotional! We are actually reading thru it a second time. It covers so many wonderful Biblical ideas in such a nice and easy to understand way! They are just the right length as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bonding Tool for mother and daugher

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hazel S.
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great tool for sharing special time with your daughters. In encourages you to spend time together in God's Word and to share with each other your personal experiences on the topics discussed. I will definitely recommend to other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
joanna
Location:dallas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this devo my daughter and i really enjoy our devotional time, and this is so easy to understand i would definatly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
connie
Location:Quincy, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A wonderful book for mothers and daughters to share. Each devotional is grounded in Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resource

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Generosa Tummond
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read Dannah Gresh's Six Ways to Keep the 'Little' In Your Girl, I ordered this devotional. I am so pleased with it! The devotionals are short, but spark good discussions. I actually used one of them with a few girls from my church class as well and they really understood the topic because of the anecdote that I read them from the book. This was well worth the inexpensive price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick Devotionals for Bonding

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dannah Gresh’s writing ministry serves teenagers, and girls who are striving to stay pure and to live in a way that is pleasing to the Lord. Her heart for purity, character, and discipleship in young girls comes through in The One Year Mother Daughter Devo. Equipping mothers with this devotional, Gresh has provided an open-and-go devotional resource that mothers and tweens (9-12) can read together.
With enough devotionals for one each day, moms and daughters can simply open to the current date (devotionals can be somewhat seasonal), open scripture together, read the focus verse, and the devotional itself which ranges anywhere form object lessons, character sketches, theological explorations, animal antics, and more. For extra fun (and bonding) mother daughter teams can do the activities and discussion activities in the sidebar. There are crafts, recipes, discussion topics, written activities, and more.
This devotional is diverse and well balanced, covering a wide-range of topics important to the spiritual growth of young girls. My oldest daughter (8) and I have read through several weeks worth of devotions together and she really seems to enjoy the one-on-one aspect of talking with me about spiritual matters (we also read the Bible together daily and discuss it). I do feel that she’ll get more out of it in another year or two so I’m putting it on hold to revisit then.
The conversational, laid back writing style of Gresh is accessible and humorous, though I have to admit that the ‘valley girl’ verbal styling does grate on my nerves from time to time. Each devotional is a single page in length (with some of the additional crafts and recipes included in the appendix). The devotionals themselves take around twenty-minutes to go through together, the occasional, more involved extras will of course take longer if you choose to complete them. These 365 days of devotions for mothers and daughters are sure to draw many children closer to their mothers, and to draw both children and parents closer to God’s heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must in raising godly daughters

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Intentional Mom
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love spending time in our two favorite books each morning – the Bible and our Mother Daughter Devo book! Doing our daily devos together is one of the highlights of my day, and I believe my daughter would say the same! We have thoroughly enjoyed our Secret Keeper Dates (another highly recommended set of books from Dannah) and were so excited to receive her devotional book for Christmas. It has more than met our expectations. Dannah's sound biblical insight and thought provoking stories are timely conversation starters and relationship builders for moms and daughters. We have grown both in our faith and in our closeness with each other. Intentionally impacting our daughters to become world changers for Christ takes time and the right tools. This book is the perfect tool - as moms we must make the time! Side note: my daughter is on the high side of the targeted 8-12 age group, but I see us using this book for years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
katz
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This devotional is a great book. My daughter and I spend time each night going through it. It has many practical stories and applications and offers great chances to talk to my daughter about girl things and also to tell her a bit about myself at this age. Highly recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Mom
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotion book has been so much fun for my daughter and me to do together. Not only are the stories and biblical applications fun and interesting, but they are also very relevant for my 8 year old. She can't wait until we do them every day. We are thoroughly enjoying this devotion book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for mother-dauther relationship building

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christin
Location:Midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently my daughter and I had the opportunity to read [for review] The One Year Mother-Daughter Devotional put out by Dannah Gresh.
We really enjoyed the variety and simplicity of these devotions. They didn’t overload my daughter but did give her “food for thought”.
In addition, we were able to discuss issues right there on the spot, because we were doing the devotion together.
I think it is extremely healthy and great for relationship building (of you & your daughter as well as your daughter and God) to do devotions together. Even if your daughter is old enough to read on her own. Doing them together opens up the opportunity for conversation and questions answered on the spot. Rather than having them forgotten in the midst of life, between doing the devotion separate and trying to find time to meet together later.
Dannah explores topics that young girls face and not every devotion is all seriousness. There is plenty of fun to be had—because living should be fun, too!
Each devotional is equipped with “Girl Gab” which helps create conversations about each issue discussed. I really enjoy that because often it asks me questions to help me share parts of my walk with God with my daughter so that she can see that I face struggles, too. It helps her see that living a life for God is not easy and she is not alone.
Dannah shares 5 different elements throughout these devotionals. They are:
* Bible Blast – digging deeper into Scripture
* Language Lab – help with important words in the Christian faith (like “Hallelujah”)
* Amazing Animals – a couple devotions a month that feature amazing animals and what they can teach us about God
* Kickin’ Kraft – some devotions offer the opportunity to make a craft (my daughter LOVES crafts)
* Meditation Moments – learning to meditate on God’s word
This would make a great gift this Christmas! It’s a great way for you to come into fellowship with your daughter and talk about God’s word together. I honestly can’t think of anything better.
*Book given to me courtesy of Tyndale Publishers in exchange for this authentic review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great devotional for moms and tweens

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old and I have had so much fun with this! It is a great time spent over this devotional. What I love is that we can do this over and over and our conversations and discussions will change as she gets older. I can also stick this back and do this with my 5 year old when she gets older. I love spending time talking with my girls about God, the bible and what is going on in their day to day life. This book makes it not only fun, easy but a great quality time together.
thank you Tyndale for sending us this mother/daughter devotional for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hey moms, if you want some M/D time in God's Word then why not consider Danna Gresh's devo book just for this special time. You don't have to do the Devo together, but what better way to spend time with your daughter than studying God's Word. This book is very unique Here are some things you'll find in this book:
Each day will have:
* a Bible Blast section where you can read a portion of God's Word that goes along with the devotional
* also a Girl Gab where mom and daughter can share their own experiences together.
Some days you'll experience:
* a Language Lab where you'll learn some important words in the Christian faith and their meaning. An easy-to-swallow theology lesson written on your level.
* Amazing animals and what you can learn about them from the Bible.
* Meditation Moments are devotions that help us think on certain passages in God's Word and practice just meditating on them
* Kickin' Kraft days have a easy to make craft to go along with the devotional to help you remember the lesson learned for that day
I thought this was a very neat book and written on a pre-teen girls level that they can understand. It handles issues that they'll come up against in their life. Why not think about your princess finding this under the Christmas tree. What a way to help her start off a brand New Year.
A copy of this book was provided by Tyndale for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy
My tween daughter and I absolutely loved this book. We enjoy snuggling up next to each other and reading the Bible Blast Scriptures. I like discussing what we just read and it is interesting to see her input on what we just read. We LOVE the sidebar activities. Girl Gab is a great way to gain insight to how your daughter is feeling about certain things. I have learned so much about my daughter through this devotional. It takes us about 10-15 minutes to do a devotional with very little prep work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
The One Year Mother Daughter Devo, by Dannah Gresh and Janet Mylin presents a fun new twist to devotional books.This book is not just for women and not just for kids,tweens, or teens. It is intended for moms and daughters to read together. Each devotion includes a Bible passage to look up and a devotional passage that is sure to capture the attention of tweens. The sidebar on most days features Girl Gabquestions for the mom answer and for the daughter to answer or discuss or a quick activity to do together. A couple times a month a Kicking Kraft activity reinforces the theme for the day.I think this book will be a favorite in our house. On day 2, Emily asked, We can keep this book after weve read it, cant we? I love the discussion topics that will help Emily and I know each other better and to grow in our faith together. Ive noticed that Emily really enjoys hearing about my experiences, especially when they involve stories of when I was little. We are enjoying that the activities and stories vary from day to dayone day, we may be discussing what makes us feel anxious; the next, we may be having a rooster-crowing contest or posting a Bible verse by the sink. Today, we looked up the meanings of our names, prayed for each other that we would live up to those meaning, talked about God giving Abram a new name and how God will someday give us a new name written on a white stone.Most days readings can easily be completed in about 10 minutes, with no preparation. I love that, because truthfully, anything that is labor or time-intensive is likely to be skipped on busy days.I think the target audience for this book is 9-12 year olds, but older and younger girls might enjoy it just as much.I received a review copy of this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The One-Year Mother-Daughter Devo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
A Mother Daughter Devo My mom, and my 2 younger sisters have been doing this devo and although it was meant for younger girls (12-) my mom and I have found it REALLY fun too! This Mother Daughter Devo was written by popular author/speaker Dannah Gresh with Janet Mylin. (this is a great devo for mothers with 12- girls my mom and I found it a little easy for us.The Devotional has different sections/categories that it covers throughout the book:* Kicken Craft* Amazing Animals* Bible Blast* Language Lab* Meditation MomentsAll of these sections are really great. We also loved all the crafts and recipes in the book, but have yet to do any of them. We've just talked about what good ideas they are and how we should try to do some of them. The bible verses and references where also WONDERFUL! We also loved all the great topics covered in the book. From your thoughts to your actions, this Mother Daughter Devo covered it all! My mom and I found that some of the devos even helped us!We loved this devotional and highly recommend it to any mom and daughter (s) looking for a devotional to do together that is not only biblically sound, but fun too. We could not find anything wrong with it at all. Now, for some of you, you may find that it is to modern for you but for the rest of you, if you don't mind a little bit of modern language than you'll enjoy this book! Danna Gresh has wrote yet another great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.