Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apologia Educational Ministries Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2

Apologia Educational Ministries Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2

Dive into the underwater world of marine animals! Written directly to the student, the gentle conversational style makes Zoology 2 perfect for elementary children to read on their own, or for family reading times with mom. Presenting information with a strong creationist viewpoint, this detailed book contains chapters on aquatic animals, whales, seals, fish, sharks, reptiles, Cephalopods and many other creatures you didn't even know existed! Narration may be easily used with younger children; notebooking and "ocean box" activities are included at the end of each chapter. Household labs develop the skills needed to conduct scientifically valid experiments in any field, while magnificent photos bring the ocean right into your classroom. 235 pages, indexed hardcover with answers to the narrative questions included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Review 1 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great info and quite thorough.

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momof4
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My girls love learning science! They love the detail on each animal and great photos. As well as the interesting facts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Right up our alley

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
SingandPlay1
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this program, after my daughter said she wanted to learn about marine life. When I first received the text and notebooking journal, I thought it looked like a lot of time would be required to complete the lessons. It can, of course be split out to work as quickly or as slowly as needed, so we started at a slow pace. My daughter has totally eaten it UP! She is in love with her journal - I stressed to her that she should make it hers (i.e. color, decorate, record interesting information, illustrate, etc.) and she has really gone to town. In the past, she has done science to get it over with, but now she starts each day asking, "When can we do science??" We started her ocean box yesterday, and the first words she spoke this morning were, "I wonder what creatures we will add to it today!"
As for the creationist view, it just couldn't be better. We are here by God's design, as are the creatures of the waters. We are really having some good conversations based on the information presented in the text.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
alyeskamidwife
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Exciting and detailed text that works well when read aloud to my children ages 3, 5, and 8. The kids love the pictures and look forward to doing Science. We found Zoology I easily completed in 9-10 month school year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Science we've used

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmissyk
Location:FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutely love this. Our evaluator recommended this series last year but we decided to stay with what we already had. Now I'm wishing we started last year!! Very easy to read and understand, great pics. Parents and kids are excited to dive into "sea creatures." The notebooks are also great. They have a regular and "junior" version of the notebook (workbook) which makes it appealing to large families such as ours. Our oldest son has extra chromosomes (aka special needs) and is able to participate at his level right alongside his brother. Highly recommended by our family!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
living the life
Location:Dallas, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this series. I was impressed with my first book and now I can't say enough about this second book. Great for students of all ages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Son loves it!

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Columbus, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study of the ocean and the creatures that live in it is great!
My 12 year old is two chapters into it and absolutely loves it! It's a MUST for young fishing/animal/aquatic creature enthusiasts! He is really enjoying making the ocean Box:). He likes this one even more than the Flying Creatures. We are looking forward to Zoology 3....Land animals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kids LOVE science!

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julie Burnett
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are only on the second chapter, but my kids have learned so much! This series is written in such a way that the entire family is excited about science!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teeapikelis
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a great book. Fun experiments. This book is great for K-6. For younger kids narration is needed however the experiments are great for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't ask for more

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
dkarvis
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's everything I expected and then some. Love apologia and the price here is perfect for our budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
jtkiko
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this series of science by Apologia. My kids enjoy notebooking and journaling instead of testing. It has kept their interest more than any traditional science! They have been able to retain more information through this kind of work. Thank you Apologia and thank you to CB for retailing this product at great prices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
ilikehomeschooling
Location:Pine Bluff, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great company. I love the way this book educates and keeps a Biblical worldview at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bess
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apologia is always an excellent choice. Challenging but very educational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
sar2
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this book. My 10 year old daughter really enjoys reading it. It is right on her level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheri Russell
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your child is a strong reader, this can be done independently.
The companion journal is excellent and really helps to cement what your child is reading and learning. A very in-depth look at science for the elementary years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, love, love...

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
CreekMom
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first experience with Apologia Science and we have throughly enjoyed it. My children are in 5th grade and K and they both have learned so much this year. Easy to read and follow, enjoyable, engaging reading, never boring, always educational. My 6yo has learned as much as my 10 yo. I read to them and then we discuss. 5th grader does his notebook work on his own. My little guy dictates to me and draws in his notebook. Awesome science curriculum!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

user friendly for both mom and student

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa J
Location:Clarkston, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is beautiful! My son wants to be a Marine Biologist, and this book keeps him engaged and coming back for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with my order. I accidentally ordered a couple items that I already had, but those were easily returned with the generous and understanding help of CBD customer service. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great book, but strong odor!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Izumi1
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great book for Elementary science. The content is very thorough in covering all aspects of water life, appropriate for this level. The illustrations are vivid and engaging. The only problem I had was that the book smelled like it had been soaked in seaweed. I'm not sure where Christianbook had stored it, but I sure hope their entire stock doesn't smell this bad!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimbo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apologia series consistently high quality. I would recommend for elementary grades - informative and engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day: Exploring Creation with Zoology 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Homeschool Dad
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great product that my children can use. We have used it a read aloud in the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.