Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apologia Educational Ministries Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology

Apologia Educational Ministries Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology

All creation is awe-inspiring, but the work of the human body, created in the very image of God, is especially jaw-dropping! This study of anatomy and physiology showcases the intricacy and design of the human body, from DNA and cell creation to the skeletal, muscular, digestive, respiratory, cardiovascular, nervous/endocrine, immune, and intergumentary systems. Integrated with health and nutrition information, as well as plenty of scripture and biblical application, this complete guide to the human body is written in an enjoyable, conversational tone that will keep kids engaged. Experiments, notebooking assignments, narration, and a "personal person project" provide interaction with concepts outside of reading, and help to solidify understanding. 265 pages, hardcover. Index and answers to the narrative questions are included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
48 out of 4998%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Review 1 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid Content, no quizzes

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
teaching4
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First the slight downside. I lowered the score on meets expectations because I do not want to have to plan out things like tests and quizzes. I want my children to see how well they are doing and what they can remember by having such things, but that is not to be found in this curriculum anywhere. Now that is probably about the worst I can say about this.
My children loved reading through this book. We were reading through it together, but for some reason that wasn't working. So anyway, I had them read a designated amount on their own and they loved that! They were so excited to share what they had learned. I was using this with a 4th, 5th and 7th grader. We did also use the journals, which I feel was a worthwhile addition.
Simply the cost of the book and the content of the subjects, this is a good read. Lots of details included throughout, not just an exposure to a topic but an in-depth look at the various systems of the body.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and exciting

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor Michael
Location:Caldeonia, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is fun for my children to learn. We sought and asked many questions about what to purchase for Christmas and this was in the final choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great curriculum!! Very engaging.

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momof4rn
Location:Camp Lejeune, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this for my 11 yr old 6th grader. We love it! I'm a homeschooling mom and have been a practicing registered nurse for 20 yrs-I love the human body and how it functions. This book is written so well and it is so thorough!! I am absolutely amazed when my daughter narrates-even a week later, at how much she knows. She is so engaged and the experiments are so fun and really solidify the concepts!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
BethanyS
Location:SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am having no problem getting my son to use this book. We recently switched from unschooling and would have done it sooner if we knew of this series. It takes the guess work out for me. I now feel like I am providing a thorough education. My son & I are both feeling good about this choice of curriculum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tons of facts

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
lady
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A great way to learn about the body. We got some of the body models for hands on learning. This could be used for two years worth of curriculum if you are doing another Science.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent science textbook.

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mammy Anne
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This textbook has really helped to show my 10 year old granddaughter why she needs to care for her body by eating healthy foods, balancing her exercise and rest, and listening to God's Word in how she treats her mind as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theresa Taylor
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well illustrated and informative book! Makes learning fun!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom RN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this book for my 6th grade son with ADHD. He loved it and the workbook. I highly recommend the lab kit, most everything is included, it makes it so easy. Repetition of concepts in multiple ways cause the child to learn without knowing it because they are having fun with all of the hands-on activities.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great content

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
sonshine
Location:AB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful program suitable more or less for all elementary grades with the age appropriate notebooking journals.
Younger ones would need to go a bit slower and have some help in completing the work but learn alot through the narrating back to the teacher. Try this activities are cool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

super teaching book

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
adh84rdh
Location:Roundhead, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to use this book in my class. fun experiments or projects and down to earth explanations for a complicated body!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Hendershott
Location:Chicago IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a perfect study for my two boys, ages 10 and 11. Short compact sentences, lots of activities and attention grabbing, it is a great science curriculum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very easy to use.

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
TJmom2five
Location:South Dakota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is easy to use and colorful. I really like that it has the junior journal for those kids who have trouble with writing in small spaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
All4Him
Location:Weems, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REALLY excited for school to start this year! Both the children and I will be learning!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought for Homeschool Science

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
wayranch
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for Homeschool Science for my 5th and 7th graders. I have not used it yet, but after looking it through upon delivery I am super excited and the kids are too. I am really happy to find programs that keep God the center of learning.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Definitely disappointed

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let me begin by saying I have loved all the Apologia Science books we've used, from elementary through high school. We're not planning to stop using the curriculum, but this text has made me very reluctant to purchase anything newly published. I am told Apologia experience some shifts in leadership just before this book was published, and that seems to be reflected in this book. But mostly, my disappointment lies in how "Creation Science" was supposedly supported by their use of anatomy. I have a background in theology and to use germ theory as a reason why God excluded certain food from the Hebrews' diet is both poorly reasoned and backward. It leads students to believe that we can throw out God's words in this day of modern technology (refrigeration) without truly examining the theological reasons behind the dietary restrictions (separation of Israel as a people, a witness) or why Jesus declared all foods clean (there certainly were no new advances in food preservation in the first century that would lead to such a declaration, but there were some serious shifts in theological understanding). To hinge arguments on bad theology is begging for students who neither understand science nor explore theology. Major thumbs down. However, like all the other Apologia books, this one is a delight to the eyes... great photographs.
+21points
30of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT SCIENCE Book for Elementary Students

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tam2000
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 year old plans to be a Dentist when he grows up. He thinks this book is so cool.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A product worth buying

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Child of the Father
Location:South Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like all the books in the Exploring Creation series, we have enjoyed it immensely.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting, Informative and FUN!

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of 4 Girls
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first time using anything from Apologia. After 4 weeks and the first 2 Lessons/Chapters everyone (including me) still looks forward to doing science everyday. Retention has improved over other curriculums.
I'm using this specifically for my 9 and 11 year old, but my 5 and 7 year old are picking up many facts as well. I purchased separate notebooking journals for my 9 & 11 year old and am very happy that I did. They are well worth the money for the amount of time they save.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Home4Praise2Him
Location:Panama City, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent visuals with easy to understand text. Great as a curriculum and as a reference for your homeschooling library.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Exploring Creation with Human Anatomy and Physiology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an excellent book!

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
jackie
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 16-year-old is very interested in studying the human body and this Christian perspective of Creation is awesome! I am giving her this book for Christmas and I am sure she will love it! :D
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.