Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apologia Educational Ministries Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image

Apologia Educational Ministries Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image

What gives a person value? What provides purpose for a life? Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? helps children understand what it means to be made in the image of God.

Designed around a notebooking concept, instructions provide opportunities for students to think and ponder with the questions given, as well as consider their own thoughts. Each lesson features an introduction to the main topic, learning objectives, a short story, thought-provoking questions, important vocabulary words, two Bible memory verses, interesting interdisciplinary topics, godly character traits that students should demonstrate as a response, prayer, and a worldview portion that provides a child's perspective on being a Muslim, Mormon, New Age spiritualist, Hindu, Buddhist, Communist, and other non-Christian beliefs.

Customize the schedule to your students' level; most chapters can be covered in two weeks, and this study may be used independently or with a parent. Ages 6-14, NIV, NLT, and NCV Scripture verses are used. 264 pages, hardcover.

This textbook focuses on:

  • God made me in His image and crowned me with glory
  • He has given me special gifts and a unique purpose in life
  • I can creatively express God's love
  • I am meant to think about beautiful and praiseworthy things, especially God and His Word
  • I must make decisions based on God's truth;
  • I can always know the wise thing to do;
  • I must cultivate the fruit of the Spirit in my life;
  • I am a beloved child of God whose true identity is found in Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Review 1 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kim B
Location:west coast
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful, thorough, well made book. Excellent, Biblical subject material! Adaptable to many different age levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Curriculum

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
superscoop
Location:Sarasota, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hands down this has been the best world view curriculum I've seen! My daughter is hands on and loves to "dig in" to this curriculum. We bought the CD to go along with he studies so she could follow along in a quiet place and reflect upon what is being taught. The stories are so interesting and she'll come and tell me all she's learned that day. Thank you for putting together such a great curriculum! P.S. when she's finished with this book is there another?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
All4Him
Location:Weems, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the 1st book in the series last year and are excited to get going on this one this year! Great information in an easy to understand approach! LOTS of hands on activities to use with the lessons and keep the children involved!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book & Series

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice
Location:Orlando, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough good things about this book and the series. This quickly became my sons favorite lesson of the day, and if I tried to skip it he complained. The stories always kept him interested and I had to keep him from peeking ahead as the stories continue on with each chapter. Every lesson was put into words that a child could understand, and even taught me many things that I didn't understand. One of the best things was that it opened up conversations on topics not just during the lesson, but also for other times. We have finished volumes 1,2 & 3 and are currently awaiting the release of volume 4. Every parent so far that I have let look at one of my books has gone on to order the series for their child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good biblical worldview study.

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
craftymom
Location:Sugar Land, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids and I have enjoyed this study. It is written in a way that my kids have understood and have even formulated meaningful discussion after. It has been a good guide in our quest to learn more about a biblical worldview.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series!

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacy2469
Location:MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids are 9,8,6 and 3. 3 year old, not interested at all. 6 year old likes the stories but gets fidgity at the "serious" stuff, but he pretty much gets fidgity for anything I read. 8 year old daughter and oldest son, 9, love it. They get it. And they really like where it talks about kids of different religions and how they get to compare and contrast those kids' lives with their own. Also it is wonderful to hear them say "nuh uh!" to parts in those sections that talk about what those religions believe in! I am going to order the next book in this series!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Britany Freedman
Location:Nampa, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think some of it is a little bit works based at times. But, overall it was easy to adapt and read to my kids. Great pictures, and great ideas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this book!

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
chwkmom
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children are 9 and 11 (girl & boy) and both really enjoy this curriculum. I love to listen to my children read about God's truth for their lives. It would suit a wide range of ages (7-teenage years) and it covers Bible, Language Arts, and Social Studies all at the same time. Can't get much better than that!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hsmom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book, we did the first one...Who Is God....last year and now this one for our homeschool bible study and we love it. I hope they continue with more books in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Who Am I? And What Am I Doing Here? Biblical Worldview of Self-Image
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent Bible/worldview curriculum

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent tool for teaching your children around the table about who we are and what God has done for us. It beautifully follows volume 1- "Who Is God?" and also gets more in depth about the major worldviews out there. Very sound Biblical doctrine presented in easy to understand, conversational style. Thank-you Apologia!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.