Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World

Tyndale House Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World

Imagine living in a world where it is illegal to be a Christian. If you're discovered you will likely be punished, possibly by death. In Which None Can Touch, "Reema Goode" shares real life stories about what it is like to live in one Middle Eastern country as a missionary to Muslims. Travel with her through everyday life in a Muslim town and read about the unexpected and miraculous ways God's light penetrates through the darkness. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Review 1 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Muslims are hearing and responding to the gospel!

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanielOfAZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Islam's birthplace, the Arabian peninsula, has been a spiritually dark place for centuries. Today religious police carefully "protect" their people from worshiping the Jesus of the Bible. But despite the incredible legal and societal pressure to remain "safe" in Islam, Muslims are hearing and responding to the gospel. If you've ever thought it futile to give the message of the Bible to a Muslim, Reema Goode's book Which None Can Shut will encourage you that Jesus is still drawing people to Himself, even people on the Arabian peninsula.
I've read or heard some stories of Muslims converting to Christianity that struck me as cheesy. Did they really embrace Jesus because they were convicted of their need for righteousness, reconciliation, forgiveness, and atonement, or simply as a way to rebel against the dominant Muslim culture? Did they think Jesus would make their life on earth better or did they treasure Him in spite of the promised pain that Christians will face in this life? Did they truly abandon Islam or try to "have the best of both worlds"? Which None Can Shut is a breath of fresh air: the gospel is more central, more distinct, and more accurate.
The book is collection of true stories from the ministry of the Goode family in the Arabian peninsula. It's a fast read, and hard to put down. You'll be encouraged to share the gospel more often with Muslims--and your neighbors. You'll also pray more when you see what an impact prayers are having in the Muslim world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating!

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Which None Can Shut" was an easy and enjoyable book to read. Reema Goode shares about her life with her family's life in a Muslim country and how they reach out to their neighbors with the Gospel. It was fascinating to read about the responses of the Muslim friends. Many of them have an interest in, and a hunger for, the truth. God is certainly working in the Muslim world and bringing many to Himself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inside view of Muslim living~`

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ramona Opray
Location:Calf
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was fascinating for me to read esp. after reading Breakthrough. I would recommend it~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring Account of God's Work in the Middle East

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
From the time I was a little boy, I remember being fascinated with missionary stories. I'd find the country on a map and visualize myself going to that distant land with the Gospel. Africa, South America, Asia -- all were equally enticing destinations. On-screen slide projectors introduced me to the mud huts, shacks and cardboard cities of extreme povery, to exotic animals, tropical paradises and beautiful vistas, and most of all, to the faces of people who need Christ. In my background, however, I can't remember many tales of missionaries to Muslim countries. Closed countries were just that, and with the response to the Gospel in more reachable lands, the prospect of outreach to Muslims wasn't raised.
My experience is certainly not unique. It is only in the past 20 years or so that missions to Muslim-controlled nations have become the dream of Christian young people. A dream and a reality. Two American wars in Iraq and the constant Israeli-Palestinian conflict, have kept the Middle East, and its Muslim religion, at the forefront of our global vision. And many American Christians have taken it upon themselves to pray for the advance of the Gospel (not the same as the success of America, mind you) in these dark lands.
That I call Muslim-dominated lands "dark" is not a popular sentiment in today's pluaralistic age. But the Gospel of Jesus Christ is about spreading the light. And Christian missionaries have laid down their lives to spread that wonderful story of Jesus throughout the ages and all over this world. Sadly, many Muslims today mistakenly think Christianity is represented by America's policies and the evil practices she tolerates. Such is not the case. True Christians serve a Kingdom not of this world.
American Christians like me are beginning to hear of the inroads being made by the Gospel in Arabia and other such places. But what we hear is often only bits and pieces of what God is doing. For Americans in general, and Christians too, there remains a fear of Islam and a mystique to Arabia. Few are willing to sacrifice their lives for the sake of the gospel, and many don't even know what missions to Muslims would even look like (here in America even, and especially over in a "closed country").
A new book, shines a beacon on what God is doing in Arabia, and what it is like to be a missionary there. In "Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World" Reema Goode (and I assume that to be a pen name) shares some of her real life stories of being an American woman ministering to Muslims alongside her family in an Arabian country. Along the way we share her joys and sorrows and come to know more clearly what it is to be ministering God's love to Muslims in a far away land. The book is a breathtaking tale that is sure to elicit both praise and prayers to God for Him to do even more.
The book is a quick read, and the story moves along quickly. Goode shares the struggle of fitting in to a new culture, and her fear for her children. She describes the people and customs of Arabia well, and draws you into the story. Over and in all of the stories we can see God's grace and His Spirit at work. God gives Reema and her husband just the right words to say, over and over again. Incredible opportunities to share the Gospel are commonplace, as the people of that land are curious to learn more about Christianity and life in America. Through the Eastern emphasis on community, and the sharing of one another's lives, the people get to see what a Christian really is.
God's miraculous power is seen too. Dramatic healings, protection in demonically charged encounters, and the beauty of conversion to Christ are all recounted. Testimony to God's working in people's lives prior to and apart from Christian missionaries is amazing as well. And the author insists these stories are representative of God's work in many lands and many cities all across the Muslim world.
I couldn't put this book down. And when I did, I was moved to pray more intently for the continued advance of the Gospel in Muslim lands. I fear that many Christians in America are more focused on the encroaches of Sharia law and Muslim suicide bombings than they are on the need these people have for Jesus Christ and the Gospel of God's grace. May this book serve to elicit prayer rather than prejudice from God's people.
I think the book could become a best seller and open the eyes of many Christians to the thrill of missions in general, and Muslim missions in particular. May God inspire many more Christians to follow Reema Goode and her family into Muslim lands with the glorious Gospel of Jesus Christ.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Makes you think beyond your "own little world".

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
smasters
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Which None Can Shut was a great book that really makes you think beyond your own little world. The book is written by Reema Goode, a missionary in the Middle East. She and her family are there to share the gospel of Jesus Christ with a Muslim world. In the book, Goode shares little snippets of what her life is like on a day-to-day basis. She also wants everyone to know that the Lord is truly working and making Himself known to these devout Muslims. The book is a quick, easy read, but it really challenges you to think about the importance of taking the gospel to all nations. I really enjoyed the book and have learned things about the Muslim culture that I didn’t know before.
This book was provided to me from Tyndale House Publishing at no charge in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great to Hear What God is Doing

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
A House Reviews
Location:Colorado
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Which None Can Shut by Reema Goode
In this powerful collection of personal stories, Reema takes us deep inside her Arab neighborhood to show how God is opening doors in just one of many Islamic communities. As she walks us through everyday life in a Muslim town, she reveals the diverse, creative, unexpected, and thrilling ways God is reaching her neighbors with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. “See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it.”—Revelation 3:8
This is a very interesting book. Testimony of a family that lives, works, and ministers in the Muslim world. It is not written with profound literary language, but rather from the heart of a simple woman who is sharing how God is using her family for His Kingdom work.
It is deeply moving to read about the things God is doing in a difficult mission field. We all hear of the wars and the challenges, the propaganda that comes out of the Eastern nations, yet, we don’t hear enough of the work God is doing in the lives of those living there.
This book will encourage you and inspire you to reach out to those around you, sharing Christ, sometimes in the simplest ways of meeting a basic need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful stories

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Melander
Location:Oakdale MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful testimony of the working of the Lord in the lives of muslims in the middle east, and in the lives of missionaries who answer the call to go to foreign places, bringing the good news of Jesus Christ to a lost world. What a terrific book, very worth-while and enjoyable reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God at work in Muslim countries and cultures

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine you are living in a land where you only have the freedom to follow one state religion; where to follow another church or religion would mean death. Imagine that knowing a change in your religious status would end life as you know it, but you are still willing to seek the Truth, even if it means reading a forbidden book: the Bible.
Which None Can Shut is a fascinating look at what is happening in the Muslim world right now as all over the globe, the Lord God is revealing Himself to Muslims, through dreams and visions, through foreign neighbors who may have a Bible with them, and through other sources.
A couple of years ago, our family attended a missions conference that focused on working with the Muslim world. Amazing stories were related from various Christian pastors and missionaries from Muslim countries who were regularly having Muslims come to them, asking to study the Bible, without the Christians having to go seek those who were wanting to know the Truth.
Since that conference, I've wanted to know more about this recent change in some Muslim communities around the world. When I saw that Tyndale had recently published a book that described more about this new trend, I wanted to read and review it and share more about the book with you.
Which None Can Shut is "authored" by Reema Goode, although the author's real name has been changed to protect her life.
My preteen daughter and I both read this book, and we were fascinated at how easy it has been for this particular family to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with many Muslims. While they don't hand out tracts and go door-to-door or hold large rallies or anything like that, it is obvious that the Lord is at work even behind closed doors in many of these countries.
Which None Can Shut is not a lengthy, scholarly research manual. It is a 164-page narrative of numerous interactions between this missions-minded family and many Muslim families with which they have become acquainted. You will find some humorous stories here, and also many that are almost unbelievable. The Lord is opening many hearts within the Muslim world.
Which None Can Shut is a keeper. I'm not going to give this book away, nor donate to my church library (sorry, church family!). It's a quick read, and fascinating. I just love reading about the miracles of the Lord, in our day and age!
This book is on my "highly recommended" list!
Disclosure: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of sharing with you a review of it. No other compensation was provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I couldn't put the book down!

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
BookJunkieMom
Location:Kirkland WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it" Revelations 3:8
Imagine a place where becoming a Christian is a punishable crime—and your own family exacts the punishment. Where those who spread the gospel among locals are deported if discovered. Where converts to Christianity face persecution, isolation, or even death as the price for their faith. “Reema Goode” and her family are Christians working in a closed Middle Eastern country where all of these things are true. Yet they are also firsthand witnesses of a whole new trend that is taking shape in missions to Muslims. Despite all obstacles, God is opening miraculous doors in the Islamic world, where an unprecedented number of Muslims are becoming followers of Jesus. In this powerful collection of personal stories, Reema takes us deep inside her Arab neighborhood to show how God is opening doors in just one of many Islamic communities. As she walks us through everyday life in a Muslim town, she reveals the diverse, creative, unexpected, and thrilling ways God is reaching her neighbors with the Gospel of Jesus Christ.
This book, is full of true stories and events that happened to Reema, her husband Mike and their children. She tells of events about living in a community full of Muslims and their mission to tell the story of Christ and His love. This story, or rather these stories are scary at times. You want to read faster to find out the outcome!But there are also stories told in this book where I found myself cheering for her and/or her husband; and even their son on one occasion. This book was very inspiring and reminded me that even though a person goes through persecution either from their own family members, friends or even strangers because of their faith, at least we live in a country where we have freedom of religion/faith. She reminded me of how lucky and blessed I am.
She reminds us to keep the faith, keep praying; because praying does do a whole lot. She also reminds us that God is in control; if we let Him. Do we want God to take the wheel or not? Do we trust Him to take over or do we know better? Or maybe next time because this time isn't good for you or me.
Within the pages of this book Reema and everyone else (in this book) keep reminding us a much needed reminder I think; Trust in Him. He is in control. This read is inspiring and a great thrill to read. It made me realize that I take my freedom for granted at times, I need to work on that:) Freedom of religion/faith, freedom of speech. We have that here; in the US of A.
Reema also made sure to note that her and her family didn't shove The Word down people's throats. They prayed for God to open a line of communication for them to share the Bible with non-Christians . And He provided just that.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone. Christian or non Christian. It not only is full of great stories but also a learning tool for Christians to have if they want to better reach the non Christian and have a meaningful conversation. It also opens your eyes to what is going on outside of our country.
I received my complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publisher
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome way to show God's Love

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
jjanis21
Location:New York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading about testimonies especially when it's someone accepting Jesus Christ as their personal savior and all.
I could not put this book down, it really opened up my eyes of how many lost souls are out there especially in the Muslim community and the middle east. Prayer is so important as Reema outlines the wonderful outcome when you do. Nothing is absolutely impossible even in the Muslim community. Read it for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sharing Your Testimony in the Middle East!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine a place where becoming a Christian is a punishable crime—and your own family exacts the punishment. Where those who spread the gospel among locals are deported if discovered. Where converts to Christianity face persecution, isolation, or even death as the price for their faith.
“Reema Goode” and her family are Christians working in a closed Middle Eastern country where all of these things are true. Yet they are also firsthand witnesses of a whole new trend that is taking shape in missions to Muslims. Despite all obstacles, God is opening miraculous doors in the Islamic world, where an unprecedented number of Muslims are becoming followers of Jesus.
In this powerful collection of personal stories, Reema takes us deep inside her Arab neighborhood to show how God is opening doors in just one of many Islamic communities. As she walks us through everyday life in a Muslim town, she reveals the diverse, creative, unexpected, and thrilling ways God is reaching her neighbors with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. “See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it.”—Revelation 3:8
My Review:
In seems in recent days that there has been so much discussion in pertaining to the Muslim world and this book addresses all those very issues. Reema Goode felt a calling from God on her life to take the message of God into the parts of the world where the largest number of people needed to hear it and weren't. This led her to the Middle East. She ventured along with her husband Mike and for the past several years have led many people from the Muslim world to the truth in Jesus Christ.
The book takes those down to earth stories from Reema and Mike and translates them to us to show how God uniquely used every day situations from a car not starting to a woman who was going to die with a brain tumor to lead them to Jesus.
I received this book Which None Can Shut by Reema Goode compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and found it eye opening. Sometimes we don't know where to begin to share our testimony with others but in seeing the many ways Mike and Reema did, it has encouraged me to share mine more with people I come into contact with everyday. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about how to talk to Muslims about God in a personal way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer D
We don't know much about the author. She uses a pen name. She can't disclose where she lives, where she used to live, or what she does for a living. All I know is that as she and her family open themselves up to God's leading, He is doing amazing things in the Muslim community. From becoming the "neighborhood project" as Americans in a Muslim country that didn't know how to eat properly and needed to learn local customs, this woman and her family were able to witness for Christ with their neighbors and the spiritual and political leaders in the area. These true stories are told in Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World by Reema Goode. This short book has a friendly tone, as if I was sitting down with a friend reporting on her missionary work overseas. I couldn't put it down. What was God going to do next? One thing that most impressed me was how the Holy Spirit was literally leading their movements. The stories will make you laugh, be sad, and ultimately rejoice because Muslims are coming to Christ! I highly recommend this book. It opened my eyes to the incredible harvest taking place in the Arabic world. According to the author, "more Muslims have come to Christ in the past three decades than in the last fourteen centuries." This excellent book proves that "nothing is impossible with God." [In compliance with FTC regulations, I am happy to report that I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
This is the true story of Reema, Mike and their two children a Christian family who take a leap of faith and move from the United States to the Middle East. They tell their true story of how they became friends with the Islam people and learned about Muslim customs and faith while they are teaching of JESUS. This is a book of real people ministering to others by standing by the faith of GOD and by being obedient to his word. They tell how they were able to communicate and spread Christianity to this country. They have explained there experiences of living day to day life and how they learned a whole new culture and were still true to GODs word and was able to bring many to know Jesus. I learned about the Muslim faith in this book, the story is told in a very enlightening, fun and educational way with true experiences. I read this book in one setting, I couldnt put it down. It was an encouraging book, that shows no matter what GOD is telling you just do it He will be there for you, HE is in control, Trust HIM I did not want this book to end, I wanted to hear more. I became very involved with the characters in this book and felt like they had become a close friend. To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission,Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Which None Can Shut: Remarkable True Stories of God's Miraculous Work in the Muslim World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Location:Houston Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taken from the verse in Revelation 3:8, See I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it. In this Powerful collection of personal stories Reema takes us deep inside her Arab neighborhood to show how God is opening doors in just one of many Islamic communities.
Very moving and eye opening, hard to put down once you start. Using the stories from the missionaries own encounters we are shown the miracles God is performing in the lives of Muslim people. Even though it is dangerous Muslim believers are converting and sharing the faith and love of Christ to those around them, because of the efforts of missionaries like the Goode family. But as Reema points out it all started long ago with the prayers of people who'd never been to the middle east, but felt a compulsion to pray.
I recieved a copy to review from Tyndale House Publishers, all opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.