Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover

Tyndale House NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover

The In His Image Devotional Bible will help you know God more deeply as you discover His attributes and character throughout Scripture. You will become more like Christ as you practice directed, prayerful reading of God’s Word. Experience greater peace facing life’s challenges as you learn to see God fully.

The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered faithfully into today's English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. The NLT's scholarship and clarity breathe life into even the most difficult-to-understand Bible passages—but even more powerful are stories of how people’s lives are changing as the words speak directly to their hearts. That’s why we call it "The Truth Made Clear."

Special Features
  • In His Image Readings — 270 Divine Attribute Prayers & 57 Response to God articles focus on God's attributes
  • God's Names & Titles — Clarification & application of the meaning of God's names
  • Character of God Articles — Studies give the big picture of God's character and what a relationship with him should look like
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Bible

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a long time collector of Bible's I was excited to see what might be different with "In His Image"devotional Bible. Well I have been using this Bible for about three weeks and I really love it! First of all the cover is so soothing, which caught my eye, but it's the weight of this Bible along with the easy on the eye font size that makes this one my go to reading Bible in the evening.
Here are some of the features that I find myself using in this Bible.
Prayerful reading these are devotionals offer guided reflection on the attributes of God as revealed in Scripture. This is different than most devotionals because instead of giving you ideas to think about they instead help you quieten your heart to hear what God is saying to you.
Response to God articles. There are fifty-seven articles that allow us to look at God's attributes and then allows us to reflect on how we should live in response to what we learn.
Gods names and titles is a feature sprinkled throughout the Bible that shares God's many names and their meanings.
There is also a prayerful reading index, a response to God article index and a God's name index which helps the reader use the main features of this Bible.
This is a very easy to use Bible and because it is in the NLT translation it's also very easy to understand. Overall a great study Bible that would make a wonderful gift whether your just beginning your spiritual walk or wanting to strengthen your faith.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Devotional Bible

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered into today’s English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. In His Image Devotional Bible features five key elements within the context of the Bible that are for enrichment and personal development. The five key elements are the following:
Prayerful Readings - The central devotional feature; offering guided reflections and designed to help promote quiet introspect
Response to God Articles - Seeking to apply truth to everyday life and community
God's Names and Titles - References
Book Introductions - Background information and introductions
Character of God Articles - Attributes and discussions
On each right page there is a prayer and reflection that can provide even the shortest of devotions, but could also be extended to a longer period of meditation. On many left pages there is name of God that is highlighted and drawn out with a scripture verse. Every individual's relationship with Christ is different and often a different name is appropriate from different hearts.
This is a hard back Bible and is very attractive and just the right size. It is written in New Living Translation. You have a prayerful reading index, a response to God article index, God's names and titles index, and a divine attributes master index. This is one Bible I will enjoy reading daily. I would definitely give this Bible as a gift to my friends.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers as part of their Blog Network book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Devotional Bible is pretty nice

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "In His Image Devotional Bible" NLT has a calmness about the cover with a tree on the side, coming out of the water and the words: faithful, just, holy, good, merciful, righteous and loving. This Bible has five features. They are: Prayerful Readings, Response to God Articles, God's Names and Titles, Book Introductions and Character of God Articles. I don't know if I'd say that this is my favorite 'devotional' Bible but it's nice. I do wish that Jesus' words would've been in red as well as seeing the pronouns for Jesus and God capitalized. There are different reading guides and indexes in this Bible to help you seek God on a daily basis. From Tyndale: "The "In His Image Devotional Bible" is all about daily, life-changing interaction with God. It is about becoming more like Jesus through the consistent practice of directed, prayerful reading of Scripture."
Disclaimer: Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Reading with In His Image Devotional Bible

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joscelyn Ramos Campbell
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The holidays are a prefect time of season to spend with loved ones, for acts of charity, and random kindness. Despite the busy lives for most, the holidays, provide an opportunity of inner reflection and introspectiveness. A wonderful resource (and holiday gift) is The New Living Translation's In His Image Devotional Bible, published by Tyndale House Publishers.
The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered into today’s English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. In His Image Devotional Bible features five key elements within the context of the Bible that are for enrichment and personal development. The five key elements are the following:
Prayerful Readings - The central devotional feature; offering guided reflections and designed to help promote quiet introspect
Response to God Articles - Seeking to apply truth to everyday life and community
God's Names and Titles - References
Book Introductions - Background information and introductions
Character of God Articles - Attributes and discussions
With hectic schedules, it can be difficult to find quiet time or attend an outside Bible study. For personal use or as a holiday surprise, this Bible works to bring clarity, ease, and understanding to all of its passages. In His Image Devotional Bible is designed to promote a clear to understand reading or studying of the Bible. Useful to note is its In His Image Reading Guide which are categorized by commonly requested character and subject topics.
As a woman, I daily wear many hats throughout the day. Mother to toddler identical twin boys and a preteen son, military wife, columnist, writer, blogger, co-host, consultant, public speaker, chef, maid, chauffeur, etc....my life is multi-tasking. I can appreciate the easy to use format of In His Image Devotional Bible and its real-life application values.
During this holiday season, In His Image Devotional Bible, can serve as thoughtful gift for a special loved one in your life.
Disclaimer: I received a courtesy copy of In His Image Devotional Bible from Tyndale to review, however, the thoughts expressed are clearly my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved the Names of God Index!

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Howson
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The In His Image Devotional Bible has 327 devotions which work from Genesis to Revelations. My favorite part of this Bible is the index which lists God’s Names and Titles. I loved looking up the different names of God like Abba, Shepherd, Advocate and reading the scripture and definition of each name. This Bible is written in the New Living Translation which I found easy to read.
I wish the page numbers weren’t on the binding edge of the page layout. It requires you to fully open the pages when you are trying to find a specific page number. I also didn’t like the size of the font that was used for the chapters and the titles blended into the scripture which could confuse a new reader into thinking that the titles were part of the inspired word of God. I feel this could have been easily solved with simply bolding the titles and the word chapter. The only other disappointing discovery was the repeated prayer used with each attribute through the Bible. I feel that time spent writing a specific prayer for each attribute would have help use learn how to pray for each attribute in our lives better. With a beautiful presentation cover, I think this Bible would be a benefit to a beginning studier of the word, to encourage their devotional life and instill a deep love for the Names and Titles of God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers as part of their Blog Network book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prayerful Reflections

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Location:Arlington, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Starting with the cover, the first thing that I notice is a nice calming water, with a tree blossoming forth. Then in a light grey there are words across the middle that pretty much name it all... "faithful...just...holy...good...merciful...righteous...loving..." The next thing that I notice is the size, this hardcover Bible is right about the same size as a regular trade paperback book and provides a familiar feeling to my hands. "In His Image". What could be a more appropriate topic for devotion than that? On each right page there is a prayer and reflection that can provide even the shortest of devotions, but could also be extended to a longer period of meditation. On many left pages there is name of God that is highlighted and drawn out with a scripture verse. Every individual's relationship with Christ is different and often a different name is appropriate from different hearts.
The Tyndale team did a great job with this Bible. The font is very attractive to the eye, with mostly black text and a soft blue for highlights (like the cover) it is calming and easy to find a reflective mood within. This an individual Bible. Although I'm sure you could tweak it to a group setting, this is a perfect Bible for private devotions and prayerful readings, prayerful reflections, and just starting points and enhancements on your own personal prayers. There are so many tools within the pages of this Bible that are so valuable. I am eager and glad to have it available for my own studies and highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Crisp Study of God the Author

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Little Man in China
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How refreshing it is to find a devotional Bible that flees the popular angles of the reader's self-esteem but instead places all focus and emphasis on the Author, our Lord God! In this devotional Bible, each book of the Bible begins with an introduction of the book, a description of how God reveals Himself in the book, as well as the purpose of and some key verses from the book. Throughout In His Image, the designers have also strategically placed short insets discussing God's names and titles, His character and His attributes. They have further supplied what they call "Response to God" articles as well as "Prayerful Reading" guides. This devotional Bible is thick with guiding supplements to knowing God more, and I would suggest it specifically for those new believers who lack a Sunday School Background. I have used the NLT for several years, specifically with individuals either with no biblical background or for whom English is a second language. The translation is crisp and clear, based off the Masoretic Text (OT) and The Greek New Testament (NT), and was most recently updated in 2007. The only additives this devotional Bible lacks are a simplified concordance and topical index, both of which could be used for biblical studies beyond those concerning the character or names of God.
[Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book]
© 2010 E.T.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would also give as a gift

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
D C McKay
Location:Gadsden, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my new daily Bible. It is a complete Bible. One I can bring to worship, Sunday School and Bible study. The features help me stay on track during my devotion time with God. Not easy in this upside down world. Compact in size yet the type is readable even for someone my age. The devotion features give hundreds of ways to learn all the different attributes of God. Good for the seasoned believer as well for a new believer.
This book was provided for review by Tyndale Publishing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT In His Image Devotional Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

We all need to live in His image!!

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About the bible:
The In His Image Devotional Bible will help you know God more deeply as you discover His attributes and character throughout Scripture. You will become more like Christ as you practice directed, prayerful reading of God’s Word. Experience greater peace facing life’s challenges as you learn to see God fully.
The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered faithfully into today’s English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. The NLT’s scholarship and clarity breathe life into even the most difficult-to-understand Bible passages—but even more powerful are stories of how people’s lives are changing as the words speak directly to their hearts. That’s why we call it “The Truth Made Clear.”
My thoughts:
This is one cool bible my friends! There is a section called, "Because God is called.." In this section it shares with us the names of God. For instance, "Shepard". "I will gladly follow Him wherever He leads. John 10:11 Shepherd means that God cares for and tends to His people." You will learn all the names of God, the meanings and just where in the bible you can find it.
You too have a section called "God is..." "God is Powerful. God is Good. God is just and many more. Each one comes with a prayer, a reflection and asks, "What are you saying to me, Lord?" It also gives us reason to praise Him in, "We praise You, Lord." There are 327 In His Image categories to choose from. There is something here to guide you daily in a devotional.
This is a hard back bible and is very attractive and just the right size.It is written in New Living Translation. You have a prayerful reading index, a response to God article index, God's names and titles index, and a divine attributes master index. This is one bible I will enjoy reading daily.
This bible was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
robinsnest66.blogspot.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.