Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)

Zondervan Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Review 1 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennifer M
Location:Phoenix
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last Light, by Terri Blackstock, is the first in a series of books called the Restoration Series. It focuses on the Branning family, as their lives are suddenly thrown into turmoil when their city, and all its surrounding areas, suddenly loses all power. Unlike a regular electric blackout, they lose all modern conveniences. Cars stop dead on the highway, airplanes fall out of the sky, and phones go dead.
Deni Branning, a somewhat spoiled and driven college student, is flying home for a visit when the catastrophe strikes. She and her father must make their way home from the airport on bicycles, through all the stalled cars on the highway, their growing panic, and the fights and riots that are already starting to break out in the city.
Last Light pulled me in with its opening scene and never let me go. Fast paced and evenly measured, it unfolded like the most gripping of thrillers. The characters were well developed and believable, and the story line was full of twists and turns. From misery to self-pity, to grit and determination, to looting and mysterious murders... it kept me reading page after rapidly turned page. I enjoyed the element of mystery, but it's possible I enjoyed the basic story of pulling-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps survival during a difficult situation even more.
At its core, it is a story of faith, trust, and family. And a good one at that. I look forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.
**I received this book for free from the Booksneeze program. All opinions are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The message is great!

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really struggled to get into this book. The first chapter was action packed and exciting! Then, I just kind of lost interest. Maybe it was the subject matter? Maybe I'm just not interested in reading about massive power outages and how we would survive in the face of a crisis like that, because the book was very well written. This is the second book I've read by Terri Blackstock and I feel like it was written better than the first one I read.
The characters, the Branning family, were shallow and whiny. I found I didn't have a lot of compassion for them, but maybe that's because I couldn't imagine relating to their situation. Deni especially annoyed me with her selfishness and arrogance. I hope if I ever find myself in that situation, I would react differently from her.
The message was the best part about this book. Learning to put your trust in the One who makes all things new is the only way to survive. If you ask Him, and listen for his response, He will direct your paths. Overall, I just didn't care for the subject of the book. I will probably not finish the series, but if you enjoy the "what-if" scenarios in a good Christian book, you will enjoy this story.
**Thank you, BookSneeze, for providing me a free copy of this book for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique Plot!

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Last Light, is the first book to the Restoration Series. Terri Blackstock creates a wonderful what if tale of the possibility of the power leaving the whole country. Cars are stalled in the middle of the road, brand-new generators fail to work, even watches stop working and the modern world is thrust in utter darkness of the 1800's. The Branning family witnesses firsthand the desperation the lack of electricity
induces. While battling thoughts of hoarding their possessions versus sharing them they learn how to work as a family, trust in God, and live without electricity.
I enjoyed the authors unique story line. I was immediately drawn to the many hardships the different characters faced. The book allowed for many thoughts of reflection. What would I do without electricity? How would I survive? I loved how the everything in the story tied together in the end. My only complaint was the fact that the Branning family was presented as a christian family. They did not act very Christ-like before the power outage, but they did receive a Christ intervention in their lives.
I cannot wait to continue my journey with the Branning family in the next books of the series. I
received this book for free from BookSneeze in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still one of my favorite books

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Restoration Series, of which Last Light is the first book, has always been my favorite series by Terri Blackstock. She is a masterful author and this series of four books is pure gold. So I was thrilled to be given the opportunity to review Last Light.
Doug Branning and his daughter Deni land at the Birmingham, Alabama airport minutes before planes begin falling from the sky. Everything happens at the same moment. All the cars are dead. The electricity is out. Cell phones, radios, even watches don't work. At first they think it is just the Birmingham area. But after walking the long miles home and finding their neighborhood of Crockett in the same condition, they begin to suspect that this is something much bigger than a local fluke. And when in the days that follow someone makes it all the way from the east coast with news that conditions are the same there, the truth starts sinking in. Nothing is going to be changing anytime soon.
The big changes in the lives of the Branning family begins to change their ideas of what is important. To Deni, it is somehow getting to Washington D.C. to be with her fiance. To her parents, it brings into clear focus how little value they have placed on family and God and how much they need to change that. And in the midst of it all, a killer is loose in Crockett. Neighbor begins to suspect neighbor and relationships are tested.
Terri Blackstock brings out deeper themes in her books than I can ever hope to summarize in a review. So I encourage you to read Last Light and any other book she has written that you can get your hands on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last Light is a novel by New York Times best-selling suspense author Terri Blackstock. From the back cover: The city of Birmingham, Alabama, is experiencing a massive blackout. Planes suddenly lose power and crash to the earth. Cars stall in the middle of the street and won't restart. Cell phones and the internet are dead. All communications are cut off. Is it a terrorist attack....or something far worse?
My thoughts: When I started reading the book, it sounded just like the tv show Revolution because of the same scenario - power goes out worldwide and people need to adapt to survive. What surprised me is that Ms. Blackstock actually wrote this novel years before the tv show! In her novel, the Branning family members need to decide whether or not to hoard their possessions or to trust in God and share their resources with others. While they are trying to rebuild their lives and learn to live without power, people in their neighborhood start getting killed. Is it one of the Branning's friends or someone else?
I really enjoyed reading this book. The plot was fast-moving and the action keeps going until the end. I would recommend this book to others and am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting story

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock creates a story based on what would happen to humans if we lost all the things we take for granted on a semi-permanent basis. A pulse emitted from space knocks out all power sources, including newer cars with computer chips. This leaves transportation to bikes, horses, walking, and the few older cars. People are instantly put back to the late 1800s or early 1900s as far as communication and travel. The Branning family has to make decisions to help others or to hoard what they have for themselves. They learn a lot of what God would have them to do and how to treat others, especially their own family members.
I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a well written novel. Terri Blackstock takes something just real enough that we could imagine it happening to ourselves and going through the same experiences. It truly touches on our human nature versus how God would have us be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Last Light by Terri Blackstock

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Birmingham Alabama all the power went out. But it's not like when you normally lose power... This time cars will not start, cell phones are dead, and even radios and tv do not work. Which left many people trying to find a way home when all the cars on the roads stopped. But no one seems to know why it all happened. It just all stopped working.
And now everyone has to work together to survive. But now with food and other important things hard to get the Branning family has to decide if they should hoard their things or share them. Which can be a hard thing with their own family to care for too.
But if all that they are going though is not hard enough on it's own, they find someone in the neighborhood is a killer. And until they are found the weird loss of power my not be the worsted danger that they all have.
I have to say this book had me hooked from the beginning! I ended up hardly being able to keep my hands off the book! It was a great story and I would love to read the others in this series. It was very well done and was a exciting story! It was really interesting to see how everyone learned to survive, and what everyone done when times got hard.
I received this book free from the publisher, Zondervan, through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A thrilling concept and suspenseful plot!
Last Light disappointed me. I loved Blackstock's Intervention series, but this one just didn't do it for me. There are many reasons I felt so, but I'll get to them later. Throughout Last Light we read from the perspectives of Jeff, Kay, Doug, and Deni Branning and perhaps the villain once. Honestly, this family is relatively broken and if it wasn't for the power outage, I don't see how they could have been a happy family. Speaking of the power outage, a lot of people say it's reminiscent of the TV show Revolution. I have not watched the show so I cannot vouch for it; however, Last Light was originally published in '05, so it came first.
The power was hardly out for a day and people turned into savage maniacs. The cause of the said outage was supposedly a product of something in the atmosphere. Not a realistic viable option, in my opinion, nonetheless this outage knocked out everything, and I do mean everything. Cars, generators- even brand new ones, watches, etcetera. It's an event so extreme people call it an act of God. I strongly disagree with that, but that's a topic for another blog post.
It is very evident the time and effort Blackstock put into crafting this city and what it would be like with no electricity. For that, at least, I commend her. Her characters on the other hand need some work. Deni is such a brat. She whines, she complains, and I didn't like her at all. Although she has a "come to Jesus" moment later on in the book, it didn't read real, if that makes any sense. As for the rest of the Brannings, I found it hard to relate to any of them.
I won't be making an effort to read the rest of the series. If, after this review, your interest is piqued; I recommend Last Light to ages sixteen and older due to some crude content involving the villain but as an overall good read I don't recommend it.
I received an ebook copy of this book from Booksneeze in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still Thinking About This Book

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
booksbysteph
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am sitting here, trying to figure out what to write, and I find myself still lost in the book.
This story takes everything away from you and leaves you in confusion. There are so many questions and no one has answers, yet everyone expects you to. How will you care for your family? Keep them fed, safe and sheltered. How much do you really trust your neighbors, especially when there is a murderer on the loose? Are they stalking you or looking out for you? Who do you turn to for help and what can you do to help others?
Life becomes a thin line between legal, moral and ethical. What side would you be on? What would make you cross it? Will you make the right decisions? And how do you feel about God? Would you blame Him or put your faith in Him?
This story is told by each family member. You know their thoughts and reasons. What they believe or refuse to believe. The differences in ages of the children show the difference in character, attitude and understanding.
This book will leave you wanting to reach for book two. This story leaves your heart torn from your head. It will leave you with so many what-if questions pertaining to the real world. Lastly, this story will leave you with the overwhelming desire to start hoarding clean water.
(As a quick add on - this book actually made me dream that my family was in the same predicament.)
Until next time, live life one page at a time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momma C
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Life is good. Okay marriage. Three happy kids. Good jobs. Financial stability. Lovely home. What more could a family ask for?
But what happens when you strip it all away? What happens when life is no longer easy and peaceful?
No longer is electricity, communication services, and transportation available for the Branning family. The entire planet has been hit with a crisis. All that remains is family and community. How does a family learn to survive all while following God's command to love others?
A few years ago, I was introduced to this plot in Terri Blackstock's Restoration Series. I was sucked in unable to put the books down. But more than just reading a good story, this book forced me to ponder some beliefs I hold in my own life. After reading, I don't look at my garden, my neighbors, or our home in the same way. I definitely don't see my family through the same eyes.
Last Light is the first of this amazing four-book series. In this you will meet the characters, experience the plot, and see how the Bible is applicable in all situations.
Different than any other series I have read, I encourage everyone to read this series. I don't think you will be disappointed! Put this book in your chart or on your Christmas list. Be prepared to grab a blanket, warm cup of tea or coffee, and be challenged.
Thank you to Zondervan for allowing me to share this fabulous story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Catastrophe Could Happen

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terra Hangen
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you do if all electric power went out for a long time? Have you gone without power for a day or a week? If so, you know that is very rough. The Branning family lives in a nice neighborhood in Alabama when the power goes out dramatically. Planes fall from the sky and crash as Doug and his daughter Deni watch in horror.
The scenario gets worse and worse as the power outage goes beyond electricity to all semiconductor chips, which means cars and generators won’t start. Violence breaks out as some people kill for food, and other people like the Branning family follow their Christian beliefs and share and organize neighbors.
There is a murderer active in the neighborhood.
What is causing this end of technology and when will it be fixed?
This book had me reading fast as I enjoyed the author’s vision of a world filled with danger, hardship, sharing and love. I am happy to learn there are three more books in this series, and look forward to reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The light has gone out and the world stops

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts: Terri Blackstock is one of my favorite authors. Her well written stories include characters developed just like you and I - full of flaws, pretty or good looking, ugly or gross, intelligent or slow of wit - you get the picture. Some of the characters you like and some you don't. Some have flawed personalities and character traits but grow through their problems and over come their flaws.
Ms. Blackstock writes Christian stories and they are infused with the Gospel but these are not sermon books. These are stories and the problems and solutions include the Grace of God.
Last Light Restoration Series #1 was first published in 2005 and this is a republishing of the book with new cover. I read the first edition back in 2005 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I went on to read the others in the Restoration Series. Which I recommend you do as well if you enjoy contemporary suspense.
In Last Light the world is plunged into a world before the advent of electricity. That means there is no water purification, no lights, no heat, no refrigeration, no gas at the station, no cars because they rely on gas and computer chips. The entire world's electric "grid" is dead and nothing works. People must find a way to get food. To cook it. To keep it fresh. To "go to the store" (oops, no store anymore). People have to learn to cope, to pull together, and to maintain law and order in a now virtually lawless world.
Published by Zondervan as a reissue, I recommend you begin with Last Light in the Restoration Series and then proceed to the others. This could happen in America, in the World.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of Last Light from BookSneeze on behalf of the publisher and author in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.