Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them

Tyndale House Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them

As we reach adulthood most of us are aware of our weaknesses. Maybe they formed in us from a difficult family life as a child, a parent who struggled with illness or addiction, or a traumatic event that changed you forever. These events create holes in our lives that can make living difficult. But what if the holes in your life actually became your strength? What if your holes made you whole? Lisa Whittle knows the holes in her own life, and shares how God lead her on a journey of discovery to a place where God could fill her weakness and transform it into something new. Discover as Lisa did that when you understand who you really are, you'll know what you were born to be and do.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Review 1 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Transforming

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristen Willis
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The holes in your life can ultimately be what make you WHOLE. Very thought provoking. Lisa Whittle shares her heart and life to illustrate the truth that although we will have challenges, things that shake our beliefs and life in general, that God still wants us to be whole. Our experiences can be just that - experiences. Not the sole definer of all that He has made us to be and the end of our story.
She is very transparent in her story (it seems she holds nothing back!) and I admire her for that. From her notes at the end, I thought it was interesting that she felt she was supposed to "come at the book from my failures, not my successes". It's an interesting perspective and a powerful one, I believe.
I was really excited to read this book, as I have so much in common with Lisa Whittle. She is a pastor's daughter, she's been married the same amount of time as I have, they planted a church (we are planting now with our 1st anniversary in a few weeks), and we have both experienced holes - as well as some wholeness through a deeper relationship with God.
My favorite part is towards the end of the book; due to a number of circumstances she is feeling pretty raw, and God says to her, "Lisa, I love you. I know you are hurting right now, and I know why. But in these months of doing Thrive Church, have you gotten to know Me better?"
She answers yes. He says, "If then you have gotten to know Me better and you were created for that purpose, how can you consider your experience with Thrive Church a failure? It is instead a wild success."
I was so moved by this because I've been there (challenging circumstances, feeling like a failure, when will things ever "get better"), and although I wouldn't want to live those specific circumstances again, necessarily...I am grateful for the result of knowing Him better. Priceless. A wild success. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
{W}hole by Lisa Whittle is about how our life experiences, whether good or bad, can leave holes in us. These holes effect how we see ourselves, others and God. Lisa Whittle shares her personal testimony (and holes) throughout this honest and revelatory book. She states, that our experiences and/or roles don't define us. But it's about allowing Jesus Christ to fill our holes, by making us "whole" and thereby re-writing our story.
This book is jam packed full of incredible insights which made me take my sweet time reading it. I would read a page and then stop to reflect on it. I would find myself underlining passages and then thinking about it the rest of the day. This is one of those special books that can change your life.
I really appreciate Lisa Whittle's transparency in revealing some very painful and personal experiences in her life. I was able to identify with a lot of what she wrote, especially the feelings accompanying those experiences. It actually stirred me and made me reflect upon my own holes. The holes that I would rather ignore, bury or run from. The holes that came from very pivotal or painful moments in my life, which in turn, changed the course of my life.
As a result, this book wasn't easy for me to read. However, it was necessary as it was timely.
I want to share some passages from this book that spoke to me:
* Often, the things we find most demanding and difficult are the very places we most need to have healed.
* God seeks our dependence upon Him to make us whole.
* Wholeness rises from the ashes of our experiences when we cling to the God who makes it all possible.
I believe this is a very important and helpful book and I highly recommend it to everyone.
In conclusion, I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Tyndale House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thoughtful, easy to read

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. Each chapter was small, stuck to the topic with a short relative anecdote and then followed by two very thoughtful questions that makes one think about how the chapter would actually apply to their own life. The writing was clear, concise, and thoughtful. We all have holes in our lives whether they are the result of human interaction or our own flights of fantasy. When we come across one of those holes Jesus is there to help us delve into them, get to the bottom of them, heal them, and then make us whole. The author points out that without experiencing the hole and digging deep to the bottom instead of glossing over it, Jesus can't make us whole and we can't go on with our lives. We are stuck in the hole until it is healed. Lisa looks at what the holes look like when they are the result of being religious instead of spiritual; becoming defined by a role such as a career, mother, care-giver rather than the person who just happens to use that role to work; defining oneself by an experience rather than a person who had an experience dealt with it and moved on. These and many more holes can hold a person back and prevent a more in depth walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tyndale Book Review- "Whole"

Date:October 28, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyndale Book Review- "Whole"
Tyndale provided me with a complimentary copy of Lisa Whittle's newest book release,
"{W}hole", and in turn I agreed to write a review for the book. Up until this point I had never really heard of Lisa Whittle and her ministry, but the title of the book intrigued me. Basically the premise of the book is that we all have "holes" in our lives, but Jesus can make our holes "whole".
Overall, I really liked Lisa's book and I would definitely read other books of Lisa's in the future. I think my favorite part of the book is Lisa's writing style and how she writes with such authenticity. I was engaged from the very beginning of the book and for me that is when I make my decision of whether or not I can actually finish a book. Well, I finished the book.
Another thing I appreciated about Lisa was that she was very vulnerable with what she chose to share in the book. She shared personal stories about her life, including a very painful story about what happened to her father. One of the beautiful parts of the book is that you get to see how Jesus worked through those painful situations to bring healing and wholeness to Lisa and her family.
The book is broken up into 8 chapters including an introduction and conclusion chapter. The 6 chapters inbetween deal with 3 areas (religion, roles, and experiences) we can develop "holes" in
and how Jesus can make each of those areas whole. An excerpt from the back of the book reads, "In Whole, Lisa calls you to take an honest look at your holes, discover how to fill them with God's presence, and get to a real and vibrant place of wholeness instead." I could not have said it better myself.
In closing, "Whole" is a refreshing book that is full of scripture and pratical, biblical steps that readers can take in order to grow in their relationships with Jesus. You will feel encouraged and challenged to seek the "wholeness" and healing that Jesus provides. Most importantly Lisa reminds us that the most important thing in our lives, outside of our religion, roles, and experiences is that we have a solid relationship with our Lord and Savior, Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding Wholeness in God

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I picked up Lisa Whittle’s book, I expected a “yeah, yeah, yeah” read. You know the kind where every page tells you things you’ve heard a million times. I think the subtitle tricked me into thinking this book would rattle off the familiar mantra: we have a God-shaped hole in our lives that only He can fill. But I was wrong.
The beginning chapters didn’t rock my world. Her personal story spoke volumes about the way churches sometimes fail the people in them, especially those in leadership. Still, she didn’t give a clear, practical picture of what she meant by loving the church and yet not suffering from religious addiction.
Her chapters on the Hole of Roles and the Hole of Experiences, however, were real, vulnerable, and challenging. If you’ve ever wrapped up your identity in the roles you fill or allowed it to depend on your past experiences, this book will walk you through laying that down, as well as dealing with both failure and loss.
Lisa Whittle shares personal stories with more openness and honesty than most authors do, which makes this read compelling and personally relevant. While she undergirds her thoughts with an occasional Scripture verse, mostly the book is driven by her own story. I’d have liked a little more grounding in Bible study, but that doesn’t negate the powerful reminder to find freedom and wholeness in God’s presence.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it.

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Tyndale Media Center for the purpose of reviewing it, My reviews are based solely on my opinion and I am not required to give a good review!
This book came at a real opportune time for me, I think we all go through those times where we feel that we have a significant "hole" missing or that something that ought to be there isn't. I honestly didn't have really big expectations for this book, I've read too many that give simple cop outs as to why the reader doesn't measure of and is there for "missing" being whole. I'm glad however to know that this book was so much more than that. Lisa Whittle showed a lot of vulnerability in what she wrote about her personal life struggles, and I'm very impressed that she was willing to get that vulnerable in order to connect with the reader.
As someone who is involved with leadership in churches (My husband is a Pastor) I am really weary about books that like to point out all the ways that the church has "failed" them. I tend to feel defensive about this, as I feel that while churches do try to work towards helping people and being there for people, we are also human and there for imperfect. So when I started reading about the way that her (Whittle's) church "Failed" her I was rather weary and a bit defensive at first. However, that feeling didn't last. Whittle was honest in her approach, and while acknowledging where the church fell short, she didn't play the blame game and belittle/criticize her leadership.
I like this book a lot, and in fact have recommended it for our leadership in the church. I think it will be a valuable resource for our leadership team, as well as a great tool for our congregation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life and How to Let God Fill Them
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God Will Make you {W}hole Again

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: {W}hole - Lisa Whittle - October 2011
Have you ever looked at your life in a time of reflection and thought Oh Lordy, my life is filled with holes and gaps of when I should have been praising the lord and following him , I went off path and lost my way ? Lisa Whittle has written a book called {W}hole : An Honest Look at the Holes in your life and How to let God Fill them . Her book is ideal for anybody who feels that they have suffered in a way and needs God to fix them in order to make them whole again in his name. Do not fear though , as we all have plenty of holes in different areas of our lives that need filling and with Lisa's book and God's help we can make ourselves as the band Atomic Kitten sung " You can make me whole again" - in our case the you being God not some hunky guy though who says that God can't be a hunky guy. The book {W}hole also follows ancedotes from author Lisa Whittle's life as she went through some tough times and at times she discovered herself falling away from God and those holes enlarging day by day. The book is split into different chapters and as you will see ,each chapter contains the word Hole. The first chapter is called The Hole Story, and features a bit about how Lisa got to where she is today and how the book came about . the second chapter is called The Hole of Religion , which is something that we as Christians all experience at one point or another in our life - we have or feel a pull from God and may experience a bit of backslide , the next chapter plays as a solution to chapter two and is titled Religion made me Whole again - that having Religion and the relationship with God , we can feel complete . The fourth chapter is titled The Hole of Roles , the way we can feel that when or what we are meant to be can pull us down and cracks or in this case holes start showing and like prior chapter 5 is called Roles made Whole which is a way to counteract the feeling of our roles making us incomplete and lastly chapters 6 and 7 talk about how our experiences can make us feel Holey, they can make us feel negative - end up feeling jaded due to bad experiences but when we put our trust in the lord to fix us and let God do the fixing our experiences can become jofyul and the mistakes that we felt before can help us to learn for next time and can be positively viewed as stepping stones on the journey for God.
So readers ,if you are feeling Holey , Broken filled with empty gaps - Read {W}hole to discover how God can fill you with peace, joy and no more emptiness only love. Being a fan of bright colours, I also loved the white and Lime Green of the Cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.