Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan

Tyndale House NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan

This compact slimline Bible, now available with full center-column references, features a portable size in a stylish TuTone design for today’s on-the-go lifestyle. Classic reference features include a dictionary/concordance, full-color maps, a ribbon marker, and gilded edges.

The New Living Translation is an authoritative Bible translation, rendered faithfully into today’s English from the ancient texts by 90 leading Bible scholars. The NLT’s scholarship and clarity breathe life into even the most difficult-to-understand Bible passages—but even more powerful are stories of how people’s lives are changing as the words speak directly to their hearts. That’s why we call it "The Truth Made Clear."
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 out of 2090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Review 1 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear and Readable!

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terry Dunn
Location:Toronto
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan is a rare Bible.
Comfortable size to carry; clear and large typeface; book intros, center column references, Hebrew/Greek word studies, concordance, quality Smyth Sewn binding with a durable and flexible cover.
Do you want to read the Scriptures in contemporary language in a clear and uncluttered format? If so, this is the Bible for you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maria Luna
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for, small enough to carry, description of every book at the begining of every book, hebrew/greek dictionnary, red letter, center column footnotes. I received the Chronological NLT Study Bible for Christmas and this is the perfect addition to my studies. I love the feel of it, soft, pliable and lays flat at which ever page I open. Definitely a winner!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great birthday gift for a new believer.

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Juju
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a birthday gift for a new believer who was quick to show it to his family. :). Very well received
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coach
Location:Cherry Valley, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print Tutone is just great. I love the information given at the beginning of each book. It gives a perfect introduction to each. I have not found this in any other Bible. That is what really sold me on this particular one. Also, we really like the Tutone cover. We like it so much that we bought two, one for me and one for my wife.
Also, Christian Book Distributers has been great to do business with. We have made several purchases from them, and will no doubt be returning customers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible!

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
have3kidstoo
Location:oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received my new bible today. Absolutely love it, more than I expected. The cover is even prettier than your pictures show on your website. It's soft and lays flat. But, as my husband and I were flipping through it, we noticed in the book of Amos that quite a few pages were severely wrinkled, to the point that we couldn't read the words, and one page was even torn at the bottom. I was so disappointed. Until I called your customer service just moments ago and spoke with a lovely young lady named Kathy. I explained what was wrong. She apologized, though it's not her fault. Then she completely surprised me by telling me she was shipping me another bible, with a prepaid sticker to send the faulty one back!!! Seriously, I am so shocked. I had forgotten what great customer service is, until speaking with Kathy. What a wonderful thing to do. I will continue to be a loyal customer. That kind of service does not go unnoticed. Great job, and Kathy, you are a great asset to Christianbook. Keep up the good work! :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
rabin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I would recommend this product to any one
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very disappointed in the quality and text size.

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
penny
Location:VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i thought the large print would be big enough th see without squinting and i am afraid the pages are going to rip when i turn them...very disappointed in the quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa Strevel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was a wonderful Christmas gift for a loved one. They absolutely love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!!!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Not applicable
Location:Hawaii
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is just what I was looking for. It is great!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
josue
Location:Oakland CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is great, it is real simple to read. Specialy for those that are barley starting to walk with Jesus. With this version I could really understand what God is saying, and teaching me. The column refrence in the middle of the bible works great, it leads me to go in deeper in His words.
I love this Bible!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Lightweight, Readable Bible

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this bible! It was a replacement for a softcover bible that was getting harder to read, even with bifocals. The cover is beautiful, almost like real leather, and the decorative plastic-like floral fabric strip seems like it will be durable. The font size is very comfortable for reading. A few study helps are included: verse cross-references, concordance, maps (I especially love the "mini" Hebrew & Greek dictionaries), but not so many as to add too much weight. This bible can easily be picked up, carried, and read without sore wrists.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for when you just want to read the bible

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maddyjoe
Location:So. California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the NLT, and wanted a nice, soft and pliable leatherlike bible with a larger typeface that I could relax and use for when I just want to read through the scriptures at my leisure, without the distraction of study notes. This bible fit the bill. It is a nice overall size, lightweight, yet sturdy. It also has a center-column cross reference system and minimal footnotes, along with book introductions and outlines, maps and concordance for when you want to dig a little deeper. Typeface looks to be about 11pt., not overly large, but quite readable for me without my glasses.
I got the Tutone Leatherlike Brown w/Floral accent strip on the cover. I am very pleased with the rich, soft feel of the imitation leather, which feels like real leather! It is accented with white stitching, has gold-edged pages, a ribbon marker, and lays flat when opened. Having my initials engraved on the cover was the finishing touch! A perfect quality choice for a reading bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lightweight NLT Bible w/index

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anita
Location:Yorba Linda, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this NLT Bible, but I prefer the format in the version with bonded leather; however, the bonded leather doesn't seem to last. Mine is cracked and coming apart at the seams. That is why I chose a little bit different one. It is not exactly what I had hoped for. I miss the size of the bonded leather NLT w/ index.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I think it is a great buy! I gave it to a friend.

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see how easy it is to read, find books, and my friend is thrilled because it is a red letter edition. She was excited to receive such a nice gift. A good value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GOOD

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
KODI
Location:SALISBURY,NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I LIKE THE NLT , HOWEVER I FEEL THE TRANSLATORS SHOULD NOT LEAVE OUT PARTS OF SCRIPTURE AS WITH MATTHEW 17:21,AND OTHERS.IT SHOULD BE LEFT UP TO THE BIBLE STUDENT,OR REALLY JUST THE EARNEST SEEKER OF THE TRUTH TO MAKE THEIR OWN RESEARCH AND DECIDE.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Printed in China on poor quality paper

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Paper is dark (recycled) compared to Zondervan's NIV printed in the USA on white paper. Also, font is not large: 9.84. Guilding had a defect. Returning this for the premium slim line, hopefully it's printed in the USA.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carlos
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Thin Bible. Looks beautifull, and the fonts are pleasant and easy to read, without being to large.
Just what I was looking for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margaret Craiger
Location:Stafford, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has all the features I want in a Bible. Best of all is the wording. The language flows easily, yet captures the elegance and beauty of the KJV. I am often asked to read scriptures from this Bible in Sunday school class as it is so easy to understand, giving new clarity to previously difficult passages from the older translations.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Edition of the Bible

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thessalonian
Location:Washington, DC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently began to read and appreciate the NLT online, and wanted a printed edition for my very own. I could not be more pleased with this one. The font size is perfect and the layout of the text is very pleasing to the eye - crisp and clear. The paper is high quality, with very little bleed-through. This Bible measures approximately 9.5(H) x 7(W) x 1.2(D) inches, but is surprisingly light and can be held easily with one hand while reading. Great for home as well as church use. The leather binding is sound; be sure to gently "break-in" your copy when you receive it. For the price, I am amazed with the quality of this Bible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Slimline Reference Bible, Large Print TuTone Leatherlike Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I desired!

Date:November 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Williams
Location:Ionia, MI.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an NLT with true large print, center column reference, good concordance, nice appearance cover, red letter, and comfortable size. I am very pleased with this beautiful, enjoyable Word of God! Highly recommended!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.