Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense

Zondervan God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense

Is God always fair? Does he care? Going blind as a teenager and hitting a wall of depression and discontent after 30 years of successful ministry, Rothschild collided head-on with six big questions of faith. Here she shares her honest insights, wisdom, and solid biblical teaching based on her time wrestling with God. Softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Review 1 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed reading this book and I will be passing

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
kred
Location:florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to tell my kids that life isn't fair, even, or equal.  God, on the other hand, I thought was.  At least when life was smooth sailing on cloudless days.  But when the storm clouds gather, the wind picks up, and the waves start to toss the boat around the doubts rush in. In her book God Is Just, Not Fair Jennifer relates how she struggled with her doubts as she suffered depression. She wasn't afraid to ask God...are you fair? do you err? do you hear prayer?  do you care? are you aware? are you there?  In asking these questions she found answers, she found hope, she found truth, she found God.  
I enjoyed reading this book and I will be passing it on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope for the hurting

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
tdae1234
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If it hasn’t happened yet, if will. Your faith will get bumped. It doesn’t matter if you’ve been a Christian for 40 days or 40 years. It’s coming. And, for better or worse, you’ll l be changed by it as you wrestle with the fairness of God.
Jennifer so aptly handles the layers of God’s fairness with the grace and truth of Scripture. She digs down layer by layer, chapter by chapter into issues of fairness. Chapters dealing with: our subjective fairness, entitlement, delayed justice, our and God’s rights, when God’s ways aren’t our ways, God’s perfectness, not being the God we expect, God in the silence, unanswered prayer, compassionate inactivity, prayer, and many more.
As she writes each chapter, she gives the reader practical steps and helpful ways of thinking to process what they’ve just read. She shares her vulnerably tenderly as one who has wrestled with fairness. Jennifer is blind.
Using Scripture accurately as well as her own stories, she helpfully helps the reader understand more about God and His ways.
This is an outstanding book, especially for a Christian who is struggling with God. With sensitivity, grace, clarity and truth, she help the reader appreciate God beyond and through all of the questions we have. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jennifer writes from her heart and life.

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Jennifer Rothschild writes from her heart and life in "God is Just Not Fair." Using both personal and biblical accounts she asks God some pointed questions that we all can admittedly relate to: Do You err? Do You hear prayer? Do You care? Are You aware? Are You there? Her "blanket of faith" has been worn to a frazzle, at times, but each time she discovers a thread of hope from the Bible to weave into the gaps made by life's suffering, sorrow, and disappointments. Each chapter begins with a woeful cry and ends with an earnest proclamation of trust in a holy and loving Father God. This is definitely a pass-it-on book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We can trust Him

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ofie
Location:La Verne, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book. We will never be able to figure out God's mind and the things He allows in our lives. However, He teaches us in His word that He loves, cares and will always walk with us. As we learn His word, we begin to know His character and to walk by faith. He always allows what happens in our lives to work for our good, even when it doesn't make sense.
Jennifer teaches us to rest in Him because He is truly a God that can be trusted and He will always be JUST, even though He doesn't always seem fair to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an answer to Prayer

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
SweetLisaB
Location:Shelbyville Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first glance you might say to yourself ....This one I'll avoid....But wait and see and read.Jennifer's insights and straight from the heart words trully will speak to your hurting soul. There truly is Hope in this book ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is Just Not Fair is a worthy read!

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer Rothschild has done it again! She writes a book that is open, honest, vulnerable.
We hear of her struggles of faith, questioning God and coming to understanding-questions that most likely we've all asked before.
 Her writing is scripture based and accessible. I highly recommend reading God is Just Not Fair. 
At the end of each section she provides us with "Threads of Truth for Your Blanket of Faith."
I hope you'll find these as helpful as I do! If you are questioning, searching or just plain-old tired, pick up a copy of this book and dive in. 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Life Answers When Life Seems Unfair

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Lagrange, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Jennifer Rothschild's newest book, GOD IS JUST NOT FAIR, helps the reader with questions we all have at some time during our lives. Jennifer's questions are real (God, do you hear prayer? God, do you care? God, are you there?). These questions come from her real-life struggles and the answers are found in God's HOLY BIBLE. Written in language that is easy to understand and easy to identify with, GIJNF is a must read. God's message is clearly presented by one human who has personally struggled and has found in her search a way to share with everyone the TRUTH about our Savior's care for each of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gentle truthfulness challenges our view of God

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTaylor
Location:Evansville, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I love this book and will be sharing it with a couple of friends who have gone through tough times. Jennifer shares honestly about her experiences with blindness that God has not healed. She writes in such a way that makes you feel as if your wise mentor is sitting right across the table from you. She openly shares her feelings, her reaction to God, and how God has challenged those reactions. She then gently challenges the reader's reactions to their own painful and "unfair" circumstances. She also offers practical advice on how to break unhealthy patterns of viewing God- for example, when God does not move "quickly" in a situation, Jennifer coaches the reader to a) cry when you hurt, b)trust God more than your feelings and c) choose loyalty over logic. Again, this is a great book for anyone who has gone through tough times and wondered where God is and why He doesn't seem to be acting- and haven't we all been there?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend buying this book!

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary H.
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this book! Being a fairly new Christian, there is a lot about the Bible I find difficult to understand. I have read other books by Jennifer and have been to one of her conferences and felt certain that she could answer these tough questions like nobody else. Not only does she answer these questions, but she also reveals her own vulnerabilities and makes it easy to see how God treats us all “justly”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Opened my eyes and heart.

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
cnye
Location:Plano, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not too long ago I heard Jennifer speak at a conference, and I thought she had it all. She has a loving husband and family, a fantastic speaking and writing career, but she struggles daily just like me. This book has opened my eyes to the difficulties women face each and every day. They’re no different than me. We are all alike. Some might have more money, a better job or live in a bigger house, but without God’s faith, we really have nothing.
Jennifer opens up your mind to a different thought pattern about God’s “fairness” in this world. She tries to guide us to the answers of the many questions each of us ask. In the process, she also opens our hearts to God. To understand why things aren’t always “fair”, and has us taking another look at what we do have because of our faith in Him.
She wants us to trust God with all of our feelings, not just the questionable ones. Seek God when you are at your lowest so that He may lift you up. What you see as obstacles, are really stepping stones to a better future. We need to turn to Him when we’re disappointed or facing a loss so that he can guide us through it.
This is a wonderful book and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful, Encouraging Book!

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
JoyK
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Powerful, Encouraging Book!
Having read and been thoroughly challenged by Jennifer Rothschild's book "Me, Myself, And Lies: A Thought-Closet Makeover", I was excited to take a look at her newest book, "God Is Just Not Fair - Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense." This book does not disappoint.
Jennifer shares personal experiences and looks at the challenging questions most of us deal with at one time or another, but rarely voice out loud:
God, Are You Fair?
God, Do You Err?
God, Do You Hear Prayer?
God, Do You Care?
God, Are You Aware?
God, Are You There?
Each of these sections of the book contain 4-5 chapters dealing with a deeper understanding of each question.
I find Jennifer's writings to be Biblically based, straightforward, easy to understand, encouraging and challenging. She helps us look at our hurts and questions with a new perspective. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honestly answers a sufferer's deepest questions...

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
dontfaint
Location:Spring Hill, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all have them at one time or another. Whether they come, as unwelcome visitors, when trials or tragedy occur or as a result of watching someone else suffer---the are as common as "a cold."
Questions arise like:
God are You fair?
God do You err?
God, do You hear prayer?
God, do You care?
God, are You aware?
God, are You there?
I've asked them from time to time. Chances are you have, too.
In her latest book "God Is Just Not Fair" Jennifer Rothschild takes each of these questions apart and examines then in light of Scripture. And who better to do so then someone who has asked them all herself.
Having lost her sight as a teenager, Jennifer has navigated life blind for her entire adult life. And she does it with grace and dignity, I might add, not to mention also maintaining a sense of humor. I've read all of her books because there is much to be gleaned from this woman's life.
This book is by far the author's most candid work. It may very well be my favorite. I found myself laughing, crying, and even praying as I read.
Jennifer provides such incredible insight for those in the thralls of hardship. And, as someone who deals with chronic health issues, it brings bountiful comfort and hope. And who doesn't need hope? There is not a person alive who in some way won't find themselves within it's pages.
It is not wrong to ask questions. In fact, it is right. How we process them and where we turn to for answers is what makes all of the difference.
There is only two potentials when dealing with hardship: we get bitter, or we get better. Much of that depends upon the lens through which we choose to view life.
I'm so grateful that Jennifer Rothschild has chosen to view her hardship through the lens of faith.
Even in the darkest moments while suffering deep depression, due to chronic exhaustion and other physical changes, she continued to look to the right source for her answers. With more holes in her "blanket of faith" then she could possibly patch she allowed God to fill the missing pieces.
There is so much to be learned from her experiences as well as her teaching. God is just not fair. Sometimes that can be a very hard pill to swallow. And that is why you need to read this book.
It is medicine for the soul...a real heart cure!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent book by Jennifer Rothschild!

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another excellent book by Jennifer Rothschild! Especially like the "Threads of Truth for Your Blanket of Faith" at the end of each part, which point you back to God's Word. "We don't have to understand everything about God to trust Him fully."  Amen!  This is a must-read for everyone. Thank you , Jennifer, for writing yet another book in which you are so transparent. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book written about hard questions

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debo
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well written book about where is God when life seems unfair. Jennifer is very transparent and allows the reader to walk this road with her. She shares her heart and scripture as we look at these hard questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fill in the holes of your blanket of faith

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
kholt
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have days when you look at your life and question God's love, fairness and answers to prayer, then run out and buy this book, grab a cup of coffee at the drive-thru and dive in. Jennifer Rothschild is the girlfriend we all wish we had who is honest, compassionate, non-judgmental and who tells it like it is. In her battle with adversity through life, we watch her grapple with questions we all have but are afraid to admit. You will walk away from this book seeing how our Just, Sovereign, and Perfect God can and will redeem your life for His glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful book! A must read!

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
AmyG
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing to see how this book has impacted my life already. In this book, Jennifer Rothschild challenges you to see God being "fair" with different eyes--to see Him as a guide that is consistent and compassionate to all His children--that his promises can be trusted to be true. The book challenges all who are on this faith journey, from those with little to no faith to those who have been journeying for years. The best part is that it feels like you are sitting across the table from the author, enjoying a cup of coffee, & being poured into by a close friend. An easy book to dive into & yet so honest with raw emotion it's hard not to be challenged! Definitely a book I will be recommending to friends and family on a very regular basis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honest. Vulnerable Hope-filled.

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristine McGuire
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Honest. Vulnerable. Hope-filled.
These are the words springing to mind as I read Jennifer Rothschild’s newest book, God Is Just Not Fair. Other words which have been teasing my thoughts because of this hard to put down book include:
Challenging. Revealing. Cleansing.
God Is Just Not Fair has been a (surprisingly) personal experience for me. Something which I did not expect. In this book, Jennifer offers reflections and heartfelt confessions of what it means to live with her blindness and the questions with which she has grappled over the years.
I’ll be honest. Reading this book has brought fears to my awareness I had yet to realize were hiding in my heart. Uncovering questions which have been formed over the past five months as I have experienced the painful and debilitating symptoms, discouragement, and finally treatement for a cornea disease while writing my second book. Questions such as:
”Am I going to have to live with this pain and blindness for the rest of my life?”
“Can I trust God with my recovery?”
“Will I be able to handle it if He allows the disease to return?”
All of these previously unacknowledged fears needed to be wrestled with and given to God. Thankfully, through God Is Just Not Fair, Jennifer Rothschild has offered me a sisterly push into doing just that. And she can do provide the same for you if circumstances in your past or present have left you struggling to understand how God could allow it or where He has been through it all.
God Is Just Not Fair is a book which every reader can relate to on some level. We have all experienced disappointment. We have all had questions of whether God is truly there or even bothering to listen. In this book, Jennifer Rothschild offers hope and advice which rise above mere platitudes. Rather, she has plumbed the well of her deeper experience, faith, and biblical wisdom. This is a book you simply must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resource for All Christians

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
TAB05
Location:Autaugaville, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because I stopped and re-read certain parts of Jennifer Rothschild’s book God is Just Not Fair, it took me longer to finish it than it normally takes for me to read a book of this length. The book caused me to stop and reflect several times about things in my life and in the lives of others, and I found myself underlining several lines in the book so that I could refer to them later. This book should help me do a better job of trying to help others who are going through painful and questioning times in their lives. This is a must-read for Christians and non-Christians who are seeking and/or questioning God. In this book, Jennifer is very transparent about her personal struggles in life and scriptures that helped her through these struggles. The book is insightful and humorous at times. In reading the book, I learned that I have “spectator grace” from God. In my opinion, this book should be required reading for all seminary students. Jennifer Rothschild may be physically blind, but she possesses a “vision” from God that few people know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book that really makes you think!

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pamela M
Location:Aledo, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It answers many questions that I have asked during different times in my Christian "walk." I like how she states, "Choosing reverence over resentment is the only wise choice. Gratitude can break any chains of resentment that may be binding you to sorrow or bitterness." This definitely hit home with me and there is so much more in this book that I could relate to as well. This is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God Is Just Not Fair: Finding Hope When Life Doesn't Make Sense
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
trinsaunt
Location:Bryant, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer shares what God has revealed to her through such questions as "God, do you care?" and "God, are you fair?" She encourages us to understand who God is and not what we want Him to be. This book is such a blessing already to me, and will help me in sharing with others that aren't sure if God is fair to them in their difficult or painful circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.