Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bridge-Logos Publishing Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook

Bridge-Logos Publishing Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Review 1 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gwin
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is being used in our Bible School as we study Church History and is a valuable resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Rogers
Very interesting. I've been reading it to the kids everyday. It has been an eye opener for us all. Note: parents have to decide if the content is appropriate for their kids. Nothing is sugar coated. It is, after all, about martyrs and their persecutions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rae Baer
I've known about this comprehensive volume for many years, but for some reason never had it in my study library. But, I decided to invest in a copy to be a companion guide to a study of Revelation that I am teaching. I'm glad I found the "New" version! Not only does it include Foxe's orginal work, but in includes examples from present day as well. This guide is readable and gives an accurate picture of just what persecution is "out there" that we Americans have absolutely no comprehension of unless one has served in these places and experienced the persecution first-hand, or who have loved ones who have gone through the fire. It is an amazing resource to have. My only regret is that I waited so long to add it to my personal library! A must have for anyone serious about "living their faith out loud!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2009
I read this book through before I even read my textbook for church history. There are so many accounts of people dying for their faith that as the book notes, not all of them were included. This book will challenge anyone to get out of themselves and start or press on in their spiritual growth. In our church history class, we were reminded of what these people sacrificed and the costs that it resulted in, all because they believed in the Lord Jesus Christ and not in "the church" or some religion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brian Rigali
My Pastor recommended this book. It has truly lifted my faith as I read How people gave up their life for their faith. Truly incredible reading. I use this to evangelize often.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
One of best small books on martyrs but nowhere near the information the original Foxes Book of Martyrs contained.There is only one facsimile edition of the original. To bad someone doesn't reprint original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jimmie L Singleton
I'm not a fast reader, but what I've read so far is informative and thought-provoking; especially when we complain about air conditioning. I was disappointed however that Antipas (REV.2:13) wasn't included. I would be interested in any work about anyone who lauded by the LORD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doug Hall
There are many presentations of this valuable account first by the old Puritan John Foxe but this has to be one of the most readable out there. Careful and faithful translations of this important and relevant book have given us a blessed look at how God's faithful "of whom the world was not worthy" have suffered and died for the true faith and doctrine given us by God. A "must read" for all who want to truly know the legacy of their family in Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Foxes Book of Martyrs - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Darrin Mummey
Excellent read, riveting stories, great encouragement for anyone who may feel faith is a private matter. This book should make individuals more zealous in proclaiming their faith, once you know how many people have suffered just for believing in Christ.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.