Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Beckon

Tyndale House Beckon

When three visitors arrive in Beckon, Wyoming, will any of them escape alive? An anthropologist researches a Native American legend and makes a terrifying discovery. An ex-cop investigates her cousin's disappearance and finds herself in grave peril. And an aging businessman is lured by the promise of a miracle. One by one they learn the town's ghastly secret!
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beckon
Review 1 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beckon is the story of three very different people who all arrive in the small town of Beckon, Wyoming for very different reasons. George Wilcox has been contacted by Tom Vale, the man in charge of Beckon, to bring his wife for an experimental treatment to cure her Alzheimer’s. George had planned to retire and enjoy his hard earned money with his wife traveling, but her illness changed that. He has always put up with Miriam’s faith, not really making a commitment himself. They arrive, but soon discover there is more to the treatment than they were told and more that Vale wants than to cure Miriam Wilcox. How far will George go to save his wife? What will it cost?
Elina Gutierrez is a young woman recently suspended from LAPD who also arrives in Beckon as she has followed her cousin, Javier. Her cousin’s wife called Elina frantic when Javier disappeared. Elina knows Javier was picked up in a white van that appears once a month in Las Vegas to pick up people looking for work. She knows Javier got in the van a month ago, so she follows the van this month and winds up in Beckon. She soon discovers that all is not right in this town. What have the townspeople done with her cousin? Elina soon finds out and has a chance to use her rediscovered faith.
Jack Kendrick is on the trail of his anthropologist father who disappeared near Beckon 12 years ago. Jack also is an anthropologist and has taken up his father’s obsession with an alleged pre-Colombian Indian society that is rumored to live completely underground and has done so for thousands of years. Jack and his best friend Rudy meet an old Indian and hear legends of these strange people. He is told about a cave entrance, hires a guide and begins his adventure. What he discovers is so much more than he bargained for. The strange legends don’t come close to the horrors he encounters. Jack meets Elina and reverts to his upbringing of faith also.
This story is filled with action, tension and is very entertaining. Hold on to the edge of your seat because this story will take you for a ride! Each person discovers the cost of playing God. God is in control and doesn’t leave them alone is also a theme. This is my first book by this author and I thought it was great! I look forward to reading more of his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Chilling

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A chilling tale that asks the question, "If you could live virtually forever, would you? And at what cost?"
Jack, Elina, George, and Miriam all find themselves in Beckon, Wyoming. Chilling events and mysterious rituals are plentiful, but are they just a cover for an unspeakable evil?
Beckon was a bit of a slow for me, and at first I worried that maybe this wasn't my type of book, but I was soon proved wrong. No sooner had the thought run through my head then the book really took off! And after that I was turning pages with lightning speed, hanging on each page trying to figure out what would happen next. Because I had to know!
If I was trying to describe this tale I would say that it was like an Indiana Jones tale, with a Dorian Grey twist. Compelling adventure, that will send your heart pounding and the gears of your brain spinning. An adventure that will satisfy even the most hard to please. I think what I like most was how it subtly asked deep questions about life, and living, and how nothing can compare to eternal life in Christ Jesus.
Overall a thrilling, wild ride of a read. There were scenes that were in my mind quite violent, but Mr. Pawlik described them in a way that gave me the complete picture yet at the same time weren't terribly explicit.
This is a book that I would highly recommend to suspense readers. Thank you!
I received this book from the publisher through CSFF in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't forget the breathe!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beckon
Hang On...the ride is wild and fast, like the fastest most daring roller coaster ride times one hundred! Definitely NOT for the faint of heart. It is the kind of novel where you have to remember to breathe, and to unclench your fingers from the book or armrest. Where your heart can be in the throat, and your mind dizzy with all the sensory overload. I think HORROR would be the most appropriate to describe Tom Pawlik's newest novel, Beckon.
The novel starts out innocently enough with 21 year old Jack trying to find out what happened to his father when he disappeared out of Jack's life twelve years ago. Jack does not go on his own, but takes his best friend, seemingly his only friend along. Along the way, they pick up a guide to take them into an isolated area of the Wyoming mountainous region.
It also follows Elena as the young police woman from California searches for her cousin who has disappeared, and an elderly couple, George and Mariam. Mariam has had Alzheimer for four years, when Thomas Vale contacts him with a proposition that George finds impossible to ignore.
Will I pick up another Tom Pawlik novel? Well, if I am going to be honest with you, and honesty is what Tyndale and my readers are looking for in my reviews, no, I do not expect to. Even now, after I have put the book down, my heart races as I think of the word pictures Tom drew, and I know that it all comes from his own wild imagination. So, would I recommend it to others. In one word, yes I will, with the disclosure written above. It is a super well written novel, keeping the reader's attention throughout, no dragging moments, characters are well formed. In fact, dispite the fact that I did not like it because it is totally out of my genre, it is a great novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book will keep you on the edge of your seat..

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WELCOME TO BECKON, You’re Not Here By Chance is on an old wooden sign at the edge of town. “Beckon” by Tom Pawlick finds one of the main characters Jackson David Kendrick searching for his father, trying to find out what happened to him, why he disappeared.
His search leads him to an Indian Reservation in Western Wyoming in the same area as Beckon. His best friend Rudy accompanied him on this journey, helping Jack to find answers. Jack being an anthropologist and Rudy having a molecular degree makes them quite a pair. Asking around they find all kinds of stories and myths about the Shadow People and the Soul Eater of the caves, but were they really fabricated stories?
George and Miriam Wilcox also found themselves drawn to the town of Beckon, however for different reasons. Miriam was slipping away due to Alzheimer’s. Dr. Henderson, who also lives in Beckon contacted them and convinced George he needed to bring Miriam in for treatment. Mr. Vale, Henderson’s boss has a miracle drug available at the right price but one of the stipulations is they would have to remain in Beckon. They did not realize this until after the treatments had already begun. One of the other benefits of perlium, the miracle drug was it turned back the hands of time, or was that really a benefit? Most of the characters living at Beckon are users of perlium and have been residents for a long time, too long.
Where does perlium come from? Why is this town in the middle of nowhere? Are there really Shadow People? What about the Soul Eater? What is really in the caves? You can meet the other characters and answer all of these questions and a lot more by reading, “Beckon.” Grab your copy now!
This book is different, but different can be good. I am not usually a fan of Sci Fi books and this one is so close but I could not put it down. It is a fast moving book, full of surprises and intrigue. It leaves you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. I highly recommend it!
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Christian Thriller - Just not my taste

Date:June 24, 2012
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In search of his missing father, Jack finds himself exploring hidden caves in the Wyoming mountains. When he discovers that each cave holds a millenia old secret, and the few who discover it disappear without a trace, a race is on to end the disappearances and the secrets which hold a whole town prisoner.
A new novel by Tom Pawlik which hits every plot essential for a modern thriller, including strange sounds following you in the dark.
It is difficult for me to write this review without including spoilers. I have honestly never read anything remotely similar to this book, and deliberately so. I am not a huge fan of thrillers, and thoroughly detest the horror genre; elements of both permeate this book. The few thrillers I do enjoy employ highly witty verbiage to include me as part of a wider demographic. This book did not.
The first few chapters had me thoroughly hooked. The middle of the book lost me by failing to create empathy with newly introduced characters. By the end, I was just happy the story was over.
This is by a Christian author, but this is more of a 'moral' book than a 'Christian' book. There is no language or sex, but the violence is there as befitting the genre. There is not a huge amount of gory detail (although in reality there would be copious amounts of blood), just enough to leave me feeling disturbed. The protagonists (with the exception of one) are not religiously motivated. However, the antagonists are involved in witchcraft, cannibalism, human sacrifice, and are non-specifically occult. The Christian message felt added in after the fact like artificial vanilla, adding flavor to an otherwise plainly executed story line.
My reasons for the low rating are as follows: 1)My pre-disposition to read something a little more cheerful and less disturbing (personal bias), 2)A plot which starts out strong, fades, then tries to mend the breach by inserting a belated lesson in faith, and 3)A sneaking suspicion that the end was written with a potential series in mind so that author did not feel compelled to tie up all the loose ends, but in fact preferred to throw in a couple extra. Without a complete resolution and/or a concrete promise of a series, I found the lack of a finished ending utterly annoying.
Recommended for Thriller/Suspense/Horror fans who have nothing against squishing bugs over and over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beckon
This review is fromBeckon - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

X-Files come to Wyoming

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
alfamania
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For anyone who remembers the X-Files, Tom Paulik’s “Beckon” serves as an intriguing venture into a series of mysteries which are sought to be solved by the main characters in the book. The respective circumstances of each character leads them to a town in Wyoming which is full of odd occurrences itself. The mysteries that shroud the main characters include what happened to a father, another’s missing cousin, and one’s search for a cure for a spouse’s Alzheimers disease. Reminiscent of a Stephen King novel, “Beckon” yields a good amount of what any reader would enjoy in an X-Files episode or a King story, without an abundance of blood, guts, gore, or intrepid main characters, lol. For anyone looking for a multi-faceted approach to a good suspense story, I think “Beckon” fits the bill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book may cause insomnia!

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Welcome to Beckon. You're not here by chance.
Just what would you give to live forever? Money? Security? Your loved ones?
In the town of Beckon, no one ever leaves of their own free will. There is a dark, sinister secret hidden in the mountains and caves. One that has existed since the beginning of time. One that seeks to devour any that wind up in the belly of the mountain.
Ancient legends called them Shadow People, other people call them murderers and killers and still others worship them and what they can provide.
In the latest supernatural Christian suspense thriller, Beckon takes the reader into a four part journey in this novel by Tom Pawlik through the eyes of three characters, Jack, Elina, and George who happen upon the town of Beckon for very different reasons but each will meet at a unique crossroads.
Jack is going in search of his father, an anthropologist named David who went missing and has never come home. While searching through his father's desk, Jack locates a brown envelope that may provide the clues no one has been able to uncover in the hills of Wyoming. He takes along an Indian guide and US Army Ranger, Ben Graywolf along with his best friend Rudy to search for the missing ancient civilization of the Caieche Indians. He receives a warning from an old man named Running Bear that they seek to tell them about the Caieche Indians and the Shadow People, that "If you go...death will find you there." Death does in fact find them there in the darkness.
Elina Gutierrez is an LA County police officer who is on leave and searching for her cousin Javier, who has disappeared. A mysterious white van roaming the neighborhoods and streets in Las Vegas promising jobs to the illegals that gather on the street corners in search of work and money. Only when Javier didn't return, Elina believes that there is something going on with this roaming van. When she follows it one day, it takes her into the hills of Wyoming and what she finds there in the dark woods will call upon more than just her police training if she expects to survive.
George Wilcox is about to lose his best friend and wife to Alzheimer's. There still remains no cure and George struggles to find a way to reunite his wife to her former life. When an offer from Thomas Vale arrives promising him the ultimate cure, he immediately wastes no time in driving them both to Beckon, Wyoming. What he learns is that this miracle drug does more than just heal whatever ails you, and the price is worth almost anything George has to offer.
I received Beckon by Tom Pawlik compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Tours for my honest review. There is something to be said for things that go bump and click in the dark. I didn't see this one coming but it truly is a must read for anyone that LOVES a great suspense thriller with a Sci-Fi twist to it. I love how the author wove these three different but intricate story lines together to keep the plot moving along and to see where it culminates is worth reading every single page. This book alone will make me second guess ever going into a dark cave again. Well written, the characters are believable and have you rooting for them in the end. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars. I personally feel his books rate right up there with Travis Thrasher and Mike Dellosso and can't wait to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

high adventure, creepy and gruesome

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three visitors end up in Beckon, Wyoming and the first we read of is Jack. The last time he had seen his father was when Jack was only nine years old. An anthropologist at the University of Chicago, Jack's father had gone out west to do some field research on an old Indian legend. He had never returned nor been heard of again. Twelve years later Jack is going through his father's things, preparing for the estate sale. He finds some notes and the drawing of an artifact, dated just four months before his father had left. Jack convinces his best friend to go with him to Wyoming, to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance.
Jack finds much more than he had ever anticipated. Caves in the Wyoming foothills with flesh eating monsters and eventually, Beckon, Wyoming.
But he's a prisoner. Also a prisoner is police officer Elina who trailed a van to the hidden town. It was a van that had once picked up her cousin. Promised work, the cousin had never been seen again and she was determined to find him.
The third visitor to Beckon is a wealthy business man, lured to the town by the promise of a cure for his wife's dementia.
What each of them has found in Beckon is a nightmare. Vale, the boss of the town, had discovered the nearby cave in 1878 while gold prospecting. And yes, he's still alive. But the price he pays for life is the death of others. And Jack and Elina are next.
Wow. This is an exciting book. The action is intense and continuous. The monsters and other underground beings are so creepy I didn't want to read the book to late into the evening. In addition to the high action, there are also questions of what is right and how one fights evil. This is a well written and very entertaining book. It will keep you reading to the last page.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beckon was well written and the charcters were believable, but I have to say this book was to much on the gross side for me with the spiders and the slime. I much prefer creepy to gross. Although if you like Ted Dekkers books you will like this one. Tom Pawlik first two books Vanish and Valley of the Shadow were amazing, so this book caught me off guard because it is so different.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Well-written science fiction novel

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
picturegirl
Location:Watertown, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Welcome to Beckon. You’re not here by chance…. The sign that met George Wilcox as he entered the town of Beckon. He was there because he was promised a cure for his wife’s illness. For a totally different reason, police officer Elina Gutierrez finds herself in Beckon. Her cousin was missing and the clues led her straight to Beckon. Anthropologist, Jack Kendrick went to Beckon seeking answers to his father’s disappearance several years before.
Each led there for different reasons, yet each find themselves drawn together by a common thread…the secret evil that lurked in the caves beneath the small town. The evil that they find threatens to draw them in, but they each must find their own escape.
Personally, I’m not a science fiction reader…. definitely not a fan of the sci-fi genre. However, this novel was skillfully crafted and kept me awake for several nights until I finished reading. There were parts where I wanted to cover my eyes! (Which doesn’t work very well when you’re reading.) {grins}
For the science fiction lovers out there who want a good clean, well- written novel, this book is for you. Pawlik has a clever imagination and is an elegant storyteller.
I was given a copy of this book for purpose of review, and I was not required to give it a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Somewhat Different Novel!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sometimes in reviewing books, you find some really good ones. And then other times you run into a book that is just somewhat different. It is still good and a well written thriller, but the story is just out there. That is the case with this book here, Beckon, by Tom Pawlik. I normally do not read fantasy or sci-fi type stories. I hadn't even realized this was somewhat like that until I got partway into the story. I finished the book and it was well written, but I just want to warn you, this is a very different book.
MY REVIEW-Tom Pawlik is an author I had never heard of before. But when I saw the plot I thought it sounded interesting. I love a good mystery or suspense story and this one sounded like it would be neat. So I plunged into the book. It opens just fine and I got ready for a good mystery story about where the young mans father disappeared to, etc. But after that, it got kind of strange. These two young men find a guide to take them searching for the Soul Eater. A legend among the indians that they think might be true.
In this book you have people who have lived thousands of years without being discovered, people who drink a liquid from a spider that makes them live hundreds of years, giant spiders, death, murder, and tons of mystery. Now don't get me wrong, it is interesting. I read it through in one day. But I couldn't get past all the amazing things. I felt like I had stepped into Journey to the Center of the Earth. For anyone who has read that book, remember the giant creatures, huge mushrooms, etc? That is what this somewhat felt like, except it was in a dark manner. Several people die throughout the book and not in a nice way.
So, if you like a book that has mystery but not realistic, check this one out. I enjoyed reading it, just so long as I remembered it wasn't true. Highly interesting novel though!
I received a copy of this book for review through the Tyndale Blog Network. I did not receive any monetary compensation. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BECKON - The town where no one leaves.....

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BECKON by Tom Pawlik
List Price: 12.99
ISBN: 978-1-4143-3873-6
Binding: Softcover
Release: April 2012
People are missing. Jack Kendrick, a 21-year old anthropologist, is searching for his father. Elina Gutierrez, on administrative leave from LAPD, is searching for her cousin. But missing persons are only the tip of the iceberg in this suspenseful tale of supernatural evil.
Jack Kendrick's last memory of his father was when he was nine years old. His father, an anthropologist at the University of Chicago, was leaving to go out West to research a legend of an ancient subterranean civilization. His father never returned. Upon graduating with a degree in anthropology, Jack enlists the help of his friend Rudy to go out West to look for answers regarding his father's disappearance. Elina Gutierrez, on leave from LAPD for shooting an innocent man while chasing a suspect, has come to Wyoming to search for her missing cousin. Javier was last seen entering a white van whose driver promised work in Las Vegas. Elina has tracked the van to Beckon, Wyoming. George has brought his wife Miriam to Beckon, hoping for a medical miracle. Their paths converge in a place of unspeakable horror.
Because I don't believe in ruining books for other readers with "spoiler alerts", I won't discuss the plot any further. Suffice it to say that is a gripping horror story that will hold the reader's interest right up until the last page. Having been an avid reader my entire life, I am admittedly a picky reviewer. I do not give compliments lightly. But after reading this novel, I can truthfully say that Tom Pawlik is on the level of Ted Dekker and Stephen King. Authors such as Pawlik and Dekker are giving long overdue credibility to the genre of Christian fiction.
If using the familiar 1-5 star rating, this novel would definitely deserve at least a 7.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blogger Network <http://www.mediacenter.tyndale.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beckon

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Welcome to Beckon-you're not here by chance. Tom Pawlik's latest suspense thriller takes place in Beckon, Wyoming that is hiding darkness, terror and evil.
This was an interesting storyline that has three stories of different individuals and the fourth story is about them together.
Jack Kendrick is searching for his father who has been missing for 12 years and goes looking for him after finding clues in his desk-a strange drawing. He and his best friend Rudy along with a guide trek up a mountain then end up trying to find their way out through a maze of caves. They are not alone-they find a strange ecosystem in there and huge spiders that feeds on slime and lots and lots of human bones.
Elina Gutierrez is a former cop hunting for her cousin that has been missing for six months. She follows a white van to Beckon. She learns that jobs are promised to those in the van but they get to Beckon but never get home.
George Wilcox's wife has an incurable disease and takes her to Beckon on a promise of a cure. Just how much will he pay for his wife to be well. Will George or the others ever discover the chilling secret this town is holding-a miracle or evil.
This is the first book I have read by this author and it was quite a ride. Jack's story got a bit gruesome at times for me but was an interesting read that kept your attention.
Thanks to Tyndale Publishers for sending me this copy for free just for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beckon | come. and live forever | a novel
by Tom Pawlik
Synopsis
from the publisher:
"Some things weren’t meant to be discovered. Three people are each drawn to the small town of Beckon, Wyoming. A young anthropologist researches a Native American legend and makes a terrifying discovery. An ex-cop investigating her cousin’s disappearance finds herself in grave peril. And an aging businessman is lured by the promise of a miracle. One by one they discover the town’s ghastly secret. The only question is . . . will any of them make it out alive?"
My Thoughts
If you like the writings of Frank Peretti and or Ted Dekker, then you'll likely enjoy this book. Weird, suspenseful, strange, kind-of-yucky-stuff-that-makes-me-cringe, complete with giant creepy crawlies. If however, you are like me and don't really care for that sort of reading, then this book is not for you. Sometimes I read a book through twice - the first time to get the story, the second to try and pick up on doctrinal nuances and plot foreshadowing and other stuff like that. This book is one which I will not be reading twice, since once was enough for me, thank-you-very-much.
That being said, I don't recall noting any huge doctrinal discrepancies, although I can't say that I really noticed a lot of Christianity either. Basically, although the Christians in the story end up being correct, there is no real explanation of why they are right.
All in all, this wasn't a bad book, just not at all my style and not something I really enjoyed too much. I would not recommend it for the faint-hearted, those who don't enjoy somewhat stupid stories, or those kids who don't have their parents permission.
Rating
5 out of 10 stars. Take it or leave it, depending.
Note:
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beckon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Spine Tingling Thriller

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beckon
Tom Pawlik
Tyndall Publisher
Christian Fiction; Suspense
March 16, 2012
5 Stars
What would you give if you knew you could live forever? Your life savings; your family; your soul? If you knew that you would stay forever young, free from illness, free from death would you do it? Welcome to Beckon Wyoming, where no one is here by chance, a town where evil lies hidden beneath the mountains, waiting to be unleashed.
Three people are lured to this small town for a different reason, Jack Kendrick in search of his father that disappeared 12 years earlier, Police Officer Elina Gutierrez who is searching for her cousin who was lured there with a job prospect and George Wilcox who was promised they could cure his wife of Alzheimer’s. They soon learned that once in the clutches of this town and the inhabitants there was no leaving short of death. Who will make it out and who will meet their doom?
The book written in four parts as so to keep up with what each person is doing. Each part is focused on the separate individuals, Jack, Elina and George and the forth pitting them all together. The end of each part leaves you in suspense wondering what will happen next. This is the first book that I have read of Tom Pawlik’s and for one that likes a good clean written suspense filled book, the description just seem to fit the bill. Once started I read the entire book in two sittings because it was that hard to put down. It is one of those books that you can visualize what is happening as you read, as if you are there in the midst of all that is going on. While being Christian based it is not a preachy book as some are, it’s more about having faith in the face of adversity. If you are one that enjoys a cleanly written suspense book then I highly recommend Beckon. Like the town, once into the book you are captured till the end.
I received this complimentary copy from Tyndall Publishers. A positive review was not required and all opinions expressed here are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.