Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Look to the East: The Great War Series

Tyndale House Look to the East: The Great War Series

At the dawn of the First World War, the French provincial village of Briecourt is isolated from the battles, but the century-old feud between the Toussaints and the de Colvilles still rages in the streets. When the German army sweeps in to occupy the town, families on both sides of the feud must work together to protect stragglers caught behind enemy lines.

Julitte Toussaint may have been adopted from a faraway island, but she feels the scorn of the de Colvilles as much as anyone born a Toussaint. So when she falls in love with one of the stragglers-a wealthy and handsome Belgian entrepreneur-she knows she's playing with fire. Charles Lassone hides in the cellar of the Briecourt church, safe from the Germans for the moment. But if he's discovered, it will bring danger to the entire village and could cost Charles his life.

Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Review 1 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an excellent read!!!

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
PharmD
Location:Johnston,SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book was wonderful. It is full of suspense and drama. Maureen Lang has become one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although this book wasn't one of my all time favorite's, the story was very sweet and well written. I would definitely recommend it if your a big historical fiction fan like myself. I love war stories and although I've read better ones, this book didn't disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet romance

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
ClassyCassie
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before a long trip I bought the book 'Whisper on the Wind' and I absolutely loved it! (Then I let my best friend borrow it and she still hasn't given it back!) So I decided to read the sequel, unfortunately the library didn't have it so I got the prequel instead! So here is my review of 'Look to the East'
Look to the East follows the stories of Julitte Touissant, a young french woman, and Charles Lassone, a wealthy young Belgian-American during the first World War.
Julitte lives in the small village of Briecourt where a feud between the Touissants and the De Colvilles has divided the village for nearly a century. Because of suspicion surrounding her past she is barely accepted even among the Touissants. When German troops take over their village her whole life is turned upside down.
Charles is heading from France to Belgium, where he hopes to join the army and help defend his country, when his car is confiscated by the French army. With no car and all trains used for military purposes Charles has no choice but to continue on foot. His journey comes to a halt when he meets up with Belgian refugees who warn him that the German army is close by. Charles hides out in the woods where he meets up with a French soldier who was separated from his regiment. Eventually the two decide to leave their hideout in the woods and stay in the abandoned home of a friend of Charles. When they reach the mansion they find it already occupied by the German army so they hide out in a church in the nearby village of Briecourt.
While hiding in the church Charles meets Julitte. Julitte continues to return to the church to visit Charles and over time they find themselves drawn to each other more and more. But can they overcome both the war and Julitte's past?
I thought this book started and ended pretty well but the middle was a little slow. I also felt that many parts of the story that could have been detailed more were rushed, or ones that should have been more simple were drawn out far too much. The dialog felt natural and the plot felt fairly realistic. I personally love history and the historical side of the story was well done for the most part and I really got the feel of that time period.
I really felt like I got close to Julitte, I really admired her connection to God and how she gave him credit for everything even when people gave her the credit. I also liked that she told people that they could have a connection with God just like her, that there was nothing different or special about her other than that she had accepted God. I never really felt that way about Charles though, he just wasn't quite as real.
While this isn't necessarily a book that will end up in my list of favorites it is still a sweet romance and a worthwhile read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book I've Read in a Loooong Time!

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first page, I was instantly taken with "Look to the East." The story is woven so powerfully, the writing is rich, the characters are real and likeable with their faults, virtues, and vices. I love the amount of Christianity between the pages of this book--not too blatant, not too preachy, but subtle and true. This is truly the best historical Christian fiction I have read in such a long time! My husband and I were recently discussing that most Christian fiction is simply entertainment. This book is so much more than that! Maureen Lang is a cut above the rest and is one of the few modern authors I have found who can hold a candle to classic literature.
Pick this one up, and the rest in the series! I promise you won't be disappointed. As for me, I can't wait to read the other books in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I FINALLY got to read this book! I've been wanting to for quite some time now, ever since reading the second book of the series, Whisper on the Wind. When I reviewed that book, I mistakenly thought the books in the series were not connected character-wise. Apparently, I had just never read a good description of Look To The East! I read the back of the book and saw the name "Charles Lassone" and I was like, "That's Isa's brother!" So yes, they are connected! :)
I really liked Look To The East- more than Whisper on the Wind (although I recently re-read the book and liked it better the second time). The character of Julitte was so sweet, and I loved her relationship with Charles! One thing that really blessed me in Look To The East was the spiritual content. Julitte's faith -and later Charles's- was so genuine, and such a part of who the character was. A lot of Christian fiction simply throws in a few prayers, a Bible reference or two, and calls it a day. The stories are harmless, but don't have much take-away value. But in Look to the East the characters truly lived their faith. I felt that throughout the story Julitte was honestly trying to honor the Lord in whatever she was doing. The part where she gave away the eggs- oh, it would have never even crossed my mind to do that! Charles and Julitte weren't perfect by any means, but they were characters you could look up to instead of thinking about them, "that was so stupid; why did you do it?", which is something that sadly happens a lot for me when I read fiction. Look to the East was both spiritually edifying and historically informative (I got waaay too excited when Nurse Edith Cavell appeared on the scene...another historical figure that had special meaning in our family, but I'm not going to bore you with the details :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breath-taking, heart-wrenching, compelling!

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
What an exciting and emotional read! I loved the fresh setting and time period. I can't think of many novels set during the first world war and this one takes place in occupied France so that's even more of a twist.
The inspirational thread really takes center-stage in this story, but it doesn't come off stilted or 'preachy' or over the top. It simply 'is' because Julitte is a woman of faith. And it's that faith she clings to survive the horrors of war.
Lang has created an intriguing cast of villagers and the family feud adds even more drama into the mix. And then there's the added mystery that surrounds Julitte herself! "Look to the East" is packed full of action and intrigue and a healthy dose of tender love story. Definitely a winning read for a lazy summer day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:July 29, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love reading Maureen Lang books after reading my first book by her a few months ago. I didn't think that anything could top Springtime of the Spirit but this one is just as good! It was hard to put down and when I had to part ways with my book, it was easy to jump right back in where I left off.
Look to the East is an installment in the Great War Series. This book is set right before World War 1 when Germany was invading France/Belgium. At this time, the Germans were taking over villages, land, houses, and possessions that they came across. There were so many Germans in the army that they were able to defeat France in certain villages. The village of Briecourt was set apart from the earlier battles, but the Germans easily took over this town as well. Briecourt had a longstanding feud going on between two families...the Toussaint and the de Colvilles. (Fun fact: to this day, no one knows why it started, but it's still going on apparently.)
Julitte Toussaint is an outcast among some of her family and most definitely to the de Colvilles. In fact, the de Colvilles hate her so much that they told the Germans she had leprosy so that they would confine her and her family to a house. Charles Lassone is a Belgian entrepreneur (who likes to play sports for a living). He's wealthy, handsome, and wants to join the Belgium army and not the French army. However, in his quest to reach Belguim, he gets entangled in the war and ends up in hiding. He must stay hidden or he risks the lives of the entire village, including Julitte, and even his own life. If only he would have gone with Mantoux and he'd be far from danger instead of living with no direction or purpose.
I definitely recommend this book! It's a great history lesson, as well.
_____________
I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers. In exchange, I offer my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

complex character and conflict

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Location:Concord, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look to the East, by Maureen Lang, won the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Contest for a good reason. We’ve got history (World War I), French, generations of a family feud, suspense, and secrets galore. Will Charles and Juliette’s love survive? Will they survive?
Briecourt, a small, seemingly insignificant town in rural France, seems a most unlikely place in which to set a war drama. But, Maureen shows us that God notices and cares for small towns and the people in them. It may take the desperation of war to bring together two families at odds with each other for so long that they no longer remember the original reason. Maureen weaves together complex characters and conflict with sensitivity and insight.
Want to read Look to the East for yourself? Click here to view a list of online retailers. Tyndale provided me with a complimentary ARC in return for a review, but the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WWI French Love Story

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good book based on the First World War. The story takes place in Northern France, in a small Village Briecourt. I felt like I was at the Village, with the pictures Maureen Lang presented. Maybe sitting at the Well, and smelling the scents coming from Uncle Guys Bakery...sounds like a lovely place to live back in the early 1900's. The feud that has been going on as long as anyone can remember separates the villagers...the Toussaints and the de Colvilles...it didn't sound like anyone even remember why, but it still existed.
The character of Julitte Toussaint was like a breath of fresh air, she was willing to do whatever the Lord put on her heart. Loved how she shared her God with all who were willing to receive Him.
The story does offer some great surprises,a beautiful Love story, and is a delightful read.
I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher Tyndale, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lovely Summer Read!!

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WW1 is beginning to rage. Young men are lining up as they go off to battle a war they are yet to understand. In a small quaint town in France we find Juliette Toussaint, a young woman, with a strong grounded faith. Although she is adopted into the Toussaint family, she is not quite accepted. People see her as beautiful, yet strange. They know she prays and her prayers are answered. Those around her are not quite understanding her strong faith, but the gifts and works that come from it.
The Toussaints and de Colvilles have had a feud for years. No one really knows the reasons or beginnings of this feud, but these families are ready to come together as the war ignites and moves through their little village unknown to the world.
Juliette falls in love with one that she is forbidden to love. We see this young girl grow in faith and show a village what faith is all about. This was a lovely read. Maureen Lang brings her best and her books are page turners and leave you with a feeling of joy as you have moved to the last page. You feel as though you have completed a journey and have been part of what you have just read.
Look To The East was originally released in 2009 and is now repackaged. It is book 1 of this series, followed by book 2, Whisper On The Wind and book 3, Springtime Of The Spirit. If you enjoy Historical Romance you will enjoy this series as it takes you back to another time and place.
This book was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually don't like reading war stories, but this one was actually pretty good. The main character, Julitte Toussaint, is the adopted child of a French seaman. Raised with a very strong faith in God, the residents of the small town of Briecourt believe she works miracles. They are certain that when she prays, people are instantly healed, and sometimes even raised from the dead. They don't see her faith in God, only the works He preforms through her.
But, when the Germans invade their town, is Julitte's faith enough? Can she still stand strong as she watches men sign up for war? While the remaining men and boys are carted off for German work camps? While her best friend willing goes to work for the Germans, and even falls in love with one?
And what is she supposed to do with these feelings she has towards the Belgian man hiding in the church? During her secret meetings with him, she finds herself falling in love as well.
Follow Julitte's story as her faith is tested and tried. I know I enjoyed reading this book. Hopefully you will too.
----------------------------------------------
I received this complementary book in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Look to the East: The Great War Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not your typical historical fiction

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look to the East, the first in the Great War Series by Maureen Lang is wonderfully written. In the small village of Briecourt in France at the beginning of World War 1, you meet Juliette Toussiant, a brave young girl with a faith in God unlike anything else. Along the way she deals with feuding neighbors, betrayal, death, hunger, and even finds love. She meets the man she loves because of the war, but the war is also what separates them. And the biggest question as you progress farther through the book is whether or not they will be asked to give their lives for God and country.
Overall a very intriguing book. I was pleasantly surprised that it was not like all the other historicacl fiction books I've read. Just the right combination of history as well as the lives of the characters portrayed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.