Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peace Hill Press Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set

Peace Hill Press Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set

Now brought to life in audio form, you can enjoy Susan Wise Bauer's Story of the World series through listening to this spirited, unabridged retelling by Jim Weiss. Covering the first 5000 years of civilization, you'll be taken on a journey from the Fertile Crescent to the barbarian's invasion of Rome. These CDs may be used along with the printed book, as a supplement to another curriculum or independently. 7 CDs, approximately 8 hours long. An insert helps you to match specific chapters/topics with tracks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Review 1 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
teaching mama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for car listening or listening as a family while I prep dinner etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mandie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was not what I was expecting. Biblical stories were intermixed with legends and myths with little clarification to indicate to the difference. My child was listening to a myth with wide eyes and asked me, "Mom, is that true?" I had to tell him, "No, that's just a myth." The part where King Tut's tomb is discussed mentions that there was a curse put on the tomb for anyone who dared to enter it. Then the narrator says that a large number of people died who did enter it and then leaves it up to the listeners to decide for themselves with something like, "I don't know, do you think there was a curse?" I enjoyed the narrator's voice, but was very disappointed with the content.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We are so thankful for this tool!

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
MelMaGray
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hesitated in buying the CD set for Story of the World, Vol 1: Ancient Times. We had the book and were reading it just fine. The chapters are not long, and the ones that are, we just split up into the pre-determined sections. However, we do run around town a bit in the van, so I thought maybe I should see what the CDs are like. My sons (ages 5 and 8) enjoy listening to Adventures in Odyssey on CD, so I was hopeful this would hold their attention. The CDs are nothing like Adventures--the chapters are not acted out--however, the book is read very well. My van has a hard drive that I can record CDs on, so we can have the actual set in the house should I need it read to us sometime--for instance when we're all sick and have sore throats. :)
My only complaint would be that the reader doesn't introduce subsequent CDs with their assigned number. Meaning, on disc 3, the reading simply begins with chapter number; he does not say, "This is disc 3 in the Ancient Times collection of Story of the World." I'm not always paying close attention to the end of one disc so I don't know if the next disc in line on my van's hard drive is the correct one or not. I thought I had recorded them all in order, but I may have made a mistake in my haste to record them. So, I could fix it at some point. It isn't a big enough complaint to warrant a reduced rating.
This CD set is a wonderful asset!! We learn very well by listening to someone other than Mommy-Teacher. hahaha.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the money

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jverm
Location:Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love Story of the World! I only purchased the CD once we got to Chapter 13. I was reading aloud but for me my voice gets tired with too much talking.
The narrator is easy to understand, not cheesy at all, and keeps the story interesting. It is also great for emergent readers to be able to listen and follow along in the book.
I highly recommend this set.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son loves this!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves to listen to this for hours at a time! He has never wanted to be alone in his room and play quietly until I purchased this set of CD's for him. The stories and the way they are told keep his interest and he has learned so much from listening to them! I plan on purchasing the rest of the audio versions of these books for sure!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent History resource and good quality. I like to listen to it with my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Mcquillan
We listen to this CD in the car. My boys, ages 6 & 8, clamor for Story of the World even before they are buckled into their seats. Jim Weiss has a distinctive voice that not everyone (my Mom) finds enjoyable to listen to, but the stories are good and his narration well-done, and as I told my Mom, his voice really does grow on you - so if you don't enjoy it at first listen, hang in there - these CDs are well worth it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
The Ullrich Family
Loved this series before, but with the audio, it is great for auditory learners. The recordings are done very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
April Clark
We are so pleased with these CDs. We read the book last year for my 11 yr. old's homeschooling so this is cementing what we already learned. He loves it and plays it during playtime, breakfast, and lunch! A great way to learn. Also, my 4 year old is hearing it as well as my husband and I. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Story of the World, Vol. 1: Ancient Times 7-Audio CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gayleen Davis
My kids (8 & 9 yrs old) are absolutely glued to the story telling of Jim Weiss. He reads "The Story of the World" with such incredible enthusiasm you almost feel as if you were living through the stories yourself. We travel a lot & listen in the car. My kids can't get enough! Thank-you for bringing out this awesome book/cirriculum on CD! Enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.