Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peace Hill Press Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised

Peace Hill Press Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised

Don't just read through the Story of the World series, but experience it! Accompanying The Ancient Times, each chapter features encyclopedia cross-references, review questions with answers, narration exercises, and crafts to illustrate various concepts and bring the past to life. Mini and full-page maps with rivers, seas are included, as well as reproducible pages, crossword puzzles, games, cut-outs, coloring pages, lists of literature readings and color-in review cards. 127 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.086 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Review 1 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes life easy!

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJC23
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great when used with the Story of the world books. Great review questions and coloring pages and maps to really help your child see what the Story of the World is talking about. It also gives suggestions on other activities that you can do. Makes lesson planning really easy!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

~*Homeschool*~ Kids loved it! . . . & so did I

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
~ Our Experience ~
Organized: Nicely organized for me to use as well as our children to pick & choose activities. They chose both writing & hands-on activities. Easy & practical for me to pick up quickly as reference & a "to do" book. (See reviews below of how the book itself is organized.)
Adapts Well: Our children keep a "PEP" {People, Events, Places} Notebook in which they keep yearly studies of past & present. The activity sheets work well in their PEP notebooks as well as records of their projects. Its then all easily set for the evaluator at the end of our school year.
Fun: My kids enjoy and were actually excited to use this activity book for their PEP Notebooks. They begged me to make sure we buy the activity books for this up-coming year!
Individualized: We read the "spine" together, but the activity book encourages them reinforce learning on their own and in their own way! We used it for an eight year old and twelve year old this past year.
Plan: For the up-coming year we plan to use the same set-up with a new time period.
Simply said - we all were pleased in which it made for a great year of study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Homeschool Review: Thumbs UP!

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy reading in which I was totally surprised at what my youngest daughter (8 yo) remembers! I read aloud while referring as needed to the pronunciation key.
This was a great core History book for our past year of Ancient History focus. I liked the introduction to various civilizations of the same time period and then how the author later brings in the "Do you remember when . .. . or about . .. " a previous passage -> A built in review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your typical History textbook!!!!!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MamaG
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't a "typical" History textbook, the title describes it exactly....its a story. It brings the dry data to life and enables the reader to put it into context which translates to improved retention. The reader learns about unique cultural practices, agriculture, geography, biographical data, etc. My kids (ages 4-8) can't wait to hear/read what happens next and look forward to History everyday! Thank you!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times “From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor” is authored by Susan Wise Bauer. She is a faculty member of the College of William and Mary, and co-author of "The Well Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home."
Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times is the first volume of a four volume “Story of the World” book set. The book is divided into forty-two chapters which are comprised of the following:
Introduction: How Do We Know What Happened? What is History? What is Archaeology?
Ch. 1 The Earliest People: The First Nomads; The First Nomads Become Farmers
Ch. 2 Egyptians Lived on the Nile River: Two Kingdoms Become One; Gods of Ancient Egypt
Ch. 3 The First Writing
Ch. 4 The Old Kingdom of Egypt: Making Mummies; Egyptian Pyramids
Ch. 5 The First Sumerian Dictator
Ch. 6 The Jewish People: God Speaks to Abraham; Joseph Goes to Egypt
Ch. 7 Hammurabi and the Babylonians
Ch. 8 The Assyrians: Shamshi-Adad, King of the Whole World; The Story of Gilgamesh
Ch. 9 The First Cities of India: The River Road; The Mystery of Mohenjo-Daro
Ch. 10 The Fare East: Ancient China: Lei Zu and the Silkworm; The Pictograms of China;
Farming in Ancient China
Ch. 11 Ancient Africa: Ancient Peoples of West Africa; Anansi the Turtle; Anansi and the Make-Believe
Food
Ch. 12 The Middle Kingdom of Egypt: Egypt Invades Nubia; The Hyksos Invade Egypt
Ch. 13 The New Kingdom of Egypt: The General and the Woman Pharaoh; Amenhotep and King Tut
Ch. 14 The Israelites Leave Egypt: The Baby Moses; The Exodus from Egypt
Ch. 15 The Phoenicians: Phoenician Traders; The Founding of Carthage
Ch. 16 The Return of Assyria: Ashurbanipal’s Attack; The Library on Ninevah
Ch. 17 Babylon Takes Over Again: Nebuchadnezzar’s Madness; The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
Ch. 18 Life in Early Crete: Bull-jumpers and Sailors; King Minos and the Minotaur; The Mysterious End
of the Minoans
Ch. 19 The Early Greeks: The Mycenaeans; The Greek Dark Ages
Ch. 20 Greece Gets Civilized Again: Greece Gets and Alphabet; The Stories of Homer;
The First Olympic Games
Ch. 21 The Medes and the Persians: A New Empire; Cyrus the Great
Ch. 22 Sparta and Athens: Life in Sparta; Life in Athens
Ch. 23 The Greek Gods
Ch. 24 The Wars of the Greeks: Greece’s War with Persia; The Greeks Fight Each Other
Ch. 25 Alexander the Great; Philip and His Son; Alexander’s Invasions; The Death of Alexander
Ch. 26 The People of the Americas: The Nazca Drawings; The Head of the Olmecs;
Rabbit Shoots the Olmecs
Ch. 27 The Rise of Rome: Romulus and Remus; The Power of Rome
Ch. 28 The Roman Empire: The Roman Gods; The Roman Builders; The Roman Gladiators;
The Gladiator School
Ch. 29 Rome’s War with Carthage
Ch. 30 The Aryans of India: Life on the Ganges River; The Castes of Ancient India; Shiddhartha
Ch. 31 The Mauryan Empire of India: The Empire United; The Jakata Tales
Ch. 32 China-Writing and the Qin: Calligraphy in China; Warring States;
The First Emperor and the Great Wall; The First Emperor’s Grave
Ch. 33 Confucius
Ch. 34 The Rise of Julius Caesar: Caesar Kidnapped; The Consuls of Rome; Caesar and the Senate
Ch. 35 Caesar the Hero: Caesar Fights the Celts; Caesar Crosses the Rubicon; Caesar and Cleopatra;
The Death of Caesar
Ch. 36 The First Roman Prince
Ch. 37 The Beginning of Christianity: The Birth of Jesus; Jesus Crucified and Resurrected
Ch. 38 The End of the Ancient Jewish Nation
Ch. 39 Rome and the Christians: Nero, the Evil Emperor; Christians in the Catacombs;
The Emperor is a Christian!
Ch. 40 Rome Begins to Weaken: The British Rebellion; Rome Divided in Two
Ch. 41 The Attacking Barbarians: Attila the Hun; Stilicho, Roman and Barbarian;
The Coming of the Visigoths
Ch. 42 The End of Rome: The Last Roman Emperor; The Gifts of Rome
To round out your history curriculum I would highly recommend purchasing the activity books and test packets which accompany each volume. These resources are available in either paperback or PDF-download.
Based on our experience with this series and the content of the curriculum, I would recommend it for Grades 5-8. Overall we have been pleased with Ms. Bauer's approach to world history and look forward to Story of the World Volume 2 The Middle Ages “From the Fall of Rome to the Rise of the Renaissance.”
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story of the World Activity Book One:Ancient Times

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story of the World Activity Book 1 ”From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor” is authored by Susan Wise Bauer. She is a faculty member of the College of William and Mary, and co-author of "The Well Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home."
Story of the World Activity Book 1 is a companion to Bauer’s “Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times “From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor.” The resource is divided into forty-two chapters which correspond to those in “Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times.”
Each chapter is broken down into the following components:
Encyclopedia Cross References
Review Questions
Narration Exercise
Additional History Reading
Corresponding Literature Selections
Coloring Page
Map Work
Review Cards
Activities (The activities are divided into the following categories: Writing, art, craft, historical, music and cooking.)
Map Answer Key
Student Pages
The author has included sections titled “How to Use This Activity Book” and “Pronunciation Guide for Reading Aloud” to guide the user through the resource. This resource is available in the formats of paperback or PDF-download.
Based on our experience with this series and the content of the curriculum I would recommend it for Grades 5-8. Overall we have been pleased with Ms. Bauer's approach to world history, and look forward to continuing our study with Story of the World Volume 2 The Middle Ages “From the Fall of Rome to the Rise of the Renaissance.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I will use this for my homeschool History

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
momof4girls
Location:North Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking it over I do believe this will work for History for my 2 middle girls that are just a grade apart( 5th and 6th next year). I also look forward to used the other Story of the World volumes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great history book for young children.

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
bible girl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this book and is fascinated my the stories. She's 5 so she is reading through this with some help since the concepts are still a little difficult for her to understand. Her 8 year old cousin is also reading it and loves it. I eventually plan to teach this to my two other younger children so I bought the hardcover version. It is very well made.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is useful.

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenny03
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although we continued to read on, I did not agree with Susan's initial date of creation. The book is well written though and it is useful for beginning a study on World History.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
TeamV
Location:Fayetteville, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The book is well written and conversational in style. The chapters are broken down into sections that allow our elementary age student to learn in digestable amounts. The activity book further emphasizes the "fun" of studying history.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
msmom
Location:Hernando, Ms
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very helpful to me. It has decreased my planning time for activities that will supplement and reinforce what is being learned. It may not be necessary for those who have more time and are naturally creative! However, the last half of the book has reproducible pages such as maps, coloring pages, puzzles, etc. that go along with the chapters and are helpful as well to reinforce the lessons. It definitely decreases my planning time so it's well worth it for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
laureebug
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like history that is fun and not dry textbook. This meets my expectations. Its written in a fun way and coincides beautifully with CHOW and USBORNE book of world history which my son absolutely loves. He loves history and doesn't even know he is learning. We got the companion activity book and it has awesome ideas and fun things to do
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
msmom
Location:Hernando, Ms
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how this book is written. It is informative yet an "easy read". My fourth grader has enjoyed my reading it to her and I add details to the reading that I have studied, which is not necessary but fun. She enjoys the parts of the book that are written as a story in the time frame for that chapter. We are only through the 4th chapter but we are enjoying it so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to follow and use..

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
TSheld
Location:Amboy, WA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first time using "Story of the World" books..and we love them.. I like how it moves right along and provides you with everything you need.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleasantly surprised

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
rkog
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This workbook is incredible. Aside from review questions, maps, and activities, you even get additional reading suggestions. You can make as many personal copies as you need for your own family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book is easy for younger children to use

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
rkog
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found this book to be well-written and easy to use. In conjunction with the workbook, your child will have a complete history curriculum. My only "wish" would be for some colored pictures or text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Confused about the comment below by "Robin"

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
solidrock
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just read the entire chapter of seven again and did not see anything about Abraham at all in the chapter. It is about Hammurabi and the Babylonians. I have read from the Revised Edition that was printed in 2006. Not sure if she read the original and there were errors like that?
I own Mystery of History Vol 1 and I like both of these books. I'm not sure which one I like better. Couldn't go wrong with either author. Both invested a lot of time in them.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for many ages.. Worthy investment

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Home school mom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children like to hear me read to them, but they also love crafts! I am very busy and this book has helped me to teach
Ancient History with references to many other great books & pronunciation guide included!
I had the pleasure of meeting the Author last year and what a remarkable woman of God she is! Encouragement flows from her and she is helping many Christians in this journey
Into the unknown (history). I am glad to have this book along with the read aloud Ancient History book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

we love this series

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
fit mama
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children enjoy this series for history. I have purchased all the books on CD as well and we listen to them while we are driving. It is a broad look at history of the entire world without prejudice for religion or atheism.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelli
We have enjoyed the Story of the World series because it ties in world history in a chronological order. Engaging book which kept my children's attention.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>