Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peace Hill Press Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised

Peace Hill Press Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised

Don't just read through the Story of the World series, but experience it! Accompanying The Ancient Times, each chapter features encyclopedia cross-references, review questions with answers, narration exercises, and crafts to illustrate various concepts and bring the past to life. Mini and full-page maps with rivers, seas are included, as well as reproducible pages, crossword puzzles, games, cut-outs, coloring pages, lists of literature readings and color-in review cards. 127 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Review 1 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes life easy!

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJC23
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great when used with the Story of the world books. Great review questions and coloring pages and maps to really help your child see what the Story of the World is talking about. It also gives suggestions on other activities that you can do. Makes lesson planning really easy!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

~*Homeschool*~ Kids loved it! . . . & so did I

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
~ Our Experience ~
Organized: Nicely organized for me to use as well as our children to pick & choose activities. They chose both writing & hands-on activities. Easy & practical for me to pick up quickly as reference & a "to do" book. (See reviews below of how the book itself is organized.)
Adapts Well: Our children keep a "PEP" {People, Events, Places} Notebook in which they keep yearly studies of past & present. The activity sheets work well in their PEP notebooks as well as records of their projects. Its then all easily set for the evaluator at the end of our school year.
Fun: My kids enjoy and were actually excited to use this activity book for their PEP Notebooks. They begged me to make sure we buy the activity books for this up-coming year!
Individualized: We read the "spine" together, but the activity book encourages them reinforce learning on their own and in their own way! We used it for an eight year old and twelve year old this past year.
Plan: For the up-coming year we plan to use the same set-up with a new time period.
Simply said - we all were pleased in which it made for a great year of study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story of the World Activity Book One:Ancient Times

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story of the World Activity Book 1 ”From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor” is authored by Susan Wise Bauer. She is a faculty member of the College of William and Mary, and co-author of "The Well Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home."
Story of the World Activity Book 1 is a companion to Bauer’s “Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times “From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor.” The resource is divided into forty-two chapters which correspond to those in “Story of the World Volume 1 Ancient Times.”
Each chapter is broken down into the following components:
Encyclopedia Cross References
Review Questions
Narration Exercise
Additional History Reading
Corresponding Literature Selections
Coloring Page
Map Work
Review Cards
Activities (The activities are divided into the following categories: Writing, art, craft, historical, music and cooking.)
Map Answer Key
Student Pages
The author has included sections titled “How to Use This Activity Book” and “Pronunciation Guide for Reading Aloud” to guide the user through the resource. This resource is available in the formats of paperback or PDF-download.
Based on our experience with this series and the content of the curriculum I would recommend it for Grades 5-8. Overall we have been pleased with Ms. Bauer's approach to world history, and look forward to continuing our study with Story of the World Volume 2 The Middle Ages “From the Fall of Rome to the Rise of the Renaissance.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
msmom
Location:Hernando, Ms
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very helpful to me. It has decreased my planning time for activities that will supplement and reinforce what is being learned. It may not be necessary for those who have more time and are naturally creative! However, the last half of the book has reproducible pages such as maps, coloring pages, puzzles, etc. that go along with the chapters and are helpful as well to reinforce the lessons. It definitely decreases my planning time so it's well worth it for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleasantly surprised

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
rkog
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This workbook is incredible. Aside from review questions, maps, and activities, you even get additional reading suggestions. You can make as many personal copies as you need for your own family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Confused about the comment below by "Robin"

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
solidrock
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just read the entire chapter of seven again and did not see anything about Abraham at all in the chapter. It is about Hammurabi and the Babylonians. I have read from the Revised Edition that was printed in 2006. Not sure if she read the original and there were errors like that?
I own Mystery of History Vol 1 and I like both of these books. I'm not sure which one I like better. Couldn't go wrong with either author. Both invested a lot of time in them.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for many ages.. Worthy investment

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Home school mom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children like to hear me read to them, but they also love crafts! I am very busy and this book has helped me to teach
Ancient History with references to many other great books & pronunciation guide included!
I had the pleasure of meeting the Author last year and what a remarkable woman of God she is! Encouragement flows from her and she is helping many Christians in this journey
Into the unknown (history). I am glad to have this book along with the read aloud Ancient History book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
The Ullrich Family
Wonderful hands on approach to a subject that is usually taught in a way that does not appeal to children who learn best this way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eur.inf Tech.sol.and Dev.s.l.u. Cif B62761770
Es un libro grande, aunque de tapa blanda, al comienzo del libro vienen las actividades de cada leccin, y al final, vienen dibujos para colorear, mapas de situacin, etc, hay ejercicios como los de colorear, o por ejemplo pintar la pared de una cueva simulada... para nios desde 3 aos, y despus hay ejercicios de resumir la leccin, comentarla despus, etc, ya para nios de edades mas avanzadas, 6 aos.Desde mi punto de vista, es indispesable junto con el libro de lectura, porque lo complementa a la perfeccin. A su vez, vienen enlaces link y libros recomendados para los que quieran ampliar los conocimientos ya dados. Altamente recomendable.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
I agree it is a nice idea, but in Chapter 7, they take a lot of unbiblical liberty with the stories. They say that Abraham's father died, then God called him to leave. In the Bible, his father lived several years after Abraham left him. Also they include Benjamin as one of the brothers that made fun of Joseph before he was sold into slavery. These things are just plainly not the case in the Bible. I wrote to tell them about these issues, and of course they never wrote back because the workbooks and activities are all based on these nontruths and it would clearly mess up publishing. Makes me wonder what else they got wrong. We have pretty much put this book down because I just don't trust it's validity.
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Story of the World Vol. 1: Ancient Times Activity Book, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather Klotzbach
This workbook is a great partner to the textbook. My kids can't wait for the next lesson to begin. The Usborne Internet- Linked Encyclopedia is awesome to use with it. We have the cousins over for the projects and even the preschoolers get the history and enjoy the activities. Susan should really write more cirriculum, she really gets kids and how they learn!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.